User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 183

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    4
    after playing rayman legends and beating the game I decided to explore the rayman world a little more and picked up rayman origins. I really love legends because it is so smooth to play. there was no lag between controller and screenand extremely challenging in some areas. although origins is also challenging the control scheme does not match what happens on screen and a lot of times youafter playing rayman legends and beating the game I decided to explore the rayman world a little more and picked up rayman origins. I really love legends because it is so smooth to play. there was no lag between controller and screenand extremely challenging in some areas. although origins is also challenging the control scheme does not match what happens on screen and a lot of times you feel like you failed at no fault of your own. you have to unlock abilities in early levels instead of having them like you should in the beginning and that felt poor and pointless to have levels without all your skills available. keep this out of your childs hands also as it will be far to challenging for them. Collapse
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    I loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy thisI loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy this terrible game. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    Truly an overrated game. Sure, it's one of the best looking games out there, and has an amazing soundtrack too, but the floaty controls, occasional camera glitches and insane difficulty ramp up near the end pretty much makes this game incredibly frustrating and at the price of a full retail game, it's just not worth it.
  4. Apr 15, 2014
    0
    after playing rayman legends and beating the game I decided to explore the rayman world a little more and picked up rayman origins. I really love legends because it is so smooth to play. there was no lag between controller and screenand extremely challenging in some areas. although origins is also challenging the control scheme does not match what happens on screen and a lot of times youafter playing rayman legends and beating the game I decided to explore the rayman world a little more and picked up rayman origins. I really love legends because it is so smooth to play. there was no lag between controller and screenand extremely challenging in some areas. although origins is also challenging the control scheme does not match what happens on screen and a lot of times you feel like you failed at no fault of your own. you have to unlock abilities in early levels instead of having them like you should in the beginning and that felt poor and pointless to have levels without all your skills available. keep this out of your childs hands also as it will be far to challenging for them. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 90
    Rayman Origins is a breath of fresh, colourful air to the industry that sadly I think will go largely ignored by the masses. Ubisoft and Michel Ancel have managed to craft something that has clearly had a lot of love and effort gone into it, both presentation wise and gameplay wise.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    89
    A triumphant comeback for the series, Rayman Origins sees the influence of creator Michel Ancel at work once more, and a strong showing for Ubisoft's hand-drawn UbiART Framework, giving the game a unique and stunning style that's entirely its own thing. Rayman Origins is addictive, entertaining and quite possibly the best 2D platformer money can buy on Xbox 360.
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    93
    Overall, Rayman Origins goes where very few games have been able to go before and has shown that it is possible to revive a classic and to make it even better. It's excellently developed and is great fun to play from start to finish. Minus a few little problems, Rayman Origins is one of the most underrated games of 2011, which is certainly worth playing through.