Over G Fighters Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jun 27, 2006
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KarlM.
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    This is the best flight sim game for a console so far, this is not an arcade game so Combat Ace fans look alsewhere, this is more like a PC flight sim. Reviewers are stupid these days as they are completely ignorant about what they try to review. Graphics are good (but not great) but the gameplay is there and it works fine, a lot of missions and many of the best fighters out there. It This is the best flight sim game for a console so far, this is not an arcade game so Combat Ace fans look alsewhere, this is more like a PC flight sim. Reviewers are stupid these days as they are completely ignorant about what they try to review. Graphics are good (but not great) but the gameplay is there and it works fine, a lot of missions and many of the best fighters out there. It gives you a great feeling of being there. Not a game for everyone, only sim players will like it. Expand
  2. fritzwendel
    Feb 18, 2008
    8
    DON'T GET THIS GAME IF YOU LIKE ACE COMBAT 6 ARCADE STYLE COMBAT GAMES. This game requires dedication, patience, and a desire to learn flight techniques that require more than "point your nose and fire" thought process. If you like a challenge, and have played games oriented more to flight sims, this is a good used/bargain game. If you want to fire 150 missiles at will, and barrelDON'T GET THIS GAME IF YOU LIKE ACE COMBAT 6 ARCADE STYLE COMBAT GAMES. This game requires dedication, patience, and a desire to learn flight techniques that require more than "point your nose and fire" thought process. If you like a challenge, and have played games oriented more to flight sims, this is a good used/bargain game. If you want to fire 150 missiles at will, and barrel roll until you get epilepsy, then get Ace Combat 6. For Over G, controls are good, Jets and missiles sound good, but the soundtrack is horrible, Graphics show the titles age, and the menus, mission briefings are pretty rough, run of the mill Japanese style menus. When you get past all that, you'll find a rewarding flight experience that at its core is good. There are glaring deficiencies though. Buyer beware. I like it, but you may not. Expand
  3. JohnJ.
    Oct 8, 2006
    9
    This is the best console Flight Sim yet, and just goes to show you that professional reviewers dont know JACK. The Graphics are great and the replays are straight out of Top Gun.
  4. SeanS.
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    If you're looking for a modern version of Crimson Skies, you'll probably hate this game. If you're looking for one of the best attempts at a console air combat sim, you will probably like it. Ok, it's not as deep as a PC sim, but this is offset by the fact that it's accessible to the average gamer without being too dumbed down to the point of clicking X to land - If you're looking for a modern version of Crimson Skies, you'll probably hate this game. If you're looking for one of the best attempts at a console air combat sim, you will probably like it. Ok, it's not as deep as a PC sim, but this is offset by the fact that it's accessible to the average gamer without being too dumbed down to the point of clicking X to land - yes, the ground textures can be a bit bland in places, the 2D menus are a bit cheesy and the manual does nothing really to help you orientate yourself to the game, but overall this game is worth much more than the scores it's getting here As an arcade game with the default settings, I'd give it 5/10 - as a sim, with the settings changed accordingly I'd ramp it up to an 8/10 - great game, but not going to be to everyones taste Expand
  5. CraigL.
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    This game is as it says on the tin. a wonderful flight sim that surpasses everything else in its class on the 360. missle dodging is hard but what do you expect from a simulator? brilliant graphics and handling is great on most aircraft.
  6. RobertPlumley
    Jul 3, 2006
    9
    Good game, this is probably as close to a sim as you will get on a console for a flight sim. The short missions have taken a bit of critism in the reviews around, but i prefer this method as apposed to the normal attack one target then fly for 5 mins to the next target. also on expert level the missions are pretty tough and provide a good challenge.
    Online wise i think its great, upto 2
    Good game, this is probably as close to a sim as you will get on a console for a flight sim. The short missions have taken a bit of critism in the reviews around, but i prefer this method as apposed to the normal attack one target then fly for 5 mins to the next target. also on expert level the missions are pretty tough and provide a good challenge.
    Online wise i think its great, upto 2 teams of 2 each with a convoy and a base to protect whilst dealing as much damage to the opposing teams. Must also mention this is one of few games i've bought since xbox360 arrived that doesn't need a patch, it all works brilliantly. As i say this is very much a sim, dont buy this expecting something along the lines of crimson skies. it wont be for everyone, but those that invest the time will find a gem of a game.
    Expand
  7. SONIC6877
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    In life, I am a pilot and I must say the reviews of this game by critics is surprising and contradicting in some cases. Yes this game has a steep learning curb but then again, flying in life is that way as well. Could any of you critics jump right into a real F-16 and not make the same mistakes or worse? I would agree that the graphics could be better and they could fix some of the In life, I am a pilot and I must say the reviews of this game by critics is surprising and contradicting in some cases. Yes this game has a steep learning curb but then again, flying in life is that way as well. Could any of you critics jump right into a real F-16 and not make the same mistakes or worse? I would agree that the graphics could be better and they could fix some of the glitches but the game overall is a good one and plays well for someone who wants a more "realistic" setting than a "gamey" setting and has the patience to learn to fly these jets. Till you see a better fighter combat game for the 360 you should stop throwing stones. Expand
  8. MaxQubit
    May 6, 2008
    9
    The negative reviews and votes disgust me. This game is good, but it is made for a small audience, the ones who want to enjoy a 'simulation' on console. The others don't have to bother playing AND voting.

    Even after 2(!) years, with Ace Combat 6 next to it, Over G Fighters is performing surprisingly well. I'm currently (may 2008) reenjoying the campaign. The ONLY
    The negative reviews and votes disgust me. This game is good, but it is made for a small audience, the ones who want to enjoy a 'simulation' on console. The others don't have to bother playing AND voting.

    Even after 2(!) years, with Ace Combat 6 next to it, Over G Fighters is performing surprisingly well. I'm currently (may 2008) reenjoying the campaign.

    The ONLY console (360/PS3) game in which you really FLY a fighter jet.

    9/10
    Expand
  9. Jay
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    Was really hesitant about buying this game after reading reviews on it..glad now I ignored them as they're all talking out of their ass.. Over G is as close to a PC flight sim as you can get on a console..it's far better than any of the crap Ace combat series which was basically point plane and shoot.. In this game you have tactics which you need to use otherwise you're Was really hesitant about buying this game after reading reviews on it..glad now I ignored them as they're all talking out of their ass.. Over G is as close to a PC flight sim as you can get on a console..it's far better than any of the crap Ace combat series which was basically point plane and shoot.. In this game you have tactics which you need to use otherwise you're dead. As for the loser who was whinging about landing on a carrier..try it on exper/hell mode wimp..no rechargeable weapons and manual landing..then it's hard as well... All in all very enjoyable. Expand
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 36
  2. Negative: 15 out of 36
  1. If you're in the market for a proper jet-fighter game, I'd recommend hunting down a proper PC simulation. I remember EF-2000 from about 1998 being about 1998 times better than this. And if you want an arcadey dogfighter, try "Crimson Skies" for Xbox 1 instead.
  2. A very average game. Sluggish controls and a lackluster presentation really hurt this game. The lack of real mission variety doesn’t help matters either.
  3. In spite of its unspectacular style and its translation-glitch quirks, Over G is a little weird, but lots of fun. [Aug 2006, p.92]