User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 182

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    Well first off,the game DOESN'T beat Gran Turismo or Forza 3 but does give a comeback in years.. Hot Pursuit thumps and wrecks Shift in evry possible way.. The game has brought back the originality of the Need for Speed series and it really deserves recognition in every way necessary.. EA has crashed and burnt with this series but now they are croosing on the high way well done EA!!! It's an adrenaline rush from when you crash into an incoming car or use you speed boost to go to first!!!! If EA stuck with this who knows where they could of been right NOW!!!! Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    I love this game. I was looking forward to this since I heard burnout creators criterion was behind it. The graphics are fantastic, with amazing car models and stunning scenery. The car selection is vast, and you are constantly rewarded with a new one. The handling model is great and its easy to pull drifts off. Crashes are spectacular, and the a.I. is impressive. Cops are relentless and fun to play as. Criterion has redefined the need for speed series and I look forward to more Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    I don't look for realism/simulation in a racing game, I look for a fun factor. This game is fun and it should help tide me over until the game in the Burnout series comes out.
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    This is simply the best arcade racer on current gen consoles for the last few years in my opinion. Everything oozes class and it is a great adrenaline experience. The "Aulolog" feature is dangerously addictive - being told constantly that a friend has just beaten your score means a hell of a lot of replayability. Multiplayer is a blast, despite there being too few modes - hoping some DLC may correct this. My only real complaint is the fact they haven't allow you to use the Kinect sensor to take a photo for your profile - hopefully that will be patched in with future updates. If you like arcade racers - get this now. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This is the best non-sim racing game to come out since Burnout paradise, to no surprise since the team from Criterion had their hands in the development. Essentially it is Burnout with licensed cars. The graphics and soundtrack are top notch, gameplay is what you come to expect from Criterion crew, heavy cars that actually let you feel like your going fast, mixed in with the hot pursuit formula. Every car handles a little differently so there is a slight learning curve. The autolog feature is a welcome addition where your times are posted to compare with friends, and it even has a wall where you can taunt your slower friends. Weapons have been added, at first I thought they were gimmicky, but soon realized that they are vital to your success. There are two sets of missions, The police and the racers. Giving you the option to play to your prefered style. The police are the more aggressive (aka Burnout style) missions set to stop those pesky street racers, while the racers do everything they can to avoid being busted. There is lots of progression to be made on both sides, weapons level up, your score unlocks new rides, and earning golds on the courses open up new races. The tracks have many short cuts to be discovered if you want to win. The AI keeps the challenge fresh by causing traffic accidents in front of you and constantly trying to shut you down with their weapons. A must have for the arcade racer fan. My only complaint is that the game is victim to EA's pay to play online codes, But overall an awesome edge of your seat race experience!! Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    9
    Simply an outstanding racer. Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit strikes a perfect balance between arcade and simulator. While the career may get a little old at times, the Autolog system definitely makes challenging your friends a hell of a lot more fun. Online competition is intense, and I really enjoyed playing as both the racers and the cops. Simply put, this is Criterion's best game since Burnout Revenge. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome! And that's coming from someone who doesn't often play racing games. I got this because I had NFS: Hot Pursuit 2 on the PS2 ages ago, and this definantly beats it. The campaign isn't repetative like a lot of these people make out, its actually very diverse and fun. The multiplayer is also brilliant and extremely addictive. Maybe the one downside is that it doesn't have split screen but It hasn't bothered me and I usually love split screen games (my blog: http://gamingtwin.blogspot.com/) I suggest you run out and buy it now! Or at least rent it. :) Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    What is with all these negative reviews? Clearly, they haven't been playing the game enough. This game is absolutely amazing. What do you get when you put the Burnout guys on the Need for Speed franchise? The best arcade racer ever made, of course! This is the most beautiful, frantic racer I've ever played. It's fast, it's reckless, it's competitive. The multiplayer is the finest I've ever seen in a racing game, even better than your more traditional sim like Forza Motorsport 3.

    Frankly, these negative reviewers are missing the point. In fact, I'd go as far as to call them rather unintelligent. How could anyone find the graphics mediocre? If you have trouble steering in the game, you're just bad at games period. And for the people who say there's nothing to do, have you even been online yet?

    Yes, there is an unskippable ad at the beginning that plays only once, but once it's out of the way, you'll never see it again.

    Overall, this game is a win on all fronts, and you'd have to be an idiot to dislike it.
    Expand
  9. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    No story.... Waaah!! Cars don't handle realistically.... Boo Hoo!! Not enough variety.... Sob!! .........To all the red score detractors I say three words..... BLOODY GOOD FUN !!!! After a break of many, many month's I loaded NFS: Hot Pursuit and spent an afternoon of rapture and (old) boy racer joy. As a quick fix adrenalin rush, this can't be beat. Short, point to point race's (on either sides of the law) at lightning fast speed and awe inspired drifting is arcade heaven. Not every game needs a story, realistic handling and lots of variety. Not every game needs to be played for eight hours at a time (not that there's anything wrong with that)......... There are games that I buy, play then on-sell. And there are games I hold onto because they are keepers. This game is a keeper. Expand
  10. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    What a game,what a rush.EA and Criterion are just pushing the limits of what to expect out of a driving game.Well one thing is for sure is that Nobody and I mean nobody can compete with them when it comes to racing,fun,integration of online/offline components,wow!The only real competition was midnight club los angelas but they aren't even close to this title and burnout paradise!To me those two games from EA are my picks for best driving games ever.I mean including forza 3 even though thats simulation,I lose myself in this game like no other,it's like an action movie/stratagy game/first person shooter/Racing brilliance,great job once again !!! Perfect 10 no doubt! Expand
  11. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent. the graphics are great and the sound effects are amazing. the gameplay is also even more fun now that you can shoot emp's and other things like that. my only disappointment is it feels too much like burnout.
  12. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    The Good: Insanely addicting multiplayer, slick presentation, great sounds, unbelievably fun gameplay The Bad: virtually no customization options, limited single-player experience Graphics: 10 - One of the nicest looking games available, and yet the frame-rate is a good as it gets. Sound: 9 - Awesome sounds and good music, although the track selection could be better. Replay Value - 7 for single player, 10 for multi-player. This is a game meant to be played with others.

    Full Review below:

    When I heard that Criterion was going to develop this game, and that it was going to be an old-school Need for Speed game, I thought it was going to be awesome.

    Honestly, after playing the demo, I wasn't sure about this game. I was going to pre-order it, but ended up getting the newest Assassin's Creed game instead (a worthy purchase). I was going to wait until it ended up a GameStop or something used to get a better deal. I saw this game at Target (and Best Buy) for $35 in the Black Friday ads and decided to go for it. I waited in line for 2 hours to get this game. I wasn't sure if it was worth it...

    Believe me, it was. The demo did not do this game justice.

    Think Burnout meets old school Need for Speed. Cops vs. Racers. No story to get in the way, just good old-fashioned high-speed chases. Add some great cars, gorgeous visuals, and a silky-smooth framerate, and this game doesn't disappoint. Single player alone was worth the $35.00. The game modes are fun, especially the Hot Pursuit modes, where a group of racers try and out-run the cops. One great aspect of this game is that you can play both sides, and both sides are really fun. So it has a pretty good single-player mode. But it's multiplayer that makes this a killer game. Playing as either the cops or the racers in Hot Pursuit mode online is ridiculously fun, especially if you have a headset and can talk during the race. I haven't tried the other online modes yet, but Hot Pursuit mode is enough to keep me playing for months to come.

    The other really cool feature is known as Autolog. It's kinda like Facebook for your game. Autolog compares your times and achievements in single-player mode to those of your friends playing this game. It's a nice departure from traditional leaderboards that feature inhuman achievements made by the top players. I do wish they added some more customization options like those found in NFS: Most Wanted. It would be sick to be able to customize a police car. But these are just minor gripes.

    Bottom Line: If you don't have (or don't use) online access for your console of choice, you'll have some fun with this game, but your replay value will be limited (I would just rent it). However, if you play multiplayer with this game, you won't be able to put it down very easily. Be careful, as this game's multiplayer will eat up hours upon hours of your time.
    Expand
  13. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit is the definitive racing game of this generation, and a successful reboot of the franchise. EA has handed over the reigns to Criterion Games, the developers of the popular Burnout series. However, this is not a Burnout game, it is nowhere near, in fact. Hot Pursuit allows players to take behind the wheel of over fifty licensed cars. There are no "in between" vehicles here. The game cuts to the chase by including world renowned exotics from manufacturers such as BMW and Bugatti. In terms of visuals, this is a beautiful game, lighting, textures, and the amount of detail in the environment has pushed the Xbox 360 to it's limit. This is apparent in the frame rate, which has been locked at 30fps. This comes across as disappointing due to fact that racing games generally maintain a solid 60fps during gameplay, particularly in the Forza Motorsport franchise. Nonetheless, this is a minor gripe, it should not deter anyone from the game. The gameplay is fantastic, players have the choice to play as the cop or racer throughout the career. I still have not decided which is better, since being a cop or racer is just too damn fun. Regardless of who you play, you will have access to various weapons such as nitrous and turbo, which gives you a boost in speed for a short period of the. My favourite in particular, is the use of EMPs, which flatlines electronics and causes a significant amount of damage to your target. The game has also introduced the Autolog system, which keeps track of your online progress. It also acts as a social utility where you can compete and communicate with friends. All in all, this is a fantastic, yet addictive racer. I found myself playing hours on end. The career will span anywhere between twenty and thirty hours, and along with a robust multiplayer , Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit will keep you coming for more. Expand
  14. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Super fun multiplayer and career that prepares you for whats to come in multiplayer.. Unlockables and great graphics and a stratigical twist in the game makes the game more fun.. Best racing game out there
  15. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    un buon arcade e lo stampo criterion si sente tutto. graficamente non eccezzionale e la guidabilità delle auto risulta un pò troppo pesante.

    il divertimento c'è e le modalità sono immediate e divertenti.

    il multiplayer è divertente ma è strutturato non benissimo:manca la ricerca personalizzata con stanze ed affluenza visionabile dal
    menù e spesso si sprecano minuti e minuti alla ricerca ''cieca'' in modalità (troppe) in cui magari non c'è nessuno pronto . Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Love this game for what it is, childish smashing and crashing fun. It's not a game that takes itself seriously, it is not a sim. It's an old school arcade game and knows it, you new kids don't get it and that's cool but I'm old and remember games like this one and it is a dying breed of just pick up and play with non gamer friends and enjoy.
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is a good game. If you are a NFS fan and expect something like Underground or most wanted or something dont buy it. If you are a mainstream gamer that enjoys multiplayer or racing games that dont require that much brain power this is the game for you. I have 100% completion after 60 hours of gameplay and the multiplayer is a lot of fun but it can be frustrating sometimes.
  18. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Gra jest tym co uwielbiam w Need for Speedach. Jest tu zręcznościowy tryb jazdy znany z poprzednich części serii, masa samochodów, masa tras, ucieczki przed policja, dopieszczanie czasów, medale, osiągnięcia, piękne krajobrazy i cudowna playlista.
    Jestem na etapie 20% ukończenia gry, ale już wiem że się zmotywuję i ukończę ją na 100 :)
    Polecam.
  19. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    I am proud to say Criterion did an excellent job with this game and it completely lives up to how great Need for Speed was in the past. This game is a reboot of an older NFS game and succeeds in capturing the sense of entertainment that was seen before. The first thing that stands out is how outstanding the graphics are, and even though I do not really care about graphics I have to praise them. Next is the soundtrack, the main theme being Edge of the Earth by 30 Seconds to Mars which I loved listening to. The rest of the songs have a rap and pop feel to it, and some really stand out while you are driving and having epic moments. Next is the gameplay, it is extremely fun with a less realistic and more arcade feel, adding a lot of fun to this game. The ability to be a cop or racer is what is crucial in an NFS game since the missions play differently and you get to see different stuff with each. The amount of events in single-player may not seem like much to some, but it will when they get deeper in the game since the later events will get really difficult and will include some really crazy driving. The car selection in this game is incredible, with 5 divisions of the car classes from sports to hyper there is a really good amount of them, and you will feel difference with every car you drive. Online in this game is a blast, with racers and cops chasing them online it feels great, and I rarely felt I was at a disadvantage regarding player experience, it will keep you entertained for a good while. The only flaws this game has is a few weak songs in the soundtrack (maybe its the great songs that belittle them) and a really high difficulty in the time challenges making it very difficult to progress. The NFS franchise had a great comeback and it is interesting to see what it has to offer in the future, this game is a total recommend and it will be for a while. Collapse
  20. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Take Need for Speed's beautiful exotic cars, the Hot Pursuit series' signature stunning locales, full Cop and Racer campaigns and Criterion's mastery of arcade-racing controls and what do you get? One of the best racing games ever made. I have a few minor gripes like how the Hyper series selection is of lower quality compared to the other series and the level 3 weapons can get pretty ridiculous, especially the nearly impossible to avoid lvl 3 roadblocks. However, they're a microscopic blemish on an otherwise perfect racing game. Expand
  21. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Great game. Great if not amazing details, missions, and cars. Arguably the best Need For Speed game ever made and in the top 2 in challenging for the Need For Speed Series
  22. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    Great game, great graphics, great soundtrack, great fun. Being a gamer who has been gaming since gaming began i can tell you that as you get older games no longer have the ability to make you wake up early jump out of bed and play them like when you were a kid, however, this was the first game to make me do that in years. I just kept wanting one more try, another try to better my score and get the gold medals. It was a lot of fun. Expand
  23. Oct 4, 2012
    0
    I am proud to say Criterion did an excellent job with this game and it completely lives up to how great Need for Speed was in the past. This game is a reboot of an older NFS game and succeeds in capturing the sense of entertainment that was seen before. The first thing that stands out is how outstanding the graphics are, and even though I do not really care about graphics I have to praise them. Next is the soundtrack, the main theme being Edge of the Earth by 30 Seconds to Mars which I loved listening to. The rest of the songs have a rap and pop feel to it, and some really stand out while you are driving and having epic moments. Next is the gameplay, it is extremely fun with a less realistic and more arcade feel, adding a lot of fun to this game. The ability to be a cop or racer is what is crucial in an NFS game since the missions play differently and you get to see different stuff with each. The amount of events in single-player may not seem like much to some, but it will when they get deeper in the game since the later events will get really difficult and will include some really crazy driving. The car selection in this game is incredible, with 5 divisions of the car classes from sports to hyper there is a really good amount of them, and you will feel difference with every car you drive. Online in this game is a blast, with racers and cops chasing them online it feels great, and I rarely felt I was at a disadvantage regarding player experience, it will keep you entertained for a good while. The only flaws this game has is a few weak songs in the soundtrack (maybe its the great songs that belittle them) and a really high difficulty in the time challenges making it very difficult to progress. The NFS franchise had a great comeback and it is interesting to see what it has to offer in the future, this game is a total recommend and it will be for a while. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 73
  2. Negative: 1 out of 73
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    80
    While Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit is a terrific racer, it's also a poignant reminder that Criterion will probably never be able to match the standard they set with Burnout 3.
  2. Jan 18, 2011
    70
    A fast, fun, pretty and globally mastered game, even if we could regret a rather short content, and a solo career a bit too classic and repetitive.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit reminds me of the first part of the assassin's creed-series. In general, the game is great, but it's missing variety and long-time motivation. Especially the number of time trials shouldn't have been this high. Races and pursuits are much more fun. The small amount of about 100 cars doesn't really matter, because all of them were done well, although some them have only 300 PS. Altogether, it's a great action-racing-game, but there is maybe more potential for Hot Pursuit 2.