User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2047 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2010
    6
    Detailed story with Plenty of characters the majority being very real and with the strong western theme carried out perfectly, stacked along side strong, varied game-play this is a very enthralling game. However as the cowboy novelty wears off, and you get used to the quite repetitive game-play and plot you might find you never pick this game up off the shelf after the first few weeks
  2. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Alas I found this a clumsy and confusing game. When you're lost and don't know what to do it becomes dull. I'm sure there's a great game in here, but if it doesn't hook you, it'll be a disappointing experience.
  3. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    Another "fun for 8 hours" sandbox game from Rockstar. The story is quite nice, however, combat can be quite boring, especially if you use a lot of "Red Dead Eye" and the in game auto-aim. Oh, and multi-player is complete and utter rubbish.
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has a very strong storyline and gameplay. The games has plenty to do but after a while it gets quite boring. Amazing graphics but poor multiplayer Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of aThis game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of a lot more than GTA because I actually felt like the good guy. I just wish the controls were better. 10/10 Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    6
    Definitely has its moments. Its a grand theft auto game set in the old west without the opportunity to run a muck and cause some serious trouble. The gun shootouts were great, the ending was one of the best I've ever seen, but thats only half the game. Im not interested in wrangling cattle or riding my horse for 15 minutes in order to get to an interesting part of the game, I just want toDefinitely has its moments. Its a grand theft auto game set in the old west without the opportunity to run a muck and cause some serious trouble. The gun shootouts were great, the ending was one of the best I've ever seen, but thats only half the game. Im not interested in wrangling cattle or riding my horse for 15 minutes in order to get to an interesting part of the game, I just want to get to the good stuff. The game was way to easy also, being able to auto lock on anyone and take them out with a shot or two. The "boss battles" were good but to short and easy as well. Id definitely play certain levels again but i would never want to go through the entire game start to finish ever again. Expand
  8. Jan 7, 2011
    5
    Let's start with the good. It's one of the visually most appealing games ever. The game world is huge incredibly rich and dynamic. It's a pure joy to walk/ride around the country and look at its fine details. The sound effects are also superb. Unfortunately, Red Dead Redemption as a game is only mediocre. The first couple of hours are fun but then it becomes quite boring. You ride and rideLet's start with the good. It's one of the visually most appealing games ever. The game world is huge incredibly rich and dynamic. It's a pure joy to walk/ride around the country and look at its fine details. The sound effects are also superb. Unfortunately, Red Dead Redemption as a game is only mediocre. The first couple of hours are fun but then it becomes quite boring. You ride and ride and ride, sometimes shoot then ride again for half an hour and nothing happens. Missions get repetitive and finally you find yourself aimlessly roaming about in the beautiful wilderness.

    I hope its future sequel will be tighter and more challenging.
    Expand
  9. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never feltI never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never felt like I had a family that I was trying to save. Not much replay value for me though. Expand
  10. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is not just a game, it's an experience that every gamer needs to go through. It matters not whether you are a huge fan of third person shooters; if you are a fan of a quality product, Uncharted 2 will not disappoint. While not perfect, it's as close to perfection as a game can come.
  11. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if byThis is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if by far the best. It owes a lot I must say to an old game called Gun which I played after Red Dead and I highly recommend it but it is still a very special and unique gaming experience. I am just one voice in the Red Dead army but as a burgeoning gamer this game got me hooked on gaming for life. Expand
  12. Jan 29, 2013
    5
    Typical Rockstar Sandbox game. Some person tells you to go do something halfway across the world. You get there only to be told you need to go to the other side of the world. Riding horses is fun for the first 30 minutes of a pretty long game. It feels like multiplayer was an afterthought in this game. So, definitely don't get it for that. If you like playing the exact same RockstarTypical Rockstar Sandbox game. Some person tells you to go do something halfway across the world. You get there only to be told you need to go to the other side of the world. Riding horses is fun for the first 30 minutes of a pretty long game. It feels like multiplayer was an afterthought in this game. So, definitely don't get it for that. If you like playing the exact same Rockstar game over and over with a different protagonist than this is a good game. Very few racy moments. Story is okay. Overall:
    Pros:
    Good controls
    Story Beautiful graphics

    Cons:
    Very repetitive
    Not inventive
    Side-quests are pointless
    Rewards are so few and far between and not worth the hassle.
    Expand
  13. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    First thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say IFirst thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say I enjoyed the random side quests and hunting more then the central story missions. Expand
  14. Jan 7, 2013
    3
    I was so excited for this game after having read the universal praise it received as well as being in the process of watching the western Deadwood on HBO, which is amazing. Unfortunately, this game is an epic bore. It is (mostly) well done technically, just totally uninteresting in its story and gameplay and offers no continuous fun or genuine excitement. I really was hoping for a videoI was so excited for this game after having read the universal praise it received as well as being in the process of watching the western Deadwood on HBO, which is amazing. Unfortunately, this game is an epic bore. It is (mostly) well done technically, just totally uninteresting in its story and gameplay and offers no continuous fun or genuine excitement. I really was hoping for a video game version of Deadwood - lawlessness vs the establishment, debauchery, violence, drunkenness, whoring, double crossing, etc - but this ended up being what I imagine the PBS version of the Wild West must be like: very tame and dull. I got about 4-5 hours into the campaign before I decided it was just never going to get any better and sold it. In the 5 hours I played it I picked flowers, herded cattle, lassoed horses, and had some shootouts that were less interesting and challenging than Whack-A-Mole. The protagonist is wooden and dull (although he is supposed to be some bad-ass ex-gang mofo). The story did have some thematic promise but was ultimately just very unengaging, and the characters that aren't dead weight are overwrought caricatures that just added a silly cartoon-like quality to an otherwise serious endeavor. The actual in-game graphics are beautiful and the terrain is incredibly well done. However, the cutscenes are pretty terrible with awful renderings of the faces (but honestly, that's the case for most games) and go on way too long. After 5 hours the story and gameplay never developed to the point to get me genuinely engaged about any of the characters or their circumstances, and the actual playing of the game was too slow and dull to bother continuing. I am genuinely confused why this received nearly universal acclaim - although beautiful, it is incredibly tedious and one-dimensional. Expand
  15. Aug 27, 2013
    4
    Can't do half the things you can do in a GTA game. Die when entering waist deep water. Retarded fast traveling system. Pointless awards from challenges. Riding a horse isn't nearly as fun as riding a car. Accidentally target someone and you get into a lot of trouble. Controls suck as if you're used to keyboard mouse. Can't tell friends from enemies in a gun fight.
  16. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    An epic western that follows the actions of a husband and father that will do anything for his family from hunting down those he used to consider friends to leading a revolution in mexico John Marston is the living definition of Redemption.

    10 out of 10
  17. ChristianC.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to unlock and find, treasure maps, bounties etc etc etc. And what's more, all these these activities are really a lot of fun. Unlike GTA IV where they where kind of ok, but still more a gimmick then real fun. In RDR the side activities are tuly amazing and some of the activities could perhaps justify a new game by itself. Then there's the ecosystem wherin many different animals live and interact naturaly. It's amazing just to watch a bird of prey snatch a rabbit just when you wanted to shoot it. And the Dead Eye aming system makes the shooting a lot of fun, more so then in GTA IV. Trust me. Drop what you are doing. Buy this game of you haven;t done so already. Now. Expand
  18. AndP.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's worth buying right now! There are wo things that are wrong with this game, basically:::you cannot swim at all, and there are random graphical bugs. The lack of swimming leads to anninstant death and can be frustrating. Yet, you'll get over it quickly. The bugs don't really take away from anything. They are just funny if you run across them, that's all. For your own sake, go and play this game. You'll be playing it for months and months to come! Expand
  19. PaRaDoXD.
    May 19, 2010
    8
    There is much sence in Jesse J words. Game has solid story polished gameplay, but its brings nothing new. Really pity that for most game journalist GTA4 - is colosus and best of the best games 4 ever. Seems thats same mechanic and gameplay doesn't confuse game reviewers even if its not changing for years. Respect 2 Eourogamer thats gives fair score to last "mega hits" thats brings There is much sence in Jesse J words. Game has solid story polished gameplay, but its brings nothing new. Really pity that for most game journalist GTA4 - is colosus and best of the best games 4 ever. Seems thats same mechanic and gameplay doesn't confuse game reviewers even if its not changing for years. Respect 2 Eourogamer thats gives fair score to last "mega hits" thats brings nothing new 2 gameplay and in game industry also (I mean Alan Wake and RDR). Its really rare to find honest reviews with fair score from experienced gamers, not from journalists thats like to go to conferences, whatch there booty girls go to afterpartys, and thats never would wright not popular opinion about higly PR'd game or from eminent game designer. For all who read reviews and looking on score to make desicion to buy or not to - the answer with RDR - its must buy and play. But its the same candy in different cover selling over and over again. Ps. Why thats stupid comparison with GTA? This game more looks like a Gun. Expand
  20. MarkW
    May 19, 2010
    8
    I somewhat agree with Jesse. The game is fun in my opinion. It's a change of scenery from the GTA's. I do believe it was just re-skinned to look like a western. I also believe that it is getting higher than usual scores because it's a western-themed game. I also think there are way too many perfect scores for this game, someone's getting their palms greased to make it I somewhat agree with Jesse. The game is fun in my opinion. It's a change of scenery from the GTA's. I do believe it was just re-skinned to look like a western. I also believe that it is getting higher than usual scores because it's a western-themed game. I also think there are way too many perfect scores for this game, someone's getting their palms greased to make it saound good. I think it's happening more often than the past. I played GTA IV for like a week, hopefully Red Dead will leave a better impression. So far it has? Expand
  21. SteveS
    May 20, 2010
    10
    First off I would like to say that "Jesie J" is in fact a complete and utter asshole! This is not GTA in the old west. This is an "old west style game" that's made by the same company that made "GTA" I have no idea why Jesie J. does not like this game but it is obviuos he doesn't. Maybe "Hello Kitty" would be more to your liking! Don't listen to Jesie J. this game is awesome!!!
  22. KayayE.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that makes you feel like you've lived through that time period. On top of a great single player experience, Rockstar's 2nd real crack at an open world multiplayer experience (the first being GTA IV) sets the bar even higher for what multiplayer games should be. I'm drawn to games that really demonstrate the skill and artistry of the people who put it all together. I appreciate the "Art" of game making. Red Dead Redemption is a Masterpiece! Expand
  23. VirtualS.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This game is more than a GTA IV game with a western skin. It is a tour de force by giving tribute to the great spaghetti westerns with sold storyline, improved game play structure, and a refreshing setting that only few game developers have dared attempted to try, but only this game has delivered on.
  24. mrptri
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving someone from being hanged or a woman from being raped? Did gta have the option to hunt and skin an absurd variaty of animals directly in the game world? I haven't even scratched the surface here. This game is amazing from presentation to voice acting to variation in both missions and ambient gameplay. Truely an amazing achievement. Expand
  25. JoeM
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain lions. All of this put together using Rockstar's RAGE system which may feel like GTA, but I think this game refines any and all aspects from the former. If the same system worked before, why change it? A multimillion dollar game engine finally put to the test and comes out on top with Red Dead Redemption. This game will keep you busy for hours and is worth every buck. Expand
  26. CodyB.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. I'm just glad I am not completely finished with it. Bring on the DLC! Expand
  27. NateB
    May 21, 2010
    7
    If you're looking for a visually impressive and rich single player game this is it. If, however, you're looking for a great co-op or multiplayer game I'm afraid to say that the free play posse mode has almost no depth and is buggy beyond belief. Players get booted constantly in private matches, sometimes you can't see your friend, animals disappear, horses fly around If you're looking for a visually impressive and rich single player game this is it. If, however, you're looking for a great co-op or multiplayer game I'm afraid to say that the free play posse mode has almost no depth and is buggy beyond belief. Players get booted constantly in private matches, sometimes you can't see your friend, animals disappear, horses fly around and worst of all the world is a horrible shell of its single player richness. Gone are the mini games, most of the population and any random missions, the train is absent, there aren't interesting adversarial free play (like kidnap missions then again there isn't even the lasso for that matter) and outside of a few gang hideouts there's nothing that requires a collaborate effort. Furthermore, while there are a set of challenges you can only accomplish these individually, which takes the fun out of hunting or doing survival challenges as a team or group. I love the single player campaign, but am really let down by the untapped potentially of a fully fleshed out free play multiplayer mode. Expand
  28. Aug 9, 2010
    9
    It's a wide enough universe in this game to get everything you want out of it. The "Gun" games made me a fan of the genre, but I found that the story was too linear and restricting. A game like "Red Dead Redemption" really allows you to become immersed and to get settled in with missions that you like. The graphics are also quite impressive and really show off what the 30 can do.
  29. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Yep, it's just as good s everyone says it is. There are a couple of periods where things move a bit slowly, and the aiming assist is probably a little too helpful-- but these are very minor complaints for a great game.
  30. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  31. Sam
    Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A wide variety of places to go and situations you wouldn't find in any other game. I think a bit better than Grand Theft Auto IV. The world around the game looks stunning. A must buy.
  32. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Red Dead has everything you could want in a game it really captures the old Western days. I like it more than other Rockstar games such as GTA IV because it has a sense of being unique.
  33. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Ok, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend'sOk, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend's 4-year-old son cleared out the Fort Mercer Gang Hideout (unlocked fairly late in the game) in about 4 minutes. He was mainly just pressing L & R-Trigger repeatedly. This game is TOO EASY. Then, if you set it to "Expert Targeting" it thankfully removes the auto-aiming, but the gun aiming is WAAAY TOO SLOW even on the max setting! Yes, the gun targeting is terrible, and ruins an otherwise great game. I am on 360 version btw. However, I did really enjoy the storyline in this game. Expand
  34. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    If your a fan of western films like me you'll really love "Red Dead Redemption" because it truly captures the feel and look of those films perfectly.
  35. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play asRed Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play as John Marston, who once rode in a gang. Now, blackmailed by federal agents he must hunt down his former friends and bring them in, or great harm will come to his family. That's the basis, and like all great western films it encompasses justice, betrayal and visceral violence. You'll become absorbed in the plot, and actually feel for the characters, like you would in any great TV show or film. The voice acting is incredible, every lone wandering cowboy sound's different, each region reflects part of the west today, with different accents and morals. You'll travel throughout the desolate plains, and through the beautiful red rock expanses of land in Mexico. The landscape though, acts as another character. Everything from the heat shimmers on the horizon, to the sunset's, are incredible. You'll become engrossed in the world, and it is very, very easy to spend alot of time just wondering and admiring the terrain of which this epic tale is set in. Wandering round ranches at night, you'll see groups huddled round camp fires playing instruments, and informing others of local news. You may them talking about your character, or a certain event that you have been involved in. This adds to your ego, but more importantly the atmosphere. One word to describe the size of the playable area is; scope. It'll take you a good half an hour to cross on horseback, even longer on foot. There are random events that occur as you are travelling, a women asks for your help while she stands next to a battered stagecoach, do you help or leave? It's up to you, whatever the outcome, it will help shape your characters 'honour' and 'fame' stats, a representation of what local townsfolk think of you. You can be an outlaw or a good guy, these choices are all yours. The combat is also solid, you'll recognise things like the cover system from GTA IV, but there are legitimate weapons, and gunshot wounds, which all add to the experience and authenticity. 'Dead-eye' enables the player to slow down time and place several shots on enemies, letting go of the activation button see's Marston fire off at all the targets in rapid succession, particularly useful if you are low on health and outnumbered. There isn't much of a learning curve with the controls, and although the game may seem challenging at times, it never becomes frustrating. Riding a horse, although not as exciting as driving a car, is also fun. You become attached to your mount, and it can be difficult to leave it it dies and collapses during a fight. The music is also very atmospheric. The OST gives a western vibe, and other songs like Jose Gonzalez's 'Far Away' feel right when played. There are alot of memorable moments in this game, ones that will stay with you forever and never fail to amaze or shock time and time again. Watching a sunset whilst standing on top of a huge cliff, admiring the landscape laid out in front of you can be extremely relaxing, it looks real thanks to the wonderful art direction and graphics behind the game. I could go on and on about Red Dead Redemption but I fear that I would ruin the experience. This is simply a must play game, and will prove to anyone that games can provide interesting story lines and contain atmospheres on par with blockbuster films. As Clint Eastwood once famously said in A Fistful Of Dollars; "You will never see another one like it." Red Dead Redemption will go down in history. Expand
  36. Dec 3, 2010
    7
    It's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is soIt's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is so prevalent that it turns a potentially amazing game into merely a decent one. Regardless of all the wonderful details and choices available in Red Dead Redemption, control and pacing issues should not be excused. No game is perfect, but the way the game controls and the way a story driven game is paced, are elements so important that they should have been given top priority. Expand
  37. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another GrandOne of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
  38. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write myI've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write my review on the single player aspect of this game, since I had to return the game back to my friend, leaving me with little time to enjoy the multiplayer aspects. To start, Red Dead Redemption does not have what I would call the most original storyline, but it still works. You're John Marston, an extremely polite former outlaw whose family is being threatened by the government if he does not assist them in hunting down several of his former gang members. The story is honestly not much more deeper than that, but it does contain plenty of interesting plot twists and arcs. Some reviewers complained about this game being more akin to a movie rather than a video game, which is true to a certain extent in a good way. Certain action sequences such as duels and Dead Eye (which is essentially slow-mo) make this statement true. But the sheer amount of intense shootouts and other Western set-pieces (such as stopping another gang of outlaws from robbing a train) solidify this title as a truly triple A game. The game displays some of the best voice-acting I've ever heard in a game before, creating a realistic feel to the whole experience. The dialogue is superbly written and contains some absolutely hilarious moments. The characters in the game are expertly done, each with their own unique personalities and backgrounds. The game is entirely open-world, allowing you to literally cross the border between Mexico and Texas freely later in the game. One of the things that amazed me was the vast amount of things to do. Whether it was saving a damsel in distress from a group of highway robbers or getting caught while cheating during a game of Texas-Hold-Em, I never ran out of things to do, even after the game's completion. The missions that advance the storyline forward never stale, despite some of them essentially being the same thing. As you progress through each Act, you'll eventually build up to a climax mission for each one. These missions really allow the game to shine, forcing you through intense shootouts that really get your adrenaline pumping. Graphically, the game is impressive for the time that it was released. The character models look fantastic and the animations are all extremely fluid. Environments look good, but do tend to stale halfway through the game. There's tons of variation in the game, so you will never have to worry about getting bored. I have played a little bit of the online, and I will say that from what I experienced, I would gladly sink in many more hours to rank up. As with every game, there's always flaws, and this one's no exception. I think that the biggest flaw for me was the controls. Speaking for myself, the controls never felt comfortable. I never enjoyed mashing the A button over and over to sprint, nor did I find the game's cover system very well-implemented. I have died multiple times throughout the game due to the poor cover system. Several times, I would slide into cover and try and maneuver my way around where I was more protected from enemy fire. Instead of maneuvering to the side, my character would simply stand back up and be brutally mowed down instantly by the deadly accurate sharpshooting AI. Riding horses is smooth enough, but carriages and carts need to be worked on. I also had a minor problem with capturing bounties in the North. I would capture a bounty and wave after wave of his friends would come, which is fine by me. But then a random wild grizzly bear would maul my horse to death, while the captured bounty falls onto the ground. As I'm desperately trying to find the nearest mount so that I don't have to hoof it halfway across the map, the continuous onslaught of enemies never ceases. I'll kill one outlaw, attempt to put the captured bounty on top of his now vacant horse, which seems to run away immediately after I kill the rider, and then find myself face-to-face with another grizzly bear, forcing me to once again place the bounty back onto the ground while I exterminate the bear. Keep in mind that the animations for placing the captured bounty anywhere take about 2 seconds each, so it really grinds my nerves when it shows my character slowly place him on the ground when in reality I need to quickly throw him away to react fast enough. Of course, I've never made it out of one of these situations in time and always end up dying, forcing me to restart the entire mission. Despite all of these complaints, which are minor to be honest, the game is still a truly elite title. Rockstar has made the Western genre relevant again and here's hoping for a sequel. Expand
  39. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    My review of Red Dead Redemption is basically this i think this is probably the greatest game of all time second only to Halo and Grand theft auto 4. I really liked the story to this game,the action is incredible,and the multiplayer is topnotch.The horseriding in Red dead is better than any Old west game that came before. A definite must buy
  40. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Great game. Beautifully crafted. One negative would be some of the content. i know that is an "adult" game etc etc... I just think they add some aspects just for the shock factor rather than it's actual benefit to the game.
  41. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand some people, "crappy story"!? What makes this game an ABSOLUTE winner is it's characters and Rockstars attention to detail. Reading Cormac McCarthy's novels alongside playing RDR is an absolute joy, my imagination is running amuck with mexican horse thieves and lonely harmonicas.
  42. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep youThis an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep you on your toes, and as I said before the story is fantastic. It's pretty close to a perfect game. Expand
  43. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Great voice acting, engaging story, beautiful cinematics and very well paced. I thoroughly enjoyed this game, despite the aiming system being a little too easy. This is Rockstar grown up.
  44. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    A massive sandbox game full of beauty and splendour, Red Dead: Redemption proves that RockStar can make a grand and fantastic western game. What I didn't like were the many glitches and a very offensive rape joke that made me lose interest in the main character. Super Mario Galaxy 2 or Bayonetta should be GOTY instead.
  45. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    pros - Awesome story, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, western setting, multiplayer has a boat load of variety, you can work together to hunt animals, or just go all out killing each other.
    cons - shorter single player then previous rockstar games. This game is worth the $60 price tag.
  46. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    wow i can't believe how awesome that was, don't miss out on this game. i see 50 or so people didn't like this game and i feel bad for you few that have no taste in games.
  47. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missionsGrand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missions are varied, the voice acting top notch, the world is believable, and it never overstays its welcome. If it weren't for Mass Effect 2, this would be my Game of the Year 2010. And with Undead Nightmare, it's even better. Expand
  48. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    A fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtualA fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtual cougar). And you will experience the story whether you like it or not. For a sand box game, this is no choose your own adventure. The only recourse you have is to stop playing the game when you are satisfied with the ending, because like any good piece of art, the actual ending will leave you with mixed feelings. The ending here surpasses the Lone Wolf level of "Halo: Reach" as the most iconic ending of all time. 2010 was a banner year for video game endings in that respect.

    Speaking of respect, this game has it. Each character looks lovingly made and easily distinguished. Funny how video game characters now look more real than the made-up actors and actresses we see on TV and in movies. The whole world here seems handcrafted. Sparse but not lifeless. Earth toned but not dull. This is what the actual earth looks like, after-all. "Red Dead Redemption" sets a new standard for games. Sure it has funny glitches and I never did figure out how the gunfight mechanic was supposed to work. No game of this scope has been or ever will be perfect. By going somewhere few games have ever gone, into the realm of dare I say it, art, "Red Dead Redemption" has achieved the status of legend.
    Expand
  49. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with a superb sandbox experience it make a true masterpiece of gaming delight. Have purchased all the DLC and still loving it. Now I just want to get every last achievement, but ill still be playing it after that.
  50. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redepmtion is an incredible game, for me it beats GTA. This game definetly deserves its pace as one of the greatest games of all time. The graphics, characters and story all add up to this rockstar masterpiece. It's a must have if you don't already have this you should purchase it right away. Quality Game!
  51. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your type of game, it's qualities cannot be ignored.
    Expand
  52. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shootThis game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  53. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was good, Not as great as everyone made it out to be but it was well worth playing. Had a fair share of annoying bugs and glitches and a campaign filled with repetitive objectives though. Other then that it was fine.
  54. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    nearly perfect graphics, gameplay is very reliable and and you spend most of the time having a lot of fun just by riding around with your horse, the plot is good, but gets very tense at some parts, and I often felt sad about the end of a side mission
  55. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  56. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I'm an archetypal GTA fan so the experience was spoiled for me only by the unnecessary shaking up of the GTA 4 auto-aim. It makes the shoot outs slow and much less fluid than GTA 4, and feels almost glitchy. Everything else matches Rockstar standards (and general habits).
  57. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask. Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask.
    Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game feel more real as you will find out if you've played the game. The missions are varied and are superb fun. I have completed the game three times now and still enjoy getting back on my horse and ride across the beautiful landscape. There has been plenty of times when I've been riding my horse when I have just stopped to look at the beautiful scenery. The games graphics are slightly improved upon from Grand Theft Auto and the facial details are brilliant, you really get a sense of how the character is feeling. This is another high point as you become attached to certain characters throughout the game and grow to care about how the story pans out. Take on grizzly bears, climb mountains, become a train robber. There are cool side missions that you can complete as well. There is 30-40 hours of game play here for you to spend your time with and it is well and truly time well spent. Epic gaming, Masterpiece of a story. Buy now for some awesome gaming!
    Expand
  58. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Red Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, andRed Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, and strangers would probably take about 20 hours. I found myself doing the side missions first, and then doing some of the story, and then more side missions. Rockstar Games really showed improvement from Grand Theft Auto IV in terms of keeping interest of players, better story and graphics, and filling an open world with various things to do. You could even start up a game of Texas Hold 'Em or Five Finger Fillet. I really enjoyed Dead-Eye and it is really what polishes the game. Red Dead Redemption really shows the open world genre what it is all about and really immerses you in the Western culture of 1911, even if you are not into cowboys and the wild west (which I sure was not). I could not bring myself to rate it a 10 out of 10 for the following reasons. I am not going to spoil it, but the ending to the story was very disappointing, not because it was underwhelming or anticlimactic, but because it ended abruptly and was unnecessary. Furthermore, the save system and computer AI are both awkward. Many times my horse would commit suicide and would require me to get a new one. I found it kind of odd that my horse has no problem jumping off a 300 foot cliff, but there is an invisible wall every time I tell it to go down a 5 foot incline. The glitches are very numerous and you will undoubtedly run into some; such as, sinking underneath the solid ground and going under the map with long motion blurs, dueling someone as they are facing the wrong way, your horse randomly dying for absolutely no reason, objects rendering right in front of your eyes; that kind of stuff. I really hate that the majority of the missions told you to go really far away to actually start doing stuff. All that accomplished was tiring me and wasting my time. One last negative thing, the online multiplayer, in my opinion, is worse than Grand Theft Auto IV's. It works on a experience point system where you work your way up the ranks, but it is irritating because everyone else is already there and you will just get wasted away. You have no chance if you are new so get ready to do a lot of boring missions just for XP. In Grand Theft Auto IV, everyone had a chance; not so much here. Overall, great open world game that really should be picked up for its amazing single player mode and addicting, non-stop, can-not-put-it-down-until-it-is-one-hundred-percent-completed gameplay, with few problems and annoyances. Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun.Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun. Well done, Rockstar! Expand
  60. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption is the newest game from rockstar, it follows on from its cousin Red Dead Revolver which was released in May 2004.
    Red Dead in general has "Grown up" since then, and has a complete make over with graphics, sounds, and the sand box effect gameplay. The sand box effect gives you an amazing feel for reality and continuous adventure, you will be able to tame and break your own wild horses, drink, steal money, objects, ammo, and carts etc. you will also meet alot of new friends that may be able to help you finish your quest.
    After being left for dead by your band of brothers you seek revenge and the return of your family from the grips of the government, to do this you must find and kill all of your brothers and take down Bill Williamson, and Dutch to get your family back
    You begin your journey in The Old West, from there you meet people, make friends, and make enemys, after a certain time and certain missions you "Unlock" the bridge to Mexico (This is a typical thing for rockstar to do since they've been doing it since GTA III). As you go through Mexico you help friends escape the country and help feed the revolotion to make a better Mexico for all. After been sent to Mexico and picked up by the Amercian Government, you travel to Blackwater where you will settle this once and for all, after doing just a few missions for people you are led into Tall Trees and into a camp, this is where you will find Dutch and Kill him.
    Above all i think Red Dead Redemption is a beautiful game, very clear and extremely addictive, being able to hunt and kill animals for money is a bonus. To conclude i think Red Dead Redemption and Rockstar deserves an award, this is truely a masterpierce of gaming technology, anyway one who loves Western games or Loved the old Red Dead Revolver will love this one, It has plenty of things to do with Side missions, including Wanted Posters, Deliveries, Horse Breaking, and General Random tasks set by AI Strangers.
    This Game Is Perfect.
    Expand
  61. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Seriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know whenSeriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know when a game is good when A, you dream about it or B you think about it all day long at work or school. I Give this Game the OFFICIAL LUCAS GAME OF THE YEAR AWARD....which is totally Legit since Ive been gaming since I was 5(im 24 now) and every single game Ive ever liked a lot ended up being a high rated game... Expand
  62. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Another great game from Rockstar. Red Dead Redemption is the first Western game to really make it work. The Open world setting is varied and rich and filled with nice little side quests and things to search out. The game has a fairly strong AI and some good set pieces. This review is maybe a little bias as I have now played Far Cry and the Animals in Far Cry are better and there are moreAnother great game from Rockstar. Red Dead Redemption is the first Western game to really make it work. The Open world setting is varied and rich and filled with nice little side quests and things to search out. The game has a fairly strong AI and some good set pieces. This review is maybe a little bias as I have now played Far Cry and the Animals in Far Cry are better and there are more of them but this does not mark down the skill of the game.
    The Characters are well voiced and the game has a good strong plot that does move along nicely. The horse annimation was very good and it did upset me loosing a horse I had for a long time.
    The ending seemed a little rushed for me as you have a lot of missions between major plot moments early on, these seem to reduce as the game went on until it was almost only major plot driven missions towards the end. I did not venture much online with this title as with Rockstar they mainly focus on the campaign which is good.
    If you are a GTA fan and also like Clint Eastwood westerns give this a look
    Expand
  63. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a very fun and excellent game. The story line is very long and suspenseful and the mini games are always enjoyable. Though at some points you feel a little disapointed, overall this game is one you should have on your wish list.
  64. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    First off, I didn't like GTA IV, not at all. So when I picked up Red Dead Redemption, I was hesitant. This ended up being the best open world game I've ever played. The world of Red Dead was beautiful, deep, and everything good, just wow. The story was long, the side quests were never ending, and the replay value was unbelievably high.
  65. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Definitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow andDefinitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow and there's so much to see and do that it never gets boring. Get this game. Expand
  66. May 26, 2011
    9
    Truely brilliant game. If you liked GTA IV and like western movies this is a must have. Great gameplay, story telling, graphics and voice acting. So much to do, side missions, mini games and even hunting. I love the "Dead Eye" shooting mechanic. To even mention how good the ending is does not do it justice, I stood up and cheered! As close to a 10 without being a 10 that I can give.
  67. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    I was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game wouldI was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game would probably remind me a bit of home. The result? Fantastic! The game definately went beyond my expectations. It had a very good story. It was funny, dramatic at times, and of course it was action packed. The game stars John Marston, a man who once walked the path of an outlaw, but decided to walk away from that life to start a family, and go straight. But Govenment officials decide to kidnap his family, in order to blackmail John into hunting down his old gang members. John agrees to do it for the sake of his family, and so you must now travel around, looking for these outlaws. Throughout the game, you have to travel between towns and countries to complete quests for people in need, so you can earn the trust of the people who can help John find his old friends and kill them. On top of the things you must do to progress, the game has a huge amount of sidequests that will earn you honor and fame, which will help unlock more side-quests, so you can get more done, and get more found. The world in this game is big, and I mean really big. It's almost as huge as the world in Elder Scrolls IV, if not bigger. So you'll never get bored of exploring the beautiful landscapes of New Austin Texas. The combat system is pretty much flawless, it's just like many other 3rd person shooter systems, you hold a button to aim over Johns shoulder, and press another to shoot. The crosshair is pretty small, it's basically a tiny white dot, but believe it or not, it's not hard to get used to at all, cause once you learn the dead-eye targeting system, you won't care how big the crosshair is. With the dead-eye system, you can freeze time, and place you crosshair on the enemy, and set your spots where you want to shoot your enemy, then once you release the time freeze, John will automatically shoot in those exact spots. Of course this has limitations, you have a dead-eye meter, and once it runs out, no dead-eye for a while. Don't like it? Tough luck cowboy. The game has all the freedom of a GTA game, you can go around and rec havoc, or you can help the good towns people. Wanna get drunk? Go to the bar and have a few drinks why don't ya? Wanna do a little gamblin? Stop by town and play some poker, some blackjack, or heck maybe even some liars dice if ur in the mood. But how bout some bounty huntin? You can do that too sonny boy. When you see a wanted poster, take it, and get yourself a nice bounty by hunting down the bastard who broke the law. It's all a great time, and why not even go into the wild, and do some hunting? Or maybe you wanna go wrangle some horses. How bout racing? Or maybe you just wanna get into some trouble with the law like you did in GTA. It's all there, all the freedom of GTA and more. Of course the game isn't perfect. As many people will tell you, Red Dead Redemption is a very glitchy game. I was once playing the game, and when I stopped in the wild to inspect something I found, I saw as my horse took off flying like it had wings. It went so high up, that it fell to the ground and died, luckily I had a horse certificate with me so I could call another one, but that was funny. It was like my horse was abducted by aliens. lol So yeah, you will expirience glitches, and probably alot of them, but they usually won't interfere with the overall progression of the game. Bottom line, this game is great, and it's a must by if you own a 360 or PS3, especially if you're a big fan of Grand Theft Auto. If you havn't already, get this game as soon as you can. I give Red Dead Redemption a 9/10. Expand
  68. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape coveredRed Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape covered too. RDR runs on the same engine as GTA IV, but it has since been overhauled. The scenery is breathtaking, with huge expanses of desert and forest (but mostly desert). And this isn't some copy/paste job like in Just Cause 2; every area has its own unique look and feel, just like Liberty City in GTA IV. The day and night cycle is wonderful, with the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises you've ever seen in a video game. The weather effects are also brilliant. Just wait until you see those storm clouds rolling in from the distance and experience your first RDR thunderstorm. You'll get goose bumps from how realistic this game is.

    RDR has a nice, long storyline and a mission structure just like GTA. The motion capture and voice acting in the cutscenes is phenomenal. No one does it like Rockstar. This is one game where you will never want to skip the cutscenes. Espceially with the sudden and shocking ending., one of the best ever seen in a video game. The gameplay mechanics are fantastic. The shooting and aiming are much improved from GTA IV, and the Dead Eye mechanic , which allows you to slow down time, is perfectly implemented. When you're not engaging in the main plot, you have a plethora of side missions to take part in. You have the persistent challenges that you can complete at any time (Treasure Hunting, Sharpshooting, etc) and you will face many random encounters out there in the wilderness. There's also poker and a few other activities if you want to take a break from the action.

    The Euphoria physics engine is back from GTA IV and it is better than ever. These are the most realistic physics you will ever see in a video game, simply put. The horse animations are something to behold as well. Rockstar pays attention to even the tiniest details and you will be truly impressed by all the game's little nuances.

    Now the single player alone gives you far more value than you would get from almost any other game, but then you have the multiplayer on top of it. There are many different modes, but Free Roam is really all you need to roam the entire game world with your friends and do whatever you want. You also have persistant challenges in multiplayer, just like the single player, so there's always something to do. You also level up by gaining experience from various activities throughout the world. Then there's the fantastic (free) co-op DLC pack that adds a bunch of cooperative missions to the multiplayer. this is some of the most fun you'll have when you're not competing against your friends but actually working with them to complete your goals.

    Overall, RDR is one incredible package and this game is not to be missed. It is the greatest game since Grand Theft Auto IV and I can't wait to see what Rockstar has in store for us next...
    Expand
  69. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    All i remember was hog-tying people to railroads and watch them explode really ;D But to be honest, i felt the game was pretty solid if you don't mind some of the bugs along the way. I didn't like the fact that i could drown and the fact when you targeted you could hit the head every time with a little move with your finger. But generally a very enjoyable game.
  70. May 16, 2011
    10
    This is simply one of the best games i have ever played, with a amazing story, great weapons and game play, lots of interesting people to meet, great side quests and its online multi player is great. If I had one thing to say was not amazing it would be the fact that it has alot of glitches but we can forgive it for this as downlodable content is great.
  71. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual Rockstar mission structure started to bore me and getting to the end was a relief really.
    That being said,hire or buy?I don't care,just play it!
    Expand
  72. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    If you played GTA games before and liked any one of them. You will like this game. This game feels like a GTA game, BUT imagine GTA with more freedom and less Sandbox feel and GREAT story. I LIKE this game. Also, if you have to chose between PS3 or XBOX 360 for this game, get this one. XBOX 360 version looks way better.
  73. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  74. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. MultiplayerA bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. Multiplayer doesn't feel tacked on and gives players a nice change of pace. It also has a nice balance of co-operative and competitive game modes. RDR has a huge amount of excellent content and is genuinely a must-buy. Expand
  75. CPB
    Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous,This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous, and a more like able character (John Marston doesn't complain like a frenchman like Niko Bellic). The only bad thing is if you play as a bad guy it doesn't really go well with the story (since they portray you as a good guy in the story). But besides that it is perfect- 9.9 Expand
  76. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutley brilliant,vision>budget>execution.Red Dead is the way it should be,amazing visuals,soundtrack,voice acting and some good story telling coulped with fantastic gameplay and brilliant multiplayer.Gett it ,buy it,steall it ,borrow it whatever just make sure you play this bad boy.
  77. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    The only criticism I can think of is the plethora of bugs, some of which are hilarious, like the bird people, donkey woman, etc. Others however, force you to restart the game.
  78. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a very good game and John Marston is one of my favorite Video game characters of all time. This game was amazing and deserves to be the game of the year, absolutely loved it.
  79. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavilyBrilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavily recommend this to anyone thinking about it. Expand
  80. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second ofThis game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second of the campaign. Once the campaign is done, you can hop into exciting multiplayer game modes and free roam, or you can do some solo free roam - and with so many side quests and possibilities, the solo free roam itself can entertain you for hours. All in all, this game revolutionized Western games and GTA-style free roam games alike. The downsides? You can only throw so much dynamite into a bar before everyone is dead. Expand
  81. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of this game I like is the horses, the way they look and handle are perfect. I fell in love with this game the moment I started playing, the jobs you can take on are fun and playing poker and horse shoes etc. Its a very captivating experience it makes you feel like your a part of the old west, I never was a fan of and old west theme until I played this game. You can spend countless hours on this game and not cover all of the land, you can almost live inside this game.
    Expand
  82. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    I really wanted to love this game. I'm a huge fan of most all Rockstar games, but Red Dead Redemption simply lacks any real soul. Yes - it is a perfectly playable game, and has few true flaws, hence the 7 rating, but I cant help but feel it really couldn't match up to GTA IV, Just Cause 2, or most other sandbox games. It does provide a unique experience, but a few hours in, it becomes aI really wanted to love this game. I'm a huge fan of most all Rockstar games, but Red Dead Redemption simply lacks any real soul. Yes - it is a perfectly playable game, and has few true flaws, hence the 7 rating, but I cant help but feel it really couldn't match up to GTA IV, Just Cause 2, or most other sandbox games. It does provide a unique experience, but a few hours in, it becomes a repetitive slog for the most part. Great acting, great animation and graphics... but a storyline that really drags on predictably. And I'd swear the cast lines and actors were ripped from GTA IV with a western twist. The online shines above that of most sandboxers however - taking a group of friends to raid a hideout is great fun, not so much as a lone wolf, although the posse system works well in public lobbies. Overall, Red Dead is a very good game, for an hour or so, then that first hour gets repeated in various form until the end. Expand
  83. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is like the GTA games but better.Its just like GTA but western.If you like GTA games you will love this game.The graphics, the action, and the adventure are really good.
  84. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Absolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal to me, but a western sandbox game? Sign me up. The graphics are spectacular and there is not a moment of boredom. If you don't fancy doing the missions, pass the time with such fun things like putting people in hogties and drag them round the cities or goAbsolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal to me, but a western sandbox game? Sign me up. The graphics are spectacular and there is not a moment of boredom. If you don't fancy doing the missions, pass the time with such fun things like putting people in hogties and drag them round the cities or go on bounty hunter missions or play poker or just go hunting. The story connects well with the gameplay and leaves the player in awe at the magnificence of this game. The only thing that lets it down is a slight problem with the gameplay. After a few hours of playing, my head was pounding and my eyes were red raw. I began to feel sleepy, but the kind where you don't want to because the game was so awesome. This still didn't stop me playing it. Definitely worth the money. Expand
  85. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I'm a bit late for this awesome wild-west adventure. Everything is near perfect and almost have nothing to complain about. Easily falling in love with and feeling the atmosphere of the wild west is not the only things you got from the game. More to be explored
  86. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. The storyline is the best I ever saw in a game, the multiplayer is awesome. There's so much to do in this game. Also the characters and their animations are well designed and it's easy to feel with Marston. The graphics are quite good, nothing special though.
    Just buy it, you'll be happy you bought it.
  87. May 1, 2011
    9
    An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game.An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game. There are a couple of characters who are minorly irritating along the way, but there are also some great characters to balance them out. The game itself is also very long and has a number of great missions. Red Dead Redemption has fantastic entertainment value, great graphics and sound and a brilliant story meaning that this is one of the best games of 2010. Expand
  88. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the games story to take place. Despite some slightly overly long journeys between destinations the player’s interest in the games narrative is easily maintained thanks to a set of characters that are also amongst Rockstars best.

    In terms of gameplay Red Dead Redemption sticks pretty close to the now familiar template. Characters with missions that need completing can be seen on the in game map and once accessed further instructions are provided. While the primary focus is obviously on shooting there is a far greater variety in these missions than in the latest in the GTA series. The run, gun and cover system is virtually lifted straight from GTA IV including an auto-aim that can be switched off for those after a real challenge. This, along with a limited bullet time mechanic, is largely successful at allowing the player to feel like a hot shot gunslinger without making the game too easy.

    On top of the single-player campaign a generous number of co-op and competitive multi-player modes are also available. After all the pre-launch hype it is disappointing to realise that these don't really compete with the best online shooters but they certainly provide an entertaining distraction from John Marston’s story.
    With a charismatic lead character and hours of gameplay Red Dead Redemption is amongst Rockstars greatest achievements.
    Expand
  89. May 5, 2011
    9
    Um otimo jogo, traz o melhor do velho oeste e lhe faz viver o final dessa epoca...
    nenhum momento do jogo voce sai da inserçao do velho oeste.
    simplesmente MARAVILHOSO!!!
  90. May 23, 2011
    10
    Despite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play throughDespite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play through a compelling story and along the way do side missions/stories that are overall fun. The engine handles really well to the demanding graphics and the game opened my eyes to the full potential of western games (which originally I thought would be slow paced and they wouldn't be as fun unless they were FPS), not to mention the sand box aspect was a complete surprise to me, and knocked my socks off when I found the amount of interaction in the world. The only people I could find hating this game are people who didn't enjoy the multiplayer, or people who can't stand fun sand box games that AREN'T Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  91. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Well everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story mayWell everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story may be a little cliche but never the less its solid. The game's setting puts you right in a western movie, Every character is either meaningful or just amusing, Besides riding your horse in chase or running away from bad guys in the open west is much more fun that a city infested with bad AI drivers. Voice acting is solid too a lot of the dialogue and way of talk back then is implemented in the game yeah that might not be a big deal but it was for me. As for the graphics theyre solid not AMAZING but solid. The Gameplay is just about the same as GTAIV of course with a few additions, youre a western gunslinger and this is where the setting makes all the difference, the mutiplayer in my opinion could use some work but it is quite solid and fun!... Over all this game is FREAKIN AWESOME its definitely a keeper and worth paying money for it, Ive never played through a rockstar game twice until Red Dead Redemption was released Expand
  92. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest game I've ever played. It's a game of firsts.It's the first game to actually make me stop and look at the scenery, the first game that I completed 100%, the first game that I still play a year later, the first game that brought me to tears and I'm not just talking about the end. The pleasence house stranger mission made me feel so bad when I hurt an old man just to save some dollars.End comments: This game is art. Expand
  93. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar may have taken the action to 1911, but this is BY FAR one of the best open world games out there! Sure you cant drive a car but this game has the best gunplay ive ever seen.
  94. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This really is a tour de force. The more I play, the better it gets. Keep coming back to this time and time again, which makes it very special. One thing to note, I think it needs an HD setup. I first played before my TV was upgraded, and it needs the detail of HD to be fully appreciated.
  95. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    Pretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful orPretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful or criminal) will completely act neutral though most of the story.

    Game play can get a bit repetitive and you will NEED deadeye in the harder parts of the game if you decide to take off the casual auto-lock aim(lol casuals). Overall a fun game worth your time with a twist ending
    Expand
  96. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes,This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes, Rockstar has the same formula for all of their releases....but that is why they are the best. They have perfected this genre. So why change something that works. I'm sure they will innovate and grow with future releases...but they pull off the cowboy version and go on to create the best western game of all time. After a year and a half of playing this game, I still love it, and I still enjoy the multiplayer. There are some incredibly skilled players playing Red Dead Redemption and I have met some really great people during my time playing. This is a must have game. As close to perfect as it gets as it offers something for every player. Expand
  97. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a blast!! The storyline is awesome, a huge world to explore, cool gameplay mechanics like Deadeye and the best graphics out there. This is more than Grand Theft Auto 4 with horses. I strongly recommend this game to gamers everywhere. 10/10
  98. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me the best game of the year 2010, excelent graphics, nice sound and jogability, nice adaptation of wild west, and for bad critics: isn't a GTA, isn't all sandboox are "GTA'S", this game is RED DEAD a great game adapted on wild west with great story to tell about the protagonist.
    This game is for lovers of games adapteds in a antigue epic, isnt for bad players.
    Expand
  99. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    Melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br Exaltado como o jogo do ano de 2010, Red Dead Redemption, não é tudo isso...

    Está longe de ser um jogo ruim, mas creio que há uma devoção excessiva. Ã
  100. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded theBEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded the real old west with todays sound technology it is awesome 100000/10 Expand
  101. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well,Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well, Zombies is even fun.....well it can get old. Still an awesome game and you can pick it up now 4 cheap, happy hunting :) Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.