Pacific Rim Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pacific Rim is a digital downloadable title to be released on the Xbox LIVE that recreates the mega-scale battles between Jaegers and Kaiju depicted in the "Pacific Rim" film.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 15 out of 16
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    53
    Save your ten bucks and go see the movie again instead.
  2. 45
    You might well opt to buy stat upgrades or temporary performance-boosting items instead, for the sake of simple one-on-one multiplayer confrontations. But because stat upgrades make little difference in the field, and you can carry only a single boost item at a time, you're probably better off just playing something else altogether.
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    45
    And yet another game based on a movie that feels like it has been developed in a hurry, and does too many things wrong and just a few right.
  4. Jul 22, 2013
    40
    A very bad fighting game that try to surf the wave of his popular license, without any kind of result.
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    33
    Pacific Rim is a very bad fighting game with a popular license.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    30
    Guillermo del Toro once said in an interview, he made the film for himself and his children, and it shows. The game, on the other hand, might just be the perfect instrument to penalize adolescent troublemakers.
  7. Jul 17, 2013
    20
    For us to fight monsters, Yuke’s have created a monster of their own. I wish the apocalypse had never been canceled. No one should have lived on to see this hideous travesty of a game.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Game very similar to Real Steel. Very good for parties or playing with kids on couch. Little more maps and characters (in base game) would be great, but price is pretty low so let it be... Upgrade system isn`t best just like in Real Steel, but variety of attacks, combos, special weapons is big enough to create cool and competitive fights even for beginners (my girlfriend won her first fight Good game Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    7
    Un juego para captar la fama de la película, bastante cutre y pobre en contenidos, pero que cumple su principal función de entretener y te da la posibilidad de crear tu propio Jaeger. Lo mejor son los diseños de los Jaegers y lo peor sin duda, es la gran cantidad de DLC's que atesora el juego... Expand
  3. UFO
    Jul 14, 2013
    7
    This is a slow past fighting game that allows you to play as your favorite robot or monster from the movie. You can also make your own robot if you want, but you options are limiting. The A.I, does offer some challenge at you fight bigger monsters (sorry I forgot want they are called in the movie) All and all It's a good and its only $10.00 so I would recommend it to any fan of the movie. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    Once again... another MOVIE TIE IN GAME! The game does fair better than the lazy IOS version and it actually has better graphics. The gameplay can be clunky and the A.I is either too cheap or too easy. Think of it like this...... it is a copy and paste mash up of Real Steel the video game. It is fun but it has it's problems. Another movie licensed game with average reviews. And to think.... that I was really excited for this game! Why is it that the movie is amazing but the game is either average or lazy. This cycle of movie licensed games...NEED TO STOP!!! A 6-7/10... just like Real Steel. It is fun to play though. THE ONLY THING THAT KILLS THIS GAME... IS THE DLC and LAZY SINGLE PLAYER MODE! Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    Pros: Faithful to the movie
    Cons: Slow controls, clunky movement, repetitive fighting, frustrating beyond belief.

    There is such wasted
    potential here. A game which could have been so great and yet falls by the wayside in so many ways.

    Where to start. Well my first thoughts upon seeing the game was "brilliant, this could be a great game like the classic Godzilla games I enjoyed on the PS2." I missed the chance to play the newer ones due to my leap to next gen and my dislike of the Wii versions controls.

    Once the game loaded up the character selection was faithful to the movie, the Jaegars look a lot like their movie counterparts and, to be fair, the attacks and weaponry mirror the movie too. Aesthetics aren't everything though.

    In the first battle it became clear how clunky the controls were. Attacks were sluggish beyond all good reason and yes I know they're meant to be giant monsters and robots but even the Godzilla games on the PS2 and Gamecube could get it right. This makes no effort to tell you how to string together combos and the fights will often boil down to hitting the one hit button until your opponent goes down or time expires.

    They made an attempt at a fighting game but without fluent controls and a more fluid action for the fighters it just doesn't hold up.

    The customization is great yeah but that and its faithfulness to the movies aesthetics are about the only redeeming factors.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    3
    Clunky, shallow, repetetive combat, blatant enviroment design and obsolete graphics overall reminds us why Movie tie-ins are so bad. It is a shame that the dev, Yuke's, has a fairly good portofolio of highly praised fighting games. The only props I can give this game is that no one has made something similar so far. All and all, where the movie succeeds, Pacific Rim does not. I can only see clueless parents picking this up. Collapse
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Pacific Rim for Xbox 360... ugh such a rushed mess to cash-in into the movie release and it is so, so bad. First of, the game isn't fun. Second of, most of the characters are unlocked and you need to buy them. With real life money. No, Yuke. I'm not going to waste my precious money on one single character. Yuke, next time you make a game, try putting effort on it. Expand