User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 76
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 76
  3. Negative: 4 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2010
    8
    By modern standards, Perfect Dark feels almost too simplistic, and it can be frustrating at times. The campaign and story are sometimes confusing too. But it's still a LOT of fun. If you played the original on N64 and liked it, I can honestly say that you'll have even more fun with this new port. Just a warning though: Online matchmaking takes forever, so it's best to play this game with either your friends or bots. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    This is a great game to renew to a modern version. I remember playing this on Nintendo 64. Great missions and great graphics. great job on the renewal
  3. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    I can't find a thing wrong with this game. It really shows that in a world where FPS games don't age well a few upgrades can make all the difference. I was afraid going back to Pd after 10 years would bring me to the reality that nostalgia had me fooled. Not the case. This is a perfect example of how to "port" an older game to a new console.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    As far as i'm concerned,This is one of the greatest games ever made! Certainly the best on the N64 IMO.I dont know why everyone goes on about Goldeneye,this game is far superior in every way,& has genuinely groundbreaking ideas,such as a friend being able to play as your enemies in the campaign,& Co-Op for the campaign,which was almost unheard of in those days,especially for an FPS.While Goldeneye,was a pretty generic game,with notthing particually special or outstanding about it,& If released today,Goldeneye would be seen as a weak game i suspect,but after playing the newly polished Perfect Dark,its still got all the magic,& all the features that made it a classic game.From the features already mentioned,to the great weapons with imaginative secondary modes,well thought out missions,with varying objectives depending on the game dificulty,that are untypical in this day & age,the music,everything was good.Most of the weapons in Perfect Dark have become iconic to anyone that has played the game.A great job has been done on the new version of this game,giving it a High Def polish & a super smooth framerate(which was the only thing that let the original down a little).This is as close to a 'Perfect' (Pun Intended) game than your going to get.Wether you had this on the N64 or not,I HIGHLY recommend this game. Expand
  5. May 3, 2011
    8
    A fun and energy game pumping your adrenaline man great game better than pdz by a little but still man great game I love the perfect dark series and this was a step up for the series
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I felt compelled to give this game a 10. I mean ultimately if you don't give Perfect Dark a 10... then what on Earth DOES deserve a 10?

    Everything about this game is compelling and satisfying with quality and developer talent dripping from it.

    Imaginative, varied and fast-paced gameplay, captivating mission objectives and levels, great characters, amazing weapons, just an overall
    excellent game. The multiplayer is also great (for it's time, not sure about by modern standards as I haven't played it much recently!).

    As for flaws... some of the mission objectives aren't too clear. Some of the dialogue and story and stuff is a bit cheesy. Some of the levels are weaker than others (inevitably).

    Overall however, Perfect Dark is without doubt one of the finest games ever made
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    This game has everything against it now a days, and when you compare it to recent titles it has problems like dumb AI, weird glitches and weird difficulty but despite that this game is freaking awesome! It cannot be more fun running guns out and blazing through this game and killing every enemy you see, picking up the amazing selection of guns and completing objectives. I can't be more satisfied since this port is just great! For 800 microsoft points this is the best deal you will find. Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    For those who have played this on their N64 and enjoyed it, Should definitely purchase this game no if, and or buts. This is basically the same exact game that you played on the N64. The only addition is online co-op (I'm very happy that they kept local co-op)

    Also, a cool feature in online co-op is that you can play in splitscreen mode. Yes, even in online co-op. See your friend screen
    on top (or bottom) as if he/she is playing right next to you on the sofa.

    ----

    If you have never heard of this game well, just give the trial a download. You may find it fun. However, those who have played this game
    Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Perfect dark is a must play. It stands as an example on how re-releases should be handled. The revamped textures in HD look great, and the frame rate has been upped to a lovely 60fps, making the game run smooth and look smooth. It means that older players wont need to rely on nostalgia to enjoy it, and newer players wont be put off. The game is great. Playing it again reminded me of the time when shooters demanded you invest slightly more than just 'shoot the dudes' to progress (of course, if you don't like that sort of game then you can jack the difficulty all the way down, taking most of the objectives out of the levels). The objective based missions and lack of recharging health require you to play a little smarter than most modern shooters. The only recent example that I have played of this in new games is Goldeneye reloaded on 007 classic difficulty, so if you enjoyed that at all then this is for you.
    The story is more or less the standard cyberpunk affair (but with aliens!), fighting against an evil mega corp, while uncovering the greater conspiracy that lies behind it all. The story is interesting, but, in my opinion, slightly underdeveloped, though maybe I have just been spoiled by the likes of Mass Effect and Fallout. The elements are all there; conspiracy, aliens, AI, secret agents, literally warring corporations, but it felt like they had to condense it all to save space on the cartage, and it loses out on that. Don't let that put you off though, its awesome the missions are very well designed. The game play is solid and organic, showing the kind of level design that would be soon seen in things like Timesplitters and Second Sight. It also has local split screen multiplayer, something that more games should have (HAWX, Rage, Red Faction, I'm looking at you) meaning you do not need an internet connection to enjoy the multiplayer. In fact the online aspect tends to be one of the games few flaws, as there is seldom people online, and it can only go up to 8 player, making the online aspect seem rather lonely in comparison to something like call of duty. This is by no means a deal breaker, as the game solidly stands up on its single player and local multiplayer modes. For older gamers its a chance to revisit a classic shooter, and for newer gamers, it is an opportunity to show how the shooter has changed over the years, and perhaps give better perspective on shooters now by comparing them to then. C'mon, its only 800 Microsoft points.
    Expand
  10. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    this game was one of my all time favourite nintendo 64 games and i was so exited when it was coming out on XBLA i loved everything about it the gameplay, the story, and the cheats you can have in the game and the challenge modes you can do on Combat Simulator and customize your own game setting 10/10 for me
  11. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    It is more rewarding to play Perfect Dark than any other console first-person shooter ever made. It's simplicity in its game-play engine is a thing to be admired. Perfectly handled so the novice and master alike can play co-op or multiplayer together without ever feeling frustrated due to over complicated controls or game-play mechanics. It's difficulty is unforgiving but fair and when you beat it on the hardest difficulty you will feel a pride rarely found in other games. Born from the engine that pioneered console FPS gaming this game is masterful. Perfect 10/10 Dark. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. It's been ten years, but Joanna aged rather well. Fun, entertaining, with a bunch of game modes (solo and multiplayer), Perfect Dark is almost as great as it was when it was first released. This port is good, but it can't really be referred to as a remake.
  2. Zero may have proved that it's hard to create a fitting sequel to a classic, but to see the original Perfect Dark slotting into place so well on XBLA is enough to suggest that, just sometimes, restoration might be a better solution than reinvention.
  3. This is old-school gaming, with none of the modern day handholding we're used to, but it's jam-packed with gaming goodness. The campaign can be frustrating due to a lack of direction, but it's still full of great moments, and the multiplayer is as much fun as it ever was.