Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman's new adventure is a two-dimensional cooperative platformer with a colorful, whimsical art style.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    100
    The best-darned platformer you'll play all year.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    96
    I had a blast playing Rayman Origins, and it certainly stands out as a game that developers should take notes from if they're aiming to rejuvenate 2D gaming.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    92
    Best platformer I've played, experienced and ogled at in a long while.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    If you like 2D platforming games you can't miss this game. Visually gorgeous and with impeccable gameplay, this is a love letter to platforming games and also a great multiplayer experience for up to four players. Rayman has returned with great strength with a very inspiring title.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    At a time when games seem to offer a whole lot of everything, Rayman Origins stays focused on pure platforming pleasure, and it delivers. Yes, it can be too tough for some, but we're betting even the more casual players will soon find themselves hopelessly addicted to the finely tuned challenges on offer here.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    85
    With platformers enjoying a big resurgence in the last few years, it makes sense that Rayman: Origins has an anachronistic feel. Challenging levels, mosquito breaks, amusing multiplayer, and a hard-as-nails reward for perfectionists assures its place in the platformer pantheon. It just lacks a little of the sparkle that could've helped battle the fatigue of coaxing out every last lum.
  7. 50
    Outstanding platformer with eye-catching visuals brings a couple of great new ideas and always-funny cooperative play. [Christmas 2011]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Very few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids tookVery few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids took over and Rayman was no more. Then the original creator spoke: A New Rayman is coming! It caused quite as stir, and many and most (including me) tought it was going to be another failed re-hash. But boy were we wrong. Ubisoft had a golden oppurtunity to bring rayman back into the digital world, and they used that oppurtunity to make the best platformer EVER! Yes it's 2D but if crysis was 2D Rayman whould have better graphics. Everything is hand-drawn and animated as smooth as possible. The enviroment, character animations and basically everything is breathtaking. The only problem is to fully enjoy every aspect of Rayman Origins you need to play at 1080p. At this resolution you can take everything in and you will feel as if your in a new world. The gameplay is smooth and challenging. This game makes Mario look like Dora the explorer. The 4 player co-op is as fun as it could be. The gameplay is perfect. Now $60 for a 2D platformer is expensive, but this isn't your average platformer. THIS IS RAYMAN! If your a fan of Rayman or just enjoy a brilliant platformer you should stop reading this now and go buy it. If all the Rayman games coming is like this, I say well done Ubisoft. Well done. You have succesfully brought Rayman back into the gaming world. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    the art style is beautiful and the simplistic gameplay is great. It's nice to see Rayman back. I hope they get a go at a sequel to this onethe art style is beautiful and the simplistic gameplay is great. It's nice to see Rayman back. I hope they get a go at a sequel to this one because i don't think I could ever get tired of this game. Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    Best platformer of this generation. It's flawless. Beautiful art style. Wonderful gameplay. Diverse level design. Awesome bosses. No storyBest platformer of this generation. It's flawless. Beautiful art style. Wonderful gameplay. Diverse level design. Awesome bosses. No story but who cares when you're having this much fun? I can't remember the last time I had this much fun with a game, there was barely any frustration and even if there was I had a smile on my face because of the animations and the charm! Co-op is a blessing! Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Beautiful hand drawn graphics, classic 2-d side scroller game-play with modern twists! This is what happens when France makes Mario, aBeautiful hand drawn graphics, classic 2-d side scroller game-play with modern twists! This is what happens when France makes Mario, a hilarious, adorable, and addicting game. The SFX are unique and well done and is adding to my experience. I've been recommending this game to kids and adults alike, the 4 player co-op adds to the easy play-ability. And the replayability is high because of the challenges on each level. I've been playing it more than Skyrim as of late! Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. GenuinelyI remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. Genuinely difficult to me at a young age. Rayman then fell out of my life and I never felt the urge to return with all the 'Ravin Rabbits' banter. Suddenly, I see this game appear in the demo section of xbox live and feel its worth a go. Fell in love. Bought the game and never looked back. Beautiful graphics, a 'Loco Roco' style soundtrack and fun, smooth gameplay made this game absolutely fantastic for me. Though there is a few levels I found boring and lacking fun elements, the game delivered 95% of an enjoying game. I was truly happy to see this game had co-op, local co-op that is. Something I felt games of the modern age lack. Not all my friends have xboxs, and having them here to play together is a regular occurance and this game is perfect for such situations. I've recommended this game to absolutely every gamer I know and gets a solid 9/10 from me. Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's downright gorgeous and a total blast to play alone or with friends. A truly realized vision at the top of its genre, Rayman Origins is an extravaganza with plenty of action to keep it fresh from start to finish and beyond. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    I loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a totalI loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy this terrible game. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews