User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 9 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdrianV.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Much better than last years NBA Live '07, but there are still lots of niggling flaws. It doesn't seem to matter when you release the shot button, so this takes away some of the skill involved that has been present in other basketball games. Some players don't behave like they do in real life at all which takes away a bit from the realism. Dunking is too frequent and when Much better than last years NBA Live '07, but there are still lots of niggling flaws. It doesn't seem to matter when you release the shot button, so this takes away some of the skill involved that has been present in other basketball games. Some players don't behave like they do in real life at all which takes away a bit from the realism. Dunking is too frequent and when players do go up for the jam, they appear to get up there far too quickly as if they were shot out of a cannon! As for the improvements - The graphics and framerate are great. The animations have been improved. The reponsiveness is much better. It does take a little while to get used to the new lock on D though, as quite often the ball would get thrwon into the post and i would find myself pointing the control stick away from the offensive player and pressing the change player button only to find that my player has suddenly run out of bounds and the opposing teams post player has got an easy dunk! I'm sure I'll get used to it the more I play though... Overall, I would say this game is good, but not great. NBA 2k7 and 2k8 are still the best basketball games on the 360. Expand
  2. JoeA>
    Oct 4, 2007
    3
    Typical release from ea sports , this being there 3rd crack at next gen hoops you'd expect they'd get it right ... well think again terrible bugs , clipping an stuttering framerate loss online is a joke why microsoft let ea continue to have there crappy servers still in this day an age of xbox live is a joke 2k8 walks all over this nightmare franchise from ea yet again guess we Typical release from ea sports , this being there 3rd crack at next gen hoops you'd expect they'd get it right ... well think again terrible bugs , clipping an stuttering framerate loss online is a joke why microsoft let ea continue to have there crappy servers still in this day an age of xbox live is a joke 2k8 walks all over this nightmare franchise from ea yet again guess we can only wait an see how BAD nba live 09 is maybe 4th time lucky instead of 3rd ea ? Expand
  3. JS
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    This Game Rocks, Great Graphics Smooth Game Play, Better Than 2K8!!!!
  4. MikeM.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Solid effort from EA. They've improved graphics, framework and gameplay mechanics. Dynasty's great to play with the gamecast feature too. Solid production effort .
  5. GeorgeS.
    Dec 15, 2007
    1
    Terrible gameplay. Poor Defensive A.I. Players still stand around. Come On? I see you guys giving it 9s. How? Too Easy To Make Shots. Button Timing doesn't matter at all. Any baller would prefer 2K.
  6. PFunk
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Live 08 promises everything it screwed up on last year. At 60 frames per second, it looks crazy good. They incorporated real players signature moves that look like a real game mixed with graphics borrowed from Homecourt. I am so happy that EAC realized last years horrible game and made up for it.
  7. JobAdkins
    Aug 6, 2009
    8
    Great game.I've always liked the 2K basketball better cause it is better always has been but EA has really stepped up there game.I enjoy live 08.I have played nba live 09 and dont think there is anything special about that game and would not but it,but 08 is worth the money especially now(way later) because it is so cheap.I'm looking forward to seeing how nba live 10 is.I rateGreat game.I've always liked the 2K basketball better cause it is better always has been but EA has really stepped up there game.I enjoy live 08.I have played nba live 09 and dont think there is anything special about that game and would not but it,but 08 is worth the money especially now(way later) because it is so cheap.I'm looking forward to seeing how nba live 10 is.I rate this game a 8.1 Expand
  8. AlbertZ.
    Oct 12, 2007
    9
    The graphics rock! The gameplay is way smoother then last year.
  9. JargonJ.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    It may not be a perfect specimen, but it performs well. They gameplay is a whole lot better (no dunking through the rim). Though it does not have the modes of some of the other franchise games, the Dynasty mode is still the best franchise/dynasty mode out on the market and anyone wanting to build their franchise, look no further than NBA live 08. Whether you take the worst team and build It may not be a perfect specimen, but it performs well. They gameplay is a whole lot better (no dunking through the rim). Though it does not have the modes of some of the other franchise games, the Dynasty mode is still the best franchise/dynasty mode out on the market and anyone wanting to build their franchise, look no further than NBA live 08. Whether you take the worst team and build it up, or play with your hometown team, this ame is finally, great. Expand
  10. JordanAxtman
    Oct 26, 2007
    3
    Definitely a step forward form previous releases, but that's not saying much. A step forward in this franchise is like making mud, not that hard to do! The jump shots in live are atrocious, the release point for the ball is ridiculous. It's not smooth, not fluent, and the dunks look like a rag doll is throwing it down the stairs. Don't waste your money on this game, save itDefinitely a step forward form previous releases, but that's not saying much. A step forward in this franchise is like making mud, not that hard to do! The jump shots in live are atrocious, the release point for the ball is ridiculous. It's not smooth, not fluent, and the dunks look like a rag doll is throwing it down the stairs. Don't waste your money on this game, save it for NBA 2K8 or one of the many other worth while titles coming out this holiday season. If you need a basketball game this Christmas, get anything but this, heck NBA 08: The Life is better than this!! Expand
  11. brockmcallister
    Dec 28, 2007
    0
    this game is the suckiest game i've ever played u can't change the settings much like u can change plays or anything every time u come and try to block every time the player shoots and u want to block them they wait until they get close to the net and then they jump up to try to block them when they already du nk or get the shot in people that make this gamethis game is the suckiest game i've ever played u can't change the settings much like u can change plays or anything every time u come and try to block every time the player shoots and u want to block them they wait until they get close to the net and then they jump up to try to block them when they already du nk or get the shot in people that make this game UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKk Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    I used to be a huge fan of NBA Live series, especially NBA Live 06. From 07, EA Sports seems to take experiments. 07 seems very slippery and full of flaws, but at least there is one feature I like a separate button for dunk. In 08, most good features are overthrown. You can tell that EA Sports is making the game more detailed. But I think they fail. Ok, NBA Live is dead since NBA Live 10.I used to be a huge fan of NBA Live series, especially NBA Live 06. From 07, EA Sports seems to take experiments. 07 seems very slippery and full of flaws, but at least there is one feature I like a separate button for dunk. In 08, most good features are overthrown. You can tell that EA Sports is making the game more detailed. But I think they fail. Ok, NBA Live is dead since NBA Live 10. I haven't played any NBA games in 3 years, maybe I should try the 2K13 to pick up my desire to control an entire basketball team. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. “Real” basketball takes the court once again in NBA Live 08, bringing a much closer to real-life representation of the NBA, and even the world hoops scene, to the Xbox 360.
  2. So even though Live is lookin' better, it could still use more time in the gym. [Nov 2007, p.103]
  3. This year's game slam-dunks its predecessors, thanks to improved speed, more realistic player animations and most importantly, exquisite five-on-five play.