Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Need for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passesNeed for Speed The Run lures players into an underground world of illicit, high-stakes racing. The heat is on – and it isn’t just the fuzz who are after you. Entering the race is just the beginning as you blow across borders, weave through dense urban traffic, rocket down icy mountain passes and navigate narrow canyons at breakneck speeds. Powered by DICE’s state-of-the-art Frostbite 2 engine, Need for Speed The Run takes the action racing genre to new heights with stunning visuals and car physics that hug the road even at top speeds all built around a gripping storyline. The cars are hot, the racing is intense and the story will have you at the edge of your seat… all the way from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Empire State building. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
  1. Nov 30, 2011
    91
    If you focus on the pure details of the cars and racing itself, Need for Speed: The Run stands head and shoulders above past installments as well as other racing simulations.
  2. The driving in this driving game is fast, sexy and frequently exciting. [Feb 2012, p.94]
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    It's possible Need for Speed The Run won't provide as many hours of entertainment as previous NFS games, but then it packs in unique events and some incredibly exciting chase sequences, meaning it packs a lot of entertainment-per-hour. It's not very forgiving of mistakes, but then it provides greater rewards as a result.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    70
    The game is way too short and there isn't enough to its narrative to get even close to being interested in playing it again. While there are some cool moments, I generally found myself getting too bored or frustrated with the races and the game's conclusion only made the story even more pointless.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    65
    All this awesome racing action gets somewhat lost amid the nonexistent story, the dumb/scripted AI, the lack of options, and the overall shortness of the game. The Run is not a marathon racing game, it's a quick and dirty drag race.
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Racing across the USA for a cash prize is a great concept, and perhaps there's a Jerry Bruckheimer and Michael Bay collaboration in there somewhere. Or possibly there's a sequel that can inject some variety and fun into proceedings, rather than a succession of thankless, exhausting rubber-band races against faceless opponents and stereotypical rivals. Need for Speed: The Run does generate some memorable highlights, but they're simply too few and far between.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    40
    The game might look decent enough, but the overly scripted racing and under scripted plot fail to engage the player or give the feeling of a white knuckle battle to reach the finishing line. You end up barely caring about Jack's plight and when it comes to the gameplay... Lets just say if you're a fan of the franchise stick to Hot Pursuit, it's where Need For Speed shines - The Run on the other hand just crashes and burns. Repeatedly.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 42
  2. Negative: 9 out of 42
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Best NFS ever with detailed world and things from Underground, cool music and atmosphere, also has good style-story on background.....................
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    From dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes theFrom dazzling scenery to spectacular set pieces, this is a worthy entry in the need for speed franchise. The frostbite 2 engine makes the whole world just stuningly beautiful and there is only so much that words can describe. Intense white knuckled racing is absolutely addicting. The autolog helps you compete with your friends and makes the game so much more competitive. Multiplayer is splendid and is even more enjoyable with friends as winning gives you much bragging rights. A huge variety of cars to choose, from vintage muscles to modern supercars. This game gives you that adrenaline feeling that few games on todays market offer. A must have for any racing fan, be it arcade or sim fan. This game is absolutely fun and I have no idea why IGN gave it such a crappy score. The only thing I agree with their review is that this game is slightly short but that may perhaps be that Im enjoying myself so much and finished the game too quickly which leaves me craving for me. This game is a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    What a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling isWhat a great game, the graphics are amazing and besides the story line there are many auto challenges. The cars are great and the handling is very realistic. Best Need For Speed yet. The story had me on my seat and felt more realistic than any other racing game I have played. The intense action scenes make the story incredible. I will be playing this game till the next NFS comes out. Love it. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Need For Speed: The Run lives up to the hype it created before release with an interesting, high action story mode. The story mode itself isNeed For Speed: The Run lives up to the hype it created before release with an interesting, high action story mode. The story mode itself is very different to how NFS games have been in the past and playing through it is very satisfying indeed. The graphics are powered by the Frostbite 2 engine used in Battlefield 3. However, the graphics are on no comparison to Battlefield 3, although there are similarities in the looks of the environments. This does not mean the graphics are awful however. They are still very decent for a NFS game, but do not exceed that of Shift or Shift 2 Unleashed. The destruction and the atmosphere that the game creates are what makes it excel in my opinion. Driving through the mountains with rocks crashing down in front of you and the ground shaking is a unique experience I have not seen in any other game of this type. The online modes are very fun to play, and there is plenty of variety. With the bonus wheel addition you always get a unique prize at the end of a session if you win, which I feel makes you want to push and do well even more. There are some very nice small additions like the BMW Z4 GT3 Car if you've played previous NFS games which I loved. Challenge Series makes a return and there are plenty of challenges to take on and get various medals for. This will provide many more hours of gameplay after the career.
    The areas which the game falls down on are mainly loading times, which are generally extremely poor. Also, the online gameplay can be very laggy. People can lag ahead of you and I've had my car totalled for no reason at all. This can be very irritating at times.
    Need For Speed: The Run is a solid game, and I would definitely give it a chance. If they add in more DLC at a later date then that would be brilliant. I believe personally that this is the last time EA can dodge heading Need For Speed back to its roots and making a street racer once again. I hope that the next time I review a Need For Speed game it will be Underground 3!
    Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2012
    7
    Need For Speed: The Run is one of the first games to run on the Frostbite 2 engine, and from the very beginning you can tell it is differentNeed For Speed: The Run is one of the first games to run on the Frostbite 2 engine, and from the very beginning you can tell it is different from any other Need For Speed game. In some ways that is a good things, and in other ways it is very, very bad.

    The premise of the game is that your character, Jack, is on "the run" from a large crime organization as well as the police for offenses that are never fully explained. After some button-mashing and a frustrating chase scene, you actually start driving on the open road. Everything is fun and great, until all of a sudden it's not. Unlike previous Need For Speed games, The Run has a Rewind feature which enables you to restart from the previous checkpoint if you wreck your car or run off the road. The problem is the circumstances that cause you to restart are extremely inconsistent. On some tracks you can cut corners and overcorrect if you run drive a little off the track, on others it will reset you if you run half a foot off the road.

    It is not all bad, however, as the graphics on the game are among the best of any racing game out there. Overall, the gameplay compares with the best Need For Speed games such as Most Wanted and Hot Pursuit, but it is not quite there. It is very straightforward with no kind of "Free Roam" option, and while the multiplayer is fun for awhile, there is only so much utility you can get out of it, especially after you earn all the achievements.

    Although the game was relatively short at two and a half hours, I did enjoy it while it lasted, and I plan to pick it up again soon and try to earn the rest of the achievements. If nothing else, this game will help you make friends to compare your times on your Speed Wall!

    More reviews at P4YT.net
    Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2014
    5
    The game feels too much like an action move. It is over scripted and gives you little freedom if any to make your own decisions. The racing isThe game feels too much like an action move. It is over scripted and gives you little freedom if any to make your own decisions. The racing is up to scratch as you would expect but the weight of the game's let downs overshadows any positive aspects. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    3
    Such a super frustrating game. Let's start with the good : graphics and sound make it feel like a really intense and desperate drive acrossSuch a super frustrating game. Let's start with the good : graphics and sound make it feel like a really intense and desperate drive across the country. But..... loading times are totally unacceptable - I would suggest having something nearby to keep you occupied while u stare at a loading screen every 30secs, this really disrupts the speed of the game. The pointless QuickTime sequences are just unneccessary and again disrupt the flow of the game. Sometimes I wonder whether they even test some games before launch because if u just stray off track into the dirt even a tiny bit, the game just frustrating warps you back to a checkpoint, and of course another loading screen. This game is enjoyable in parts, but I was expecting a fast and fluid drive across the continent, but the are just too many frustrating disruptions. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews