Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    95
    NBA 2K12 takes everything I love about last year and makes it better. Then it takes nearly all the parts I didn't like and turns them awesome. Hey, other sports games, you just got schooled. Again.
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    75
    NBA 2K12 is definitely a game any basketball fan should own and a game that will keep you occupied until 2K13 is released at a minimum. If I had more online friends who played the game I know I would have enjoyed the online experience more than I did, so it's definitely a game you should check out if you know a few friends who would also play. Casual sports gamers should at least rent this game and see if it tickles your fancy. Swoosh!
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    91
    Don't be put off by the NBA lockout causing a lack of rookies in the game, NBA 2K12 is still a massive basketball game with unfathomably deep gameplay and an astonishing array of game modes that'll easily last you until next year's instalment.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    83
    Ultimately, though, it's about the basketball on the court and that's where NBA 2k12 truly shines. It doesn't make any huge leaps from last year's version to this year's -some of the carryover problems are frustrating and it does need more precise control- but that doesn't stop it from being one of the best sports games on the market and a must buy for any NBA fan.
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    92
    NBA 2K12 is a great simulation with a lot to offer, from street pick-up games to World Champion classic teams. Hopefully the lack of current rosters is temporary. NBA 2K12 is an improvement over last year, but only a slight one.
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    96
    NBA 2K11 does not do anything earth-shattering or drastic. There are no highly-touted changes to the controls, animations, or gameplay. This is because none was needed. 2K Sports has tweaked a few things here and there, beefed up Association mode and online features, streamlined My Player mode into a manageable affair, introduced new presentation elements that create a true-to-life NBA experience, and spanned decades of greats with a Legends mode that is simply awesome.
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    90
    Let's hope the real NBA season will star with as much enthusiasm as 2K Games had for creating this game. Legends, great graphics, swell sound, astounding atmosphere – it has everything a basketball fan could want.
  8. Nov 2, 2011
    88
    This game is the best basketball gaming experience out there already, and little things for in-game customization and the addition of a couple more gaming modes will only continue to make anybody think twice about trying to compete.
  9. Nov 1, 2011
    95
    2K Sports has done it again. The 2011-2012 version of the best basketball franchise in the industry is a must have for every fan of the sport.
  10. Oct 31, 2011
    95
    Realistic, challenging, gorgeously presented and chock full of solid gameplay, NBA 2K12 is the new benchmark for solid sporting titles.
  11. Oct 23, 2011
    87
    Nearly every issue from last year has been fixed, but it's a shame that some online issues still appear. But even with all the other minor issues found throughout the game, NBA 2K12 is a very solid presentation.
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    90
    If sports franchises are wondering what they need to do for their next release they should pay a lot of attention to what Visual Concepts has done with the NBA 2K franchise. More than any other game on the market NBA 2K12 has managed to bring the sport to life better then we have ever seen before. Needless to say NBA 2K12 has gone back to back, and I can't wait to see if they can do a three-peat.
  13. Oct 21, 2011
    90
    NBA 2K12 is one of the best sporting games in history. Visual Concepts and 2K Sports continue their best traditions - the new NBA is a step towards perfection. Even though it has some flaws (mainly technical), it's difficult to find a game that suits the definition of a perfect virtual basketball production better. It'a complete game with a variety of modes and content that guarantees months of serious gamepad training.
  14. Oct 20, 2011
    90
    On the whole, NBA 2K12 not only improves on last year's game with tighter controls and other incremental improvements, but 2K Sports has also delivered enhancements and revisions that matter.
  15. Oct 18, 2011
    90
    The presentation is absolutely sensational, providing a television feel that eclipses anything I've seen before.
  16. Oct 17, 2011
    95
    Tweaks to the My Player mode as well as the growth of the Legend concept has led this franchise to even greater heights. A wonderfully tasty mix of presentation and solid gameplay make this game a keeper, even in a year when the actual NBA may never appear.
  17. Oct 16, 2011
    91
    There are issues that need fixed – online being the most severe – but that doesn't undermine the fact that it's still an incredibly fun game to play.
  18. Oct 14, 2011
    100
    Were it not for the online issues, NBA 2K12 would be the closest thing to a "perfect" video game basketball experience we have yet come to. In fact, it still probably is. This is one of those rare sports games where the offline content nearly made me forget about the online component.
  19. Oct 13, 2011
    80
    This is without a doubt a sports game worth experiencing and one which feels both utterly unnecessary and entirely essential at once during this year's lockout season.
  20. Oct 12, 2011
    80
    Developer Visual Concepts chose to focus on minor tweaks and adjustments, resulting in the best basketball simulation on the market.
  21. Oct 12, 2011
    100
    NB 2K12 is as generous as it is demanding, and it's unquestionably a game for passionate Basketball lovers, made by passionate basketball lovers. But with its astounding animations, the high fidelity of the greatest players reproduced in game (the older stars like the ones of today), its rich content, deep gameplay, atmosphere and fantastic sound work, 2K's sport game wows anyone. It's as clear as a lightning-fast pass from Magic Johnson, a Michael Jordan cross-over or 3-point shot from Larry Bird: NBA 2K12 is the best basket simulation ever published.
  22. Oct 11, 2011
    85
    The best offline basketball video game around and one of the best sport sims yet. Our overall judgment is however strongly impacted by the disappointing online support, with frequent disconnects and heavy lag. We hope the developers will be able to fix it.
  23. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    New modes such as NBA's Greatest are a welcome inclusion and add longevity to the game. Basketball fans will also be excited by the improvements to Franchise mode, and the overall first class presentation.
  24. Oct 10, 2011
    92
    The additions to the my player mode alone are worth the price of admission, and those who grew up playing Lakers vs. Celtics and other classic 16-bit basketball games will love being able to play as their favorite athletes with a modern-day presentation. While the NBA's greatest mode could have benefitted from more depth, the improved gameplay means that NBA 2K12 has once again earned a spot in the starting lineup.
  25. Oct 10, 2011
    90
    NBA 2K12 is simply awesome. Visual Concepts has done a great job fixing old issues and improving the previous episode listening at the community feedbacks. If you are an NBA fan you simply can't miss this perfect simulation of your favourite sport.
  26. Oct 10, 2011
    90
    It's dedicated to the spirit of the game, both in the present and in the past, in ways that so many other sports games, even some of the great ones, have never really been able to do. NBA 2K12 is essential for any fan of video game sports.
  27. Oct 9, 2011
    95
    NBA 2K12 is simply the best sports simulation ever made. Visual Concept add freshness and a nostalgic feeling to the game with "The Greatest" mode and, in a totally unexpected way, changed the gameplay completely. Now NBA 2K12 is pure NBA basketball in your very hands.
  28. Oct 7, 2011
    91
    Unparalleled presentation, in-depth options and smooth-as-butta gameplay.
  29. Oct 7, 2011
    90
    The post game has been tweaked to be more responsive and allow for more subtle movements over last year's effort, and an improved shot stick means players have more options when trying to put the ball in the net. Last second fakes and finger rolls rule the day and are easily accomplished with a little practice.
  30. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  31. Oct 7, 2011
    93
    2K Sports raised the bar very high last year, and we though it would be very difficult for another entry to surpass it. Fortunately we were mistaken, and it improves almost everything from the previous game, with new and revamped game modes, basketball legends and more fun matches. A must-have.
  32. Oct 5, 2011
    85
    More vintage players, small gameplay tweaks, and the same great presentation you expect make this the best NBA game around.
  33. Oct 5, 2011
    83
    NBA 2K12 will have to settle for being the closest thing to perfect I've ever seen in an offline sports video game. But it could have done much more -- it could have saved our season.
  34. Oct 5, 2011
    93
    The best basketball sim of all time.
  35. 86
    Instead of re-inventing the wheel, 2K12 just made the wheel a whole lot prettier, and that's good enough for me.
  36. 90
    NBA 2K12 is not to be missed, lockout or no.
  37. Oct 4, 2011
    100
    The combination of sublime gameplay, unprecedented level of compelling historic team matchups, and an excellent update to My Player puts NBA 2K12 at a level no hoops game has ever been. The absolute mountaintop.
  38. Oct 4, 2011
    95
    NBA 2K12 isn't just the best basketball game; it's the most complete sports sim I've ever played. This is the new benchmark.
  39. Nov 20, 2011
    85
    Slightly rocky in-game mechanics just stop this from slamdunking the competition. [Christmas 2011, p.65]
  40. Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Basketball done right. [Issue#78, p.89]
  41. Nov 15, 2011
    92
    The NBA lockout is still in effect, but worry not – NBA 2K12 arrives to save the day of a sports fanatic. The Michael Jordan of basketball games looks, sounds and – most importantly of all – plays like the real thing. The controls are demanding, but once you get the hang of it, every other sports game feels inferior. The nostalgic "NBA's Greatest" game mode and addictive career mode complete the irresistible package. [Nov 2011]
  42. It's another sound update but just lacking the fluidity and polish to mark it as one of the great sports sims. [Christmas 2011, p.103]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    Don't buy this game.
    this game cheats as hell, last game I did I lost for actual cpu cheating. In the 3rd quarter, most of the shots
    (unguarded) were missed by my team, and the other team recovered and won the game hitting incredible shots (not mentioning the unrealistic mass of turnovers I always get in every single game). I will re-sell this **** out.
    I'm creating a 3pt specialized pg, I've been able to make it a very good player even in rookie season because I get good scores every game. But it frustrates you with stupid and unrealistic ingame glitches that make you almost throw away the pad. Only one word: crap
    5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    Horrible game glitches in game play and even at log in. I have to log in every time I start the game up for online play. 2k would never do anything to update and fix these glitches, just like the fact that this game hasn't changed at all from the last one besides Jordan's pose on the cover. Slow glitchy play throughout game. The computer is really annoying and cheats to win at the end of the game. I don't understand how anyone would enjoy that. Please bring back NBA Live so smoooooth. Oh and you would have to take a class to understand how to do moves in 2k. I can't believe Jordan would put his name on this. I give them a 3 for an unfinished product. I'll never buy a 2k product again. Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    The look of the game is great, they definitely did their homework on presentation. Now with that being said, if you can stand a game that plays robotic (to the point where your players feel like they are lagging online, but you are playing an offline game), an online league that you can't control, multiplayer vs mode (2 on 2, 3 on 3.. etc.) that you can't change between players, doesnt have a blacktop online mode, takes 5 minutes to synchronize the rosters and save your game data every so often when you are playing, and restricted online gameplay. Then this game is for you.

    If you are like me and you wish for a more smooth flowing game, with more control of the product you own. You will email and plead to EA to get back into the NBA market.
    Full Review »