Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    As a straight-port with added multiplayer, developers Denki have done a decent job with Quarrel. Moving forward, there's plenty to build on in order to establish this as a successful series. When it comes down to business, Quarrel does its best to puff out its chest, but loses breath quicker than expected upon first playing. There's no doubt this is a charismatic, challenging and fun way to spend your time, if you don't mind some irritating tendencies along the way.
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    60
    An interesting game that blends intelligently two types of well known games: one of territory conquest like Risk, and one in which we have to form words. It may result very addictive for some players, but those who are not native English speakers will find too much of a barrier.
  3. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    Despite this, much of the game is a joy to play, providing more than its share of simple, disposable fun. Moreover, Cabela's Survival: Shadows of Katmai nails the spirit of its protagonist and the atmosphere of the adventure. Although its scenario is silly and many of its incidents are ridiculous, the game succeeds because it never takes itself very seriously.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Quarrel is a game very fun and different. Unfortunately, in Italy his success is linked to more than a good knowledge of english: essential to appreciate the game.
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    65
    At its core, this is a really good game with a winning gameplay mechanic, but its flaws often grind the fun to a screeching halt.
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    70
    Word games are only as good as their dictionary is reliable, and while Quarrel has one of the best around, it's occasionally hamstrung by Microsoft's Victorian sensibilities.
  7. Jan 25, 2012
    70
    Its strategy is just complex enough to demand some skill, and breaking down words is right up every word nerd's alley. Quarrel is flawed, but selective players who know what they want will find themselves enraptured by a siren song written in eight-letter words.
  8. Feb 14, 2012
    72
    An interesting puzzle, half way between Scrabble and Risiko.
  9. Feb 9, 2012
    60
    Quarrel is an interesting mix between Risk and Scrabble where you must conquer the enemy territory using anagrams. It's a nice game that can keep you playing for a long time, if you tolerate its frustrating AI that sometimes gives the sensation of cheating.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I have Quarrel Deluxe on my iPad, and the one thing I felt was missing was multiplayer--well I have it in full force on myLOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I have Quarrel Deluxe on my iPad, and the one thing I felt was missing was multiplayer--well I have it in full force on my Xbox and it really completes the game play experience. Full Review »
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    A very nice XBLA game, a mixture between Scramble and Risk: you take turns, with the AI or your Friends (local and online multiplayer), in aA very nice XBLA game, a mixture between Scramble and Risk: you take turns, with the AI or your Friends (local and online multiplayer), in a determined scenario, where each one of you has territories, and the amount of "soldiers" in the disputed territory, determines how many letters you can use to form a word, the winner is the one who spells the highest points, and with this beat the enemies soldiers. Well, to resume: it's Risk with words in the place of numbers... very fun indeed! My score: 9,0 / 10, 0 . Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    I love this game on the iPad. Thank you, Ignition, for bringing it to the 360 and adding multiplayer! Canâ