User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    5
    If you like the films then rent this game because it has so many flaws it would be a waste of money buying it.
  2. MichaelC.
    May 30, 2007
    7
    When i first saw this game i was blown away by the amount of detail the developers have put into it. Its one of the best looking games on the 360 to date. Yes the combat controls leave much to be desired, but you need to consider the target audience here,younger kids would have trouble if you had lots of complicated combos i think.And lets not forget its pirates you are controling in this When i first saw this game i was blown away by the amount of detail the developers have put into it. Its one of the best looking games on the 360 to date. Yes the combat controls leave much to be desired, but you need to consider the target audience here,younger kids would have trouble if you had lots of complicated combos i think.And lets not forget its pirates you are controling in this game not x-men, witches, ninja turtles, or even cog soldiers for that matter. How much would you expect a pirate to do before it becomes unbelieveable? I think that POTC:AWE is a well rounded, fun game(however basic the controles may be) that the whole family can enjoy. Expand
  3. Mr.S.
    Jun 15, 2007
    8
    It's a decent game. Bear in mind that the game is designed for the younger and more casual gaming audience and the more hardcore gamers will find it boring. I myself can't see me playing the game too much, but the better half seems to enjoy it a lot. The game looks nice, sounds nice and plays nice. The simplistic gameplay makes it appealing and the casual gamer won't have It's a decent game. Bear in mind that the game is designed for the younger and more casual gaming audience and the more hardcore gamers will find it boring. I myself can't see me playing the game too much, but the better half seems to enjoy it a lot. The game looks nice, sounds nice and plays nice. The simplistic gameplay makes it appealing and the casual gamer won't have to curse the heavens for 15 button combos and super intelligent AI. A well built game alltogether. Expand
  4. CoreyM.
    May 24, 2007
    0
    I sorry but its the worst game iv ever played the graphics are really good but gameplay rubbish it not worth £50 dont even bother.
  5. ManuelD.
    Jun 1, 2007
    2
    Avoid at all costs!! Bad for you, your family and your future lives! You'll find yourself hammering the screen with your controller swearing words you don't even know what they mean. Pain, neverending pain!
  6. RonaldV.
    Jun 5, 2007
    8
    This game is good. Yes, it's Disney and made for a younger crowd, so the combat system is simplistic, but fun. Graphics are amazing! Levels are great b/c you can play thru Dead Man's Chest AND World's End. If you are looking for a family fun game, this is GREAT! If you are looking for innovative FPS with blood, this game is not for you.
  7. LukeR.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Beautiful scenery, character models and fluid movement. Some interesting puzzles, and entertaining if not repetitive swordfighting system. The only way the game could have been better is if they fixed the swordfighting system and mixed up the possible moves, otherwise the game is incredibly entertaining and beautiful to move through.
  8. JasonM.
    Jun 7, 2007
    0
    Luke R.... Do you work for Disney? Come on! I'm a huge fan of the movie but this game is complete crap.
  9. WilmaB.
    Dec 29, 2007
    0
    This game is very repetitive and you will tire very easily from it.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. 60
    Sure, it's cool that you'll find references to some of the more popular third-person action titles, such as Prince of Persia's balance-beam act and hand-over-hand wall crawling, but nothing in here screams innovation.
  2. 55
    Let's put it this way: if it came down to playing this game for seven hours or walking the plank, it would be a tough choice. Save your hard-earned cash for a barrel of rum and consider a rental.
  3. 60
    It's deep enough and features enough referential material to draw in the diehard fans of the source material but it isn't innovative or interesting enough to stand alone in the action genre. However, if you come in with lowered expectations, you just might have fun with it.