Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    86
    Need for Speed comes back with another outstanding game, full of content and full of fun. However, there's that "something" missing, something only Criterion can give.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Mixing an offline and online driving experience is the key for Need for Speed Rivals, a look into the next generation of gaming.
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a repetitive adrenaline rush, both good and bad, in the fact that the game will torture you with constant cop chases, but with constantly repeating tracks. Even with this, the game is still fun and is a great pick-up for those who need that fix for open world racing.
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    75
    Need for Speed: Rivals is a lot of fun. What it definitely isn’t, is the most refreshing game of the year. It’s fast, it’s flashy, it’s Need for Speed. We just find it too bad that the game’s playable with just 6 persons … That’s something that makes Rivals’ world feel kind of desolate. Nevertheless; if you’re a big fan of arcade racing, we’d completely recommend you to buy Need for Speed: Rivals.
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    80
    Need for Speed Rivals is a fun race and chase driving game.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    85
    Rivals takes Most Wanted's open world and blends that with the open roads and landscapes of Hot Pursuit, with a paradise filled with distractions and dangers. The seamless transition between single- and multiplayer it so that another player can challenge of help you in every event. Rivals guarantees a continuous sense of excitement and sensation with great controls and a relentless sense of speed.
  7. Dec 19, 2013
    70
    Arguably, the racing genre doesn't create classics anymore. Publishers merely try to make the least offensive version of their franchise for that year. Owing to this truth, NFSR succeeds at not being offensive. Sure, it's just bumper cars at its core. Just cats chasing mice. But sometimes that's enough.
  8. Dec 2, 2013
    75
    The small player cap is disappointing in this day and age, but AllDrive shows real potential. The frame-rate issues I encountered were a downer on an otherwise impressive arcade racing game.
  9. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 28, 2013
    80
    If you tend to see the glass as half full, instead of half empty, you will see Rivals as a success. Gameplay innovations make up for the lack of technical fidelity present in the old gen versions. [Issue#237]
  10. Dec 5, 2013
    80
    Even though much of its content seems copied from older NFS games, Rivals is a great arcade racer with tons of content and fun.
  11. Dec 2, 2013
    75
    There is no doubt that the driving mechanics of Rivals are fantastic, and most of the game's systems are a success. However, it's a multiplayer-oriented game that fails to bring players together, and the content elsewhere is merely good.
  12. Nov 26, 2013
    40
    Perhaps most disappointing of all is the actual world. The map consists of long wending noodles of road draped over Frostbite landscapes. It’s built for you to drive fast and bang into cars, so it minimizes the concept of mastering a route or reacting to the road. It’s all long, thin, shallow. This means there’s little sense of place. There is minimal traffic. There are too few opportunities to actually turn onto another road or take a shortcut. The world even feels small. You’ll be chasing someone, or running from someone, and suddenly you’re back where you were just a little while ago. It all feels so constrained.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    I wish i never reviewed this game in the first place. The terrible performance issues and crashes that made this game unplayable have clearedI wish i never reviewed this game in the first place. The terrible performance issues and crashes that made this game unplayable have cleared up when I go offline. The performance is still poor but after some adaption the game becomes enjoyable. In other words, I am writing this review after having to actually adapt to how poor the framerate is. Outside of that, there is a pretty good game here, not without some stupid decisions though. It might be a 10/10 on next gen because the performane issues are cleared up. I wish I just never reviewed this game at all. Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    EA has elected to not allow installation on my son’s XBOX360, so this review covers only the portions of the game that I experienced. TheEA has elected to not allow installation on my son’s XBOX360, so this review covers only the portions of the game that I experienced. The request for 1.3 Gb of storage was prompt and polite. It was only after selection of a USB drive did the game become snarky, insisting it be loaded only on a harddrive. The only available responses are to not install or to try another drive. In the case of my son’s XBOX360 slim the 4 Gb internal storage, despite having enough space for the install, is not considered a harddive. There are other XBOX360 configurations with the same problem. You can consider these as non-gamer systems, but I never considered them non *game* systems. I don’t know what EA and Microsoft are trying to pull with this restriction, but the end result is that we have an unreturnable, unplayable game. Perhaps the goal is to force owners of these systems to buy official XBOX harddrives? Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Best game I have ever played. It gives me a feel of playing NFS Hot Pursuit with updated graphics. The seamless transition between cop andBest game I have ever played. It gives me a feel of playing NFS Hot Pursuit with updated graphics. The seamless transition between cop and racer is great. I can choose the side I like more (most likely racer) and the best thing is free roam. With AllDrive feature, there are other racers playing NFS Rivals that I can race with or play co-op events. There are only a few hiccups during the game, and that is what I can expect from an aging console. I got the game on Nov 17th (before release date) since the retailer in my city got an early batch. Overall it is a great game and I give it a 9/10. Full Review »