Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Of Orcs and Men first puts you into the role of an elite Orc soldier from the legendary legion of Bloodjaws, a league of warriors deeply involved in the war opposing the Orcs and Goblins on one side to their persecutors, Humankind. As a veteran warrior who has seen the most brutal of battles, you are appointed by the Orc commander to complete a mission that could change the course of the war: kill the one man responsible for all of this bloodshed, the one who has, for years, exhorted the human masses to loath and fight the green-skinned people: the Emperor himself. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Of Orcs and Men aims to twist the roles around – the human empire is the big, bad beast. Arkail, the most badass of Orcs accompanied by the Styx, the talkative, Tourette-stricken goblin is on a desperate quest to stop the human empire for eliminating their races. What I really like is that the action-focused role-playing game becomes more of a buddy movie with some really good set pieces and dialogue. It's not perfect, but Of Orcs and Men delivers a thought-provoking twist on classic fantasy plots.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    79
    Of Orcs and Men might seem like a traditional role-playing game, but it turns the roles of heroes and villains upside down. Orcs and goblins are oppressed while humans enjoy the good life. The game gets a bit repetitive towards the end and the AI is downright awful, but it is still a worthwhile play. Highly recommended to players who are sick and tired of knights in their shining armor running the show. [Nov 2012]
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    70
    In an effort to offer the player a fresh and different experience, Of Orcs and Men ends up being a mix of elements that works quite well and others that influence the product in a very negative way. The narration is good as it is the combat system, but then the progression is just too linear and the title ends up being repetitive.
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    It is no Elder Scrolls but is perhaps worth a look for RPG fans who want to keep themselves busy over the coming months. It is just a shame I can't recommend it to those new to the RPG genre as it fails to live to its full potential.
  5. Oct 16, 2012
    60
    Keep in mind that this isn't an everyman's game -- its linear levels, the absence of bundles of loot, and even the quirks of its combat whittle down its potential audience -- but there's a lot to love about how this RPG sings the glories of the underdogs.
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    56
    Combine the linear environments, combat mechanics and cut-scenes and it feels more like watching an animated show or even reading a book about it all. If you can get past all this and even find the right stride with the combat mechanics it does make for an interesting storyline and the game gradually expands slightly.
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    40
    You could say that Of Orcs and Men reminds us of games of the distant past, but we can't remember RPGs of the old days being so bad. Despite its surprisingly fun and interesting story, Of Orcs and Men is a game that struggles and fails to achieve mediocrity.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I have seen a lot of trolling on many fronts because of the gameplay not being a hack and slash. The gameplay is like dragon age origins for anyone who is interested and plays as smoothly and balanced as it. Although word of warning due to only having the tank and rogue archetypes it is somewhat simplified, they have replaced the healer class with skills that gradually regenerate health for several seconds. There has also been a lot of trolling due to the fact that the orcs are the heroes although anyone who has actually played the game will know that just because you play an orc and a goblin; this does not mean that all the orcs in the game are good and not all humans are evil. The storyline is simple and the maps are linear but I am having a blast playing the game and "HIGHLY" recommend it to anyone who enjoys old bioware rpg's, it may not have as much depth as them (not very many games do to be honest) but it will satisfy your taste buds. The game deserves an 8/9 out of 10 but I am giving it a 10 to do what I can to counter-act the massive negative trolling that has emerged on the user score "BEFORE THE GAME WAS EVEN RELEASED" Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    -MY REVIEW WILL HELP UNDECIDED-

    ~~This game was fun for me this OCTOBER 2013. And I ignored the fact that it was an old game and was
    wanting to spend some MONEY I HAD ON MY account. And this was worth it for a affordable game..
    --Graphics aren't Last of us,Halo,Or Bioshock but does that matter on NON-blockbuster games anyways? NO! With arcade or PSN or downloadable games Graphics and voice acting need only be swervicable for our fun. Story & gameplay and unique level up or loot etc.. I enjoyed this game and if one is 100% true to themselves when they start playing it, then dissapointmen t will be less because I knew this game was just a 2 day type game. anything more is a perk..

    --No game deserves a ZERO! We should only be allowed so many ZERO's, or it should be monitored or controlled..I bet 90% of reviewers who attack games with a ZERO do it on a regular basis..ugh!
    - I could see a 2 maybe. a ONE if a game is brokem and can not be played..But a ZERO is misused..
    --I look forward to innovation with scoring...

    I gave this a 10 to balance out the OBVIOUS Hate-Spam that took place..
    -Metacritic has a good Rep but that wont last forever. Even though the Meta-Score is what we go-by and use as a quick tool etc,,But I used to really like user scores..But not when THERE'S 200+ Scores of -0- with no comments..
    Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    I greatly enjoyed squishy humies butthurting over being squishy. Diz Game did da best trollingz eveb before being released!
    11/10, would
    watch whole drama again! Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Just here to balance out the hate. I mean, really, at least give the real reviewers time to play the game before you potentially ruin peoples jobs. Christ. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2012
    9
    It's obvious that there has been a Troll attack on this game. I mean, how come that on the 207 negative reviews there are no comments ?

    Anyhow, even though it has some issues, the games has a solid background story, nice graphics and an interesting gameplay. I'm having a good time playing it.
    Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    5
    My first piece of advice would be just play the game on easy or normal, the game is worth playing but most of the comments about the broken controls, glitches and such are not too far from the truth, whilst they are not actually broken they are pretty bad and to save frustration and get the most out of the game I think easier works better here as there is little to be gained from the higher settings (barring achievements)

    My favourite aspects of the game are the soundtrack and story, soundtrack is excellent really entertaining and paces well with gameplay and story, the story itself is decent but is let down often by pretty lacklustre cut scenes. Rpg elements are very basic leveling is ok but there is an obvious lack of depth on the equipment end of this, armour and weapons are few and far between with little chance to actually upgrade. I did have fun playing this game but it is pretty standard.
    Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    So I just sat down and paid a game for 30 minutes called, "of orcs and men"... i'm thinking, this is going to be some well developed, super literary type of game, since it plays on the title of that classic book.

    before I get into it, let me states some facts: 90% of gamers are men, male gamers are more prone to enjoy violent games, the manlier the characters, the more the male gamers will enjoy it.

    THAT BEING SAID.

    This game is about as polished at a pile of poop. Instead of immersing you into a fantasy world where you play an orc, you come away feeling like you played a green painted, redneck with about as much nod to his own orchood, as me. They curse in English, which jars you. And, it's not even cursing to accentuate sentences. It's cursing, in the way that white frat boys curse, just to punctuate sentences. So instead of you thinking, wow these orcs are real manly tough guys, you come away thinking I WONDER DO THEY TAN IN BEDS OR OUT IN THE SUN. The voice acting doesn't help that they sound like fresh out the bed dweebs, raspy, breathy, man-voice with boy grammatical structure.

    It would have been much better if the developer took the time to come up with 100 orc "words" and punctuate all the orc conversations with them. Instead we get Bill and Ted's, totally terrible train-wreck.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews