Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Games Master UK
    Nov 25, 2012
    80
    The design remains as potent as ever. [Christmas 2012, p.87]
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    90
    This is what dreams are made of. A great remake of a wonderful game.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    NiGHTS into Dreams is a meaningful game wrapped in a package of challenging yet thoroughly enjoyable gameplay.
  4. 80
    NiGHTS is like the dreams it's based on: it's easy to dismiss as silly nonsense, but when you dig deeper into it, you'll find something beautiful and revelatory.
  5. Oct 10, 2012
    80
    If you want to see what Nights is like, or revisit this SEGA classic, this seems like a perfect way to do so.
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    90
    Get reacquainted and it's easy to convince yourself that perhaps NiGHTS is Sonic Team's real masterpiece.
  7. Oct 4, 2012
    80
    If SEGA can continue to produce re-releases of this quality, then they are on to a winner. NiGHTS is a dream, it plays as you remember and thanks to the HD enhancement, it invokes your best memories of the original. It is complete fan service, possibly not one for newcomers, but certainly for those who enjoyed the experience in 1996.
  8. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    The concepts and challenges of NiGHTS into Dreams HD make it a game that not everybody will be able to appreciate-but for those that do, this is a great way to once again experience one of Sega's most curious yet creative moments in game development.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    5
    I absolutely love the heart and imagination that went into this game. Even more than that I adore the soundtrack, one of the best Sega's everI absolutely love the heart and imagination that went into this game. Even more than that I adore the soundtrack, one of the best Sega's ever done. That said this game controls and plays like like an epileptic seizure, it's insanely complicated despite its simplicity and is simply a chore to play through. To put it simply the camera is way too close to you for you to know where you're going and what you're going to need to do to get a good time or good score (as it is just a score attack game). I suppose you're just supposed to memorize EVERYTHING but that still makes the first several playthroughs of a level frustrating and horrible. At least the bosses are fun, they work way better than the actual stages to get to them. While I definitely appreciate the effort Sega put into this (includes the original Saturn version and Christmas NiGHTS as well as many other goodies) and the low price, perhaps a bit of effort to make it more playable would have helped. Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    I think it's amazing that this game has seen the light of day. The effort from the fan community to convince Sega to release this has beenI think it's amazing that this game has seen the light of day. The effort from the fan community to convince Sega to release this has been amazing. While there may be some control issues with the game (which can be patched), it's an incredible bargain. Often times I feel the gaming media doesn't seem to take into account that these games are being sold for a very low price. The game's graphics look a lot better than on the Saturn, with new 3D models, improved textures and HD resolution. The animation is solid, and while the gameplay lacks some precision compares to the original, this will only be noticeable for those who played the Saturn version. NiGHTS doesn't take long to complete, but it's difficult to master and this adds to the replayability. The game invites you to keep coming back to beat those high-scores. The inclusion of Christmas NiGHTS is even better, and visually it looks impressive even for today's standards. The online leaderboard finally gives the fans a chance to compete for those high scores as well. Even today, this game delivers a unique experience that I haven't found in any other game. At this price, everyone should give it a chance, especially if you haven't played the game before. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    FINALLY!!Since I sold my SATURN many years back this is 1 of the titles for that machine(along with many that have already been translated toFINALLY!!Since I sold my SATURN many years back this is 1 of the titles for that machine(along with many that have already been translated to xbla)that I was certain would make a perfect port to the xbla sevice.I wasn't wrong,this game has a timeless quality to it that only true classics have.This wasn't just the best sonic team game for the SATURN but IMO thier greatest creation fullstop.This port includes an hd version & the original SS version & I did notice that the saturn version handled that bit tighter,but it's only really noticable to people who spent many hours with the original.Along with all the other classic SATURN & DREAMCAST conversions on the 360,it's almost like I have my 2 favourite machines incorporated into my 360.GR8 STUFF SEGA,KEEP THEM COMING!!! Full Review »