User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2011
    10
    Outland is a beautiful game. As a single player adventure it borrows elements from so many games, yet it feels like a very satisfying and new experience. The controls are spot on, but there's one complaint and its quite simple, it needs offline co-op to be a true masterpiece. For the price Outland is just a steal. I highly recommend that this game should be put in the top of anyones list.
  2. May 1, 2011
    10
    Once again the critics prove to be pretentious morons who fail to realize what fun is. This game is pure gaming goodness. Its clever, has plenty of charm, excellent level design, an insane amount of collectables, and an excellent idea of what fun is. COOP opens up additional gameplay mechanics...brilliant!
  3. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    Paying homage to vintage games such as flashback and metroid, outland delivers oldshool gameplay with new graphics and style. While the game will not blow your mind, its fine tuned gameplay and original gameplay twist will have you spark a grin. I never want to ruin game stories for anyone so I won't go there but I can say that the story is neat as well. For only $10, the game is well worth it for anyone that wishes to timetravel back to the good ole genesis days in a modern fassion. The game is also a pretty good lenth. Bottom line is that outland rocks socks. Oh yeah, so does the music. Follow me on twitter @thetruthbites for live behind the scene tweets, picture, and videos from E3 2011. Have v.I.p access and I wanna share the love. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    This is a clever Twist on the Bullet Hell Style game with some platforming and puzzles thrown in. Instead of flying a Ship through Bullets of different color and changing your Shields to match so the Bullets don't hurt, you are a person, who can change colors so you won't be hurt by the "bullets". For a XBLA game, it is a gorgeous game with the difficulty ramping up very quickly. The only real downfall is the fact that there is no super easy mode, so you can kick back and enjoy the ride instead of focusing on the difficulty. So if you find puzzle games that get difficult quick, then this game might not be for you.

    If you love puzzle, platforming, bullet hell, with a twist of gorgeous art thrown in, then this game is for you!
    Expand
  5. May 7, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10: Visually fascinating, sound is impeccable, gameplay is tight. Download the trial and you will fall in love. I have played games before that offer some of the playstyle but none match the quality of this piece of art. This game can be difficult at times as there is a light and dark mechanic you must switch between as the different colors of bullet hell rains onto you. You must be quick and you must be precise, if you can't, then go play pacman. Expand
  6. May 4, 2011
    9
    Other than the incredibly bad checkpoints (or lack thereof) during boss fights, Outland is excellent. The visual design and animations are fantastic, the combat is smooth and stays fun with all the new powers you get and the color switching mechanic makes Outland feel unique and clever as far as 2D platformers go. Definitely buy. It's only $10. Just prepare for some incredibly frustrating boss fights towards the end. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    Fluid motion with responsive control, smooth transitions between maps, and a wonderful visual feel make Outland a winner. The overall darkness of the environment..coupled with an Order-Chaos theme serve to further bolster this opinion. It's true that Outland borrows many elements from older titles, but the same can be said of most games (pragmatically more efficient to borrow a good idea than to invent all new ones), and this title has lost nothing as a result. Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2012
    7
    Let me start out by saying that Outland is absolutely beautiful. The art direction is fantastic, in fact that was what hooked me into this game. But then the gameplay is just kind of... meh. The whole dark/light color mechanic is interesting, though I have seen it used in other games. The developers made some good puzzles using this mechanic, however combat against enemies is either extremely easy or annoying and frustrating. Often times they try to mix the light/dark platform puzzles and with combat and the result is a hectic mess. I also found the boss fights more to be tests of patience than any sort of challenge involving the skills you learn in each level. The final boss is particularly frustrating. For me, it all kind of boils down to one big problem, the game just isn't that fun. I have chipped away at this game over the months since it came out because I would play, lose interest and then think, "Oh yeah, that Outland game was pretty cool," only to play again and be reminded of why I still have not finished this game. It's still worth checking out for the art direction alone, and hey, maybe you may find something in Outland that I could not. Expand
  9. May 13, 2011
    5
    it looks pretty and the ideas regarding gameplay are intriguing but is simply broken in my opinion. i don't get how people can enjoy playing a jump'n'shoot type of game where you can't even clearly see where spikes/pits/etc. are. the silhouette graphics look pretty but why the hell they didn't make some parts brighter, so that you can actually see spikes, breakable walls, etc. is beyond me. increasing gamma setting to maximum doesn't help either, apparently those silhouettes simply are all completely black.
    definitely try this one first and see whether you want to put up with this.
    Expand
  10. May 24, 2011
    3
    An absolute borefest! I advise you buy with caution,because this game is for the kiddies,it seriously pisses me off if you're a juvenile then you might enjoy it.
  11. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    i love platformers, those like super metroid, shadow complex etc. this is a good platformer but gets a tad frustrating with all the changing colours and some frustrating enemies. sometimes you need to navigate through platforms keeping with the colours and with so much stuff thrown at you here and there its hard to see whats going on. and for some other reason it didnt keep my attention so i do confess i didnt finish it. the enemies werent all that interesting to fight either. an acquired taste then this one is. Expand
  12. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    Outland was unexpected. As a platform, it's entertaining. It's beautiful. But it's also limited by a very familiar pattern. As far as platforming goes, that's not necessarily a problem so long as it progresses to fruition. By this, I mean the story must offer something to fill in the gap between the simplistic shift between red and blue. While there is an arc and purpose, it's little more than the archetypal fight monsters = saving the world. There's innovation, but it's limited to artistry rather than playability and story. While fun and stylish, Outland peaked my interest in traditional platformer without reinventing the wheel. It's more like they put shiny new spinners on that old wheel we're all used to. Expand
  13. Jun 3, 2011
    1
    This is a boring seen it all before game. The graphics is simplistic and dark and soon becomes very samey just like the gameplay. It all feels pretty soulless with some drab music. Avoid this game !
  14. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    Outland, developed by Housemarque and published by Ubisoft, is billed as a return to the "metroidvania" style of game, which would presuppose a number of things but most importantly a discovery of new abilities which unlock new areas in old levels. At it's most basic, Outland does provide such gameplay, though it's not entirely satisfying, and mashes it with the lauded Ikagura-style color-switching along with fighting-game mechanics. On the whole, said gameplay is certainly enjoyable for what it is, providing some difficult platforming (specifically with color-switching), occasional new abilities which open up new areas in passed levels, and perhaps most successfully some thrilling boss battles. Expand
  15. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    A nice play on the Ikaruga mechanic in a platformer with good controls and interesting level design. The boss battles are absolutely a blast and feel much more rewarding than the rest of the game itself. The main gripe I have with the game is it seems like every three screens there is a checkpoint. A lot of the time I was tempted to simply ignore bullet patterns altogether and just rush to the next checkpoint. If you are expecting a challenge on the level of the even moderately hard bullet hell shmup, than this is probably not the game for you. If you want a more than solid platformer with an interesting new mechanic throw in than I would recommend giving this game a shot. Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    I currently have to look for something to complain about since this game is purely epic, nearly flawless. Outland brings some nice 2-D platforming and some great combat and blends them with the using of dark and light similar to Ikaruga. The art style is just beautiful and the price is pretty low and the sound and music are beautiful too. When you are looking for an amazing arcade game at a cheap price this is completely worth it and should be played by everyone. Expand
  17. Apr 10, 2014
    9
    Outland may borrow from a great many games but it still manages to feel innovative and refreshing. The platforming is great, the levels were magnificently designed, the puzzles are fun. The game has charm and is visually very impressive. Any fan of 2D platformers should pick this up.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    91
    One of the best downloadable titles of 2011 offers beautiful visuals and atmospheric andventuring, reminiscent of classics such as Super Metroid and Ikaruga. [May 2011]
  2. Oct 16, 2011
    90
    With its smooth controls and challenging game world Outland comes in as a cool to play concept game that is going to be considered a simplistic throwback classic that intermingles with the gaming worlds of today.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    Metroidvania. Ikaruga. Shadow of the Colossus. All the influences are there, but don't mistake it for those. Outland is a game all its own. It doesn't oversell.