Prototype 2 Xbox 360

Prototype 2 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 175 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Behold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your wayBehold New York Zero. Prototype 2 extends the experience of becoming the ultimate shape-shifting weapon. A vicious viral outbreak has killed Sgt James Heller’s family and transformed him into a PROTOTYPE. Powered by revolutionary shapeshifting powers, you must hunt, kill and consume your way across the ravaged wasteland of New York Zero to take revenge on the man responsible: Alex Mercer. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. May 10, 2012
    100
    Prototype 2's James Heller out superheroes every other superhero that's ever appeared in a videogame. He's faster and stronger than Batman, more focused than the Hulk, has a larger arsenal than Spiderman, and is funnier than Superman. In other words: Prototype 2 is the ultimate power fantasy.
  2. May 9, 2012
    85
    Radical managed to improve the game in almost every aspect, making it a very enjoying and satifying game for every lover of Activision's franchise. Only an unrealistic enemy AI behaviour and a problematic lock system keep it from being a perfect game.
  3. May 11, 2012
    83
    It may just be the incredibly high expectations we put on game developers today but the game suffers from enough faults to keep it just outside of my top 10 list. But, with just the right amount of game play time, some challenging achievements, tons of ways to create chaos and an outstanding cast, Prototype 2 delivers an enjoyable game and has created a great opportunity to bring together various elements into a cohesive environment.
  4. May 1, 2012
    77
    Prototype 2 is undeniably an improvement in many ways over the original game. It controls smoother, has plenty of simple quality-of-life improvements, and it lacks many of the frustrating features that plagued the original. Unfortunately, it solves problems by erring on the side of simplicity.
  5. May 26, 2012
    70
    Overall, Prototype 2 is an enjoyable title that is plagued with a number of problems. The repetitiveness and the easiness of the title are big factors in preventing it from being a truly great game. Nevertheless, this is a must purchase for fans of the original.
  6. Apr 27, 2012
    70
    Players will have trouble considering Prototype 2 as a full-fledged sequel. The lack of surprises regarding the gameplay compared to the previous title, and a story that is not worth telling despite some amazing live action cutscenes, could curb the enthusiasm of the few players looking for new game mecanics. However, Radical Enterainment managed to create a gaming experience as intuitive as the one offered in 2009 in the first Prototype. So, James Heller will surely help some players reach true power with their controller and it would be crazy not to try!
  7. May 17, 2012
    50
    Although it's accurate to say that Prototype 2 is "an improvement" over the original, that's not the same as saying that it's a great game, or that it's even on-par with the kinds of things hitting shelves these days.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Great improvements over the first one! Everything is great is hard to see the mistakes when your having so much fun playing the game! JustGreat improvements over the first one! Everything is great is hard to see the mistakes when your having so much fun playing the game! Just WOW! Radical Entertainment made a masterpiece!!! Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Such an amazing game, from start to finish I was gripping my joy-pad anticipating my next move.
    If (Like myself) you we're disappointed with
    Such an amazing game, from start to finish I was gripping my joy-pad anticipating my next move.
    If (Like myself) you we're disappointed with the first game (especially the graphics) "do not fear" you'll not be disappointed with the sequel. The world is a million times more detailed than the original.
    Anyone scoring this below 80% clearly hasn't played the same game I'm playing. It's one of the best games I've played in ages.... Enough said!
    Expand
  3. May 11, 2012
    9
    A lot of people will disagree with the score I gave this game, and I completely understand why. No this is not a very artistic game likeA lot of people will disagree with the score I gave this game, and I completely understand why. No this is not a very artistic game like Assassin's Creed or Mass Effect, and from a real critical perspective it probably deserves more of a 7. I like everyone else enjoy the artistic games very much, but sometimes I just want to unwind and run around New York with seemingly unstoppable powers, and reek havoc on those around me. Sure that might be a dark way to see it, but honestly the game play is just really fun. Don't anticipate a video game blockbuster with this game, but if you go into it just wanting to have fun and can ignore okay graphics, mediocre story, and alright voice acting then this game is for you. The upgrade system is vastly improved, as is the combat and the powers (the tendrils kick ass). Basically, don't try it if you are looking for an incredible game, but if you're like me and can enjoy a game simply for its game play then you'll have a blast. Expand
  4. May 2, 2012
    8
    I wasn't too impressed with the story or variety in the game, but I couldn't deny that the game play was awesome. If you're looking forI wasn't too impressed with the story or variety in the game, but I couldn't deny that the game play was awesome. If you're looking for gratuitous slaughter and superhuman feats of destruction, this is your game. Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    8
    A openworld for adults to just **** around. Even tho there isn't this much to do, it is still a lot of fun to just run a wall up and smashA openworld for adults to just **** around. Even tho there isn't this much to do, it is still a lot of fun to just run a wall up and smash into the ground. Story is dull, but who cares another innocent civilian to kill yeah.
    As you may have guesed it. Game is a **** ton of fun.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2012
    7
    One of the best sandbox games I've played in a while... here's the "but" though: it's not better than the previous installment per se.One of the best sandbox games I've played in a while... here's the "but" though: it's not better than the previous installment per se. Different, but not better.

    The weapons, in this game's case the weapons are any given growth you arms turn into, are more balanced, but there's less of them. Additionally, leveling has been streamlined, a fact everyone and their mother seems to enjoy for whatever reason, making the choices easier but a lot more restricted.

    As par with any sandbox game there's plenty of collectibles and side events to discover, but you only know that you're near them when you get with 160 odd feet or yards or whatever and you have to find it from there using a hot-or-cold-esque meter. Since this game takes place in NY City-ish Land it's pretty much required that you use a guide to find any of them, let alone all of them. Doing enough of these in any given area will unlock a bonus, but as they are extremely difficult to find, the bonuses are small, don't affect gameplay much, and aren't required to beat the game. Thus we have one of the few instances in a sandbox game where I haven't felt compelled in the least to find all the collectibles and side bits.

    One small thing of note that I really enjoyed was the side mission radar you have. Here's how it works: sometimes you'll find specially marked people to devour and the game will then direct you to a specific console on the side of an enemy (called Blackwatch) van that you need to access and then you'll do a little side mission. Most of the time however, you'll access the van first as they are one of the few things always marked on your map. In this case, you have to find the guy you need on your own with the help of this radar thing. It works by clicking the thumb stick which sends out a radar like ping from your location across the game world and your target will send one back once it hits them, giving you a general direction to go in as well as an idea as to how far away they are. It's a really innovative way to tell the player where to look for stuff without actually telling the player where it is and I only wish the game used this feature as the means to find everything not directly related to the story.

    Ah, the story... Prototype 1's story wasn't the best, easily the weakest part of the game, but Prototype 2's story is as generic as they come. I don't want to spoil anything, but by the time I was watching the cutscene before the final boss fight (one guess as to who it is) I had long since found the story to be bordering on the cartoonish, the villain no doubt wishing he had a mustache to twirl as he monologues about his evil plans for world domination. And after you beat him the game just ends with very little resolved.

    Why then the positive rating? If you can't see the fun to be had from playing as an extremely agile Clayface who heals himself by absorbing hapless pedestrians through osmosis, then you are the definition of odd.
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2012
    0
    o jogo é muito ruim e muito repetitivo se quer um jogo de verdade de super heori jogue infamous

    this game is the most repetitive
    o jogo é muito ruim e muito repetitivo se quer um jogo de verdade de super heori jogue infamous

    this game is the most repetitive game I have ever played, please, when playing it, have that in mind. You'll be hunting and consuming or retrieving packages with limited time for the entire game
    Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.