Need for Speed: Shift Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F,Need for Speed SHIFT brings a true driver's experience to some of the world's most iconic racing tracks, including the storied Brand's Hatch in the UK. The game also features the largest roster of high-performance cars in Need for Speed history including race cars such as the Pagani Zonda F, Porsche 911 GT2 and Lotus Elise. Players are thrust into the loud, intense, and athletic experience of racing a car from the driver's perspective through the combination of perception based G-forces, the hyper reality of the cockpit view, and the all-new brutally disorienting crash dynamic. Need for Speed SHIFT features an accurate, accessible physics-based driving model that allows you to feel every impact, every change of track surface and every last bit of grip as you push yourself to the edge. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. EA has turned a corner with their development of Need for Speed SHIFT. While it retains some elements of the traditional console game style, it also raises the bar for realism in a console-based racer. Budget for a steering wheel, though, to get fully benefit from the vastly better physics modeling.
  2. We expected an overly simulative game, but Need for Speed: SHIFT revealed to be half-way between sim and arcade racing: nevertheless, we found id very entertaining and exciting. If you're looking for a proper sim you'll have to look elsewhere on the market, but if all you want is feeling strong and satisfying emotions, this game could be the one for you.
  3. 90
    A glorious return to greatness (and even excellence) for EA's seminal racing franchise. Slightly Mad Studios has delivered a driving experience that, while not completely accurate in terms of its simulation aspects, is practically dead-on in terms of what it's like to race around some of the world's best racing circuits.
  4. 85
    Overall, while Need for Speed Shift appears to be aiming at providing a simulation-racing experience, it obviously hasn't forgotten about the series' core fan-base, making a game that can be enjoyed by just about any kind of racing game fan.
  5. Need For Speed: Shift is a brilliant new start for the franchise and has clearly been built by a team that loves racing.
  6. Edge Magazine
    80
    For a game that covers everything from drift events to time trials and eliminators, not to mention bumper-to-bumper tuning options, a top-tier physics model and authentic handling, Shift has enough precision and purpose to give anyone pause. [Nov 2009, p.98]
  7. It turns out that EA, first with FIFA and now with Need For Speed, had the answer to beat the cynics all along: simply make a good game.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 48
  2. Negative: 11 out of 48
  1. Jan 31, 2017
    10
    Solemos asociar la saga Need For Speed con 2 variables, la de persecución y huida policiaca, y la etapa Tuning. Pues eso se acabo ante laSolemos asociar la saga Need For Speed con 2 variables, la de persecución y huida policiaca, y la etapa Tuning. Pues eso se acabo ante la llegada de la saga Shift que paso a ser algo parecido entre Grid y Project Gothan Racing, en otras palabras un completísimo simulador de conducción, con una plantilla de vehículos muy buena, música cañera, largo y entretenido, un despliegue técnico brillante, un juego prácticamente perfecto que en su segunda entrega disminuye un poco su realismo y capacidad para una mayor accesibilidad. Expand
  2. TizzyDaBrwnBear
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    This is the best nfs after nfs most wanted. When I heard they have take it to the tracks and off the street I was upset until I played it. I This is the best nfs after nfs most wanted. When I heard they have take it to the tracks and off the street I was upset until I played it. I thought this game was just another nfs pro street(which sucked), but after playing shift I have changed my opinion 180deg. Shift is the best. No cops I can live with that. Nfs changing with time and it is a good change. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very fun game and yes my young lads when you drive a car fast the back end does check out, I have a cut panel in my garage to prove it fromVery fun game and yes my young lads when you drive a car fast the back end does check out, I have a cut panel in my garage to prove it from racing super stock class, ( but yes super cars should be a little more "glued down", agreed) Shift just like Shift 2 is not a sim not an arcade, it lies somewhere between. We should be glad all these different levels of differential exist in car games. Whish the same could be said for FPS. Anywayz that's my two cents, worth picking up cheap if "Shift 2" is to pricey 4 ya Expand
  4. KBT
    Apr 26, 2011
    7
    Alright, it is obvious that the user scores and reviews for Shift 2 Unleashed (S2U) are not unanimously positive, although the vast majorityAlright, it is obvious that the user scores and reviews for Shift 2 Unleashed (S2U) are not unanimously positive, although the vast majority is quite pleased with it. Now, I will try to give my own perspective on the game and hopefully showing that what it is that makes this game pleasant for most and bad for others. First and foremost, S2U has some elements which are certainly well worked out and worth the attention, especially for the race sim fans. However, I believe that the game has too many major flaws which impede it being a great game like forza. These interesting elements, i.e. the surplus for the racing genre, consist of the helmet cam, the personalised sense of a racing career, night racing and the autolog for the multiplayer. As stated, on the other hand there are major downsides to this game as well. The most important one is the frustrating gameplay (especially at the beginning). Trying to balance between arcade and sim, the handling of all the cars in S2U is 'floaty.' At least to me, it didn't feel realistic at all due to frequent oversteer with all cars. This is not just a matter of tuning, it is the very way the driving mechanics work in S2U. Especially at the beginning of the game it feels like the car isn't on a race track at all, but on a ice rink. The cars you drive slide from side to side and then there is the just as frustrating minor lag between controller input and car reaction; the latter problem makes things even more difficult. Add the fact that the difficulty 'easy' is a bit too difficult for the occasional sim driver (like me) and way too difficult for the inexperienced, and the sum is a difficult car to control, and a too difficult game to master considering its pretence of being between arcade and sim. Besides the 'unrealistic' handling of the cars, the game forces you into the career mode and doesn't allow a quick race where you can choose from one of the the many cars the game has to offer. These quick races are only possible for the cars you own and this is a major mistake I believe. Another failure is the absence of the rewind option during racing; there is only the famous restart. Considering the difficulty of the game the rewind option is essential for a less frustrating, and more arcade, play. The sound and music is proper, but not special. One part of the sound did trouble me and that was a peculiar 'tic' every car in S2U makes during races (irrelevant to the view), although I never heard it at Forza nor GT.
    Although S2U has some neat features (helmet cam, night racing, personalized experience) it is far from the status of forza. The most important element in race games, car handling, is flawed per se. Add the difficulty for beginners and occasional gamers, the game is not what it is advertised to be. Nevertheless if you like the challenge and accept the shortcomings, the game can be fun. A seven.
    Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2017
    6
    Ne pas se méprendre sur ce Need For Speed, car même sans les aides, cela reste sensiblement arcade... Mais tout est relatif : pour un NFS, onNe pas se méprendre sur ce Need For Speed, car même sans les aides, cela reste sensiblement arcade... Mais tout est relatif : pour un NFS, on nage en "plein réalisme" ! On constate d'ailleurs une bonne gestion des bas côtés (très pénalisants) et de la force centrifuge ainsi qu'une physique des collisions étonnante.

    L'IA malgré son agressivité exagérée est assez réussie et les bruits de moteurs sont remarquables. Le comportement des bagnoles n'en demeure pas moins souvent étrange avec des mouvements pendulaires dans la direction et une motricité trop mal gérée (sauf en drift) tandis que les circuits manquent clairement de fidélité. Limité à 30 i/s mais assez joli, voilà un NFS presque sérieux (!) mais encore un peu trop "furieux".
    Expand
  6. MPhillips
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    Nice graphics but terrible car handling ruin this game. I traded it in after four days I give up because its impossible, cars skid around as Nice graphics but terrible car handling ruin this game. I traded it in after four days I give up because its impossible, cars skid around as if the tires are made of banana skin and that's with traction control on ? Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2012
    0
    This game set the benchmark for the WORST GAME EVER MADE. It was shipped incomplete, the controller deadzone was 20% making you feel likeThis game set the benchmark for the WORST GAME EVER MADE. It was shipped incomplete, the controller deadzone was 20% making you feel like you're trying to keep an out-of-control schoolbus on the road, the game was frustrating and broken at best, nothing made any sense. JUST THINKING ABOUT THIS GAME MAKES ME MAD I WASTED MY LIFE PLAYING IT. never again EA ever. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews