User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 897 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 897

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    4
    As stated by many here the game is very short for the price. The graphics engine is old, it looks like Valve games from 10 years ago. The complexity of the puzzles are a disappointment. Given the time to release the game, and the limitations, I am surprised by the reviews. Clearly the name "Valve" contributed to influencing the reviewers. At the end of the day I am going through the game simply for hte achievements. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Very much like its predecessor, Portal 2 story is full of dark humor and solid continuation of the story. The puzzles seemed slightly easier on the whole(granted there are a few thinkers); although this could be from having a good "think outside the box" mentality from playing Portal obsessive compulsively. The addition of co-op mode(along with a full unique campaign) changed the game a lot more then I though. There isn't a lot of space for one person to slough off while your partner in science does all the work. Game length(for each campaign) will depend largely on how much/well you played the original Portal.Veteran(5+ hours)-----------------Amateur(10~ hours) Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    Fantastic writing, and the puzzles are deeper and more diverse than in the original game. The visual style is also very reminiscent of the first game, but much more developed and there are environments to see beyond austere test chambers (or the ruins thereof). There isn't a lot of flash to the visuals, but between the art design and great use of lighting, the game is still very nice to look at. Fun and entertaining from beginning to end, worth replaying multiple times, and the co-op is very well done.

    The game is about 7-9 hours long in single player, and maybe 4-5 in multiplayer. Some people think that's not enough content for $60 and ding the game for it, but that's kind of silly; rent the game or wait for the price to drop.

    The 360 version lacks some of the features found in the PS3 version (Steam support, the PC/Mac version of the game for free) so it's a lesser package. Overall though, it's a fantastic game on any platform.
    Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The dialogue and cast of the game is incredibly funny and well written. The puzzles and new game mechanics make the game very fun to play, and the co-op is just as fun as the single player experience. The story and ending are awesome. It's just an awesome game that everyone should get.
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    While the criticisms regarding the length of the single player campaign may be valid, (to an extent, given that the oft touted length of 4 hours means theyâ
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    1
    Funny but nothing more - only less than 6 hours long (in singleplayer). Valve must be kidding! Even some of the features from the trailer were removed (the vacuum tubes). I will definetly not pre-purchase a game on Steam again. It was way too expensive - and not really worth the money. The gameplay is great, but not very challenging...
  7. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is a wonderfully fun and addicting game that warmed my heart and left a smile on my face. The voice acting is absolutely superb with Ellen Mclain returning as the lovable but deadly GLaDOS. Stephen Merchant and J.K. Simmons join in with Mclain to create the most humorous dialogue in any game to date. The puzzles are extraordinarily fun to work your way through and can get quite challenging towards the end. Valve's Source engine still is great and did not lessen my experience at all. Everyone that loves a comedic intelligent game should buy this or GLaDOS will come and burn your house down with a combustible lemon! Expand
  8. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 was an amazing experience for me. I loved the unfolding back-story. I loved the unique experience. I loved the scale. For me, the length was perfect, because I don't have a lot of free time. Quality over quantity is best for me. Also, my eight-year-old boy is now playing through it and loving too!
  9. May 1, 2011
    10
    Now let it be said right now that this version of Portal 2 is not the ideal version. Frankly, it can be said the ideal version is the PS3 edition, which comes with a Steam copy for free and allows for cross-platform play. This complaint is only a minor one about the version- not the game itself. In terms of the actual game, there is little ill to say of Portal 2. My single biggest complaint is that the environments sometimes feel like puzzles when they are not, and it results in several absolutely needless deaths. Otherwise, Portal 2 is not only a worthy sequel but also surpasses the original in terms of absolute Aperture Science-style madness.

    The co-op mode shines through its use of something dubbed a "calibration course"- it allows two players to get used to each other and the game's movement style via a simple series of rooms. The actual co-op tests are fantastic in their effective mix of several simple little puzzles forming a much larger and more complicated mechanism.
    Expand
  10. May 4, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is clever, innovative and genuinely funny. In an medium where 'bad TV movie writing' is often the best compliment one can give a game, Portal 2 contains clever, snappy comedy and well-written characters. Mind-bending puzzles tie the whole experience together, and make no mistake, Portal 2 is an experience: there's little padding to be found, just a progression of increasingly impressive puzzles and hilarious character moments.

    The game is short - roughly 5-10 hours for the single player - but it is endlessly replayable and, in this modern age, longer than most non-RPGs (it seems like FPS' often clock in at 4-6 hours, these days, for example). What's more, it's short because Valve trimmed the fat - rather than padding the game with inessential levels, the puzzles all build off of each other, becoming more intuitive as they also become more challenging, many revealing something darkly funny about the history of Aperture or the origins of Glados.

    The levels are impeccably designed, from the sterile test chambers of cruel computerized mastermind Glados to the abandoned (and massive) Aperture Science labs you explore throughout the game. New puzzle elements are introduced, including gravity tunnels, light bridges and physics-altering gels, but the core gameplay element tying it all together remains the portal gun. The new puzzles are tricky - no need to worry about any seeming too familiar to fans of the original.

    In short, a worthy sequel to one of the best video games ever made. Portal 2 is slightly sloppier than the original, but it has more to offer, too.
    Expand
  11. May 11, 2011
    7
    The user score is much closer to the truth than the critic score unfortunately. I loved portal but I found this sequel to be a little disappointing. It's too short, (just under 6 hrs), and too easy. There wasn't a puzzle that had me scratching my head for more than a few minutes, and I'm not exactly Einstein. The co op is great fun, but again is too short and easy, Anyone who played the souped up hard version of the levels in Portal 1 are going to be VERY disappointed with the game's lack of difficulty. On the bright side, the story is better than I thought it would be and the voice acting and presentation are top notch despite the game still using the half life 2 source engine. There are also a couple of subtle nods to the greater half life universe for anyone who cares. Overall this game should be played as it is entertaining, but rent it insted of buying as your unlikely to play it more than once. Short but mostly sweet. Expand
  12. May 12, 2011
    0
    This game is a rental at best! I finished it without problems in about 3-4 hours. This is better served as DLC because of the length. Decent enough but I'm lowering the score to zero to counter act some of the fan boys.
  13. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Game of the year, everything about the game is great. As for how long it is, not an issue because it has allowed casual gamers(not me) to actually complete a game for once.
  14. Jun 12, 2011
    5
    Portal 2 has a handful of new and interesting ideas but they don't alter the gameplay dramatically enough. The environments are the same as the first game but the puzzles feel fewer and aren't even a fraction of the difficulty of the first game.

    Having said that more of the same isn't necessarily a bad thing but with roughly 5-6 hours of gameplay it's perhaps worth a rent rather than a
    purchase.

    Disappointing.
    Expand
  15. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    It was a little easy on the plat-former end of things but a fun game none the less. My Friend and I beat co-op in like 2 sittings on a weekend...He beat the game with achievements in about 2 days as well and we are not crazy gamers
  16. Jul 4, 2011
    4
    Portal 2 is way too short and super boring at times, it was a cool game a few years ago but certainly not today. Portal 1 came in a cool package called the Orange Box with several other decent games, and I thought that was a fair way to sell it for $60. I'm very surprised they released Portal 2 as it's own full retail game, it's NOT worth anybody's $60, it's more of a $20 title for puzzle fans. This game should be picked up used and returned within a few days after you beat it, the multiplayer experience is just as dull. BORING! Expand
  17. Aug 15, 2011
    5
    For starers I liked portal 1 it was an intresting experiance but valve wanted more money and came out with this. Portal 2 has a better story and good charicters but the experiance is stuffed but the aged engine and the repetitiveness which really harms the experiance. The liquid effect was a let down and the action was slow as well as the pacing. The voice acting was good and certan puzzles were fustratingly hard which lead to portal 2 being more of a hard to get sequel trying to gain attention becasue it uses the title most people loved and played so much in 2007. Expand
  18. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, it takes all the things that made the first portal great and expands upon it. This game is a 10 out of 10, possibly the greatest stradegy game ever made.
  19. Aug 15, 2011
    8
    Even though it's a very funny game, it's very short to keep me entertained, and forces me to play multiplayer to get the another half of the story. Still, it's decent.
  20. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    First off, let me just say that this game is one of the best i have ever played. The story is very engrossing, and made me feel quite emotional at times, especially the end. The game also has some smart remarks made by the AI. For all of the people who think the graphics are out dated, the aren't that bad. The game is not about graphics, it's about solving puzzles. Anyway, its awesome. 9/10
  21. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    It's almost embarrassing how people tend to criticize this game based on it's shortness. I think the critics tend to rush through games to give it the fastest possible time as its average. Obviously the graphics had flaws (I did find a couple glitches, including one in Wheatley's 15th chamber that kept me from an achievement), but I think they are still bright, the use of multiple characters was clever, and the complex story, especially compared to the simple Portal, is absolutely brilliant. You can't go wrong with Portal 2. Expand
  22. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    Amazing single player campaign and playing the co-op with friends was fun and a laugh. The only reason it doesn't get a perfect 10 is because there wasn't a lot to do after completing it several times.
  23. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Honestly, I can only judge the single-player campaign, since no one I know plays the game. It's too bad there's no random-matching system for the multiplayer campaign (last I checked, at least). The single-player is excellent, and Valve shows genius in the dialogue throughout the game. This is by far the funniest game I've ever played. Every puzzle was fun, without the annoying have-to-jump-across-a-gap-exactly-right-or-die feel of the first Portal game. The opera and credit songs were a wonderful touch. I cannot say enough how great of a job Ellen McClain did as GlaDOS. I will probably keep playing this game for a while to come. Expand
  24. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Here we go, another Portal 2 review... for Xbox 360 now. I actually played the Xbox 360 version before the PC version. But, anyway, it is basically the same as PC. Great graphics and great gameplay. With more levels, characters, dialogue, humor than the original Portal. And even a new multi-player mode, this is a rare gem in the gaming world. A masterpiece on it's own, I totally recommend this game. 10 out of 10 from me. Expand
  25. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Portal 2 pulls at the minds of gamers, forcing them to think clearly and remember various techniques in order to complete the level. Amusing and varied challenges offer great incentive to play on and progress to the next level. The new gadgets are drip-fed to players just enough to keep them interested enough as well. The gameplay is just one part of why this game is very impressive, the other being the hilarious dialogue and characters present in the game who all have very interesting personalities and very skilful voice actors. Both the high quality gameplay and the humorous characters combine to make this a must play for anybody who has the means to. Expand
  26. DME
    May 5, 2012
    10
    Portal 2 is one of those games you will remember for years to come. It's quite simply a masterpiece. The voice acting is perfect and the dialogue is downright hilarious. There's also plenty of eastereggs scattered throughout the game and a very challenging cooperative mode. The only downfall is the retail price. If that's the problem, then rent it or borrow it. One cannot simply pass this game up. Expand
  27. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Nothing wrong with the Graphics.. They are not fantastic but they dont nee dto be.. better graphics would bring nothing to this game.

    The gameplay, audio, and general feel of the game is perfect. It's as good as could be hoped, and the lack of Steam integration doesnt really detract anything on the 360.. Live is already good enough for matchmaking unlike PSN.. so it doesnt need it.. (at
    least its up at the minute ;) ) would be nice to get the free steam version like the PS3 does.. but even without it its a classic..

    GOTY? Quite possibly.
    Expand
  28. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I'm going to give it a 10. Now, it's in no way a perfect game, but it doesn't deserve a plain 9. I'd say a 9.8 or 9.9. It's longer and funnier than the first game, has a great song at the end, a great story, entertaining puzzles and an amazing ending, as well as the fun co-op. The only complaints I ever had were that the gels didn't work at times, and sometimes neither did jumping into a portal from a great height and flying out the other that same distance, as well as the movement slows to a crawl when aiming down, making jumping down into a portal difficult. Still, these are problems that can be overlooked since the game is rather amazing and they aren't always present. Still, as amazing as it is, I'm surprised that anyone gave it a negative review, but that's metacrictic user scores for yah, if one thing pisses them off, game instantly gets a 4 or below.

    Long story short:

    GET THIS GAME IF EVEN IF YOU ONLY SLIGHTLY ENJOYED THE FIRST!
    Expand
  29. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Portal 2 plays in a league few are privy to. The puzzles alone would feel like you were doing math every waking second you invest in the game if that were simply it. Of course, for the soduko or Tetris diehards, that might be enough. But it's the zany conversations had between AI characters that really makes it all so much more entertaining. Perhaps the best thing about Portal 2 is it doesn't take itself serious for one second. I can say this is one of the more entertaining games I've played in recent memory. Certainly worthy of a purchase, especially if you can pick it up for cheap like I did (Xbox Live sale for $9.99). Expand
  30. May 7, 2011
    9
    I think that this is pretty good stuff. It has nice graphics, an original storyline, and inventive gameplay. Ultimately it is just Lara Croft without guns though.
  31. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Outstanding fun and entertaining as well. At its heart is a simple idea. But the idea has been built on to epic proportions and the world blown wide open to match
  32. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I really wish this would have been Portal 1. The gameplay though unique just gets old after a while and is been there done that after the first game. My favorite aspect of Portal 2 where the co-op missions. On the short side but sweet.
  33. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is a Really fun game. The addition of the cooperative campaign, is GREAT. I really enjoyed it. I would have prefered the coop and single campaign to be longer.
  34. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    what a complete disappointment..i absolutely loved Portal 1 and still to this day think it is one of the best puzzle games ever created...the advanced maps were fun as hell, the challenges (least steps, time, and portals) were all challenging and satisfying, and the end game was fantastic...Portal 2 strips away all the fun by forcing you to learn the new mechanics like the gels and bridges..it doesn't feel like I'm playing a game..it feels like I'm doing work and work is NOT FUN. It's one of those games that starts out interesting, but gets very tedious and very boring as it goes on..honestly, the 5 1/2 hours i played felt like an eternity...I felt it most around chapter 6 when the game just completely diverts from the formula that made Portal 1 so great..and that's the AMAZING AND SMART PUZZLES..no one cares about story in these types of game and I felt that Portal 2 tried to force the story on you..gamers want to be challenged, not listen to robots bickering about when you don't even know what they are talking about half of the time...I really wish Valve included some type of mode where it was just straight puzzles with advanced maps..similar to the way Portal 1 did it..only this time they could've thrown in the new mechanics to spice things up if they wanted to...I thought a mode like that would be first on top of their list..instead it was just focused on forcing a story down our throats...honestly, the end game was really predictable and wasn't as satisfying as Portal 1...when it was all over, I said to myself "wow I don't remember anything I did"..and I thought about it and I figured out why I thought that to myself..there were very few memorable moments in the game...who could forget in Portal 1 when you first picked up the portal gun off the pedestal, an achievement popped up,and you instantly started screwing around with it because it was so cool...who could also forget the first time you soared through the air to clear a gap and felt that feeling of being immersed in that moment...WOW that was incredible..Portal 2 u just slide on gel and cross light bridges in overly big rooms where it seems that only 1 solution can be found...whatever happened to multiple solutions like in Portal 1 where you basically need to do the faster solution to even clear some of the challenges..that's what made it so great, there were more solutions right in front of your face than you thought was possible...This review is getting too long, but I hope I made some good points and helped people out Expand
  35. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This game was great. Atmosphere, Personality, great game play etc. My only concern was the length of the game. I paid 60 bucks and beat it in less than a day, the coop campaign in another couple hours. I have heard some absurd counters to this claim like "oh it depends on your level of immersion in the game"... that doesn't make any sense. You solve puzzle chambers and in between them you get a snarky comment. The comment doesn't even last longer than it time it takes you to walk to the exit from finishing the puzzle, hidden rooms with wall paintings are few and far between and take 30 seconds to look at. There is no variance in the "level of immersion". It's just a short game.

    However, it is still a lot longer than the first one. To be honest short games seem to be the standard these days... designing levels is probably a large time sink and they figure they might as well get paid extra for more levels (dlc) or let the community make them (dlc of other people's work aka "still alive") Don't expect me not to comment on the length of the game though.
    Expand
  36. May 30, 2012
    6
    Good game, but if you played the original and thought it good but not great, then this is really just more of the same. There are a few new tricks to learn, but puzzle wise the game didn't feel as challenging as the original. Perhaps thats because I was already accustomed to the puzzle theme of using portals. In any case, I felt there wasn't enough new stuff there, and it got to be a bit of a chore and felt like going through the motions just so I could seen the ending. Though I have to admit, the story and characterisation was much better this time around. Other than that I couldn't find too many other positive things to say about this game. It doesn't have much re-playability even when you take the coop mode into account. Overall if you loved the original then its more of the same, but if like me you really didn't see what all the fuss was about the original, and just thought it an okay first person puzzler, then you probably wont find your opinion has changed much with the sequel. So its good, but not a classic, at least not in my book. 6 / 10 Expand
  37. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is definitely strong candidate for game of the year with its spot on pacing and great humor combined with excellent voice acting. I have heard that Wheatleys voice, but for me merchant is the perfect choice for the voice, reasons being revealed later in the game. Gameplay and portal physics are excellent as always, although the single player doesn't offer that much challenge. Luckily coop maps are more challenging and playing around with a friend is always fun, not mentioning now with portals!

    Valve wasn't far calling this the best single player game ever made. I do think though you need to combine portal 1 and 2.
    Expand
  38. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is fantastic. The humor is very well done and the things they've added to give variety to the gameplay are excellent. Portal 2 is definitely setting the bar for sequels in a year where the majority of hyped games are second and third entries of a franchise. This game is utterly hilarious and they outdo Still Alive with the new end credits song. This game is perfectly consistent throughout and has a very satisfying and well done ending. Expand
  39. May 13, 2011
    9
    The 2007 original fell into that category of games which requires no sequel (eg. Bioshock) and the announcement of a second game was met with considerable apprehension. Thankfully, Valve managed to prove us naysayers wrong. Portal 2 is bigger, funnier and more challenging than its predecessor. Serves us right for doubting the brilliant minds behind Half-Life and L4D.
  40. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Relentlessly funny, gorgeously designed, and a testament to the power of voice acting, this formidable contender for 2011's game of the year blew expectations out of the park.
  41. May 1, 2011
    9
    Aside from being really short, I really can't find any fault with this game. A lot of people are complaining about the graphics, but even though it still uses the same old engine from the first game, I think they squeezed every bit they could out of it as the game looks much better than the first. It isn't going to win any beauty contests, but there is nothing overly wrong with it from a visual standpoint. Anyway, that's not what the game is about. It is all about the story and the gameplay. The story is great, just don't expect some kind of epic narrative with cutscenes and all. Your character never says anything, and you only catch glances at her through portals. The way the story progresses is through NPC's that speak to you and each other throughout different levels. They are all brilliantly funny, and GLADOS is as humorous and menacing as ever. As for the gameplay, you are put into different test-chambers and have to figure a way out using a gun that creates two different colored portals, one an entrance and the other an exit. It all starts simple enough but the difficulty ramps up nicely as new elements are introduced, like goo, hard-light pathways and laser reflectors. It isn't hard like most other games where they throw more bad-guys at you, or a boss or something. They just make you use your brain in ways other games don't, you're solving puzzles, but it looks like an FPS. It is also nothing you can't figure out on your own, you just have to spend a little time in each room and try different thing to see what works. And DON'T use the strategy guide, that kills the purpose of this game. All in all Portal 2 is a great game that could have been better if it were a little longer, there is a co-op mode with different characters and story, so that helps, unless like me you are a solo-gamer. Still, it is like nothing else you've played, except the first Portal. I'd recommend playing that one first so you know what's going on story-wise and because it will be an excellent primer for this game. I went back and played the first after playing this one and breezed through it, but I remember when I first played it thinking how hard it was and wondering how they could be any more inventive. The devs really topped themselves. Great game that makes you think, not many of those nowadays. Expand
  42. May 11, 2011
    10
    P2 is a mind blowing thrill of a game. Fun to play, witty and some a cool drink of water of the same hum drum games that come out all of the time. If you liked the first one you will LOVE this one. It is a sequel that is 100 times better than the first one. The first one introduced a fantastic concept and tinkered with it but it was short, damn short. This one will surprise when you realize how long it is. I wont spoil anything but I will say they introduce some mechanics, environments and items that are as integral and creative as the portal gun. Pure genius. Expand
  43. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This game is truly amazing and should be the game of the year. No, it isn't perfect, but frankly, no game is. This is more of an experience than a game. It should not be missed if you are into, well, bad-ass video games.

    Story: Very good. If you don't read any spoilers, you are in for a treat. Very well acted, with interesting and funny characters. It's nice to find a game with
    three definite acts with plenty of twists and turns to keep you interested. Oh, and if you say you finished this in four hours or less, you have very clearly missed the point because this game was made to be experienced, not finished as soon as possible. As for myself, I finished it in about 10 hours. I took my time and savored it like a juicy steak. The game never drags and keeps it fresh by constantly introducing new gameplay ideas and twists in the story.

    Gameplay: EXCELLENT. If you thought the first Portal had some great ideas, wait until you play this. They have built upon an already excellent concept and made it about ten times better. Some levels will have you sitting around for ten minutes wondering what the hell to do. And just as you are about to Google "Portal 2 Walkthrough" (don't do it!) you will say "hmmm, let me give this a try" and what do you know, it works. Immensely satisfying. Graphics and Sound: Not really a major concern of mine (I think most 360 games look pretty good), but I would say this game excels in this department. Small spoiler alert, but I just have to say that GEL IN THE TRACTOR BEAM LIGHT TUNNEL THING is perhaps the coolest looking thing in video games to date.

    Overall: I give this game 10/10 for the following reason - I enjoyed every minute of it and I was sad when it was over. It is truly innovative and there is truly nothing out there right now that compares.
    Expand
  44. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    Overall, a very good game. The writing and acting is some of the funniest stuff I've encountered anywhere. There are some very clever moments and some of the environments REALLY push this game beyond the confined spaces of the original. The co-op, especially with a friend and voice chat, is also a ton of fun. The only negatives for me were the frequent load screens (really ruins the pace of some scenes), somewhat brief length (3-4ish hours?), and overall easiness of the puzzles (especially the last quarter of the game). Expand
  45. May 10, 2011
    8
    Portal 2 is the sequel to the Orange Boxes multi game pack which contains Portal. Portal 2 is a puzzle game which bring you into the experience and solving incredible puzzles. You may think the first levels are easy but trust me, they get harder, way harder. If you a fan then you'll know whats going on but if your new then don't worry, you may not understand whats going on but you'll have a fun time with the cast of characters and the great dark and funny humor they bring. And if you somehow finished the game you and a friend can play together! But is this game good? Yes. Is it better then Portal 1? No. Portal 2 may be a better improved version with more content but Portal one felt more in place. Portal 2 makes the characters with very open feelings but in Portal one it was just you and Glados with a big secret. But in all's cases. You got to buy this game. Great Game. Expand
  46. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    A game of this intelligence and creativity deserves to be praised and lauded. Portal 2 packs more ideas into one game than the rest of this year's games combined. Portal 2 expands on the unique application of portals to solve puzzles while delivering a great story filled with likable characters. These puzzles are incredibly satisfying to solve and the addition of elements like gels adds greater depth to the same. While not a huge graphical step up from its predecessor, visuals are of little importance when gameplay is as smooth and characters are as vibrant as this. Co-op is not a tacked-on feature, adding more hours to the single player campaign. With four portals at your disposal, puzzles are even more complex so the two of you will need to put your heads together. Portal 2 is easily one of the most innovative titles of this generation, a game with magic that will never age. Expand
  47. May 4, 2011
    9
    Brilliant game, Valve once again have shown why they are such a game-making powerhouse. The game is based on an already tested idea in half-life series and portal 1, with only necessary tweaks done to vary the gameplay. So, basically we have the more the same but better. The strongest point of Portal 2 is definitely its narration and story presented. GLADOS and Whetley banter, hilarious black-humorous Announcer, an addition of retro Cave Jonhson character...here lies the true power of Valve, because playing is well...as said before, Portal 1 with tweaks. In reality, the only low points of the game and the reason why some of hot headed reviewers gave game bad reviews, are not-so-long playing time. Nothing of big concern, the story is quite long, wraps itself nice and you feel only a little regret that it is over, but not, for example, an anger that you played while eating dinner and it was suddenly over. The second lowdown are simple ,as for part 2 of already developed idea, puzzles. On a commentary track authors actually admitted that it was intentional not make game too hard. With the game 1, it wouldn't be a problem, but with a second release, there must be expectations to have some more sophisticated challenges. Saying as saying, those two arenâ Expand
  48. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Great game :D Great follow up from the 1st one. Peeps saying it to short are talking crap 10 Hrs is good going for a game, when most of the new games you can do in 5hrs. Valve are and always be one of my fav game Devlopers.
    To the guys who posted this

    "db89 -I really wanted to like this game as i enjoyed the first half of the last game until it got too hard and i had to quit, but
    unfortunatly portal 2 brings with it a strong sense of deja vu,"

    Man Up mate the first Portal was easy and done it in 3 hours.
    Expand
  49. May 29, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the start of the game you feel the changes in the aperture science laboratories and you just can't wait to learn more about the story, the mechanics or the game are genially crafted so that it starts easy but with the progression, the puzzles get harder and harder and at the same time you laugh about glados sarcastic jokes . While the single player story leaves you wanting more, the multiplayer experience is just amazing and very fun to play with a friend. Overall portal 2 is and excellent game and i highly recommend it. Expand
  50. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    amazing game absolutely hilarious! I loved the coop it took me about 4 hours with my buddy then the single player kept me interested for hours. I recommend to anyone who can think lol
  51. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is an amazing game. It combines humor, wits and creativity into one. Some people would argue that a puzzle game can't be much. But Portal 2 does just that. It offers an amazing witty single player campaign, hilarious co-op and an overall creative experience. I would highly recommend this game. I only argue that the there are only two campaigns and after your done both of them, there's no real reason to come back. Expand
  52. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 has arrived.... ABOUT TIME! After a few delays, lots of promotion, and so many playthroughs of the first game, I finally got to play the full game! This game... is just the most fun I and many people have had in such a long time. The night before Portal 2 arrived through my door, I just couldn't sleep. It was like Christmas all over again.

    The first Portal was, let's say an
    experiment for Valve; a prototype. In no way did Valve believe they would be making the sequel they have just made. Back in 2007, they had no idea Portal would get the response it received. Portal 2 was so worth the wait!

    FOR FULL REVIEW (This is just a segment): http://www.nave360.com/review-portal-2/
    Expand
  53. May 24, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game!!! The story is simple yet very good and the amazing voice acting and writing do nothing but enhance the game and Wheatly the British robot really steals the show. The puzzles are also much more interesting this time around as well. This time round you get to play with light bridges, gravity tunnels and bouncy and speed gels, and of course the turrets make their triumphant return. These new mechanics add a new level of complexity to the puzzles that make them all the more satisfying when you solve them. That is another great thing about portal 2, the puzzles. They are to difficult that they will prevent you from solving them yet they aren't so easy that when you solve them you won't feel like you didn't accomplish anything. As far as graphics go they are pretty good, i don't know why people are saying that they are really dated. I mean this isn't the best looking game around but it does look good enough to get the job done. As far as length goes it is about 6-7 hours and people who say they beat it in 3 or 4 either used a guide, rushed through the game as fast as they could, or are lying. Some people complain about the short campaign but i think it is the perfect length because i feel that if it had been made longer then it would have begun to get boring and repetitive and to be honest it did drag on a little bit in chapter 7. Co-op is another great addition to the game it adds about 6 more hours of gameplay and what could be more fun then solving puzzles with your friends. So overall this is a near perfect game that i will definitely revisit in the future Expand
  54. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    This is a fun and clever game but I don't think it's challenging enough and also think it doesn't have enough replay value to hold on to (as of this review). There will allegedly be some DLC but it wouldn't warrant purchasing to me because the game already feels too expensive in the first place. Hopefully, Valve will add free DLC to add more value to a game that feels well-made in the first place, but lacks enough challenging content. Expand
  55. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a blast. It ingeniously combines a surprisingly interesting story with very creative puzzle mechanics to make a very fun game. The game is on sale for a not so generous price, and the combination of co-op and single player campaign still leaves it pretty short compared to some games these days. Nevertheless the fact is that in this somewhat short time, you have a really enjoyable experience. The replay value is expectedly not great so longevity really isn't to be found, except Valve is promising free co-op maps later this year. I can recommend it to everyone and anyone. It is that good. So do yourself a favour and go buy a copy of Portal 2. For science. You Monster. Expand
  56. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Valve have done it again! This game is Awesome, Xbox showing its age a bit but still, GOTY in my opinion, Oh and ignore the trolls, if you want to experience a fine wine of a game get Portal 2
  57. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    I finally had a chance to play through Portal 2 on the PS3 this weekend. The single player campaign was absolutely brilliant. It kept me laughing and guessing the entire time. It was a little short at ~15 hours, but I guess this is actually a lot longer than most single player games! Split-screen multiplayer was an absolute blast...the wife and I haven't had so much fun in years! I'd give it 11 out of 10 if I could! Expand
  58. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game. The puzzles are perfectly done to appeal to a wide variety of players. There were several times when I was stuck for a few moments, but eventually figured out what needed to be done, and nothing beats that aha moment when you figure it out and are able to solve the puzzle. I liked that there were no crazy ninja moves required to solve the puzzles, those types of chambers should come in later DLC and User made content. The voice acting and storyline really excel and make this game worth every penny. Once you finish the single player story line you need to check out the co-op story. Me and my friend were very impressed with this game and I really hope they release map packs for the 360. Expand
  59. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This has to be one of the finest, most polished games I have ever played. It is laugh out loud hilarious from start to finish, the puzzles are difficult without being frustrating, and it is just a blast to play not once but several times (I have already finished it twice). Trust me, do yourself a favor and go out and buy this game. You won't regret it.
  60. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    So Portal 2 is probably the best puzzle game ever. Even better than Tetris. So the gameplay basically is about making puzzles with a gun that shoots portals, along with some items like, for example, cubes that you have to put on buttons. The first game won awards for it's original gameplay, the funny but sinister voice acting for the machine GLaDOS, and the song at the end, that also had a lot of humor. So the sequel was inevitable.
    There are two modes, single-player and multi-player, of course. In single-player you play as Chell, the protagonist of the previous game, as she wakes up and finds a friend named Wheatley, who will help her to find the way out. In the way, something happens and they are now in the test chambers again. Without giving away too much, the story is a lot more complex in comparison to the multi-player and especially the original game, taking the most time to complete of the three. Also, the voice acting for every character is wonderful, with well-written dialogue. Almost every line they say could be a meme. Graphically, is the best-looking game that uses the Source engine, and has some pretty good visuals. The gameplay is still fun, even if it lost the fresh factor, it manages to keep it new with some new and inventive mechanics. There are easter eggs too, that are pretty interesting and, most importantly, fun.
    The multiplayer is like another game. Taking place after singleplayer mode (without revealing anything, so you can play this one first without spoilers), GLaDOS now tests two robots, ATLAS and P-Body, through the chambers. The story in this part isn't very important, similar to Portal 1.
    There are a lot of inventive uses for the two player mechanic, and even some mechanics that aren't on the single-player campaign. Obviously, it's shorter than the solo campaign, but even then it's one of the best multiplayer modes of all. You could say that the game actually has two different campaigns.
    The soundtrack is good. There are more techno ambience sounds, but, unlike in Portal 1, they will be more notorious. There are some songs here and there, without spoiling anything, and they are good, but nothing compared to the original. Overall, the game not only is an improvement to an amazing game, but also manages to keep it fresh.
    Expand
  61. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    There's a certain magic that games can't grasp as well as movies nowadays, but portal 2 is one of those games that left me with a good feeling at the end almost mirroring the feeling you get after watching an amazing inspirational movie. I literally said out loud during the credits "This is the best game ever". I would complain about some of the flaws with co-op but the main game is so great that I wouldn't worry about not getting your money's worth. Expand
  62. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Reviewing this without taking into account some of the ill thought decisions Valve has made is difficult but necessary I feel. Portal 2 is incredible. I have not been as delighted, surprised or engaged by a game since I first played Shenmue. Level design is inspired, story is funny and surprisingly deep compared to the first game. You must play this game.
  63. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    portal 2 is one great ride of comedic portally goodness. valve have done a great job with this and it really has to be one of the best games i've ever played. play time is about 8 hours, with the co-op being about the same. the one thing about the xbox 360 version is the lack of steam cross compatibility but it doesn't really detract from the game in any way. the graphics are great, but not as good as PC or PS3 but for those two things it really is an incredible game. Expand
  64. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome story, awesome gameplay, awesome humor, awesome characters, awesome voice over, awesome coop - awesome game. You want to do something good for yourself? Play Portal 2. It is one of the best games I´ve ever played and certainly the funniest one. Now, go and buy it. Otherwise, you´re a moron.
  65. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is sequel to portal a game i did not enjoy i found it repetitive however this sequel with its new toys is a joy to play it has dated graphics yes but gameplay is all that matters and there is enough here to sate you.
  66. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    This is the only game I would rate higher than my first and favorite games for a number of reasons. Throughout the entire single player campaign I was either stumped by the delightful puzzles, laughing my head off at the pitch-black humor or just dashing through to progress the story. I'm half-way through the co-op and it even has it's own seditious little underlying story. While I will admit the difficulty curve is a bit variant with some rooms solved in a minute flat and others leaving you stumped for ages, it does help break up the monotony that hindered the original Portal. I have yet to find any glitches beyond the occasional graphics hiccup and all other issues have more upsides than downs so you would be an idiot not to play this game. Expand
  67. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    It has a hilarious start, great story and involved back story all the way through, new mechanics that are interesting and fun to play especially with others in Co-Op. Graphics and gameplay are still as good as ever with some improvements over the original especially in the way of the script being twice as funny this time round. In short what's not to love about it, think Portal with more depth, sure it's easier to play and the 'tests' aren't as challenging, but I prefer to think of that as being used to the gameplay and just getting a little smarter in how to solve the style and type of puzzles. Expand
  68. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    ***READ*** Congratulations to Valve for not only making another amazing game but in an age where companies pump out games every year that aren't true to the franchise because they outsource them to **** developers*cough.. activition with call of duty and treyarch.. EA with pretty much everything..cough* Valve stays true to themselves and the community of fans and gamers everywhere. If you don't own a game buy valve change that now buy buying this game, if you are a fan of valve buy this game NOW, and if you are not a fan of Valve for some reason still but this game. The writing, the humor, the amazing level design, the creative ways to make what could be repetitive gameplay into completely original levels every single time. I laughed out loud many times because of Cave Johnson,GLaDOS, and Wheatley and their witty dry humor. When I finished the game for the first time I literally stood back and smiling and said "WOW" I just had the most amazing experience that i have ever had with a game ever. If you do nothing else right for the rest of your life, please, please buy this game. Expand
  69. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    There are very few games that I play from the beginning to the end with practically no break, and Portal 2 is definitely one of them. It is a brilliant game which takes the concept of Portal 1, improves upon it and makes a full fledged game out of it. There is so much attention to detail, which is impossible to describe without spoilers, let's just say that if you stop and look around you for a second, every little poster on the wall, every little prop object in the world, will tell a story. The game is genuinely funny, from GlaDOS cinysm and resention, to Wheatley being a Wheatley. Then there is a second level of humor, ridiculing the world, past and present. Portal 2 will make you laugh, and it will make you laugh even more if you don't just run through the puzzles. There have been rumors circulating around the net that the game is extremely short - it's not. There is no way anyone could go through the game, even if he knew the solutions to all the puzzles, in four hours. My guess would be that on average, it will take more than 10 hours to finish the game. More, if you poke around the rooms. There is no buffer content and it's a roller coaster ride from start to finish. If you seriously dislike this gem of a game, I don't see how you can call yourself a gamer, because it shows brilliance left and right, in it's every single aspect. Expand
  70. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    one of the best games ever.extremely fun and addicting.It is a really smart game
  71. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    The only word that can describe Portal 2 is: AMAZING!

    It is true that repeated many puzzles of the original Portal, but improved in many aspects, not only graphically, they added other tools to make more difficult the answer to the puzzles, the game is much longer than its predecessor.

    The cooperative mode is very entertaining, the game gives a large share of entertainment, the black
    humor of GlaDOS is unique. If you make a top 5 of the best villains in gaming history, GlaDOS will be there.

    Portal 2 is a great game, highly recommended.


    "We're going to have fun, with science"
    GlaDOS
    Expand
  72. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 is a good game but it is not superb. There seems to have been a lot of criticism of the games length but it have found that if you complete both the single player and co op then you will be pushing 9-10 hours. The game play is very impressive and it is refreshing to play a first person shooter that does not require any killing. Some of the stages are really quite puzzling and sound of the air rushing past as you propel your self through the air through portal propulsion. On that note the sound in this game is sensational especially the voice acting. The reasons why this game is a nine and not a ten is that it is a touch short and in places is a little receptive. Portal 2 extremely and defiantly worth buying. Expand
  73. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. The story telling and dialogue is easily some of the best in any recent title. The gameplay continues the puzzler trend set by Portal 1 and neither remains too challenging nor too easy. Co-op is a fantsatic addition to the game and easily doubles the life of the game. SP alone was already 7+ hours just on one play through. Multiple play throughs will undoubtedly occur as there will be secrets missed the first time, plus developer commentary throughout the game. MP was an additional 5-6 hours in one play through. Well worth the money. The visuals, while they won't win any awards for pushing hardware to the max are some of the best Valve has released in any title. The transformation of the Aperture Science Labs from broken and busted to clean and "new" are great to watch. The game has a very clean aesthetic look to it that works quite well. Expand
  74. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    Let's start this off by saying I am not a Portal fanboy. I had never played the first one, until last week when my brother picked up Portal 2 based on its rave reviews. I reluctantly played it and was blown away. I went and bought the orange box to play number 1 through first. The only reason I'm giving it a 9/10, is because I would have liked it to be longer. I wouldn't say it was unbearably short, but it was so good that I couldn't put it down. That being said, the addition of co-op mode and its entirely different puzzles/storyline from the single player mode, lead to practically two games in one. The puzzles are very different from 1, with the addition of the new elements (no spoilers here!), and I was supremely impressed that it wasn't stagnant or redundant to its predecessor (which many puzzle games tend to be.) As for the folks worried about the graphics, I have played a lot of games with great graphics, that don't have a leg to stand on when it comes to story, entertainment, gameplay, etc. Games that do not rely on their graphics but instead on story and gameplay, transcend their time period. Remember when N64 had cutting edge graphics? Great puzzles, an interesting story (with some brilliant voice acting on all 3 (or 4) characters, and clever dialogue that had me laughing throughout, lead me to my score, and to anticipation for Portal 3 Expand
  75. Sep 5, 2014
    8
    The original Portal may have only lasted about five hours but it is quite rightly considered a classic by almost anyone that played it. Portal 2 is therefore in an awkward position. Change too much and you risk ruining what made the first so special, change too little and it makes a sequel pointless. Fortunately Portal 2 gets the balance pretty much spot on.

    As with the original the
    star of the show is the portal gun itself and Valve have again managed to craft a number of challenging but fair puzzles that require the gun to be exploited in increasingly clever ways. The first couple of hours of the single-player campaign play out in a similar fashion to the original (with the addition of the very funny Stephen Merchant on voice over work) before the game adds a few new features, such as light bridges and repulsion goo to keep things fresh without overcomplicating matters.

    Taking around eight hours to complete the single-player is again a joy to play through despite the fact that a large part of the original games charm was its originality. The only slight gripe for me was the fact that some of the sections outside the regular testing zones lose the focus that kept my interest throughout the original, but this is only a very minor issue and I am sure not everyone would agree.

    Perhaps the biggest new feature added for this sequel is the Co-Op play, either via Xbox live or split screen. This opens up a whole new set of puzzles that require intelligence and teamwork to complete, coming in at around four hours it is a great addition to an already very good game.

    If you were a fan of the original or you are simply bored of the endless FPS game released on consoles recently you could do a lot worse than picking up a copy of Portal 2.
    Expand
  76. May 10, 2011
    9
    I give portal a solid 9 if for no other reason .......it was funny as hell! nice change of pace solving puzzles instead of being cussed at by 12 year olds in COD. overall not worth the full price tag but i got it for $35 and i'd say around there should be the right price for this game! will keep you entertained for roughly 6-12 hrs depending on the speed you go............unless you cheat by using youtube lol Expand
  77. May 11, 2011
    10
    Just an incredible experience. There are very few games released these days where you feel the love and compassion towards the material. It's almost as if they could care less if they made a dime on the game, as long as others get to experience it. I have no clue how they came up with the gels system, etc, but it's all just brilliant. Throw in some much needed humor with Wheatley and it just cherry tops it all. I love hearing about the 'geniuses' that got through the game in a few hours (walkthrough help much?). Oh brother, because I found the campaign relatively difficult and extensive. Regardless, bravo to another Valve masterpiece. Expand
  78. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    This is no perfect game, but it is an unforgettable experience, and it is because of that I will give Portal 2 a 10. I would have wished for maybe some harder puzzles. That is all.
  79. May 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a lot more fun than the original. I don't agree with reviewers claiming the graphics looked dated, it's definitely an upgrade from the first portal. Is it short? Well, it was longer than I expected so that was refreshing, but once you know how to solve the puzzles, you could probably beat it in 4 hours, but I guarantee you your first run through will not be so easy to pull off. Replay value is HIGH, I'm on my 3rd time through. Co-op is good if you have a friend physically by your side, but it's frustrating online. Gaming with strangers causes frustration and game drops
    The GLaDOS wit is back, and when she's not saying snarky/witty things, you get it from about 3 other characters/voices. The developers have added now portal elements like a light bridge, a anti-gravity tunnel, repulsion gel, acceleration gel, and a white portal enabling gel. These new game dynamics change the way you have to experience the game, and it's quite a fun experience as a result.
    The developer commentary wasn't as involved as the original portal commentary, and lacked observations from the voice over talent. But some of the commentary actually flew right over my head because of how technical it actually was.
    The ending seemed to eliminate the franchise, so that's a bummer. But I really enjoyed this game, and will continue to enjoy the game.
    Expand
  80. May 16, 2011
    9
    This is the first time in a long time I've spent $60 on a title I completed in about 6 hours and felt it was an entirely justified purchase. Yes, it is a little on the short side. However, the immersion I felt in the Portal universe while playing was unrivaled by any non-RPG I have ever played in my entire life. I was laughing the whole time. The plot twists genuinely caught me by surprise. The ending was spectacularly over the top and amazing. The co-op is quite brilliant, especially if you and a friend that haven't gone through them before tackle it together.

    The two biggest knocks people throw on the game is shortness and "dated graphics." As mentioned, yes it is a little on the short side. I find it to be a strength the game is as short as it is but there is never a moment the player is not engaged in the universe. I've played some games that last 60 hours and yet 40 of them felt tedious, so I'd much prefer something so completely enthralling from start to finish. I don't get the whole "dated graphics" thing either. Welcome to the era of stock system settings. It's not Crysis; nothing is. I rather like the visuals as they are appealing, simple, clean.

    Ignoring the price tag on the content delivered, it's a solid 11 out of 10. It's a must-play, end of story.
    Expand
  81. May 18, 2011
    10
    From a certain person who clam that Valve have inflated the ratings but the so-called fact that they use the same phrase in most of the positive reviews, you also have to point out that the same kind of negative reviews are saturating the ratings.

    Anyway for the game, I personally did complete it in 8 hours which it is about average (yes not fast completion time) but the multiplayer
    experience is amazing, which inclines players to communicate, whilst also testing their patience. I played this on the PC of which I cannot fault on the graphics, considering it is running on the Source engine.

    Also a big plus is the fact that the game is being supported with FREE DLC, how many devs can you think of that would do the same?
    Expand
  82. May 21, 2011
    10
    Pure enjoyment, nothing comes close to beating the phenomenal and thoroughly entertaining 12 hour campaign of this extraordinary series. simply a must have for anyone who enjoys enjoyment.
  83. May 23, 2011
    5
    Game is great fun with awesome voiceacting but like others have said it's way too short (5hours of singleplayer) for the pricetag and the graphics are just ok. Wait until you find it in the bargainbin, there is no replay value here. If people give it a 10 to boost the score ill give it a 5 to flatten things out.
  84. May 31, 2011
    9
    I am a fan of Coop games as well as puzzles. So when I heard Portal 2 had a fully realized coop multiplayer it was a no brainer. This game works on its own but in my opinion really shines in multiplayer. You are forced to worked together and time things just right to make it on to the next set of rooms, rinse, repeat. I would suggest anyone who enjoyed the original or just someone looking for a casual albiet difficult coop game. Remember most negatives are because you have to pay money for aesthetic stuff, so if you don't want to pay 5 bucks for a hat, don't. Expand
  85. May 29, 2011
    10
    Seriously an amazing game. The game play, story, writing, and voice acting are all some of the best I have ever seen in a game. I laughed out loud numerous times throughout the game. The voice acting is without a doubt the best I have ever heard in a game. The single player game play is a blast, but maybe not quite as good as the first one. The first portal seemed to have a slightly less obvious design to the levels which allowed for a lot more experimentation. This is my only gripe though. The multiplayer is more mind twisting to me, which is good, though its not as story intensive as the single player. Overall Portal 2 was the best experience I have had on the 360. Expand
  86. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    As a puzzle game Portal 2 is incredible. But it suffers one of the main pitfalls of all puzzle games, it becomes repetitive and once you get into the later stages of the game the puzzles either become frustratingly difficult as you either have to find the tiny little solution in the massive puzzle room or the puzzle is just too easy once you figure out how the different gels work. Though this game is entertaining, and somewhat of an intellectual feat the first run through, if you've graduated from high school and out of the main gaming demographic, you'll probably find the puzzles a little too easy and the humour a little too juvenile. A good rent, but save your $40 (depending on your system). Don't fall for the gaming critics, especially these days, most are bought and paid for. Expand
  87. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Needless to say, but this game is gaming perfection on all platforms. Yes it will be challenging for people new to puzzle games, but here's the deal. If you're not a puzzle game fan and a fan of the half-life universe then don't buy this game. This isn't a casual gamer's game. It's a gamer's game. Stunning graphics and a storyline only worthy of Valve's genius blend perfectly with increasingly intricate puzzles and addicting fun game-play. The voice acting is second-to-none and will have you laughed hysterically in both single and co-op. Now it is essential to the story to do single player first, as the co-op is a direct follow up. While this game isn't for everyone, everyone needs to play this game. That is to say if you dare call yourself a gamer then you need to play Half-Life and Portal (go grab The Orange Box for $20 if you haven't already), get caught up on the story, and then grab Portal 2 and enjoying Valve's on going brilliance. Once you've done that you can join the rest of the gamers that have a lick of sense who are holding our breaths that Half-Life 3 gets announced at E3 2011. If only the gaming gods will be so kind. Expand
  88. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 may lack the simple charm of it's predecesor, but it succeeds in finding it's own in this more story driven installment. With the introduction of more puzzle elements, Portal 2 picks up where the first one left off and doesn't skip a beat. It also introduces co-op mode which continues the story where it's single player bows out. Where the single player's puzzles weren't as difficult as the firs one's, co-op has the potential to stump you and your friend for quite some time. Do yourself a favor and experience this game. Expand
  89. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    This game is one of "those games". To keep the review short this game is: Fun, Challenging and it has a strong story. If you liked portal 1, then you have to play this game, It has some of those gamer moments where you brain and heart goes "oh **** this is awesome". This game would be a 10 but there is hardly any replay value.
  90. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Disagree as you might, I find this to be the greatest first-person video game to date, and possibly the longest I've ever played. It requires you to think... a lot, and you have to take your time figuring out puzzles and at the same time as it's frustrating, it's lots of fun and is extremely rewarding. The story is much more involving than the first game, and the Aperture story is impressively expanded upon from the first game. Also when playing the first game and then comparing it to this one, a lot of the smallest aspects that may have seemed questionable at first end up making perfect sense. The amount of detail payed attention to is simply amazing, plus there are countless little Easter Eggs, some harder to spot than others. The story is very humorous and the characters, including our own mysterious character that we play as - Chell, are very interesting and there are plenty of awesome little twists. The graphics in this game are also the best I've ever seen from Valve and it has the most awesome, yet bizarre ending I've ever seen from any video game ever before. The replay value is, in my opinion, very high, and there's two entirely different storymodes you can play, each as challenging as the last and both have their own special little quirks that make them unique over the other. This is a game that all gamers should play through from start to finish at least once in their lifetimes, because that's how superb it is. It's hard to overstate my satisfaction. Expand
  91. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Portal 2 is an amazing game that will have fans of the series loving its puzzle element and witty humor and in a market over-saturated by military shooters it stands out from the crowd. A true master piece of gaming
  92. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    It's hardly a flawless game but you've got to admire what Valve were able to do with such a simple concept. The way they've expanded upon the universe and story created within the first Portal game is definitely worthy of merit. It's also rare to find a game with a such a humble sense of humor. It's a must own.
  93. Jun 13, 2011
    7
    Portal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get why this game is getting these high ratings by the critics, yes it is a unique game and not some run of the mill shooter like all those other shooters out there but that doesnt make it that good. I played the game for about 7 hours and finished it, but after solving all the puzzles replaying would be stupid en boring.
    In my honest opinion valve gets to much credit, this game should not be in the top 10 on metacritic, right up there with Baldur's Gate 2, the best game ever made (and which is over 200 hours of gameplay for the same money) Sorry for my ranting but i just think this game is overrated.....dont shoot me!
    Expand
  94. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Like Portal 1, Portal 2 is a smart and fun puzzle platformer with a good sense of humor. If you liked Portal 1 you're pretty much guaranteed to like Portal 2. One thing that sets the sequel apart from its predecessor is the inclusion of multiplayer levels. I found this part of the game to be more fun than the single player, and when you combine the two the game is appropriately long. The graphics engine, while dated, has aged well and still looks great. The music is also worth mentioning... Portal 2 has one of the best soundtracks in recent gaming. On the negative side I feel that the game dragged a bit in the middle... probably because I wasn't a huge fan of the "story." Expand
  95. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Portal 2 blends the perfect balance of extremely difficult puzzles with comedy and clever writing. You canâ
  96. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    A gaming experience with a great atmosphere, witty humor, interesting puzzles,(however unchallenging some of them are) and likable characters. Definitely worth the price tag.
  97. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Best sequel i have ever seen.The game after chapter 4 it looks like half-life and this veryyyy good!Not at all boring and the co-op is very smart.Also the quotes ara very funny and also smart.10/10
    Valve knows how to rule the game world!!
  98. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Finnally, a breath of fresh air from all of the bullet ridden shooters. This is an outstanding game. It does involve shooting, but in puzzle type sense. Portal 2 expands on the original in every way. The biggest addition is the new co-op mode, which forces two friends to think with portals. The only complaint is the campaign is a little short, just about 7 hours. It still has the humor aspect from the 1st one(and it improves that too) Still it is a fantastic game that i can't recommend any higher Expand
  99. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Like I said for DNF (duke nukem forever) different people have different opinions. get the demo and then see if you like it. get the full game. the demo doesn't cost money. all of you who hate the game: YOU SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE DEMO!!!! ) :< its just a waist of money to go out and buy somthing if you dont know what your in for! (I still love the game though.) for those of you who can't finish it, look up: portal walkthrough part 6 or somthing. do not include or somthing. personaly I don't want to say I like it (even though I do) I just wanted to say its what you decide. PLS use walkthroughs, walkthroughs could save your hope in your game some day! Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]