User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonS.
    Jul 22, 2007
    4
    Obviously EA doesn't make this game as good as Madden because no one would buy Madden a month later if this title was up to snuff. Limited options make this game average. A great example is the replay function. You can only save replays from one of the predetermined angles instead of more compelling alternativesl. Not a bad lead-in to Madden, but that's all it is for this gamer.
  2. Jaguar
    Aug 4, 2007
    5
    NCAA 08 is a let down. There are many little bugs. EA doesn't even try. I've only played through one season and so far I've noticed my defense lining up backwards and throws straight up into the air. Is it really that hard to keep players from bumping into each other and walking through each other? Why do my players stand around and look confused so much? Then there are the NCAA 08 is a let down. There are many little bugs. EA doesn't even try. I've only played through one season and so far I've noticed my defense lining up backwards and throws straight up into the air. Is it really that hard to keep players from bumping into each other and walking through each other? Why do my players stand around and look confused so much? Then there are the rediculous amount of interceptions and turn overs. Like others said, defense doesn't matter much, you can pick anything really. The game also recommends the wrong players a lot, it's very annoying. It only displays in 720p? That's how they met the frame rate target, by dropping the resolution. Overall a pathetic game from EA. I feel ripped off. Expand
  3. TerranceN.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    Best football game available, yes better than 2K8, the game with no franchise mode what so ever. Dynasty and campus legend modes go deep. Replay is unlimited.
  4. SteveR.
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    NCAA Football 08 is a solid entry into the EA Sports college football series. At 60 frames per second, NCAA 08 runs smooth and plays fast. New additions to recruting in Dynasty mode will keep gamers busy between weeks in their seasons. Campus Legend mode allows users to create their own prospect and take them through high school playoffs and into the cutthroat world of NCAA football. To NCAA Football 08 is a solid entry into the EA Sports college football series. At 60 frames per second, NCAA 08 runs smooth and plays fast. New additions to recruting in Dynasty mode will keep gamers busy between weeks in their seasons. Campus Legend mode allows users to create their own prospect and take them through high school playoffs and into the cutthroat world of NCAA football. To be a legend, players must practice hard and work hard in the classroom to maintain a minimum GPA so they can stay on the field. These modes are fun and will take up most of the user's time. Another key addition is the Shrine and highlights aspects, which allow gamers to view their greatest plays and all of those hard-earned trophies.On the downside, turnovers are too rampant, while penalties are non-existant. Some graphical issues (players going through one another) arise, but aren't too distracting. Finally, Create-A-Team, alternate uniforms, D-1AA teams, referees, cheerleaders, and chain gangs are missing. These are minor gripes for this reviewer, but some feel that next-gen gamers are being left out of some of the best parts of past NCAAs. After weighing the pros and cons, 08 is still a great game that will not disappoint any football fan. Expand
  5. Spongeee
    Jul 31, 2007
    8
    My first NCAA Football game - I must say, it's pretty fun. I am a diehard Madden fan so I was reluctant, but NCAA delievers, esp with the 60fps which Madden will finally get. The game is based on raw talent and emotion, unlike the Madden game, which is more professional and precise. The motivation factor is a great additoin too.
  6. TerryB.
    Jul 17, 2007
    5
    The game has a good look and feel but only during instant replay. The original Xbox NCAA 07 has better graphics and game play. The game is horrific in terms of button layout and the players look fat and bulky. I am extremely disappointed with EA for not having the double A schools, create a school, or create a playbook. These are probably the 3 most sough after things that I was looking The game has a good look and feel but only during instant replay. The original Xbox NCAA 07 has better graphics and game play. The game is horrific in terms of button layout and the players look fat and bulky. I am extremely disappointed with EA for not having the double A schools, create a school, or create a playbook. These are probably the 3 most sough after things that I was looking forward to. Yes the game gets very detailed in the recruiting aspect as well as the player skills, however I would rather have better game play, user-friendly controls, and more realistic looking players than the different types of wrist guards, armbands, and gloves to pick for my players. This game had great potential to utilize the power of the Xbox 360, but I am now trying to find out how to get my money back. Well at least I can still play NCAA Football 07 on the old counsel. Expand
  7. VJ
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    A really fun game. It has flaws indeed, but this is one of the better NCAA games I've played in quite some time. I give it a 10 on the "fun factor" but I would give it a 7.5 due to errors in the game. Overall it's around a 85% if you ask me. Good game.
  8. KingHBK
    Jul 18, 2007
    2
    Lets here it for EA sports they mananged to do just enough to get bye. First off where is the muliple uniforms!!!!! how hard is it to get that? Why is it that there is no footprints in the snow or rain were is the torn up field and puddles of water. Why do you guys even offer anything online. Your online options are so worthless it sholdn't even be on the game. You guys have had over Lets here it for EA sports they mananged to do just enough to get bye. First off where is the muliple uniforms!!!!! how hard is it to get that? Why is it that there is no footprints in the snow or rain were is the torn up field and puddles of water. Why do you guys even offer anything online. Your online options are so worthless it sholdn't even be on the game. You guys have had over 5 years to get something together still nothing..... Uniforms do not get dirty enough. The presentation of your games. All of them just down right stink..... PITIFUL. I don't know if you guys paid ESPN or they paid you. somebody is getting screwed on that deal. Give it back to 2Ksports at least they will use it. Lets not even talk about the passing... HELLO its called ball placement and loft key ingredents for passing. What kills me is the current gen has great passing, and great control. If it not broke don't screw with it. All in all you did as any other empire would you gave the village just enough to survive for a time but not ever giving them what they really and truly want and thats real football. Thank you for the half time show that you put in this year and how you show clips from other games ohh you didn't do that That was NFL 2k5. Don't get wrong I am not a 2K5 fan boy but bottom line is they have great game play and they put little thing in there that goes along way. I don't recognize last years entry as a real game 2007 so 2008 is not a total loss you at least made something almost worth playing. Even though I played something better for the past 6 years on current GEN. WAke up EA You guys are all hype and no HEART. Expand
  9. JoJoJ.
    Jul 21, 2007
    3
    Man, I just could not get into this. Long passing is a crap shoot and has nothing to do with whether you're open or not. Just a skill level thing.Defense is nonexistent. Nothing I did made a difference. I was a 91 MLB and I made one or two tackles a game ... BOO! So sick of EA's arrogance and ineptitude. NCAA 05 on the Ps2 was more fun. How does that happen? Get someone who Man, I just could not get into this. Long passing is a crap shoot and has nothing to do with whether you're open or not. Just a skill level thing.Defense is nonexistent. Nothing I did made a difference. I was a 91 MLB and I made one or two tackles a game ... BOO! So sick of EA's arrogance and ineptitude. NCAA 05 on the Ps2 was more fun. How does that happen? Get someone who knows football to help you program the game and kick out the maketing guys. Expand
  10. RobS.
    Jul 22, 2007
    7
    Negatives: Excessive interceptions, slow downs during menus between plays, recruiting drags and becomes more work than fun, crowds are generic still, not much different graphically with the players than last year, college atmosphere is lacking (mainly due to the poor crowds/sideline graphics). Positives: gameplay is better, blocking is realistic, fun factor is higher, very very smooth Negatives: Excessive interceptions, slow downs during menus between plays, recruiting drags and becomes more work than fun, crowds are generic still, not much different graphically with the players than last year, college atmosphere is lacking (mainly due to the poor crowds/sideline graphics). Positives: gameplay is better, blocking is realistic, fun factor is higher, very very smooth with the higher frame rate. Madden fanboys and 2K fanboys are ruining the honest reviews on the net so please be VERY wary of what you read...any rating of 10, or ratings less than a 4 for either EA or 2K is nonsense. Expand
  11. ajjay
    Aug 18, 2007
    7
    Like any other EA game, it's chock full of bugs, but thankfully most of them aren't show stoppers. It's quite a bit better than last years model, and probably not as good as next years. In general though, it's a good amount of fun.
  12. neilhinkle
    Aug 22, 2007
    2
    Ok, how do I start? 1.) It's 2007, and they can't get the teams endzones in the bowl games?2.) It's 2007, and they can't fact check? Look at the name of the stadium for the big 12 champ game, and the alamo bowl. It says alamo DOME, last time I checked a dome is not open! How bad is that? Then they can't even get all the bowl games stadiums done right? Just the sameOk, how do I start? 1.) It's 2007, and they can't get the teams endzones in the bowl games?2.) It's 2007, and they can't fact check? Look at the name of the stadium for the big 12 champ game, and the alamo bowl. It says alamo DOME, last time I checked a dome is not open! How bad is that? Then they can't even get all the bowl games stadiums done right? Just the same stadium done over,and over. LAZY EA!! Very sad to see this once great game get trashed like it is, RIP ncaa. Expand
  13. MatC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    7
    New engine or not, it's not fun to play games that have collision detection problems (it's football?!), sluggish performance, and a cumbersome UI for playcalling. If you can get past all of that, it's a good game. The stadium and models look better, the audio is worse, and it's a mediocre experience.
  14. DaveR.
    Jul 21, 2007
    8
    NCAA Football 08 is certainly not revolutionary or innovative in the virtual sense. It simply captures the game play feeling of the college football experience. EA continues to live by its motto "It's in the game." Yes, this may be true for some aspects of the game, but EA also includes many of the flaws and glitches experienced in years past. There is still noticeable collision NCAA Football 08 is certainly not revolutionary or innovative in the virtual sense. It simply captures the game play feeling of the college football experience. EA continues to live by its motto "It's in the game." Yes, this may be true for some aspects of the game, but EA also includes many of the flaws and glitches experienced in years past. There is still noticeable collision detection issues, both tackling and off the ball, player switching issues during play, and a tendency for unrealistic comebacks. The unrealistic nature of the game, at times, can be addressed with a few game play tweaks. In particular, the interceptions and fumbles seem excessive. Once again, EA has forgotten to focus the camera on the intangibles such as the bands, sidelines, and stadium fans during pivotal stands throughout the game. There is no half time show to complement the ESPN license. In addition, the commentary still seems a bit dry and lacks nostalgia. EA does include some environmental graphical additions, but nothing groundbreaking. In particular, the sidelines still need better rendering. In closing, NCAA football 08 seems more like an extension of NCAA football 07 with a few bells and whistles. I most definitely wouldn't consider this game next generation. Gameplay 9 Graphics 8 Audio 8 Overalll Score: 8.3 Expand
  15. Slingblade
    Jul 24, 2007
    3
    My biggest gripe is the slow speed and poor running animations. If a guy runs a 40yd dash in real life at under 4.5, that should translate to the virtual field. It doesn't. I tested it and the fastest guys run the 40 a full second slower. That may not seem like a big deal, but mathematically, that's like a 20% decrease. In a game where timing is everything, fouling up this My biggest gripe is the slow speed and poor running animations. If a guy runs a 40yd dash in real life at under 4.5, that should translate to the virtual field. It doesn't. I tested it and the fastest guys run the 40 a full second slower. That may not seem like a big deal, but mathematically, that's like a 20% decrease. In a game where timing is everything, fouling up this aspect of the game is unforgiveable. If you want to stare at nice stadiums and player models and could care less about how exciting the game is to play, this is your game. Best bet is to rent first before you buy. Guarantee you won't rent twice much less buy. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. NCAA Football 08 does for EA's vaunted franchise what Carson Palmer did for USC a few years ago -- it ushers in a return to glory.
  2. 85
    From the very first snap, you'll notice this game runs a whole lot faster and smoother than last year's edition, thanks to the necessary bump to 60 frames per second.
  3. For all that it does right, perhaps it’s telling that this series has improved its presentation off of the field, while still lacking some of it on the field. It’s these kind of intangibles (and those above) that need to be addressed to unify all of NCAA’s elements – as well as some of them are done – to create the ultimate college football experience.