Portal 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 949 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 949

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2011
    7
    The user score is much closer to the truth than the critic score unfortunately. I loved portal but I found this sequel to be a little disappointing. It's too short, (just under 6 hrs), and too easy. There wasn't a puzzle that had me scratching my head for more than a few minutes, and I'm not exactly Einstein. The co op is great fun, but again is too short and easy, Anyone who played theThe user score is much closer to the truth than the critic score unfortunately. I loved portal but I found this sequel to be a little disappointing. It's too short, (just under 6 hrs), and too easy. There wasn't a puzzle that had me scratching my head for more than a few minutes, and I'm not exactly Einstein. The co op is great fun, but again is too short and easy, Anyone who played the souped up hard version of the levels in Portal 1 are going to be VERY disappointed with the game's lack of difficulty. On the bright side, the story is better than I thought it would be and the voice acting and presentation are top notch despite the game still using the half life 2 source engine. There are also a couple of subtle nods to the greater half life universe for anyone who cares. Overall this game should be played as it is entertaining, but rent it insted of buying as your unlikely to play it more than once. Short but mostly sweet. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    While this game lacks re-playability for me, I found the experience to be fun, albeit short. It's more of the same in comparison to the first Portal which is neither good nor bad. I'm disappointed in this as a full retail release, costing most people around the $55 mark. I think being spoiled by the Orange Box and it's price makes this harder to accept Portal 2 as a stand-alone release.While this game lacks re-playability for me, I found the experience to be fun, albeit short. It's more of the same in comparison to the first Portal which is neither good nor bad. I'm disappointed in this as a full retail release, costing most people around the $55 mark. I think being spoiled by the Orange Box and it's price makes this harder to accept Portal 2 as a stand-alone release. The campaign is short, though it is on par with the length of other FPS. Having a lack of friends available for multiplayer, for the time being, leaves effectively half the game unaccessible for me. It's not a bad game, I just expected more out of it. If you're on the fence about it, I'd save it for a rental. Expand
  3. May 19, 2011
    7
    All in All, fun game. Unlike the first Portal, however it does not hold your interest as long. I liked Portal 2, but to go as far as scoring this in the 90's, leaves me to believe that most, if not all of these Publishers are looking for Advertising brownie points. The game is not bad, and you will keep testing away as you progress, for the sheer joy of seeing what comes next, but afterAll in All, fun game. Unlike the first Portal, however it does not hold your interest as long. I liked Portal 2, but to go as far as scoring this in the 90's, leaves me to believe that most, if not all of these Publishers are looking for Advertising brownie points. The game is not bad, and you will keep testing away as you progress, for the sheer joy of seeing what comes next, but after a few chambers, you start to bore quickly. I miss the old GlaDOS, as she was not over done. In Portal 2, there are times I wish she would stop with the sarcasm and stop acting so human. I do like the new puzzle concepts, but there aren't that many of them and unfortunately the game is much too short. The two play is a nice add-on, but even this doesn't have any replay value. I think I was expecting too much from this game. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    It was a little easy on the plat-former end of things but a fun game none the less. My Friend and I beat co-op in like 2 sittings on a weekend...He beat the game with achievements in about 2 days as well and we are not crazy gamers
  5. May 27, 2011
    6
    Because we celebrated the innovation and mind blowing game play in Portal 1 doesn't mean we have to extend the honeymoon to Portal 2 and give it a free pass. I thought Portal 1 was a "10", but with as much time as Valve has had, I don't think Portal 2 deserves high praise. To do so would be just to encourage the lack of innovation and their milking an idea as a cash cow. What madeBecause we celebrated the innovation and mind blowing game play in Portal 1 doesn't mean we have to extend the honeymoon to Portal 2 and give it a free pass. I thought Portal 1 was a "10", but with as much time as Valve has had, I don't think Portal 2 deserves high praise. To do so would be just to encourage the lack of innovation and their milking an idea as a cash cow. What made Portal 1 so great is that nothing like it had been done before. Every new mechanic and piece of the environment was being seen for the first time as you played it. Portal 2 would have been more worthy of praise had it been a DLC add-on a long time ago. Now I just question why more wasn't done with it. Using such an intellectual property to claim $60 for one night of mildly entertaining hoop jumping seems not only disappointing, but perhaps even immoral. I feel like Valve really missed an opportunity here to have the community go"Wow! they did it again!...unbelievable!...no one would have expected them to introduce these types of (characters/creatures/guns/environments/online game types/droid customizations/gadgets...etc.)!" Bottom line...instead I am left saying rather wistfully...oh...they did it again. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    5
    For starers I liked portal 1 it was an intresting experiance but valve wanted more money and came out with this. Portal 2 has a better story and good charicters but the experiance is stuffed but the aged engine and the repetitiveness which really harms the experiance. The liquid effect was a let down and the action was slow as well as the pacing. The voice acting was good and certanFor starers I liked portal 1 it was an intresting experiance but valve wanted more money and came out with this. Portal 2 has a better story and good charicters but the experiance is stuffed but the aged engine and the repetitiveness which really harms the experiance. The liquid effect was a let down and the action was slow as well as the pacing. The voice acting was good and certan puzzles were fustratingly hard which lead to portal 2 being more of a hard to get sequel trying to gain attention becasue it uses the title most people loved and played so much in 2007. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2011
    5
    Portal 2 has a handful of new and interesting ideas but they don't alter the gameplay dramatically enough. The environments are the same as the first game but the puzzles feel fewer and aren't even a fraction of the difficulty of the first game.

    Having said that more of the same isn't necessarily a bad thing but with roughly 5-6 hours of gameplay it's perhaps worth a rent rather than a
    Portal 2 has a handful of new and interesting ideas but they don't alter the gameplay dramatically enough. The environments are the same as the first game but the puzzles feel fewer and aren't even a fraction of the difficulty of the first game.

    Having said that more of the same isn't necessarily a bad thing but with roughly 5-6 hours of gameplay it's perhaps worth a rent rather than a purchase.

    Disappointing.
    Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    The first thing that really hit me was hearing Stephen Merchant's voice cut in at the beginning. This was the perfect choice from Valve for a companion throughout the game. Visually we still find ourselves in the still-current-just valve engine with a few new effects here and there which look good. The levels are far less generic than the first in what will undoubtedly now become aThe first thing that really hit me was hearing Stephen Merchant's voice cut in at the beginning. This was the perfect choice from Valve for a companion throughout the game. Visually we still find ourselves in the still-current-just valve engine with a few new effects here and there which look good. The levels are far less generic than the first in what will undoubtedly now become a series of sequels from Valve. However, the tests were too similar for my liking. It feels as if the original genius behind a game with portals was missing and instead the Producer has simple done more-of-the-same but placed it all in a HL2 level this time. It's very expensive for a game easily finished in long afternoon but it's here, and I enjoyed it. Just not blown away as hoped. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    5
    Negatives: Too short - took me 5 hours because it is too easy. Dated graphics. Price is too high for such a short game. It took them how long to develop the game and the graphics are the same as Portal 1? Positives: Humor was good and I liked the story. Rating: I'm only giving it a 5 because it is another game that could have been great, but has been rushed and dumbed-down for the masses.Negatives: Too short - took me 5 hours because it is too easy. Dated graphics. Price is too high for such a short game. It took them how long to develop the game and the graphics are the same as Portal 1? Positives: Humor was good and I liked the story. Rating: I'm only giving it a 5 because it is another game that could have been great, but has been rushed and dumbed-down for the masses. Also too expensive. Expand
  10. May 30, 2012
    6
    Good game, but if you played the original and thought it good but not great, then this is really just more of the same. There are a few new tricks to learn, but puzzle wise the game didn't feel as challenging as the original. Perhaps thats because I was already accustomed to the puzzle theme of using portals. In any case, I felt there wasn't enough new stuff there, and it got to be a bitGood game, but if you played the original and thought it good but not great, then this is really just more of the same. There are a few new tricks to learn, but puzzle wise the game didn't feel as challenging as the original. Perhaps thats because I was already accustomed to the puzzle theme of using portals. In any case, I felt there wasn't enough new stuff there, and it got to be a bit of a chore and felt like going through the motions just so I could seen the ending. Though I have to admit, the story and characterisation was much better this time around. Other than that I couldn't find too many other positive things to say about this game. It doesn't have much re-playability even when you take the coop mode into account. Overall if you loved the original then its more of the same, but if like me you really didn't see what all the fuss was about the original, and just thought it an okay first person puzzler, then you probably wont find your opinion has changed much with the sequel. So its good, but not a classic, at least not in my book. 6 / 10 Expand
  11. May 23, 2011
    5
    Game is great fun with awesome voiceacting but like others have said it's way too short (5hours of singleplayer) for the pricetag and the graphics are just ok. Wait until you find it in the bargainbin, there is no replay value here. If people give it a 10 to boost the score ill give it a 5 to flatten things out.
  12. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    As a puzzle game Portal 2 is incredible. But it suffers one of the main pitfalls of all puzzle games, it becomes repetitive and once you get into the later stages of the game the puzzles either become frustratingly difficult as you either have to find the tiny little solution in the massive puzzle room or the puzzle is just too easy once you figure out how the different gels work. ThoughAs a puzzle game Portal 2 is incredible. But it suffers one of the main pitfalls of all puzzle games, it becomes repetitive and once you get into the later stages of the game the puzzles either become frustratingly difficult as you either have to find the tiny little solution in the massive puzzle room or the puzzle is just too easy once you figure out how the different gels work. Though this game is entertaining, and somewhat of an intellectual feat the first run through, if you've graduated from high school and out of the main gaming demographic, you'll probably find the puzzles a little too easy and the humour a little too juvenile. A good rent, but save your $40 (depending on your system). Don't fall for the gaming critics, especially these days, most are bought and paid for. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I really wish this would have been Portal 1. The gameplay though unique just gets old after a while and is been there done that after the first game. My favorite aspect of Portal 2 where the co-op missions. On the short side but sweet.
  14. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    This is a fun and clever game but I don't think it's challenging enough and also think it doesn't have enough replay value to hold on to (as of this review). There will allegedly be some DLC but it wouldn't warrant purchasing to me because the game already feels too expensive in the first place. Hopefully, Valve will add free DLC to add more value to a game that feels well-made in theThis is a fun and clever game but I don't think it's challenging enough and also think it doesn't have enough replay value to hold on to (as of this review). There will allegedly be some DLC but it wouldn't warrant purchasing to me because the game already feels too expensive in the first place. Hopefully, Valve will add free DLC to add more value to a game that feels well-made in the first place, but lacks enough challenging content. Expand
  15. Jun 13, 2011
    7
    Portal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get whyPortal 2 is a good game, but just like Portal 1 it's just not great, for me that is. The puzzles are great and well made. The acting is good en well written, the graphics are fine (for a 7 year old engine) but i just get bored after playing for a while. There is no replay value whatsoever after you finished it, except for the coop mode, but I dont care about Coop. I really dont get why this game is getting these high ratings by the critics, yes it is a unique game and not some run of the mill shooter like all those other shooters out there but that doesnt make it that good. I played the game for about 7 hours and finished it, but after solving all the puzzles replaying would be stupid en boring.
    In my honest opinion valve gets to much credit, this game should not be in the top 10 on metacritic, right up there with Baldur's Gate 2, the best game ever made (and which is over 200 hours of gameplay for the same money) Sorry for my ranting but i just think this game is overrated.....dont shoot me!
    Expand
  16. Apr 18, 2012
    7
    Entertaining but not mind blowing nor GOTY worthy like IGN pointed out. I really don't see why of the commotion for this game, yeah its fun and challenging for a while but it gets boring, you are always contained, plot driven and not very good graphics at all. Bought it for new for $30 and even Im regretting having payed that much for this.
  17. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    If you have half a brain, this game is a huge rip off at full price. I paid 20 bucks and beat it in 4 hours.I know other people can't solve puzzles and it takes them longer, but I would not recommend this at 60. Overall it is fun, but SHORT!
  18. Dec 6, 2014
    7
    Portal 2 is a puzzle privilege. It's challenging and entertaining simultaneously. The game is a nice escape from mainstream games and offers players a unique and rewarding experience.
  19. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    Quite similar to the original and massively overrated, as all valve games are. It is much more fun to play coop than solo so I recommend finding a friend to play with
  20. Feb 10, 2015
    7
    Portal 2 is how i imagined it to be....a solid video game. portal 2 brings a unique gameplay to the table of first person shooters. Its a fun, time wasting game. Now portal 2 is not a game that i was addicted too and played for hours and hours, no portal 2 is a game that i played for an hour or two and then stopped. Why? well portal 2 to me was fun but not too fun get what I'm saying?Portal 2 is how i imagined it to be....a solid video game. portal 2 brings a unique gameplay to the table of first person shooters. Its a fun, time wasting game. Now portal 2 is not a game that i was addicted too and played for hours and hours, no portal 2 is a game that i played for an hour or two and then stopped. Why? well portal 2 to me was fun but not too fun get what I'm saying? Overall it is a game you cannot hate on. It has great dialogue (very funny), a solid concept, and involves alot of brain solving. Expand
  21. Apr 19, 2011
    0
    My opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is aboutMy opinion for this game is it is a very great sequel, being a predecessor to its original game, (Portal). They have added many new types of mechanics and nifty things such as Repulsion Gel, Thermal Discouragement Beams, and many more. The story in my opinion is nothing short of just amazing. The difficulty is not to hard, but at the same time not to easy. my only complaint is it is about 8 hours long, but I assure you it will be the greatest 8 hours of your life. The also added a new multilayer option that you can play local or online. I have tried it out with a friend and it is fun, and also a bit more challenging the the single player. Overall a great game and if you have the money I suggest buying it Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    98
    Portal 2 is a triumph in every sense of the word, a wonderful experience from start to finish and one that you won't soon forget.
  2. May 23, 2011
    90
    Indeed, this is both mathematical and storytelling art-work; it teams a gripping narrative with an inventive gameplay mechanic that makes for an excellent and unforgettable ride.
  3. A huge and stunning sequel, as witty as it is brain-bendingly challenging. [July 2011, p.98]