Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    93
    It’s a credit to NBA 2K14 that despite not one but two new basketball sims looming on the next-gen horizon, it still managed to draw my attention squarely to the current-gen court and keep it there.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    90
    Online play is smooth and seamless, with your rival being picked from a pool of roughly statistically equivalent players, whether playing with real NBA or FIBA teams or your own custom fantasy myTeam.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    The mix of real news and improvements works great, proposing an episode of NBA 2K enjoyable and long-lasting.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Even if without any meaningful graphical improvements, NBA 2K14 manages to deliver some important improvements on an already almost perfect formula, like the very welcome Euroleague addition.
  5. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Sure, the new game mode is a little disappointing, and existing modes could have done with at least a small update, but these are minor complaints in what is easily the finest basketball gameplay seen to date – and arguably one of the greatest sporting simulations of all time.
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    90
    Whatever Visual Concepts has in store for the next generation: I can wait. The enhanced defense and the overhauled ball handling will make this year a short one.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    Although the changes and updates from the 2012 version are superficial, NBA 2K14 is a true masterpiece and probably the best sports game of the year.
  8. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Like all annualized sports franchises, NBA 2K14 is coming at the end of a cycle and of an era. Even though the next gen version is nearing completion at Visual Concepts, the devs didn't forget about fine tuning the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions, adding exclusive content and a sleeker gameplay. Overall, NBA 2K14 gained in rhythm, the dribbles are easier to manage and the defense system rocks. Add to the mix new crazy animations and you'll have a good picture of what NBA 2K is today. We can also enjoy the presence of Euroleague even if the 14 available teams (not including France) are restricted to exhibition matches, which brings some fresh air to the roster. On the other hand, we were let down by Lebron James's mod "Path to Greatness", badly made just to justify the King's presence this year. But those drawbacks are quickly forgotten because NBA 2K14 still reigns as the master on the court.
  9. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K14 shows us how good these developers are in improving their product every year. The current-gen hardware has been wisely used, while the gameplay has been enriched with contents that offer a great basketball experience.
  10. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    NBA 2K14 is the same gorgeous, over-the-top basketball simulator we are used to know, now with Euroleague teams.
  11. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    Again, 2K Sports bring us the best basketball sim out there. We can´t wait for the Next-Gen version.
  12. Oct 8, 2013
    88
    The Path to Greatness might not be the revolution we hoped for, but the rest of a game is. The quality of its gameplay is unmatched and constantly challenges you. There's also enough to do with plenty of modes which will keep you hooked for quite a while.
  13. Jan 28, 2014
    85
    Much like in previous years, NBA 2K14 is a good basketball game.
  14. Nov 14, 2013
    85
    No surprise here – another remarkably enjoyable title from the series that’s been a definition of a perfect sports game for years. [12/2013, p.66]
  15. Oct 22, 2013
    85
    If you are competitive and have a fast internet connection you will have a great time. Just be prepared to pour hours in learning how to do everything.
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    85
    There is so much to see and do in NBA 2K14 it can feel overwhelming for someone like me who isn’t a huge fan of the sport. The sheer attention to detail and ease of use though really drew me into the experience. The Lebron story mode is a novel idea, and the presentation is simply awe-inspiring.
  17. 85
    For the third year running, 2K has modified the right analog stick inputs, but luckily 2K14's Pro Stick is the best arrangement to date, letting you shoot, perform flashy passes, and put up your hands on defense with ease. It's a comfortable addition that streamlines some functionality, though the familiar button controls remain for series vets.
  18. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    Like the superstar who graces its cover, NBA 2K14 features an undeniable sense of greatness. Its presentation is the best the sports genre has to offer, and the gameplay refinements improve an already stellar game. It's a shame Visual Concepts didn't put the same level of effort into improving the popular My Career or Association mode.
  19. Oct 14, 2013
    83
    If LeBron’s your guy you’ll love 2K’s latest release. While there’s not a lot new, aside from the compulsory King James worship, the game is a fitting end to the current console cycle.
  20. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    We still think NBA 2K is the best sports franchise around. That being said, Lebron’s Path to Greatness never really impresses. It just didn’t captivate us as much as for instance the MJ game mode of 2011. NBA 2K14 is a great game, sure. But one without a unique selling point. It’s a dunk, just not a slam dunk.
  21. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    Jumping right back in the flow of NBA 2K shouldn’t be a problem for past fans of the series. There are plenty of new moves and plays to delve into, though new players may have some time getting used to controls, as the way the game moves can be somewhat of an acquired taste.
  22. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    This is no incremental update. The AI, the animations and collision detection are dramatically improved and the detail given to player faces is genuinely impressive. The only thing holding NBA 2K14 back it seems is Visual Concepts compulsion to change their control scheme annually.
  23. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    While it still exudes personality, style, and class, some of its key areas are in need of fresh ideas. NBA 2K14 is great, yes, but somehow feels like a missed opportunity.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 64
  2. Negative: 38 out of 64
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    Anyone who is giving this game a 9 or 10 is either paid to do so or hasn't played the previous 2K basketball titles. I have been a fan of theAnyone who is giving this game a 9 or 10 is either paid to do so or hasn't played the previous 2K basketball titles. I have been a fan of the series since 2K6. My main three beefs with this game. 1. There are no gameplay improvements from 2K13. 2. The game runs poorly on the xbox(choppy like a 1999 computer). 3. The game programmers focused so much on making sure the score stays close and the AI dominates when they need to that it completely removes the concept of skill in the game.

    The rest of the beefs i have with this game. Sometimes the game ignores my button commands(block, steal, shot release) or waits 2 seconds after i press the button to do them. I dont know if this is a result of the poor Xbox performance but i assume it is because the game either doesn't have an animation for a block, steal, or doesnt want me to release when i want to.

    The opponent AI is either god-like perfect or three stooges dumb. They move faster than you(one step from teleportation). The rebounds bounce to them when the game needs the rebounds to bounce to them. They rarely miss free throws. The AI's actions are limited and scripted. They will do the same exact plays offensively and defensively until they score. There is nothing artificially intelligent about them. They will perform three point line alley oops on you all game. They guard you on ball as if they respond to your buttons faster than your dribbler does. Their three point shot percentage will be 90% 100% every game and their overall shot percentage will be 80%. It is the exact opposite when it comes to AI teammates. The 4 players you aren't controlling are just plain bad. It will make you mad. They don't jump for rebounds unless the game allows it. They don't defend half as good as the opponent AI defends. They don't go for steals even if the ball is passed THROUGH their bodies. They can't keep up with the opponent AI unless the game allows it. The game has too many scripted animations. Dribbling has taken a step backwards because some guy at 2K studios decided to enact a bunch of animations that you get sucked into when trying to dribble the ball. You will find yourself just randomly dropping the ball or kicking it or having one of your stupid teammates run into you at least 10 times a game.

    The "Lebron" road to greatness is a bunch of It sucks. You play games over the years as time progresses with Lebron on the heat. You play the 2014 game 7 finals game. The 2015 game 7 finals game, etc, etc up until 2020. They change the rosters of Miami and the opponent drastically each year. By 2020, you're playing against the Dallas Mavericks who have 41 year old Kobe Bryant and a bunch of made up nobodies. It isn't worth of a mode and seems like its tacked on for Lebron publicity.

    Overall, the game has too much control over the outcome of games and isn't even subtle about it. The added animations and tweaked gameplay takes the series three steps backwards as far as gameplay. They assumed Lebron was enough to sell the game instead of actually improving it. They're probably right. The series is going stale like Madden. R.I.P. NBA 2K. Don't spend $60 for this. At least i'll be able to sell this to some sucker on craigslist and get most of my money back.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    This is 2K13 with more LeBron James. No positive gameplay changes. No interesting new modes. They just recycled their last game like MaddenThis is 2K13 with more LeBron James. No positive gameplay changes. No interesting new modes. They just recycled their last game like Madden does every year except they didnt add a single new thing to make the gameplay better as they have done for the previous titles. Disgraceful. Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    2
    This game was obviously rushed. The presentation, visuals, and gameplay are exactly the same as NBA 2k13. NBA 2k14 brings nothing new to theThis game was obviously rushed. The presentation, visuals, and gameplay are exactly the same as NBA 2k13. NBA 2k14 brings nothing new to the table and is absolutely not worth $60. However, unlike Madden, NBA 2k has always been a great gaming franchise. 2k usually changes some aspects of their NBA games, however, this one has made no changes whatsoever and I suggest you stick with NBA 2k13 until you get a next-gen copy of the game, if you are getting a next-gen copy. Full Review »