Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 Xbox 360

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 74
  2. Negative: 16 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    Ok before I review this game, I must give a severe tongue-lashing to Euro-nonegamer! What a pathetic site with bias/stupid reviewers, I urge all readers to ignore their reviewers from now on. Why? Because great games like Deep Space, good games like Pro 09, get 7/10. Average games like Fifa 09, or terrible games like Bioshock on the PS3 get 10/10! What planet are they on!!!! Answers on Ok before I review this game, I must give a severe tongue-lashing to Euro-nonegamer! What a pathetic site with bias/stupid reviewers, I urge all readers to ignore their reviewers from now on. Why? Because great games like Deep Space, good games like Pro 09, get 7/10. Average games like Fifa 09, or terrible games like Bioshock on the PS3 get 10/10! What planet are they on!!!! Answers on some toilet tissue, so hopefully both can be flushed away! Anyway this IS a good game, but not a radically different one. For all the new bells and whistles Fifa has, it still has the same tired gameplay and same faded graphics (check eurogamer laughable comment about Fifa wonderful graphics). I've played it, and everyone agrees Pro is better graphically and gameplay wise. The fluid gameplay of yester-year is back, slick passing, tight controls, it's all here and happily flowing. Yes 'be a pro' is rubbish, yes Champs league is nothing more than a knock out comp from the start, yes the keepers have teflon glove moments but the game WORKS this year, on and offline! Which for pure football lovers is enough to throw fifa back to the store with it's receipt. So Eurogamer, GamesTM, keep your cash from EA and write your rubbish tribe, this years choice is Pro 09 for the REAL football masses. Don't say I didn't warn you! Expand
  2. JonM.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Fifa has far superior graphics, presentation and some really, really nice touches-example: the players warming up in the tunnel before kick off, and players numbers and names being announced over the tanoy-really help to build atmosphere. However. Pro Evo is still the footballers choice in terms of gameplay, the game feels more like football. Passes feel like passes and the shooting Fifa has far superior graphics, presentation and some really, really nice touches-example: the players warming up in the tunnel before kick off, and players numbers and names being announced over the tanoy-really help to build atmosphere. However. Pro Evo is still the footballers choice in terms of gameplay, the game feels more like football. Passes feel like passes and the shooting system has been tweaked to perfection. With Fifa, I feel like I could pop off, make a coffee and come back 1-0 up!! headers and volleys are too easy to pull off-you dont have to time your jumps like you do in pro evo. Scoring a goal feels so much more rewarding as well. I am not a fanboy btw. I will buy both games (fifa for its on-line play) Pro evolution is still a much better sim in terms of playability. Fifa in terms of looks and presentation. Expand
  3. UliWarwick
    Oct 20, 2008
    9
    Can all Fifa zealots please stop posting your silly reviews, posing as Pro diehards when you probably never played it in your lives. F the media, Pro is back in effect and you better believe online is working at full tilt. The gameplay is excellent, Champs league is excellent, online excellent. Be a pro is shite, so is the interface, but who cares! Leave the little boys and the AmericansCan all Fifa zealots please stop posting your silly reviews, posing as Pro diehards when you probably never played it in your lives. F the media, Pro is back in effect and you better believe online is working at full tilt. The gameplay is excellent, Champs league is excellent, online excellent. Be a pro is shite, so is the interface, but who cares! Leave the little boys and the Americans who know nothing about football to play Fifa, Pro is for real men with hair on our chest and chins!! Expand
  4. AdamWilkin
    May 21, 2009
    9
    A definite improvement over PES2008 and still better than Fifa but only just. It is let down a little by people with dodgy connections online which ruin the game but all the other modes a better than ever. The Master League is miles better than anything on the Fifa games
  5. GarethB.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    I Luv PES its so good the gameplay is amazing and the graphics are irreletive, they are good enough not 2 ruin the game. The gamelay is far supperior to fifa the players on fifa are 2 bumbly and clunky.
  6. Sticky
    Oct 17, 2008
    8
    A return to form. This is the Pro Evo of old, but unfortunately this is also it's biggest criticism. It's is almost exactly the same game. They will need to look at more innovation next year, although Become a Legend is at least a start. If you know your footie games then you'll know that nothing is quite up there with PES.
  7. George
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Pro evolution 2009, in terms of control, game play, pace, ball physics, and fun, is by far the best football game on the market. It gives you a feeling of having the ball at your feet. Pro evolution has never really been about presentation, which is fine with me.
  8. ChrisB.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    I will give a second opinion once the game is released. I have played both FIFA and PES demos and have a decision, for now. FIFA is still inferior in game play. PES did step up the graphics, it is more fun to play and still delivers more realistic game play. I wish FIFA played like PES, cause I would love to have the FIFA liscensing and attention to artistic detail EA has. Unfortunately, I will give a second opinion once the game is released. I have played both FIFA and PES demos and have a decision, for now. FIFA is still inferior in game play. PES did step up the graphics, it is more fun to play and still delivers more realistic game play. I wish FIFA played like PES, cause I would love to have the FIFA liscensing and attention to artistic detail EA has. Unfortunately, EA's title still does not live up to the hype. Expand
  9. H
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This game is true to it's name. It keeps evolving for the better every year. Great controls/ game pace. Most of these critic/user reviews are worthless. They don't get the small details in the game play, that make this game great. Fifa has gone from having awful game play, to improved game play, and they get raving reviews? Real pro evo fans know this is the best video football This game is true to it's name. It keeps evolving for the better every year. Great controls/ game pace. Most of these critic/user reviews are worthless. They don't get the small details in the game play, that make this game great. Fifa has gone from having awful game play, to improved game play, and they get raving reviews? Real pro evo fans know this is the best video football game to date. Expand
  10. JimmyD.
    Nov 26, 2008
    8
    Yeah - small dev team - less improvements every year - it's taken 3 years to get (almost - but not all) the features of PES5 to nextgen systems. But the gameplay is still king. For all its modes and features - FIFA09 still feels like slow PES on the pitch. My yardstick every year is trying out the FIFA and PES demos with my (offline) friends - and seeing what they think - seeing as I Yeah - small dev team - less improvements every year - it's taken 3 years to get (almost - but not all) the features of PES5 to nextgen systems. But the gameplay is still king. For all its modes and features - FIFA09 still feels like slow PES on the pitch. My yardstick every year is trying out the FIFA and PES demos with my (offline) friends - and seeing what they think - seeing as I usually spend half my gametime on PES playing friends when they visit. Half my friends didn't want to play the second half of a FIFA09 match. Yes - it's flawed. Yes - these reviews should give Seabass a kick in the pants. But - for me - the fluid, rewarding gameplay is still there. And Liverpool FC! Expand
  11. camilocastaño
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    Yo juego FIFA y PEs desde hace dos años y tampoco es que fifa sea superior como dicen por ahi, los arqueros tiene unas fallas tremendas es asqueroso como salen de mal en el fifa y la IA de la jugabilidad e sun asco, que le pasa a la gente que dice que FIFA es inmensamente superior? ambos tienen cosas buenas y malas pero en la jugabilidad a mi concepto PEs gana siempre
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Pro Evolution Soccer 2009 seems to be, again and lamentably, a lost opportunity. This could have been a great chance to vindicate the lost football throne, to demonstrate to the skeptics that they are cappable to make a great game, and to bring some light to a saga that is suffering, overwhelmed by new titles.
  2. 85
    For all its problems off the pitch, there’s no doubting that PES 2009 is the most fun football game on the market.
  3. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    85
    In this effort to regain the title, PES plays it safe and recovers the classic gameplay that conquered the players in the last decade. But while it can be enough to hold on the fans, the reused formula and the comeback of the same old flaws can be a growing problem for the future. [Oct 2008]