User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 102
  2. Negative: 13 out of 102

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    6
    Prey is an intriguing game with a mind-bending concept, but that's all it really is. You can tell it's been in development for a long time because everything feels VERY old-school. However, this isn't a bad thing because it means there are less distractions. It's extremely linear, with no objective but to go through the level. Environments aren't particularly varied either. It's simple andPrey is an intriguing game with a mind-bending concept, but that's all it really is. You can tell it's been in development for a long time because everything feels VERY old-school. However, this isn't a bad thing because it means there are less distractions. It's extremely linear, with no objective but to go through the level. Environments aren't particularly varied either. It's simple and minimalistic, with the story being the only thing that holds it all together; albeit it's not very innovative. Character models and some environments are lacking in detail, and there is a severe frame rate drop at some points. It's a very dark game and environments don't really give the graphics a chance to shine, even though id Tech 4 has so much more to offer. It's not a long game, and the quality is very mediocre. However, even with all that taken into account, Prey is worth playing because there's nothing really like it in this generation of shooters- not on Xbox 360 anyway. Sometimes it's just nice to get away from the standards of modern shooters and play something from the 1990s. Collapse
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    Found this game pretty entertaining, played it years after it's release and it has aged better than most. The thing I find most interesting is that this game did portals before portal, down to the fact that they are blue and orange (portal did it a lot better, but blatantly took the idea from prey) Good mix of gameplay, with a decent story and steady pacing. Worth having a look.
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    This game is great i mean REALLY GREAT
    the gameplay feels smooth
    and the campaign is awesome this game has a lot of surprises and most of them i never expected but though the game is great you can see it is a old game no one plays online the graphics are getting very old and with not too much to do this very old game is just a classic that has been forgotten though if you haven't
    This game is great i mean REALLY GREAT
    the gameplay feels smooth
    and the campaign is awesome
    this game has a lot of surprises
    and most of them i never expected
    but though the game is great
    you can see it is a old game
    no one plays online
    the graphics are getting very old
    and with not too much to do this very old game is just a classic that has been forgotten
    though if you haven't got xbox live
    you will love this game
    Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2015
    7
    Prey is a very unique and interesting game. At times its a coinflip whether to trash this game or call it brilliant. I think to sum up this game was crafted with heart however the play engine is too outdated to handle what the developers were really going for and as much as one would like to compliment this game one also has to address it has defiencies. The story, the immersion and sci fiPrey is a very unique and interesting game. At times its a coinflip whether to trash this game or call it brilliant. I think to sum up this game was crafted with heart however the play engine is too outdated to handle what the developers were really going for and as much as one would like to compliment this game one also has to address it has defiencies. The story, the immersion and sci fi is fantastic. The play engine though really distracts from what is good. The end result is a coin flip some will love this game for its charm and personality and others will fairly critique how outdated the game is. I think both points of view are valid and a matter of personal taste. What I would like to say is Prey 2 is going to be made and if they can reinstate the love this game had and put all the same into a new next generation software wow we will all be very happy gamers. This game was a decent shooter, puzzler and sci fi game and this game is worth a look just for the nostalgia of the series evolution. Good luck Prey 2!!! Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. VERY great game with a cool story and interesting characters. The game also features a lot of unique and fun weapons to use. And the spirit mode is a unique twist that you use to solve various puzzles and challenges. The game also has some great atmospheric music. Most of the environments usually look similar except for the occasion where you go into space but besides that your moving through paths and chambers that all pretty much look the same. The graphics are also very nice looking for the time . But one thing i hated about the game is that a lot of the time it is VERY unclear what it is you are supposed to do and ill sit there for 25 minutes looking around trying to figure out what im supposed to do. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    So if you are not good at shooters this would be a good recommendation since even if you "die" you go straight into a spirit world where you just have to shoot some red and blue fish to get back your life and you fall right back to where you died without losing a stitch.

    There are also really complicated puzzles especially for a FPS. The only problems i had was the game was too
    So if you are not good at shooters this would be a good recommendation since even if you "die" you go straight into a spirit world where you just have to shoot some red and blue fish to get back your life and you fall right back to where you died without losing a stitch.

    There are also really complicated puzzles especially for a FPS.

    The only problems i had was the game was too short ( i finished it in less than two weeks) I would have also liked to have seen more use for the spirit abilities they are only really used for the puzzles and getting through force fields,
    Expand
  7. May 27, 2014
    8
    Prey is a pretty cool game. The gravity shifting, unique level designs, and creepy atmosphere are the major strong suits here. The action isn't quite spectacular but it's still pretty solid overall. The weak points of the game in my opinion are the story and voice acting. They just came across as clunky and cheesy to me, which is a shame because the basic premise is intriguing. I'dPrey is a pretty cool game. The gravity shifting, unique level designs, and creepy atmosphere are the major strong suits here. The action isn't quite spectacular but it's still pretty solid overall. The weak points of the game in my opinion are the story and voice acting. They just came across as clunky and cheesy to me, which is a shame because the basic premise is intriguing. I'd still say the game is worth a look though, for its unique gameplay and surreal world. Not perfect, but still an entertaining shooter. Expand
  8. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    One of the 360's first hugely hyped exclusives, Prey was something of a disappointment. It was a nice showcase of the console's hardware capabilities but ultimately far from being Microsoft's next Halo. Prey's well-delivered story and ambitious scope are hindered by the somewhat clunky and unpolished gameplay. Worth renting or picking up cheap on PC.
  9. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played.
    Prey is a Sci-fi Shooter with a very interesting story (you are Tommy, a native American who has been abducted by aliens and the fate of the world lies in your hands), nice graphics and awesome weapons.
    So if you like single-player FPS games with a tense atmosphere and a good story you should definitly buy it
  10. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    though the online component has long gone the way of the dodo, this is easily the reason why people should forgive 2K. I Sank a good 35 HOurs in the first playthrough alone,and im not ashamed to say I think portal is the poor-man's prey.
  11. Sep 19, 2012
    0
    Prey is an intriguing game with a mind-bending concept, but that's all it really is. You can tell it's been in development for a long time because everything feels VERY old-school. However, this isn't a bad thing because it means there are less distractions. It's extremely linear, with no objective but to go through the level. Environments aren't particularly varied either. It's simple andPrey is an intriguing game with a mind-bending concept, but that's all it really is. You can tell it's been in development for a long time because everything feels VERY old-school. However, this isn't a bad thing because it means there are less distractions. It's extremely linear, with no objective but to go through the level. Environments aren't particularly varied either. It's simple and minimalistic, with the story being the only thing that holds it all together; albeit it's not very innovative. Character models and some environments are lacking in detail, and there is a severe frame rate drop at some points. It's a very dark game and environments don't really give the graphics a chance to shine, even though id Tech 4 has so much more to offer. It's not a long game, and the quality is very mediocre. However, even with all that taken into account, Prey is worth playing because there's nothing really like it in this generation of shooters- not on Xbox 360 anyway. Sometimes it's just nice to get away from the standards of modern shooters and play something from the 1990s. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 80
  2. Negative: 2 out of 80
  1. Prey is touted as having an adaptive difficulty system -- the better you are, the better it gets -- and it really did seem to get harder as the game went on. As a result, there are just two difficulty settings, Normal and Cherokee, and I'd advise that even vets might want to give Normal a try on the first run out, letting the game's artificial intelligence pick up the pace to a comfortable level.
  2. 80
    If only the Native American mysticism had figured in more. If only the spirit "death walk" had developed into something more than a shooting gallery. If only the voice acting and storytelling were a little better. If only there were more than just deathmatch to the multiplayer. All those half steps...but even combined, they don't amount to a stride backward.
  3. It could have been much better if only there were more than two modes (deathmatch and team deathmatch) and a couple of maps small enough to play with less than five players, but Prey is still a major blast for shooter fans with strong stomachs.