NASCAR 08 Xbox 360

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 30
  2. Negative: 15 out of 30
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonHamlett
    Mar 5, 2008
    4
    A rehash of the rehash that was 07. The actual racing is not bad, it is the utter lack of detail that kills this series. No career mode at all. The graphics are horribly dated. The car designer has not been touched in 4 years. As the first true next-gen port of Nascar this was even moreof a disappointment than last year,
  2. Andyman
    Jul 24, 2007
    4
    Since I've been playing this series since NASCAR '98, I can make the following statement with complete confidence (and utter disgust): NASCAR 08 is virtually uncontrollable with a gamepad. Maybe it's better with the MS racing wheel, but I am definitely NOT going to invest $150 to find out. 08 gets an 04... which is almost exactly the number of hours I will have had this Since I've been playing this series since NASCAR '98, I can make the following statement with complete confidence (and utter disgust): NASCAR 08 is virtually uncontrollable with a gamepad. Maybe it's better with the MS racing wheel, but I am definitely NOT going to invest $150 to find out. 08 gets an 04... which is almost exactly the number of hours I will have had this wreck of a game in my possession by the time I return it to the store... and is also about 3.9 hours too long. Sickening. Expand
  3. CiaranG.
    Jul 31, 2007
    3
    Well, NASCAR is boring anyway, but couple that with the worst graphics I have ever seen on a retail title on the Xbox 360 and you have a really bad game. The graphics remind of really old games I've played on my PC years ago! If you want something a little higher quality, you should buy Forza Motorsport 2, DIRT or Project Gotham Racing 3 or Test Drive Unlimited.
  4. KyleP.
    Aug 8, 2007
    2
    I understand that many people like the idea of spending hour after hour fine tuning there car to go faster. I for one do not want to spend hours tweaking a car; I purchased this game to race not to play with settings. I know what you are all going to say then it isn't a real sim. Then once you get a car that can almost be driven around the track you have to deal with the AI that for I understand that many people like the idea of spending hour after hour fine tuning there car to go faster. I for one do not want to spend hours tweaking a car; I purchased this game to race not to play with settings. I know what you are all going to say then it isn't a real sim. Then once you get a car that can almost be driven around the track you have to deal with the AI that for some reason do not want to share the track with you. They constantly ram you from behind, as you are passing them you will just turn down into you for no reason. If you can look past all that the career mode is all but gone. I have played almost every nascar game there is. I do not want to spend hours doing meaningless tasks just to get a career. Wish they would go back to earlier career modes start at lower levels work your way up. The only positive is visually it is nice tracks look great cars look great. Expand
  5. BlueFalcon
    Jul 27, 2007
    2
    Basically the game falls short in just about everything. The features are stripped from 07 (even 2003 had way more to do). Graphics are a minor improvement over the xbox 1 game - they do not compare favourably to other 360 games. There is no splitscreen multiplayer. I was annoyed when they moved from 4 player split screen, to 2 back in 2005. This one takes it too far, especially when the Basically the game falls short in just about everything. The features are stripped from 07 (even 2003 had way more to do). Graphics are a minor improvement over the xbox 1 game - they do not compare favourably to other 360 games. There is no splitscreen multiplayer. I was annoyed when they moved from 4 player split screen, to 2 back in 2005. This one takes it too far, especially when the online multiplayer is a feature stripped, laggy, glitch filled mess. If this weren't bad enough, they altered the controls. Now the steering automatically turns to the left, and it can't be altered in gameplay settings (unless you tune each car). Some may argue this was added for realisim, but I say it was added for moronic purposes. It basically forces you to use a racing wheel or suffer. 'The Chase' is basically the new career mode. But unfortunately it forces you through a lot of repetitive license races before you get to actually race. I'd be into license races, if it had variety to the goals. The ai this year is the worst in the series yet - they do the same lines whether you are beside them or not, and don't react properly at all. Normally this would be a little early to rate and judge a game, but when so much is wrong, I'll commit to saying it's tterrible. Expand
  6. JasonG.
    Sep 13, 2007
    2
    Im old school in how i drive these things with the d pad with great successs, but with n08 the car is virtually undrivable and there is no option to play th e old way. Just an abomination need to work on the controls. Im glad i didnt buy this game merely rented it but it didnt take me long to reliaze it wasnt for me even though i had played all the previous nascar editions very disappointing.
  7. MattW.
    Aug 8, 2007
    1
    I think nascar 08 was not finished at all and had little time put into it, i have never played 07 but all i know is that 06 is the best nascar gave ever because they have featherlites and all of the other series. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME seriously it shouldve been better than this crap.
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    1
    Oh my God! This is absolutely the worse racing game I have ever played, and one of the worst games I have ever played! Horrible controls, no replay value, boring, dull graphics, I can continue to keep bashing this piece of crap game, but I don't want to fill up this box full of problems. I expected this game to be like a arcade style game with a mini story almost. What I got was totallyOh my God! This is absolutely the worse racing game I have ever played, and one of the worst games I have ever played! Horrible controls, no replay value, boring, dull graphics, I can continue to keep bashing this piece of crap game, but I don't want to fill up this box full of problems. I expected this game to be like a arcade style game with a mini story almost. What I got was totally different! Nothing is good about it! Everything that is bad in a video game is all in this game. Congrats EA! Thanks for taking my hard earned money you money grubbing a-holes! My final verdict is my FIRST 1/10. What keeps this game from going to a 0 is simply when I put the disc in the Xbox tray, it works! Expand
  9. JJRedding
    Sep 6, 2007
    0
    EA it's in the game!!! Yeah that should be more like, EA it's in to ripping you off. I can honestly tell you that EA has spent more money buying up the compitition than they have spent making games the way a $60 game should be. I will NOT buy another EA game until it they prove to me that they can be a dominator again and not rip people off. I am sad and sickened by EA, theyEA it's in the game!!! Yeah that should be more like, EA it's in to ripping you off. I can honestly tell you that EA has spent more money buying up the compitition than they have spent making games the way a $60 game should be. I will NOT buy another EA game until it they prove to me that they can be a dominator again and not rip people off. I am sad and sickened by EA, they take peoples hard earned money and then laugh at the end. Stop trying to corner the market by buying it and start producing games that are of $60 value. Boycott out!!! Expand
  10. LoganM.
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    This game is crap... dont' buy this if you have a brain... it is the exact same thing as 07 and 06 Nascar... it sucks trust me.
  11. RacingGameFan
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    EA should be ashamed of this release. It looks half finished. Last gen graphics and awful controls.
  12. NeilH.
    Aug 22, 2007
    0
    No career mode? This game is nothing but a cheep gt3 knock off. With the whole get your card by passing tests, it worked for them not you EA, I said this with the ncaa football 08, and I will say it agian. LAZY EA! The ea games now suck!! I was thinking of getting madden, but now that's Not going to happen.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    24
    An unplayable mess lacking all the polish we expect from EA. Stay well clear. [Oct 2007, p.85]
  2. With NASCAR 08, there is no doubt that they improved some aspects of the game in their jump to the 360. However, with bare bones modes, questionable AI and some obvious gameplay issues, it’s hard to justify the $60 price tag at this point.
  3. For the NASCAR fans looking for the chance to pursue The Chase on their Xbox 360, stock car racing doesn't get any better than NASCAR 08.