User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 116
  2. Negative: 23 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    I didn't think 2k sports could do it, but they keep getting better with each and every installment. I'd still like to see a more open choice to skipping games in myCareer mode and I don't like the lack of multiple mycareer player appearances, but it's still a very well made and executed game
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    I really like 2k13 the game is fun great online play with some glitches. I really like association and regular gameplay has great graphics except for it is hard to block but I really like the pro stick and improved dribbling
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    NBA 2k13 is the ultimate basketball simulator. It allows for great competition between friends and online. The gameplay feels smooth and solid, and there are so many different modes to play in. There's even a shoe creator!
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    NBA 2K13 is an awesome game! Making your own player going through the NBA Draft and the Rookie Showcase and when your career takes off you get on magazine covers, billboards and get sponsors. This game gets a perfect 10.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This game is the best game I have ever played. My Favorite mode is the association mode. Also I Love to create players. Blacktop is really good besides that there is now fouls in it but it is good. Overall This game is my favorite game ever made. Celtics Rule
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    2k13 is the best basketball game ever made, that obvious. The gameplay is amazing, the devs keep the updates coming. I still want more though, minor things including: shooting the ball after the play has stopped, the ability to give a teammate a five in my career after a made bucket, etc.

    More options need to be added to My Career. I can't finish many seasons because it just gets too
    repetitive. 2k devs can add something else rather than post game press conferences after EVERY GAME.

    It really is a great game, I just can't help but thinking I want more.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    La mejor liga del mundo de baloncesto digital

    Arrancó la nueva temporada de la mejor liga del mundo de baloncesto, la NBA. Lakers han empezado con un 2-4 en cuanto a victorias y derrotas.

    Coge tu ahora los mandos para revertir esta situación con NBA2k13. En este juegazo nos meteremos de lleno en la pelea por el anillo de campeón de la NBA empezando desde abajo del todo, viviendo
    toda la evolución de un jugador que podrás crear a tu imagen y semejanza.

    Partiendo desde que eres un rookie, fichando por tu primer equipo NBA, negociando contrato a contrato hasta convertirte en una estrella de la misma dentro de un equipo con aspiraciones a ganar el anillo.

    http://www.elgamer.es/nba2k13-analisis/
    Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    This game is good. everything feels more on point. everything is just how it should be, the only thing bad is the multiplayer. Its HORRIFICLY BAD in my opinion, i cant get somebody with a stable connection. Great game though, its produced by jay-z but lacks music, which is pretty unfortunate. this one is good for if you have friends over, and something to do when the game isnt on. Heat All Day.
  9. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K13 is good enough to render 2K12 obsolete. The NBA 2K Series is a series of great basketball games. It takes me about a month to get a great feel for the latest version, and at first I had reservations about this game. Most of my issues at first were with the Virtual Currency (VC) system. When you first start out VC seems like a ripoff, and most likely you are going to spend real money instead of waiting to have enough VC to create a competitive MyTeam or MyPlayer. Beyond the VC, this game is an improvement in every facet of the game. In 2K12 dribbling moves and breaking down the defender were only moderately effective. 2K13 revolutionizes dribbling controls to make this a much more enjoyable and exciting game. I like the Jay Z presentation and feel it is a real improvement, not everyone shares this opinion. (Guess it depends on whether or not you like Jay Z, I must.) One real presentation difference is the use of Music Videos during the intro to some games, also in MyPlayer the use of commercials versus all of the still billboards. The main new feature of this game is the MyTeam mode, which has you playing other real online oponents to move through a Playoff structure. I really like the new mode, but this is where you are going to spend real money to build a good team, instead of waiting until you have enough VC to pick up a couple of Superstars. Now, some players are abusing this mode in 1 of 2 different ways: 1) Building a team of all 3 Point shooters and launching away the entire game (completely unrealistic and could use patching) 2) Building a Superteam even though it is costing them real $ (Played a team with CP3, Wade, Lebron, Durant and Howard yesterday, again this should be patched to allow a maximum # of Superstars). Negative: If you do not have Xbox Live, you will not have access to about Half of the content in this game. All-in-all, NBA 2K13 is a major improvement where it counts - Gameplay, has improved Presentation and a fun online MyTeam mode. One last thing - 2K13 is far more "explosive" that 2K12. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2012
    9
    NBA2K13 is a great game hands down! This year the game has the best graphics to date certainly much improved better then 2k10,2k11,2k12! This is one of the most realistic NBA2K games ive ever played! This year there is a new move control stick that give players move controls to do moves while on the court using the right joystick, and now pressing X to shoot. Also the game music is all produced by Jay-Z and the game features real music. For all the crew lovers like myself CREW is not back in this game BUT there is MYplayer online. There is a new mode called myplayer blacktop online. You can play 3 vs 3 online with your myplayer guy and yet its def not crew it's certainly good enough to hold people off until nba2k14 and hopefully crew will return. Overall this game is a MUST BUY for any basketball/NBA fan it's the best 2K NBA game ever , and ive played them all going way back to even sega dreamcast! Expand
  11. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    NBA 2K13, is a great game in almost every single aspect , in my career I complain because the intelligence of the machine is extremely stupid and has a lightning speed because no reason they do that, in everything else is fine, new moves, and more players actual gestures.
  12. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    NBA 2K. Where amazing happens. Even online this year. Yes, Ladies and Gentleman, the greatest sports game ever made has the best online netcode the series has ever had in this years game. Finally. Finding matches is a breeze, lag is virtually non existent, and the experience is grand. The remarkably fluid gameplay (grabbing a rebound and taking off with Lebron happens instantaneously and flows like water, no canned animations, so life-like and real), impeccable commentary, and insanely good soundtrack immerse you into the game in ways that cannot be explained. Jay-Z's involvement is felt the moment the game boots up when and incredibly video compiling performance footage (of one of the greatest and most iconic songs of all time 'Public Service Announcement) from Jay-Z's concert with in game 2K footage is so sick. I watch every single time I boot the game up. And I probably always will. I love that track. But the truly amazing thing in this year's game to me, is the inclusion of Signature Skills. Which I think is laying the foundation for another revolution by 2K in the sports video game genre. There are like 50 Sig Skills. Players can possess multiple and the skills have varying ways to effect gameplay. For instance, Kobe, DWade, Durant have a Sig Skill called The Closer. In the 4th quarter, they get a ratings boost across the board and you can literally feel there intensity level go up in the final minutes. Its incredible. Lebron's iconic Chase Down Blocker is one of his Sig Skills and you can see him speed up to reach a fast breaking opponent to get the block. It's uncanny. Others include, Hustle Man, which gives the entire team and energy boost which someone with the skill makes hustle plays. Skills that give percentage boosts or drops depending on situation that can effect gameplay in ways only the deepest players will respect and love equally. For anyone who is a die hard b-ball fan and gamer this is an incredibly deep gameplay mechanic that can only get better over the years once its expanded on. The guys over at 2K Sports are collective enclave of brilliant minds and have the utmost respect of this gamer. This game is the holy grail of Sports Gaming. It gets no better. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  13. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    Clearly an improvement over last years edition, the new button layout and physics makes this game nearly perfect. The presentation is on point, and with the addition of an expansive soundtrack, it's hard to ask for much more. Well done.
  14. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    The game is ALMOST the same as last years version. There are a few Minor tweaks that make it a better game the control stick is one of them. In years past you had the same thing you just had to hold down the modifier button (LT) to use it. This year no need to hold down the (LT) button to use the contol stick.. To shoot however you do need to use the (LT) button as the modifier. I enjoy this cause also depending on how you flick the stick will depend on what type of Shooting move you do. A fade away, jumper, lean in, dunk, or under handed layup. It makes for a more realstic game play experiance. Also helping this out is the physics, If the defense switch and you have a bigger man on a point gaurd. You have a better shot of driving the lane. The Commentary is great the 3 man both does another great job and they added on to help the my player feel more relevant. If your into the shoe game the sneaker editor is totally insane and is a nice and welcome add on for me! What I dont like the menus, yes they are only menus but if you dont know what your doing they can be a pain to try and Nav. The fact i had to pre order the game from only certain stores to be able to get the All-star DLC. it should have already been in the game. All in All its up there with the best sports titles. 2K Sports tweaked just enough to get it just a step up from last yr. Which makes it a buy! Excuse me while I go and work on my control stick skills! Collapse
  15. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    The game is great. The pick and roll works well this year. I love the animations. Everything seems closer to real basketball than ever before. I can't wait to play more online!!
  16. Oct 2, 2012
    0
    The game is ALMOST the same as last years version. There are a few Minor tweaks that make it a better game the control stick is one of them. In years past you had the same thing you just had to hold down the modifier button (LT) to use it. This year no need to hold down the (LT) button to use the contol stick.. To shoot however you do need to use the (LT) button as the modifier. I enjoy this cause also depending on how you flick the stick will depend on what type of Shooting move you do. A fade away, jumper, lean in, dunk, or under handed layup. It makes for a more realstic game play experiance. Also helping this out is the physics, If the defense switch and you have a bigger man on a point gaurd. You have a better shot of driving the lane. The Commentary is great the 3 man both does another great job and they added on to help the my player feel more relevant. If your into the shoe game the sneaker editor is totally insane and is a nice and welcome add on for me! What I dont like the menus, yes they are only menus but if you dont know what your doing they can be a pain to try and Nav. The fact i had to pre order the game from only certain stores to be able to get the All-star DLC. it should have already been in the game. All in All its up there with the best sports titles. 2K Sports tweaked just enough to get it just a step up from last yr. Which makes it a buy! Excuse me while I go and work on my control stick skills! Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    80
    This is a welcome new standard for sports videogames as a whole and with any luck, will generate interest in getting the audio right. There are only so many places left to make it new and NBA 2K13 has crossed another off the list.
  2. Jan 7, 2013
    82
    This is still a great game, and sports fans will love this, but for those still clinging to NBA 2K11 or 2K12, you'll want to take the plunge if you really need that roster update or desperately want to play as the Dream Team.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    There's no need for another basketball game series if the NBA 2K franchise keeps releasing games like this. [Jan 2013, p.74]