User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    2
    Disappointing. I'll keep it short and sweet. I'll start with the good. This game is pretty to look at. Music is good. Excellent marketing. Now the bad. Control is sluggish. It's like Criterion couldn't decide if they wanted to make this a sim or arcade and left it limbo. No visual customization options. You can't even choose color, decals, rims, etc. NO CANDY PAINT :(
    Automatic
    Disappointing. I'll keep it short and sweet. I'll start with the good. This game is pretty to look at. Music is good. Excellent marketing. Now the bad. Control is sluggish. It's like Criterion couldn't decide if they wanted to make this a sim or arcade and left it limbo. No visual customization options. You can't even choose color, decals, rims, etc. NO CANDY PAINT :(
    Automatic transmission. Period. You do not have the option for manual transmission. No story. Not even a effort to make a story. Earn points to race other cars. That's it. Must FIND cars to acquire them OR earn points by racing then beat another car only then will you earn another car. Only 2 camera views. No fine tuning .for example: adjusting turning/handling, braking, acceleration, height, spoiler height. etc. While in free roam or race GENTLY bump another car or wall or anything and car is wrecked. Cannot deactivate crash camera. Tons of time wasted watching yourself crash. Only through mini-map are tracks clearly designed. Some maps have the assist arrows to go >>. Most don't and you end up barreling through a intersection and find yourself going the wrong way. rent this game. Don't waste your hard earned cash on this like I did. My two cents. I have no idea why so many game sites are giving this game high marks. My only guess is EA supports their website through ads ... and lots of them. If the reviewer doesn't play ball they, take away all that support. This game does not deserve to have the "Most Wanted" title. Stick with the 2005 classic , not this garbage.
    Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    3
    Wow just wow why all this love? I got this game because one of my friends said it was pretty much Paradise 2. let me be clear its not even close. now I have played a lot of NFS games and also Burnout games, but this one seems to take the lazy way. if you don't like Multi player don't bother even renting this game no real single player what so ever, you don't get to earn different cars byWow just wow why all this love? I got this game because one of my friends said it was pretty much Paradise 2. let me be clear its not even close. now I have played a lot of NFS games and also Burnout games, but this one seems to take the lazy way. if you don't like Multi player don't bother even renting this game no real single player what so ever, you don't get to earn different cars by taking them down like in Paradise no you get them all but wait there is a catch they are all scattered around the map and the best part if you want to change to a different car you don't get to go to a garage or a junkyard oh no you have to drive all over the map just to find a car you like then take that one. don't even get me started on the police chases. like many of the others said nothing happens when you get busted and it seems more weak no spikes or anything and it seems way easier to get away from them. what about multi player you ask glad you did. this is where it gets OK. it is pretty much like Burnout P's multi was expect of course once again you get all the cars and the races are boring. while some challenges are fun most are a wast of time, and when you take down a friend it just does not feel as great as it should no epic showing of your friends car being destroyed or anything like that just a little thing that says you took down so and so. the controls are just like NFS nothing new about them. as I played the single player for some dumb reason I figured out quickly that they is no customizing what so ever. sure there are things like win this race get traction tires but that's it no hey lets change my color or anything like that unless you go through a drive in and even then you still don't get to chose your color it does it random. overall I am very sickened by this game and also sickened by the BS the critics are giving it. probably got paid to give it a higher raking by EA. only reason it got a 3 is because its sort of fun to play with friends online and the graphics are good. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2012
    3
    No no no no..... Good? It is beautiful, and it has a great concept for multiplayer Bad? everything else. Is this the first multiplayer game that you cant even choose the color of your car? The cars feel so fake, the engine noise can't be right, and the steering feels so lagged out and arcade that the cars don't even feel real. I loved the first Most wanted, one of my favorite racing games,No no no no..... Good? It is beautiful, and it has a great concept for multiplayer Bad? everything else. Is this the first multiplayer game that you cant even choose the color of your car? The cars feel so fake, the engine noise can't be right, and the steering feels so lagged out and arcade that the cars don't even feel real. I loved the first Most wanted, one of my favorite racing games, but this game just had me wanting to play the original instead. Critereon... Sorry but please make another burnout.... Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    This game has no soul at all. Taking down the most wanted rivals is completely boring. There is no character associated with a vehicle, no story at all. It's simply unlock a most wanted challenge and then beat it, get car, rinse, repeat. Customization is gone completely as all mods are the same for each vehicle and you unlock them in the same generic races over and over again. The onlineThis game has no soul at all. Taking down the most wanted rivals is completely boring. There is no character associated with a vehicle, no story at all. It's simply unlock a most wanted challenge and then beat it, get car, rinse, repeat. Customization is gone completely as all mods are the same for each vehicle and you unlock them in the same generic races over and over again. The online is kind of hit or miss for me...they reward crashing WAY too much. Nobody races with any finesse they just fly around slamming into you all the time. And WTF is up with the speed trials and challenge events!?! This is supposed to be a racing game!! In some events you actually have to try and PARK your car longer than anyone else in a specific spot!! That's right...the object is to PARK your car?!?! What the heck is Criterion thinking!?!?! After the awesomeness that was NFS: The Run, I had high hopes for this game but if you ask me Criterion screwed up just about every single aspect of this game and sucked all the fun right out of the online game. This is definitely one to avoid for sure. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    This must be one of the worst racing games I ever played. First of all, the pc version has massive fps drops and is pretty much unplayable. There is also a delay when you turn which makes it impossible to keep the car on the road. The car handling is also terrible and I bet Super Mario Karts have better car handling. It really feels like you driving a boat. Also every time when you startThis must be one of the worst racing games I ever played. First of all, the pc version has massive fps drops and is pretty much unplayable. There is also a delay when you turn which makes it impossible to keep the car on the road. The car handling is also terrible and I bet Super Mario Karts have better car handling. It really feels like you driving a boat. Also every time when you start the game you have to watch a stupid intro for about 3 minutes, you can Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    1
    This is burnout with a NFS title. The game absolutely sucks. Nothing much more I can say about it. The feel of the driving sucks, the way it goes into a impact replay every time you hit something sucks.... it just sucks. Nothing about this game is good except the graphics. This was a huge disappointment. Critereon need to stick to making arcade games. NFS was a good game. This is just BS!
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    You can call the handling 'arcade', but a better term would be 'garbage'. There's a term in automotive journalism regarding handling called a 'dead spot' in a steering wheel. The handing in Most Wanted is ALL dead spot, until you get to the point that you are spinning out of control or careening into a building. If you have heard that this game is like driving a car on ICE, that is exactlyYou can call the handling 'arcade', but a better term would be 'garbage'. There's a term in automotive journalism regarding handling called a 'dead spot' in a steering wheel. The handing in Most Wanted is ALL dead spot, until you get to the point that you are spinning out of control or careening into a building. If you have heard that this game is like driving a car on ICE, that is exactly correct. Crashing is frequent, and restarts are constant. After over a dozen attempts, I could not complete the first 'Ambush' race with a time restraint of 2:00. 2 minutes to evade the police?? It takes that amount of time for your 'heat' level to go away. The game design is clueless. There isn't much to do in the world, and all of the cars handle the same. Forza Horizon is the only choice for 360 owners. A used copy of GT5 is a better choice for PS3 players. Collapse
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    Really disappointed. Only 2 camera angles, hard to see checkpoints, stupid crash animations. NFS The Run was better than this! I have played every single NFS title, it's obvious EA are paying for high reviews because I have no idea how the game is scoring so well critically, whilst the customers are unhappy with this product.
  9. Nov 8, 2012
    2
    A clumsy take on the Most Wanted name, this game removes all the street race style of the original. Even as a solo title it would be weak, but trying to link it to the original is a sad attempt at name recognition.
  10. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can honestly say that NFS Most Wanted 2005 was, in my opinion, the best game in the NFS series. It had so many things which set it apart from any other racing games. Firstly, I loved the customization. Buying a car that you've had your eye on, with money saved up from races you've won, and then going on to customize the color, body parts, unique paint jobs, rims, window tint and so on.. It was one of the most enjoyable things about the game, making your car unique from everyone else. Another thing that I loved, was the way the heat level worked. The more you used your unique car in police chases, and wanted level milestone events, the higher your heat level would get, only lowering once you re-customize (change the appearance) your car. Another thing that was very enjoyable was the police chases. These were the most Epic police chases of all time. Once again, the higher the heat level, the more intense the police chases would be starting with the normal cruisers, and moving to more intense chases with spike strips and choppers, along with suped up white corvettes hunting you down. You could use pursuit breakers which were marked on your map with an orange triangle to help you successfully evade the police. If you were caught, you were forced to pay your fines with the money you had won from past races, or use a marker so your car wouldn't be impounded. ....Needless to say... EVERYTHING that I loved about the first need for speed, has been left out of this game. No customization whatsoever. The only thing you can change in this game is the color, and that is selected randomly when you drive through shops that are placed throughout the map. This also repairs your car. The only upside to this is that it makes it easier to recover if you find yourself with flat tires after hitting a spike strip during a police pursuit. There are no more pursuit breakers, which makes evading police a bit more annoying.. even if you didn't like the breakers to begin with, the option was nice if you desperately needed to get away from the police to avoid having your favorite car impounded. The heat level isn't nearly as good in this game either... Not that it matters, because if you get busted, there are no consequences. No more paying fines, or worrying about having your car impounded... You can actually save yourself time by just getting busted and skipping the police chase all together, which just makes the game that much more lame.. Busted? oh well... no worries.. just be on your marry way. The currency is gone entirely from this game. No more saving up to buy that special car you had your eye on.. you just find cars randomly throughout the map and can hop in and drive... This isn't all that bad, except for the fact that when you find a car that you actually enjoy driving, you only get to use it for 5 or 6 races/events... then its on to the next car to gain your points required for the next black list member... Oh I forgot... there are no longer even black list "members".. Its just a blacklist number 10-1, with a specific car that you race against. No unique, original story line or characters to face.. just a random car. And so far, it's insanely easy to move up the ranks.. I had only completed 2 or 3 races when it was time to challenge the first black list "car"..
    Other notable problems with this game are the lack of manual shifting (the option isn't even there) and the lack of views - behind the car, or in front of the front bumper. The graphics aren't bad, but they're certainly nothing to write home about. In the end, I was so excited for this game because its predecessor was the most enjoyable racing game of the entire NFS series. But when all is said and done, everything that made the first game fun and unique, has been removed from this game, leaving it a forgettable, mildly fun (at best) racing experience.
    At this point, I would have more fun replaying the old most wanted game.. They need to take a look at the old game, bring back everything that I mentioned above which made the game unique, and put together a REAL most wanted game, because in my honest opinion, this is not NFS Most Wanted.. it doesn't even deserve to share the same title as its predecessor.
    More like NFS Unwanted if you ask me..
    Expand
  11. Nov 7, 2012
    2
    This is such a disappointment, and to call this game Most Wanted is blasphemy. The original is one of the best racing games ever, but this game just feels like a mess. Burnout Paradise was a great game, but I didn't play that game when I felt like playing Need For Speed, so perhaps they should have just called this game something else. Honestly, Forza Horizon feels more like the old MostThis is such a disappointment, and to call this game Most Wanted is blasphemy. The original is one of the best racing games ever, but this game just feels like a mess. Burnout Paradise was a great game, but I didn't play that game when I felt like playing Need For Speed, so perhaps they should have just called this game something else. Honestly, Forza Horizon feels more like the old Most Wanted to me than this game does. The cars in this new MW feel limp and sound weird, the customization options from the original MW are gone and now you get parts from winning races instead of buying them when you earned enough money. It all just feels streamlined the wrong way, as though EA tried to trim out things that weren't fun but ended up trimming some of the bast parts of racing games. Expand
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Y la blackList? que paso con la historia?? el garage las tiendas, la customizacion, las partes destruibles para huir de la policia los efectos de pintura y todo lo que se esperaba del Most Wanted original??? Es una basura, otro NFS the run en que pasas por una gasolinera y no podes tener el color de tu auto favorito sino al azar, sin vinilos, etc prefiero 1000 veces el forza horizon, ese si parece mas NFS most wanted con las carreras callejeras y todo lo demas como rivales customizacion, historia etc Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2013
    0
    it's a dumb down burnout paradise the music get's old fast it should not be called Need for Speed: Most Wanted it's burnout paradise 2 the Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2005 is way better they did not do well by it
  14. Nov 8, 2012
    3
    Looks good, umm that's it really,why is it that regardless of the make of car the wheels and tyres have been replaced by ball bearings. In a nut shell the physics of driving are diabolical, all cars drive the same, on ice !! This has put me off this game, not sure what they were trying to achieve here, but it has failed !!
  15. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Total garbage. If you enjoy racing games such as Forza, Gran Turismo, Dirt, or anything remotely realistic don't even bother with this. You would be wasting your money. The controls and gameplay are simply horrid. The graphics are great, but when the gameplay is this terrible there's no way to put up with it.
  16. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    Criterion strikes again, butchering a long-dead hit series with even more of a fluke of a game. I'm going to be a bit personal in this review, first off. The developers at Criterion must not be capable of any form of higher thought process, because if they were, they would have stopped making Need for Speed, and let it die a noble death long before the crap that was NFS: The Run. InCriterion strikes again, butchering a long-dead hit series with even more of a fluke of a game. I'm going to be a bit personal in this review, first off. The developers at Criterion must not be capable of any form of higher thought process, because if they were, they would have stopped making Need for Speed, and let it die a noble death long before the crap that was NFS: The Run. In short, Need for Speed has become Burnout, because someone at EA was an idiot and cut the Burnout series, then entitled Criterion to get their grubby hands on Need for Speed. Crashing is a good thing, driving isn't, customization is non-existant, police chases are cliche and lame, at best. There is no thrill to this game, nor is there to any recent Need for Speed games. Undercover was the last of them, folks, the very last decent Need for Speed game. As others have stated, you CANNOT customize anything, save for your paint, which is reset whenever you drive in for a tune-up. The "blacklist" is nothing but a boring checklist now, if that. There is no story, no characters, no cars to upgrade to, per se. All there is in this game is more of Criterion's trademark crap, heated to serve. I refuse to even bother going into detail about this game, as there is no detail, what you see is what you get. I was one of few lucky enough to just have played a rental, but if you are considering buying this game, HEED THIS WARNING: This is NOT like the original NFS:MW, and you will be wasting your time any money if you think that it will be anything remotely enjoyable, as Most Wanted 1 was. Criterion, you continue to make a grown man cry with your redundant failure to make games. EA should have let you die out with the Burnout series, and saved Need for Speed the agony that it has received with you at the helm. Expand
  17. Nov 4, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If this game was as good as any previous NFS title on the 360 or any of the previous Burnout games on the 360 it would get a lot better user scores. As it is it deserves its user scores but not its critic scores. I always say graphics only deserve a bad score if they distract you and the graphics here distracted me and it has been a long time since I have said that. Most Wanted cars are plain and without characters. The game is without character. Its like they took bits from Burnout Paradise and bits from the original Most Wanted and said - how can we use these bits to make the worst racing game on the 360. In no way recommended. Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    I was looking very forward to this game. I bought it the day it came out, and have already sold it after becoming the number 1 'most wanted'. What a disappointment. Great graphics, and detail. Awesome transitions into the races, but the fun pretty much stopped there. The races were just repetitive after the first 4 or 5 cars. The 'most wanted' races lacked any depth or story, andI was looking very forward to this game. I bought it the day it came out, and have already sold it after becoming the number 1 'most wanted'. What a disappointment. Great graphics, and detail. Awesome transitions into the races, but the fun pretty much stopped there. The races were just repetitive after the first 4 or 5 cars. The 'most wanted' races lacked any depth or story, and anything that made it exciting to get the new car. A HUGE world, and only a handful of races. I missed the knockout races, the drift races, the speed camera races. A 9 for my anticipation... but a sad 4 for my experience. Expand
  19. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    As a massive NFS fan this was a huge let down. While it looks nice, its just so boring. The game has no soul and by the midway point I found I was playing it just to sell on and say I'd done it. Avoid this and go buy Forza Horizon, that has everything in it that this game should have had. Namely, its fun to play. Also, the decision to name this Most Wanted is a disgrace. The original hadAs a massive NFS fan this was a huge let down. While it looks nice, its just so boring. The game has no soul and by the midway point I found I was playing it just to sell on and say I'd done it. Avoid this and go buy Forza Horizon, that has everything in it that this game should have had. Namely, its fun to play. Also, the decision to name this Most Wanted is a disgrace. The original had everything you'd want from an arcade racer, this has nothing in comparison. I can't can't help but laugh at this being labelled 'Need for Speed: Most Wanted - A Criterion Game', if I was Criterion I'd be ashamed to put my name to such a weak effort, not including it in the title. Very poor. Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    I remember the 2005 version being my favorite need for speed. How times have changed. Controls feel sluggish. Lighting animations are very realistic but make the game harder to play. In the real world I can squint when the sun is in my eyes. It doesn't work in a video game. Cut scenes are boring and drawn out. I also felt like a magnet to other cars. If I saw them I would hit them. TheyI remember the 2005 version being my favorite need for speed. How times have changed. Controls feel sluggish. Lighting animations are very realistic but make the game harder to play. In the real world I can squint when the sun is in my eyes. It doesn't work in a video game. Cut scenes are boring and drawn out. I also felt like a magnet to other cars. If I saw them I would hit them. They seem to always be in that sweet spot. This game is going back to the store. Will wait for the next one. Hopefully its better. Expand
  21. Jul 22, 2013
    0
    I have owned and played every NFS game since NFS 2 SE for PC, and I'm probably the biggest racing-junkie out there. I don't come out and write reviews too often, but this game really made me want to come out and express my displeasure.

    When I first heard about Criterion making a "sequel" to the original Need For Speed Most Wanted, I was extremely excited. Criterion made Burnout Paradise
    I have owned and played every NFS game since NFS 2 SE for PC, and I'm probably the biggest racing-junkie out there. I don't come out and write reviews too often, but this game really made me want to come out and express my displeasure.

    When I first heard about Criterion making a "sequel" to the original Need For Speed Most Wanted, I was extremely excited. Criterion made Burnout Paradise (Once of the funnest racing games this generation), Need For Speed Hot Pursuit (Another great game), and here they are making the long awaited sequel that fans have been begging for YEARS (Youtube, Facebook. Every video fans asked for a new NFS MW)

    Boy, they really let all of them down.

    Of course, no one knew any better before it came out. Positive reviews were coming out a few days before launch, and I would even check Google news every few hours for any new info on it. I pre-ordered the Limited Edition for $60.

    It came in 2 days after launch, and I immediately played it. And was immediately disappointed.

    There are examples of the devs being CHEAP everywhere you look. There are only 2 car views (compared to the original: 4 views) The licensed soundtrack is HORRIBLE (I turned it off after about 5 min) The "career mode" is NOTHING. It is far too easy, and didn't make me want to come back to play the game. You just drove around doing random races for not real purpose. Oh and no split-screen! If that isn't cutting corners, I don't know what is. The freaking GAMECUBE ORIGINAL HAD SPLIT/SCREEN! Seven years ago! And they can't do that today!

    Probably biggest letdown though: Overall, it was not fun to play. Cars handled like TANKS. While in Burnout Paradise it took SKILL and good reflexes to get by traffic at blazing speeds, here you will crash out in random situations. MANY TIMES. I consider myself an excellent racer, and when I keep crashing for BS reasons too many times, there is a problem. (There is also too much traffic, as if they want you to continue to keep crashing out.)

    You drive around, "hijacking" whatever car you see. You get no feeling of "accomplishment" and again is extremely boring. No visual customization (but you can change the paint by going through repair shops. Its random too. Common, this is so pathetic that they completely IGNORED the BEST PART about the original game!)

    Cop chases was the best mode in the original MW. It was very dramatic, and was it was fun smashing into cop cars (WITHOUT "CRASHING OUT" YOUR OWN CAR EVERY TIME YOU TOUCH SOMETHING) and knocking donuts shops over, blowing up gas stations. It was very cool. In this game however, it is a total JOKE. There is no dramatic music, no things to knock over. If they replaced those with something else, I would be happy. But no. The cops are SUPER DUMB, and will try to take yo out no matter what (the original, they also tried to spin you out, but again you wouldn't get "crashed out".)This makes for REAL BORING cop chases. I didn't even try in them, because nothing happened to you if you were caught! (The original had cool videos, and you would have to pay with money or impound you're car.)

    Looking at the online stuff, it's obvious Criterion spent most of their time here. And I admit, I give them some credit for making a somewhat decent system. Too bad they ENCOURAGED players to take each other out(Yes, they give you points for this)! I wouldn't go 30 seconds without someone smashing into me. This is not real racing. And no way is fun. Anyone who says otherwise is either brainwashed from all the mediocre games lately, or works for EA.

    In the end, this is more of a "reboot" and new interpretation of the term "Most Wanted". If they tried to make something original that was fun--they failed. If they intended to make a direct sequel--COMPLETE FAIL. This game gave me no enjoyment, and is currently sitting on Craigslist for $30. (Funny fact: the game was $35 everywhere 2 weeks after it came out. Thanks guys!)

    I will never pre-order a NFS game again. EA had every reason in the world to make this a fun, enjoyable game. And failed. They are ANNIHILATING the fans that have been here for them since the beginning. While the original game was fun, and overall a well-polished AAA game, here we have a over-rated CR@P that is a COMPLETE disgrace the Need for Speed series and racing games nowadays. Criterion must be INSANE to think they made a great game. The "professional" critics have not played the earlier NFS games: back when they were well-polished fun, long-lasting experiences to realize that this is total CR@P. They are praising mediocre games that do not have any heart or soul (I guarantee the older NFS games had a bigger budget and had more man-hours into them. That's why they are still great today!)
    Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    Poorly executed game that lacks the original Most Wanted's theme. The charm that the previous Need for Speed games like Most Wanted and Carbon is completely gone from the game. Lack of creativity by making the player drive around the city and randomly winning races for absolutely no reason whatsoever. This is not the Need for Speed game that we have been waiting years for..
  23. Jan 28, 2013
    0
    Trash game without soul. Multiplayer Burnout clone.
    They uses MW name, and now no sequel for original. Never.
  24. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    This game is a better pill to swallow if you lean towards liking the Burn-out games, less if coming from a Need for Speed gameplay point of view.

    For me Need for Speed Most Wanted (the original) was for me the pinnacle of the NFS Series. It had everything but multiplayer because of the age it was released. Let's put it this way. They released a PS2 version at the same time.
    This game is a better pill to swallow if you lean towards liking the Burn-out games, less if coming from a Need for Speed gameplay point of view.

    For me Need for Speed Most Wanted (the original) was for me the pinnacle of the NFS Series. It had everything but multiplayer because of the age it was released. Let's put it this way. They released a PS2 version at the same time. Regardless this game was fantastic.

    But again that is just my opinion and you know what opinions are in common with. Let me break it down though.

    Strengths of Need for Speed (original)

    - Single player (cheesy) but still cool story about working up your ranks.
    - Car modifications. Not as much as you would like (is there ever?) but still a great selection of decals and/or body kits.
    - Did I say single player? Boss races that had feeling. Chance to gain a pink slip and take your opponents car. Opponents that mattered in single player. Really cool feeling of "working up the ranks"
    - Fear. Get busted enough and lose your car. PERMANENTLY. Good stuff right there.
    - A real economy. Money got you new rides or greatly needed upgrades. You could get different body kits and greatly change the look of your car (which in turn lowered your wanted level).

    Need for Speed 2012

    - Not really a sequel to Need for Speed Most Wanted.
    - No story. No story at all.
    - Great multiplayer.
    - Not so hot view options.

    This game could have been so much more. It is very pretty to look at. The multiplayer is fantastic but when it comes down to it, it's not a NFS Most Wanted sequel, it's a watered-down Burn-out sequel.

    So again if your new to the series or coming from needing a Burn-Out sequel then this might float your boat. Otherwise the only thing this game has in common with NFS Most Wanted the original is cops.
    Expand
  25. Apr 11, 2013
    2
    Load of crap, constant pauses, car feels likes its floating on the road no feeling of control. Burnout paradise was pure genius this is pure junk, looks good but fails in just about every other way, avoid.
  26. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    This is the laziest racing game made to date... No story, no customization, no car dealers and no point. This is Burnout Paradise with real cars and a NFS title.. The only thing nice about this game is sound and visuals, but in a game where the only plot is running from cops and the only human interaction is a pain in the butt narrator that luckily only speaks twice during the entire game,This is the laziest racing game made to date... No story, no customization, no car dealers and no point. This is Burnout Paradise with real cars and a NFS title.. The only thing nice about this game is sound and visuals, but in a game where the only plot is running from cops and the only human interaction is a pain in the butt narrator that luckily only speaks twice during the entire game, that's just not enough... Worst NFS made to date, i even preferred Pro Street and Undercover to this Expand
  27. Jan 25, 2014
    3
    If you loved the first most wanted and as a result are thinking of getting this game, well think again. I am not sure how you manage to make a game 7 years after the original and utterly destroy everything that was excellent about the first.

    Positives are the graphics, the cars and the soundtrack. Negatives, the police chases are repetitive, boring and beyond aggravating whilst the
    If you loved the first most wanted and as a result are thinking of getting this game, well think again. I am not sure how you manage to make a game 7 years after the original and utterly destroy everything that was excellent about the first.

    Positives are the graphics, the cars and the soundtrack.
    Negatives, the police chases are repetitive, boring and beyond aggravating whilst the first game offered something, frantic, fast paced, destructive and a little stressful, the new game has replaced it with a dumbed down version lacking any of the real fun that was present in the earlier title.
    The car customisation has taken a turn for the worst, no longer can you race to purchase upgrades to take on those harder challenges, now you must beat the race to get the upgrade, you don't progress to better cars you are given whatever car you want. There is no discernible story and no real incentive to play.

    The multiplayer is probably good, but I have not tried it as I intended to play through the main game first but since I am horribly disappointed with the game that will no longer be happening.

    The biggest problem is simply that they named it most wanted, cashing in on a successful game by implying some sort of re-imagining or sequel then presenting us with a glorified multiplayer arcade racer which if that is what I or most other people had wanted, then it would have been great, but unfortunately what we most wanted was most wanted.

    You will have more fun playing through the original again than playing this terrible game.
    Expand
  28. Aug 14, 2013
    1
    This game is horrible, I got the Limited Edition for $14,99 and now I understand why... Is over and over again the same is not fun is horrible and boring... DO NOT BUY IT!
  29. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    Beautiful scenery, unfortunately none of it can be applied to your vehicle. Love the music. Only 2 camera views? Disappointing. Lacks a story line and even character names. As far as I know my character is a car thief who wears a helmet. Was really hard to get into due to my lack of racing games for the 360, that wouldn't be a problem if difficulty was an option, I can of course forgiveBeautiful scenery, unfortunately none of it can be applied to your vehicle. Love the music. Only 2 camera views? Disappointing. Lacks a story line and even character names. As far as I know my character is a car thief who wears a helmet. Was really hard to get into due to my lack of racing games for the 360, that wouldn't be a problem if difficulty was an option, I can of course forgive them for that. I understand a game needs to have challenge but if your making this type of game at least put a restart option at the end of the race. Instead I'm forced to stare at a sideways screen for 10 seconds, then forced to drive until it finishes autosaving, then I am able to pause and restart. If that isn't bad enough I am forced to watch every single crash which takes an unbearable amount of time out of gameplay. Controls seem to lag and WHERE DID THE RACE DIVERSITY GO!? The original Most wanted dropped drift racing but introduced a few new race styles. This has two. From knockout, tollbooth, drift, sprint, circuit, drag, and snapshot, we get to keep the 2 most boring... Thank you EA team! Any race that involves police it repetitive, the cops will always be in the same place. SWAT vehicles. Really? A truck moving at 250 mph can't move a SWAT truck an inch. That's believable. I was psyched to hear a new Most Wanted was being released having been a big fan of the original PS2 version but was very disappointed after 2 minutes of gameplay and it only became worse. I can't understand why they would make a game this bad and then name it Need for Speed Most Wanted. Why destroy such a great games' name like that? Sorry to lay into this game so hard but for me this game is just a train wreck and does not deserve the name it was given. I do hope someone out there received more enjoyment from this game than I did. Expand
  30. May 28, 2014
    4
    NFS: Most Wanted (2012) falls short of expectations as both Need for Speed game and/or Burnout game. Criterion game ruined both by making a game that doesn't offer story, challenge or even good controls. The game is open-world but don't let that fools you, the races are very limited and repetitive and the streets of the city aren't balanced at all, ad to that frustrating controls that onlyNFS: Most Wanted (2012) falls short of expectations as both Need for Speed game and/or Burnout game. Criterion game ruined both by making a game that doesn't offer story, challenge or even good controls. The game is open-world but don't let that fools you, the races are very limited and repetitive and the streets of the city aren't balanced at all, ad to that frustrating controls that only rely on drifting with almost non-existing steering. Burnout Paradise didn't have story but it had good controls, big and fun open-world and over the top cars action while the on the other hand NFS series was always known for good lengthy story, great selection of cars and deep customization options; Most Wanted (2012) doesn't have any of these pros, it only got all the cons from the two making it a very hard to recommend game to anyone. The graphics are probably the only good thing about this game. Overall this is basically Burnout Paradise with less content, less fun, less action and frustrating controls. Expand
  31. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    You can call the handling 'arcade', but a better term would be 'garbage'. There's a term in automotive journalism regarding handling called a 'dead spot' in a steering wheel. The handing in Most Wanted is ALL dead spot, until you get to the point that you are spinning out of control or careening into a building. If you have heard that this game is like driving a car on ICE, that is exactlyYou can call the handling 'arcade', but a better term would be 'garbage'. There's a term in automotive journalism regarding handling called a 'dead spot' in a steering wheel. The handing in Most Wanted is ALL dead spot, until you get to the point that you are spinning out of control or careening into a building. If you have heard that this game is like driving a car on ICE, that is exactly correct. Crashing is frequent, and restarts are constant. After over a dozen attempts, I could not complete the first 'Ambush' race with a time restraint of 2:00. 2 minutes to evade the police?? It takes that amount of time for your 'heat' level to go away. The game design is clueless. There isn't much to do in the world, and all of the cars handle the same. Forza Horizon is the only choice for 360 owners. A used copy of GT5 is a better choice for PS3 players. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Need for Speed: Most Wanted is caught between two worlds. The game can't quite decide if it wants to be an arcade or a simulation racing game, and it takes a lot to get used to this in-between zone it occupies. That said, once the adjustment period is over, there is a lot of enjoyment to be had when it's not being frustrating.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    A technically sound and entertaining sandbox for arcade racers. The name should be Need for Burnout, though. [Dec 2012]
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    70
    An open world street racer set in an interesting city. There's a lot of things to do, but they get pretty repetitive after a while. The autolog for online competition is brilliant though.