User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2274 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2011
    9
    An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game.An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game. There are a couple of characters who are minorly irritating along the way, but there are also some great characters to balance them out. The game itself is also very long and has a number of great missions. Red Dead Redemption has fantastic entertainment value, great graphics and sound and a brilliant story meaning that this is one of the best games of 2010. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the games story to take place. Despite some slightly overly long journeys between destinations the player’s interest in the games narrative is easily maintained thanks to a set of characters that are also amongst Rockstars best.

    In terms of gameplay Red Dead Redemption sticks pretty close to the now familiar template. Characters with missions that need completing can be seen on the in game map and once accessed further instructions are provided. While the primary focus is obviously on shooting there is a far greater variety in these missions than in the latest in the GTA series. The run, gun and cover system is virtually lifted straight from GTA IV including an auto-aim that can be switched off for those after a real challenge. This, along with a limited bullet time mechanic, is largely successful at allowing the player to feel like a hot shot gunslinger without making the game too easy.

    On top of the single-player campaign a generous number of co-op and competitive multi-player modes are also available. After all the pre-launch hype it is disappointing to realise that these don't really compete with the best online shooters but they certainly provide an entertaining distraction from John Marston’s story.
    With a charismatic lead character and hours of gameplay Red Dead Redemption is amongst Rockstars greatest achievements.
    Expand
  3. May 5, 2011
    9
    Um otimo jogo, traz o melhor do velho oeste e lhe faz viver o final dessa epoca...
    nenhum momento do jogo voce sai da inserçao do velho oeste.
    simplesmente MARAVILHOSO!!!
  4. May 23, 2011
    10
    Despite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play throughDespite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play through a compelling story and along the way do side missions/stories that are overall fun. The engine handles really well to the demanding graphics and the game opened my eyes to the full potential of western games (which originally I thought would be slow paced and they wouldn't be as fun unless they were FPS), not to mention the sand box aspect was a complete surprise to me, and knocked my socks off when I found the amount of interaction in the world. The only people I could find hating this game are people who didn't enjoy the multiplayer, or people who can't stand fun sand box games that AREN'T Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Well everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story mayWell everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story may be a little cliche but never the less its solid. The game's setting puts you right in a western movie, Every character is either meaningful or just amusing, Besides riding your horse in chase or running away from bad guys in the open west is much more fun that a city infested with bad AI drivers. Voice acting is solid too a lot of the dialogue and way of talk back then is implemented in the game yeah that might not be a big deal but it was for me. As for the graphics theyre solid not AMAZING but solid. The Gameplay is just about the same as GTAIV of course with a few additions, youre a western gunslinger and this is where the setting makes all the difference, the mutiplayer in my opinion could use some work but it is quite solid and fun!... Over all this game is FREAKIN AWESOME its definitely a keeper and worth paying money for it, Ive never played through a rockstar game twice until Red Dead Redemption was released Expand
  6. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest game I've ever played. It's a game of firsts.It's the first game to actually make me stop and look at the scenery, the first game that I completed 100%, the first game that I still play a year later, the first game that brought me to tears and I'm not just talking about the end. The pleasence house stranger mission made me feel so bad when I hurt an old man just to save some dollars.End comments: This game is art. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar may have taken the action to 1911, but this is BY FAR one of the best open world games out there! Sure you cant drive a car but this game has the best gunplay ive ever seen.
  8. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This really is a tour de force. The more I play, the better it gets. Keep coming back to this time and time again, which makes it very special. One thing to note, I think it needs an HD setup. I first played before my TV was upgraded, and it needs the detail of HD to be fully appreciated.
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    Pretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful orPretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful or criminal) will completely act neutral though most of the story.

    Game play can get a bit repetitive and you will NEED deadeye in the harder parts of the game if you decide to take off the casual auto-lock aim(lol casuals). Overall a fun game worth your time with a twist ending
    Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes,This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes, Rockstar has the same formula for all of their releases....but that is why they are the best. They have perfected this genre. So why change something that works. I'm sure they will innovate and grow with future releases...but they pull off the cowboy version and go on to create the best western game of all time. After a year and a half of playing this game, I still love it, and I still enjoy the multiplayer. There are some incredibly skilled players playing Red Dead Redemption and I have met some really great people during my time playing. This is a must have game. As close to perfect as it gets as it offers something for every player. Expand
  11. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a blast!! The storyline is awesome, a huge world to explore, cool gameplay mechanics like Deadeye and the best graphics out there. This is more than Grand Theft Auto 4 with horses. I strongly recommend this game to gamers everywhere. 10/10
  12. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me the best game of the year 2010, excelent graphics, nice sound and jogability, nice adaptation of wild west, and for bad critics: isn't a GTA, isn't all sandboox are "GTA'S", this game is RED DEAD a great game adapted on wild west with great story to tell about the protagonist.
    This game is for lovers of games adapteds in a antigue epic, isnt for bad players.
    Expand
  13. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    Melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br Exaltado como o jogo do ano de 2010, Red Dead Redemption, não é tudo isso...

    Está longe de ser um jogo ruim, mas creio que há uma devoção excessiva. Ã
  14. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded theBEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded the real old west with todays sound technology it is awesome 100000/10 Expand
  15. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Experience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin forExperience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin for trading,finishing tasks for strangers,completing missions,purchasing homes to save your game,and travelling from MEXICO to US.The gameplay is so much fun because of the accurate controlling of the gun,the simple,easy covering system,the variety of weapons in the game like a wenchester repeater,the knife,the lasso,the shotgun,etc.Very good graphics,high quality textures,realistic landscapes of the mountains,the rivers,and the desserts.The Rockstar team are very well on representing the wild west by the so many details in the game,the old saloons,the houses,the horses,and the high mountains.Strong story of John Martson who is working with the US government agent Edgar Ross to kill the outlaws,in his journey he went to mexico to revenge from Bill Williamson that was his best friend,he was involved with the Mexican revolution against the president,and with the president of mexico.After finishing his deeds with government,he went to his house to see his wife Abigail,his son Jack,and Uncle.Lefting behind the harsh world that he was living in ,but the surprise is the government after making him to work with them,They decided to kill him like a dog but his wife and his son have escaped from them.Jack Martson has grown up to seek revenge for his father.The possitives are good gameplay,strong story,good graphics,fun missions,long map to explore,good voice acting,fun multiplayer.The negatives are the dead eye feature that lets you to kill multiple enemies fast which makes the enemies week and non competitive,and the sadly ending.I am waiting for the next Red Dead Redemption maybe they will make Jack martson the new character in the game.(Sorry for my bad English). Expand
  16. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well , what can I say about this master piece? This was one hell of a journey and I loved and lived each and every moment of it !!
    Graphics: Beside some minor glitches this is one beautiful game running on a 5 year old machine without any frame rate drop. Just wow! Just gorgeous. 10/10
    Story: This was a wonderful journey.A master piece story...10/10 little sad though.
    gameplay : 10/10.With many side quest and other stuffs to do!!
    Expand
  17. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Rockstar have done it again... they have made another amazing game proving that Rockstar are the greatest game developers ever. Red Dead is one of the best games ive ever played, it made cowboys cool again. the graphics are pretty nice looking, and the story line is amazing, its not really anything like and GTA games, it still has those GTA qualities. The multiplayer was amazing, if youRockstar have done it again... they have made another amazing game proving that Rockstar are the greatest game developers ever. Red Dead is one of the best games ive ever played, it made cowboys cool again. the graphics are pretty nice looking, and the story line is amazing, its not really anything like and GTA games, it still has those GTA qualities. The multiplayer was amazing, if you ever see this game in a shop surrounded by a million other games, buy this game you will not regret it... the DLC are amazing, and i really cant put into words how good this game is. the map is huge. The game is addicting like hell. Red dead is defently a game i would play to its fullest, because its never boring. I enjoy the freeroam multiplayer because it was a good way to go and do gang hideouts with friends. I love how realistic the multiplayer is. When you are on the mic only people near by can hear you, and this is really fun when its full of 10 year olds that you throw dynamite at and they get all annoyed, and thats what makes this game such a fun game to play. This game is a 10/10 always, i i hope that another game is made, becuase i know it will be even better, because RockStar has never dissapointed gamers. Expand
  18. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This is easily in the top 3 games I've ever played with Skyrim and Fallout 3. First off let's get the bad things out of the way, the story is a bit generic and the horse riding can be a bit tricky. It has great voice acting, gambling and spectaculer multiplayer. As a third person shooter it's the best I've ever seen, there is just so much extra things to do. You can gamble, hunt downThis is easily in the top 3 games I've ever played with Skyrim and Fallout 3. First off let's get the bad things out of the way, the story is a bit generic and the horse riding can be a bit tricky. It has great voice acting, gambling and spectaculer multiplayer. As a third person shooter it's the best I've ever seen, there is just so much extra things to do. You can gamble, hunt down bounties, watch a movie and piss off the local gang, to name a few. But the most impressive thing is the graphics on a big tv it's the best I've ever seen. Rarely do you get a game so flawless you become so immersed that you wish you lived in the old west. Expand
  19. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe not the best from rockstar, but certainly not the worst. It isn't exactly GTA 4 set in the wild wild west,but anyone who has played gta 4 will find similarities with rdr and gta 4 . But perhaps Red Dead Redemption's greatest asset is it's story. It's a story that really makes the gamer feel the pain and agony of the protagonist. The side missions are varied and fun and also have a significant impact on either you fame or honor or maybe even both depending on how you complete the missions. Overall, this game may not satisfy those who anticipate a carbon copy of gta 4 set in the wild west, but it will definitely satisfy or even touch those looking for an engaging story, some fun side missions and an immersive last frontier experience such as myself. Well done Rockstar. Expand
  20. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Wow this has to be the greatest open world game ever. The characters and story are great. The multiplayer is thoroughly enjoyable. Rockstar have really made an amazing game. I can't wait what they do next
  21. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    I'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. SidequestsI'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. Sidequests were very unrewarding, and collecting bounties and **** jobs get old very, very fast. Some of the game's mechanics feel broken, or just unfair (Such as instantaneously dying when you enter water, or surrendering to the authorities but still end up being gunned down by them.) I did like this game, but once the main story is beaten, there is little to no reason to keep playing in my opinion. It makes for a good 20+ hour single player experience, but that's really the only place it shines. Expand
  22. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a hard game for me to review. On the one hand, I want to approach it fairly and with an open mind, but on the other, I have a passionate hatred for how one big-name reviewer in particular gave it a ridiculous number of Game of the Year awards.

    Trying to start from a fresh, simple gamerâ
  23. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This game is relatively easy to finish, and is basically a re-skin of GTA4. This is exactly what I like about it, because I didn't like GTA4 all that much, the story was lame to me. With a western theme, it seemed to spring to life. It has zero replay value for the story, but you can really be immersed in the environment here. There is a lot to love about the game, with difficultThis game is relatively easy to finish, and is basically a re-skin of GTA4. This is exactly what I like about it, because I didn't like GTA4 all that much, the story was lame to me. With a western theme, it seemed to spring to life. It has zero replay value for the story, but you can really be immersed in the environment here. There is a lot to love about the game, with difficult achievements that will milk you for 100 hours of your time into it. Is anyone that crazy? Yep. The undead nightmare expansion is nice as well. It all plays out like a movie, and not surprisingly that is what the market wanted at the time. This is the only viable western game to date. Now for a romanesque re-skinning of GTA4, please. Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Tis is simply put one of the most wonderful games ive had the pleasure to play. I can spend hours on this game doing every little thing, just riding about and taking in the landscape and the story is grand and bittersweet. Rockstar have provided a great game and then lavised a bunch of extras on top of it and thats even before you get to the multiplayer mode.

    This game will go down as one
    Tis is simply put one of the most wonderful games ive had the pleasure to play. I can spend hours on this game doing every little thing, just riding about and taking in the landscape and the story is grand and bittersweet. Rockstar have provided a great game and then lavised a bunch of extras on top of it and thats even before you get to the multiplayer mode.

    This game will go down as one of the true greats.

    Blessed are the peacemakers
    Expand
  25. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    The story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offersThe story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offers hundreds of hours of offline gameplay alone! So ya get my point? BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  26. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    This game is so close to flawless it isn't even funny. I would have rated it a 10 but i thought some tweaks could have been made to some of the stranger missions and to the end part of the game. Otherwise i loved and will never regret buying this stunning and amazing game.
  27. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    The Wild West shouldn't really appeal to me because I'm British, but then again, grew up with cartoons that sometimes had a Wild West theme for an episode; Red Dead Redemption is a pretty unique game; the story mission were great while it lasted, the graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is fantastic, the characters are likeable, and there is definitely lasting appeal in this game, with allThe Wild West shouldn't really appeal to me because I'm British, but then again, grew up with cartoons that sometimes had a Wild West theme for an episode; Red Dead Redemption is a pretty unique game; the story mission were great while it lasted, the graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is fantastic, the characters are likeable, and there is definitely lasting appeal in this game, with all the gambling games available; any GTA lover will adore this game Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    While most of the aspects,ideas or to say a similar platform of game play taken from grand theft auto franchise.The game has also got its own distinction such as portraying old west, horse and carriage ride and of all the cow boy lingo.
  29. neo
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game has been in stores for some time now. When you look at are still blown by how good they are. The characters move very realistic and the shadows fit in perfectly. It really is amazing to see the sun set down when riding on your horse through the sand. The sound is great too because of the great voice actors of the game. The gameplay is almost perfect, the shooting works great andThis game has been in stores for some time now. When you look at are still blown by how good they are. The characters move very realistic and the shadows fit in perfectly. It really is amazing to see the sun set down when riding on your horse through the sand. The sound is great too because of the great voice actors of the game. The gameplay is almost perfect, the shooting works great and the controls are easy to use. The game has so much to offer next to it's great missions. You can do everything a cowboy wants to do. There are tons of random events and side quests. The storyline is great too, overal this game really deserves a 10! Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well,Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well, Zombies is even fun.....well it can get old. Still an awesome game and you can pick it up now 4 cheap, happy hunting :) Expand
  31. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the greatest games i have ever played. if not the BEST GAME EVER. i'm not a fan of GTA, I like a game with a bit more depth and story, and a bit more rough. The main character, Marston, is one of the most loveable characters I've come across in media. He's got a lot of history, and is trying to do things to make life better for his family. an x-gunslinger has been doneThis game is one of the greatest games i have ever played. if not the BEST GAME EVER. i'm not a fan of GTA, I like a game with a bit more depth and story, and a bit more rough. The main character, Marston, is one of the most loveable characters I've come across in media. He's got a lot of history, and is trying to do things to make life better for his family. an x-gunslinger has been done many times before in hollywood, but this game sheds another light on the whole cliche. If you like a good story, with an awesome ending (you will cry.) buy this game.

    As for the gameplay, every moment I've spent in this game I have thoroughly enjoyed. The game has an open world, and it's BEAUTIFUL. one of the best looking games around. I was so surprised to see such a big open world with such good graphics this gen. Halfway through the game you cross the border into mexico...and it makes the map even bigger. wow. The horse riding is amazing. sound design and music fit perfectly and make you feel like you're really there. the shooting is perfect, especially dead-eye which slows down time and makes you feel like a bad ass gunslinger. Theres so much to this game i can't really talk about it all. Go watch a video review. Theres side quests and things that are so awesome. so many items to collect, horses to break, bandits to capture, items to loot, animals to kill, places to explore... everything you need in a game, and an AMAZING story. BUY IT.
    Expand
  32. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Really good and very original. It truly feels like a GTA in the Old west. The lack of use of the hookers is irritating. Graphics, sound and voice acting is kickass.... I played this game for hours and hours to the point Im almost sick of it.
  33. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    A brilliant throwback from the Rockstar franchise. It can be said a lot of the game devices such as the the map in the corner which have been drawn from GTA but the open space environment gives a fresh feel to the game. At times the storyline does drag on with limited side quests for contrast in comparison to its other sandbox rivals. The on-line lacks something, there are times when youA brilliant throwback from the Rockstar franchise. It can be said a lot of the game devices such as the the map in the corner which have been drawn from GTA but the open space environment gives a fresh feel to the game. At times the storyline does drag on with limited side quests for contrast in comparison to its other sandbox rivals. The on-line lacks something, there are times when you find yourself riding across the plains and realise that you'd rather be playing the single player story. Expand
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic story, gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, mechanics, and polish. There is literally nothing I don't like about the single player aspect of this game. I can even forgive a particular side quest that I've never been able to complete. This review is strictly in terms of the single player. I gave multiplayer a shot online, but it's truly not worth playing, especially withFantastic story, gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, mechanics, and polish. There is literally nothing I don't like about the single player aspect of this game. I can even forgive a particular side quest that I've never been able to complete. This review is strictly in terms of the single player. I gave multiplayer a shot online, but it's truly not worth playing, especially with titles like Halo, Call of Duty, Gears of War, and Battlefield out there. If you want this game for the multiplayer, save your money. If you want, what is in my mind, the best single player game available on the 360, buy it. Expand
  35. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    un juegazo aunque a veces en numerosos tramos del juego le falta ritmo
    (las misiones de vaquero son un coñazo)
    GRAFICOS: 10 SONIDO: 8 JUGABILIDAD/DIVERSION:8 DURACION:9
  36. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Nothing short of Rockstar's finest work, and an example to all other games out there. This masterpiece took a brave step introducing the west back to a different generation of people, and it succeeded. A gripping storyline, gorgeous graphics, lots of side missions, a vibrant and gritty atmosphere, solid multiplayer, a beautiful score, Red Dead Redemption is gaming at its finest.
  37. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    An absolute Masterpiece. With a Capital M! Truly an open world where you can get lost in. The attention to detail is outstanding! Plus once you finish the excellent story the multiplayer is a lot of fun. At least its a lot of fun for an old fart like myself that can't keep up with the Call of Duties of the world.
  38. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I loved it ! It was a fun and amazing story. The game play was average and the graphics were soso. What keep me playing was the story. Shocked and AWE when a game makes you drop your jaw you know it was worth the money. A good story can bring a game back from the dead and RED DEAD REDEMPTION is that game. Oh if you don't like westerns then I suggest spending your money elsewhere after allI loved it ! It was a fun and amazing story. The game play was average and the graphics were soso. What keep me playing was the story. Shocked and AWE when a game makes you drop your jaw you know it was worth the money. A good story can bring a game back from the dead and RED DEAD REDEMPTION is that game. Oh if you don't like westerns then I suggest spending your money elsewhere after all its about the west. Expand
  39. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    It was actually pretty good. The gameplay was fun and I enjoyed playing it. The mission objectives are a bit too repetitive, There are quite a few bugs and glitches (some of that freeze the game and force you to shut it down and restart it), and the gameplay doesnt feature much for originality (far too similar to GTA, yes I know its made by the same company). Other then that it was goodIt was actually pretty good. The gameplay was fun and I enjoyed playing it. The mission objectives are a bit too repetitive, There are quite a few bugs and glitches (some of that freeze the game and force you to shut it down and restart it), and the gameplay doesnt feature much for originality (far too similar to GTA, yes I know its made by the same company). Other then that it was good and well worth playing. Expand
  40. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Upon borrowing this game from a friend, I did not wish to return it. Though I hate western films (spaghetti western), I instantly fell in love with this game. The concept, the gameplay, storyline, characters, jobs, all of it. I was even so tempted to play Undead Redemption, but my fear of screaming my lungs out whilst in the middle of gaming was too large a risk.
  41. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game. I bought it on a whim, not expecting that much, and really liked it. Good story, plus its a nice open world, even if the story line is thrown at you rather forcibly if you stray near the story 'trigger points'. Only two things I didn't like - and both were probably down to my limited button pushing skills, One was, when I was out hunting wildlife like vultures andI really liked this game. I bought it on a whim, not expecting that much, and really liked it. Good story, plus its a nice open world, even if the story line is thrown at you rather forcibly if you stray near the story 'trigger points'. Only two things I didn't like - and both were probably down to my limited button pushing skills, One was, when I was out hunting wildlife like vultures and wolves I often found myself shooting passing cowboys by accident (honest, judge!). Second was the fast draw challenges which I could never get the hang of, so ended up just avoiding. An easier save game option would have solved both these for me. Overall, a great game. One warning though. There are a couple of really nasty bits in the game which justify the 18 rating. If you just skim the start of the game you may be tempted to let your kids play it. Don't, the nasty bits are really nasty. Expand
  42. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    the game was just great, how many things i could do to keep myself entertained was amazing, i dont know if it was the perks for costumes or the cool missions, although it slightly resembles gta 4, id have to say it was pretty cool, the best part was probably the ability to replay missions if you get bored or just going hunting next to a beautiful scenery of a mountain or a lake, mythe game was just great, how many things i could do to keep myself entertained was amazing, i dont know if it was the perks for costumes or the cool missions, although it slightly resembles gta 4, id have to say it was pretty cool, the best part was probably the ability to replay missions if you get bored or just going hunting next to a beautiful scenery of a mountain or a lake, my personal favorite thing is going to the northern part of tall trees and killing bears. the voices were just like a western movie and there is hardly a thing wrong Expand
  43. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I just love this game!
    Well it did take me 10 months from the first time I played it for two hours before I actually got into it, but boy did the time fly then. The story, graphics and everything ells is absolutely top notch and the DLC's for once is also good
  44. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Rockstar has done it again with this fantastic game! This game is like any other rockstar game. A amazing story, and free roam with online activities. What was done in RDR was they added new online features like, having your own posse, and being able to do forts for XP. Red dead Redemption is one of the best games that I have ever played. Get a few friends to play with you or meet peopleRockstar has done it again with this fantastic game! This game is like any other rockstar game. A amazing story, and free roam with online activities. What was done in RDR was they added new online features like, having your own posse, and being able to do forts for XP. Red dead Redemption is one of the best games that I have ever played. Get a few friends to play with you or meet people online. This game is great online with friends. THE VERDICT: Red dead is a successful game that comes from a successful company (rockstar). With a great story and better online you cant go wrong with buying this game! Expand
  45. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I am of the mindset that this ranks among the greatest games ever made. It's games like this that make me sad that there is no 'Academy Award' for video games. This game surely deserves an oscar simply based on it's writing alone. One of the most gripping experiences I have ever had.
  46. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    I really loved this game. I won't say so much, because lot of people already did it. But the only thing I want to say is that I've created a Metacritic account only for reviewing and giving a 10/10 for this game (and look, I use this website since 2008). One of the best game I've played in the last years!
  47. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Damn this game is fun as hell. The story is suprinsingly interesting and the mission are varied and really fun. There is no excuse to not buy this game. Theres alot of guns in the game but i usually stick to my pistols. Its not as long as the GTA games but so what, this game is amazing.
  48. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I was wondering if to buy this or not for a full year, then as soon as a school mate said "it is GTA but in the wild west - whats not to like!" So I went and bought it and he was defintely right, brilliant game with all the same controls as GTA. couldn't stop playing it, this game has the story line of that of a movie with a very tense ending.
  49. May 18, 2012
    10
    The best Xbox 360 single player in my opinion. A lot better than GTA IV, mainly because of the improved story. Played it for 90 hours till I got 100% completion. And I've never felt emotional about a video game before, wow, you really get attached to John Marston
  50. May 23, 2012
    10
    Well, Red Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games. The story is absorbing, the gameplay almost perfect and the graphics are really good. The atmosphere and the sound is also very well. I was so addicted at the singleplayer and later on the multiplayer. ROCKSTAR you know it, you ROCK!
  51. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    This game is the best game to come out this gen besides starcraft 2 and im pissed they didnt release this for the pc im really hoping red dead 2 gets a pc release.
    Pls rockstar do a game like this justice and release both red dead 1 and 2 for pc.
    Game is insanly good.
  52. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    I was impressed when I finally completed the game. I was even MORE impressed with the Undead Nightmare campaign. This game itself is already a masterpiece. The world is magnificent and the details are delightful. Overall beautiful game.
  53. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great game i get my hands on, I can usually find at least 1 flaw, even a tiny one. This is not the case with RDR. The character development, storyline, gameplay, open world design, shooting/moving/horse riding mechanics, and missions are flawless in every
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great game i get my hands on, I can usually find at least 1 flaw, even a tiny one. This is not the case with RDR. The character development, storyline, gameplay, open world design, shooting/moving/horse riding mechanics, and missions are flawless in every sense of the word.

    I probably played over 500 video games in my life time so I'm not novice. I always pay attention to every little detail to each game i play. This is gamings Da Vinci moment and it makes me forget that GTA even exists!
    Expand
  54. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    A lot of attention to detail plus extra was put into this game, the great story and action makes you come back wanting more. The game has great likeable characters with excellent voice acting and the immersion is just unbelievable. If you're a fan of Rockstar's other games, this title needs to be in your collection.
  55. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This isn't GTA in Wild West, this is EPIC, it is like watching awesome movie, map is huge, whole bunch of small details that gives you real sense of that time. Horses are spectacular, just as story. Story is one of best in games history.
  56. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    Yet another jaw-dropping game by Rockstar, who is, in my opinion, the best developer. Basically copying Grand Theft Auto in to the Wild West, this game has it all. Great voiceovers and a comfortable combat system.
  57. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    The game is amazing, because it is not the same like gta.
    Here you can play Minigames,make missions or someone speak to you on a way to a mission.
    The World is amazing too , because all is different.
    You can hunt bears in the Forrest or wanted persons.
    The Game is a must buy.
  58. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    In my opinion this is the best game of all time. It is gorgeous, tons of fun. I have played through it several times. Online also has some fun features. I never even used fast travel because this world is so spectacular. 10/10 by far.
  59. Aug 27, 2012
    8
    I love Red Dead Revolver, I love the GTA series, and this is most definitely a mediocre game by comparison. Why rate this so highly? Is everything that has Rockstar's name on it untouchable? Does a sad ending automatically make a master piece? We're talking about the lamest Rockstar cast I've ever seen, combined with a story struggling to keep a point, and somehow worse gunplay than eitherI love Red Dead Revolver, I love the GTA series, and this is most definitely a mediocre game by comparison. Why rate this so highly? Is everything that has Rockstar's name on it untouchable? Does a sad ending automatically make a master piece? We're talking about the lamest Rockstar cast I've ever seen, combined with a story struggling to keep a point, and somehow worse gunplay than either GTA or the original Red Dead had to offer. The only thing impressive about this game is the damn lasso and it's a gimmick! I'm just speechless that a game that is merely good is being considered the best game of this generation. Makes we wonder what the hell we're doing as gamers. Expand
  60. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    I know giving things a 10 is a little ridiculous. No game can be perfect, right? Well the only negative I can conceive of with Red Dead Redemption is that there isn't more of it, and that's hardly a fair complaint. Considering that this is Rockstar's most driven, focused, epic storyline coupled with an immensely entertaining multiplayer component, one can conceivably play this game forI know giving things a 10 is a little ridiculous. No game can be perfect, right? Well the only negative I can conceive of with Red Dead Redemption is that there isn't more of it, and that's hardly a fair complaint. Considering that this is Rockstar's most driven, focused, epic storyline coupled with an immensely entertaining multiplayer component, one can conceivably play this game for years without feeling bored (unless you're one of the morons below that finds it boring... inexplicably...). Every production value piece is spotless, from the glare on the sunrises to the tone in every voice. People who complain that the voice acting is stereotypical and contrived... its supposed to be... RDR is a take on the classic spaghetti western ethos... characters named Frenchy, Irish, jaded snake oil salesmen, stoic natives... all this stuff is canon to the genre. There will be moments in the game where unexpected musical compositions fade out the background noise and the result is truly amazing and feels unique in this category of games. Like I said before, the only negative I can think of is that there aren't more stores for me to rob, more people for me to scam and rob, a native economy in the multiplayer.... but all these ideas are superfluous and only resultant of my own imaginative love of this game. Expand
  61. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    campaign is the best story i have ever played for any game, gripping, thrilling and full of plot twists 10/10 must play games.
    multiplayer is very unique and very impressive only down side is online players killing on sight whilst riding around
  62. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    If you are a GTA fan or an open world game fan in general this is a must buy. Red Dead Redemption is one of the best games i have ever played. Not many games can nail the wild west setting but this game ticks all the boxes, you feel like a bad ass cowboy when you are riding your horse, killing bandits and tieing people up with your lasso. The story is excellent, you play as John Marston anIf you are a GTA fan or an open world game fan in general this is a must buy. Red Dead Redemption is one of the best games i have ever played. Not many games can nail the wild west setting but this game ticks all the boxes, you feel like a bad ass cowboy when you are riding your horse, killing bandits and tieing people up with your lasso. The story is excellent, you play as John Marston an ex outlaw but after federal agents threaten his family he is forced to return to his old ways. The visuals are stunningly beautiful and the gameplay is tight....... in short BUY THIS GAME !!! Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    The Great Game, The great gameplay, good graphics, great story. I like this game. I play 5 times. The best console game and one of the best games i ever played.
  64. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    A Rockstar novamente nunca decepciona, e com certeza Red Dead Redemption um dos seus melhores jogos. A História, personagens e gráficos e sem contar a imensidão de seu mundo aberto fabuloso.
  65. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I just bought and played this game for the first time. Yes, even two years after its release, the game is a masterpiece, for all the reasons reviewers before me have cited. I'm just writing this to add my review score. Unbelievable world, truly fun missions, good voice acting, good storyline, smooth gameplay.
  66. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest games … story line great graphics great … world to explore huge … endless amount of game play … great ending … if you like gta you most likely will like rdr … nothing to complain about with this game
  67. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    Graphics:9.5 Gameplay:6/ Story:4/ soundtracks:6
    -----good,but needs improvements------
    the only good thing in this is its amazing landscapes and big maps from mid usa ages,even my mother said:wow ,is this a game or real?...very beautiful deserts and nature animals .....sadly this is the only thing good in this game.other things like the gameplay and story plot is boring...just
    Graphics:9.5 Gameplay:6/ Story:4/ soundtracks:6
    -----good,but needs improvements------
    the only good thing in this is its amazing landscapes and big maps from mid usa ages,even my mother said:wow ,is this a game or real?...very beautiful deserts and nature animals .....sadly this is the only thing good in this game.other things like the gameplay and story plot is boring...just riding your horse for long distances
    technical negatives: bad tutorials,it comes out suddenly while killing enemies and disappear quickly.boring weapones.long horse traveling.hard to understand minigames. riding horse and shooting at the same time only for ppl with tow brains i think O_o.
    looking up for a better RDR2.
    Expand
  68. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Clearly this is a game that was meant to be the wet dream of every gamer that is a huge fan of westerns and the GTA series. Judging from public opinion, that's exactly what it is. As to myself. I HATE westerns! To be honest, the only westerns that I remotely like are usually comedies. As to the GTA part: I'm not a huge fan of that franchise but I do like the series and I've enjoyedClearly this is a game that was meant to be the wet dream of every gamer that is a huge fan of westerns and the GTA series. Judging from public opinion, that's exactly what it is. As to myself. I HATE westerns! To be honest, the only westerns that I remotely like are usually comedies. As to the GTA part: I'm not a huge fan of that franchise but I do like the series and I've enjoyed everyone so far to some extent. So, even with my hatred towards westerns *pauses* I actually liked this game. It's by far one of the best games Rockstar has released to date. Great characters, Great story, great gameplay, and such a huge variety of things to do and places to explore. The only reasons I don't score this any higher are primarily because of mty detestment towards westerns, and also because as great as this game is, it also doesn't do too much that we haven't seen before somewhere else, this includes the story (I may hate westerns, but that doesn't mean I haven't seen any.) Overall: My personal grievances aside, this is a great game and deserves to be in everyone's collection. If I can like it, anyone can. Expand
  69. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    This game is a trip back in time, when horses and stagecoaches were the most popular means of transport and when wild buffalo roamed the prairies of Th Wild West. This game looks simply stunning and the storyline is well-balanced. This game takes you from the Mexican Desert to the the slops of the Rocky Mountains and constantly throws new environments and side quest at you. You will neverThis game is a trip back in time, when horses and stagecoaches were the most popular means of transport and when wild buffalo roamed the prairies of Th Wild West. This game looks simply stunning and the storyline is well-balanced. This game takes you from the Mexican Desert to the the slops of the Rocky Mountains and constantly throws new environments and side quest at you. You will never get bored here. With the familiar grand theft auto controls and fluent movement Rock Star keeps up with it's impressive list of productions over the years. A world full of nasty characters and here and there someone to help you, but it's clear that in The Wild West.. The only one you can trust, is yourself.. Collapse
  70. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Ok for the people who have not played this game.PLAY IT!!!!!! Why are you still reading go out and buy this. This is my original favorite game it is so amazing people argue saying its boring its to much horse riding. That was what happened in the west their were no cars basically horses and trains just go buy this game this is one of the best games of the generation if not the best. GoOk for the people who have not played this game.PLAY IT!!!!!! Why are you still reading go out and buy this. This is my original favorite game it is so amazing people argue saying its boring its to much horse riding. That was what happened in the west their were no cars basically horses and trains just go buy this game this is one of the best games of the generation if not the best. Go play it!!!!!!! Expand
  71. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    A well writed game, incredible voice acting, beautiful graphics and a lot of stuff to do. Nothing more to say.
  72. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Although it doesn't offer the multiplayer experience that GTA IV presented, it is by far Rockstar's best game, and one of my favorites as well. Rockstar takes all of the defining elements of their previous games and makes one incredible experience.
  73. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Holy Beautiful, lush, large game Batman!

    This is a great alternative to GTA even if it has the same feel in terms of maps, movement, and battles There is so much to do and this is how downloadable content was MEANT TO BE. The game by itself feels like a full game and them some, and the zombie add-on is great welcome addition albeit not absolutely necessary to have a great gaming
    Holy Beautiful, lush, large game Batman!

    This is a great alternative to GTA even if it has the same feel in terms of maps, movement, and battles

    There is so much to do and this is how downloadable content was MEANT TO BE. The game by itself feels like a full game and them some, and the zombie add-on is great welcome addition albeit not absolutely necessary to have a great gaming experience.

    Whaddya wanna do? Hunt? Go For it. Buy some houses? Go for it. Explore for treasure? go for it. Help eccentric and likeable civilians? Go for it. Become the right hand of the law and find outlaws? Go for it. Find collectibles and acquire cool looking gear and suits? Go for it. Sit and make some extra cash playing poker or dice? Go for it. Have a duel with a loud mouth drunkard and increase your reputation? Go for it. Wanna break in a rare extra speedy horse to make your own that you found in the wilderness? Go for it.

    And NONE of this has to do with the main story which is varied and has great dialogue. The 3 large maps you explore are unique and available as the story progresses in a great way. Just as you feel you have exhausted one area of exploration, another area is opened up to you.

    The ONLY quips I have are that there is no way one man can do that much killing. Also, the getting to cover and movement can be clunky. The automatic targeting system makes it a tad easy although that may be the point in surviving with quick draws in the Wild West realistically). The graphics can get buggy and the game did freeze randomly here and there

    But that is small potatoes compared to everything it offers. This is one of the greats.
    Expand
  74. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    We all know that Rockstar can make some awesome open world games, however Red Dead Redemption might just be their best work.
    There are many reasons why this game is fantastic. The story perfectly meshes with the whole wild west theme of the game, as does the music. All the characters you meet are unique, very well acted, and memorable. The gameplay is terrific and never gets stale, not
    We all know that Rockstar can make some awesome open world games, however Red Dead Redemption might just be their best work.
    There are many reasons why this game is fantastic. The story perfectly meshes with the whole wild west theme of the game, as does the music. All the characters you meet are unique, very well acted, and memorable. The gameplay is terrific and never gets stale, not even 30 hours into the game. Really, the best part of this game is just riding your horse through Mexico without any destination in mind just to take in the scenery.

    An awesome game all around

    9.4/10
    Expand
  75. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    The best game that Rockstar games has produced by far! Possibly one of the best Xbox 360 games of all time! I thoroughly enjoyed my entire experience playing this game. The narrative was truly engrossing until the end. The end tends to drag on just a tad too long. It is hard to go into detail about that without dropping spoilers so that is as much as I will say. All in all, this was oneThe best game that Rockstar games has produced by far! Possibly one of the best Xbox 360 games of all time! I thoroughly enjoyed my entire experience playing this game. The narrative was truly engrossing until the end. The end tends to drag on just a tad too long. It is hard to go into detail about that without dropping spoilers so that is as much as I will say. All in all, this was one of the best games I have played on my Xbox 360 and will certainly hold on to it for a long time to come. Expand
  76. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is so good that I bought the zombie version knowing very well that I would be disapointed. I was even pleasantly surprised by how good the zombie game was. Anyway, imagine Grand Theft Auto in the wild wild west. There are even hookers, lol.
  77. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    This game is amazing. The world is very believable and looks great. The frontier is very large and is split up into three distinct areas. The characters are not very believable, but this is the style that Rockstar Games wanted to make them.

    The storyline is probably the best one you will ever encounter in video games. You may find John Marston a little unlikeable at first, but if you
    This game is amazing. The world is very believable and looks great. The frontier is very large and is split up into three distinct areas. The characters are not very believable, but this is the style that Rockstar Games wanted to make them.

    The storyline is probably the best one you will ever encounter in video games. You may find John Marston a little unlikeable at first, but if you give him a little time you will fall in love with him. The game is about John Marston trying to get his family back from the government by hunting down people from his old gang. The story is about 20 hours long if you just do the main missions, to 40 hours if you are going for the 100%.

    The world is truly stunning, and there are a lot of great places to visit. It surprises me when people say there is nothing to do, because the game does hold quite a lot of things to do. You can play poker or blackjack against computers, do some jobs for the local towns, go bounty hunting for a bit of change, and much more. Besides, if you can imagine something to do within the world, you probably can do it.

    The multiplayer is very innovating. When you enter multiplayer you will be dropped into free roam. This is where you can ride through the world identical to the single player environment. However, you come across other people. If you don't feel up to the free roam, there is a suite of game modes for you to play.

    The unfortunate part of the game is that it still has bugs and glitches. Fortunately most of these bugs don't limit the game, but are very strange. I have come across a particularly nasty bug that rendered my game unplayable. This was terrible because I had to go out and buy another new copy of the game to be able to play it again.

    I give this game an 8. Everything about it is amazing and you can tell Rockstar Games put lots of care into making this game, but the bugs prove to be annoying and can even break the game. If you have any interest in playing a new game, pick this up and you won't regret it.
    Expand
  78. Apr 19, 2014
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a pretty good game, but I feel it is overrated. While the game-play is excellent, the game suffers in several areas. The highly praised story is rather boring, and John's dialogue is pretty repetitive. Traveling from point A to B can take really long, because the horses aren't very fast. I also dread ranching missions, but I generally dread them in any western game.Red Dead Redemption is a pretty good game, but I feel it is overrated. While the game-play is excellent, the game suffers in several areas. The highly praised story is rather boring, and John's dialogue is pretty repetitive. Traveling from point A to B can take really long, because the horses aren't very fast. I also dread ranching missions, but I generally dread them in any western game. Overall, the game is fun. Expand
  79. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If youI have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If you buy this game, get the Game of the Year edition which has the Zombies DLC and several other bonus features. Expand
  80. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    It is no question one of the greatest games I have ever played. There is so much to do. The story is the greatest ever in a game. The premise may be overused, but the characters you meet and the way the story is set up is great. Also, the gameplay and graphics are incredible. This is a must play for any gamer.
  81. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It's amazing how Red Dead Redemption is fun, its minimal details make all the difference, the main character John Marston is one of the best because it set already see on your profile that he is an honorable man trying to rescue his family, the story an optimal history the best style Sergio Leone with moments of humor, violence and somber, even with not very good graphics and lengthyIt's amazing how Red Dead Redemption is fun, its minimal details make all the difference, the main character John Marston is one of the best because it set already see on your profile that he is an honorable man trying to rescue his family, the story an optimal history the best style Sergio Leone with moments of humor, violence and somber, even with not very good graphics and lengthy minutes riding the game manages to be catchy. Expand
  82. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    To say that Red Dead Redemption’s setting is breathtaking would be an understatement. Taking place in what would be the old West, Red Dead Redemption places the player in an adventure that is well satisfying and epic.
    The story is as follows: The protagonist is called John Marston, and he has been sent by the government to the Western Border States in order to find and kill wanted men,
    To say that Red Dead Redemption’s setting is breathtaking would be an understatement. Taking place in what would be the old West, Red Dead Redemption places the player in an adventure that is well satisfying and epic.
    The story is as follows: The protagonist is called John Marston, and he has been sent by the government to the Western Border States in order to find and kill wanted men, some of which have formed part of Marston’s past. Marston has no choice but to accept doing this because only then will he be pardoned by the government for the things he has done. What, how, and why remain to the player to find out, but let it be assured that this is an amazing, well written story.
    The gameplay in Red Dead Redemption is fun to say the least. The player has an arsenal of weapons available to him: different kinds of rifles, pistols, sniper rifles, shotguns, even throwing knives, dynamite, and a rope are among the different things the player can use. Dragging criminals around with the rope while on a horse was a personal favorite. As an additional, awesome feature – there is Dead Eye. Dead Eye is a slow motion mode that allows the player to tag multiple enemies with a gun only to bring them down in super cool, fast fashion. Red Dead, hands down, has the best horses ever to be put in a video game. Not all are the same; there are different kinds available to the player to purchase differing in aesthetic appeal, which is very detailed, and speed. Controls are smooth and precise while on a horse and it makes it a delight to travel on them rather than a drag, *cough* AC3 *cough*. Having side missions coming to the player rather than vice versa is a big win. While traveling to the next main mission, the player will find random events happening on the side of the road. It is optional to engage in these, but it surely adds to the experience while making the game’s atmosphere feel alive and active. There are also additional side missions with their own, brief story arc that the player has available to him/her. Multiplayer is amazing. Having the whole map open to players lets one explore, change playable characters/rides, engage in activities such as attacking forts or villages with a team, or just free for all, for that matter. No gameplay mechanic in this game feels dull.
    The visual aspect of Red Dead Redemption is a win throughout. The fauna and flora in the environment as well as character models are intricately detailed. The engine’s amazing shading system allows everything to look believable and real. It is a beautiful experience to just ride along a cliff staring at a day’s dusk and the horizon. The aesthetic appeal of Red Dead Redemption goes a long way immersing the player into this world and it completely succeeds at capturing that Old West feeling this game very much is aiming for.
    Red Dead Redemp- does this really need to be said? This is a must buy. It is a gem of the 360 and PS3 generation and it is an experience not to be missed. Unless there really isn’t an interest in the Old West, but even if one isn’t a fan of this genre – it is worth it. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is satisfactory and does right in everything it set out to do.
    Expand
  83. May 21, 2013
    10
    This game reserves a spot on my all time top 10. I was extremely hesitant in playing this game, I'm not much of a Rockstar game fan, I dislike the entire GTA series and I'm also not a western-theme fan. So I approached the game negatively and was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The story, though excellent, was overly drawn out on purpose to give more of an engaging andThis game reserves a spot on my all time top 10. I was extremely hesitant in playing this game, I'm not much of a Rockstar game fan, I dislike the entire GTA series and I'm also not a western-theme fan. So I approached the game negatively and was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The story, though excellent, was overly drawn out on purpose to give more of an engaging and enveloping presence in the game's environment. However in doing so it made the game even more tedious at times than most other sandbox games. One thing that I must point out is that there are moments in this game that will stick with you for the rest of your life. It's incredibly rare to find that in a video game. The entire experience surrounding "far away" is truly unforgettable. Expand
  84. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of greatest game ever made. Really rockstar games never fail in your games, this game really is between the best of this generation. The graphics, the soundrack, the ambientation and mainly the plot, a deep story that holds the attention of the player. The multiplayer mode is somewhat simple, but verry funny, probably you will spend some hours in this mode. My criticisms for this gameOne of greatest game ever made. Really rockstar games never fail in your games, this game really is between the best of this generation. The graphics, the soundrack, the ambientation and mainly the plot, a deep story that holds the attention of the player. The multiplayer mode is somewhat simple, but verry funny, probably you will spend some hours in this mode. My criticisms for this game are the best. But as every game, Red Dead Redemption has its bugs and glitches, but are few of them. Finnaly, Red Dead Redemption is a game that every owner of an Xbox 360 or a PS3 must have. A deserved 10/10. Expand
  85. May 14, 2013
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games of all time. The gameplay are fine tuned to perfection. The graphics are just gorgeous. and its sheer amount of content will make your jaw drop. I would go with the game of the year edition if I were you. Please don't miss out on one of the best video games ever created.
  86. May 30, 2013
    8
    I am not a fan of Grand Theft Auto or Rockstar, but this was a well put together game. I enjoyed running around as a gunslinger and killing people for my noble quest of rescuing my family. John Marston is an awesome character and is well developed. This easily offers 40+ hours of gameplay, but once you finish the campaign and side missions, there isn't a whole lot left to do. However itI am not a fan of Grand Theft Auto or Rockstar, but this was a well put together game. I enjoyed running around as a gunslinger and killing people for my noble quest of rescuing my family. John Marston is an awesome character and is well developed. This easily offers 40+ hours of gameplay, but once you finish the campaign and side missions, there isn't a whole lot left to do. However it does have multiplayer so there is some stuff to do. Worth checking out. Expand
  87. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely incredible, Red Dead Redemption is the masterpiece of Rockstar's wonderful collection of games. Every piece of the game is simply amazing. Whether its the emotional story-line, (I actually found myself crying at one point), or the just as interesting multiplayer. (Which pleasantly surprised me) After I finished the single-player, I found myself playing countless hours ofAbsolutely incredible, Red Dead Redemption is the masterpiece of Rockstar's wonderful collection of games. Every piece of the game is simply amazing. Whether its the emotional story-line, (I actually found myself crying at one point), or the just as interesting multiplayer. (Which pleasantly surprised me) After I finished the single-player, I found myself playing countless hours of free-roam with the posse edition being a great aspect of free-roam.

    If you find yourself with some time and cash to spare, definitely take your time to pick up Red Dead Redemption. Combined with the great price for the game of the year edition, there is almost no excuse not to play a game as splendid as this.
    Expand
  88. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME. I honestly don't know how RockStar could make this games varied locations like a desert, grassy plains or forest fun and interesting but they did it. it has extremely fun gameplay and dead eye is a cool way of killing your enemys. the story is awesome and the characters are fun and interesting (John Marston is one of my favorite video game characters of all time) ifThis game is AWESOME. I honestly don't know how RockStar could make this games varied locations like a desert, grassy plains or forest fun and interesting but they did it. it has extremely fun gameplay and dead eye is a cool way of killing your enemys. the story is awesome and the characters are fun and interesting (John Marston is one of my favorite video game characters of all time) if you are wondering how the seemingly basic locations can be fun I will tell you, detail and random events. in fact I had more random events in 1 hour of this game then 3 playthroughs of skyrim. they even have multiplayer and it is not just a generic death match you actually free roam the world and you can form a posse with other players where you can all just become one big gang of outlaws. so buy this game because I bought it only this year for only $20 and I now know what I have was missing. trust me you will love this Expand
  89. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This game cant be better, it is perfect as a third person shooter, as a sand box, as an open world game and as a western story. The story is great and it will take a good time to finish it.
  90. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This game, if not my favorite game of all time it is definitely in the top three. This game is the best game Rockstar Games has ever created, which is saying a lot.

    The sheer amount of detail in this game is fantastic, everything about it is near perfect (aside from the occasional bug, but that wasn't even a scratch on the overall experience). While of course there is no such thing
    This game, if not my favorite game of all time it is definitely in the top three. This game is the best game Rockstar Games has ever created, which is saying a lot.

    The sheer amount of detail in this game is fantastic, everything about it is near perfect (aside from the occasional bug, but that wasn't even a scratch on the overall experience).

    While of course there is no such thing as a perfect game, I believe this game is the closest a game has ever gotten to that point.
    Expand
  91. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    In my opinion it is in the top 10' games in last decade and the best in rockstar games so for me 10/10.OH i forgot to mention about multuplayer ,i think that is prety awesome beacuse it has both: play alone multyplayer and servers like capture the bag ets. SO FOR ME 10/10 FOR SINGLE AND 9/10 FOR MULTIPLAYER
  92. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. It shows, as if we need any more proof, that Rockstar Games is truly one of the best game developers in the business today.

    As with all the worlds I have experienced that was created by Rockstar, their attention to detail is met perhaps only by games and worlds made by Bethesda Game Studios (Fallout, Elder Scrolls). Beautifully rendered, large
    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece. It shows, as if we need any more proof, that Rockstar Games is truly one of the best game developers in the business today.

    As with all the worlds I have experienced that was created by Rockstar, their attention to detail is met perhaps only by games and worlds made by Bethesda Game Studios (Fallout, Elder Scrolls). Beautifully rendered, large enough to foster the player's inner explorer but not TOO large, and full of many things to do; it's about as amazing as virtually rendered worlds get.

    A detailed and expansive world is a great start for any game, but RDR also delivers on gameplay, characters, and story. John Marston is an excellent protagonist, and the supporting characters are memorable and intriguing. His story of revenge and redemption, taking him from home to a rebellious Mexico, to back home again, is great fun. The ending is easily recalled almost 5 years later. Even horseback riding, a mechanic that games have been struggling with for years, is simple and effective.

    Although I didn't spend nearly as much time in it as in single player, it also has a great and diverse multiplayer as well. You can do your standard adversarial deathmatch games, or you can play poker against real opponents, and you can play co-op missions if teamwork is more your style. It's got something for everyone.

    Indeed, Red Dead Redemption has to challenge for one of the best games of the last console generation. It absolutely places in my Top 3.
    Expand
  93. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is a masterful game with great and exhilarating gameplay and a very in depth and sad ending. It is the best game of all time and I cannot believe rockstar made another game this amazing. There is SO much to do and all of it is as fun as the last. Many cheats can be enabled to help the not so good gamer. This game is so good and then the multiplayer comes in. All of theThis is a masterful game with great and exhilarating gameplay and a very in depth and sad ending. It is the best game of all time and I cannot believe rockstar made another game this amazing. There is SO much to do and all of it is as fun as the last. Many cheats can be enabled to help the not so good gamer. This game is so good and then the multiplayer comes in. All of the multiplayer modes are fun from the gold bags, to free roam. I do not care for these minor glitches because there small and the game is to amazing to deny. A 10 out of 10 easily. Expand
  94. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    this game is absolutely amazing in lots of ways..there are 3 or 4 games that i rate them perfect 10, and this is one of them .. character and story is perfect graphics are great even today..gameplay has its own innovations..there are glitches in every game and in this one it holds to minimum ..overall immersion is one those you can never forget..a must have classic
  95. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    I tried this open before and didn't play it long enough to get into it but I bought it again and I'm really lucky I did because I would have missed one of the greatest xbox 360 games released to date I am always looking for new dating a very into his as lots of games seem to be the same cookie cutter and not a whole lot of differences but this is a unique experience that filled all of myI tried this open before and didn't play it long enough to get into it but I bought it again and I'm really lucky I did because I would have missed one of the greatest xbox 360 games released to date I am always looking for new dating a very into his as lots of games seem to be the same cookie cutter and not a whole lot of differences but this is a unique experience that filled all of my desires especially the desire to have a game I can invest a lot of time so you actually feel like connect to the people and the open world this game is amazing fun I a lot of different ways you control your game and no one game will be exactly like yours. definitely two thumbs up of a perfect 10 Expand
  96. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    This is just one of the best games of all time, history 10/10, gameplay 10/10, soundtrack 10/10, Rockstar
    redeemed after GTA IV, the games has so much to offer the scenary is beautiful if you haven´t bought this game yet because of the deception of GTA IV, don't be afraid.
  97. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Summary: This game is one of Rockstar's best.

    -------- This is a video game. It is incredible. It's gameplay is smooth and intrinsically engaging. You should probably already know what you're in for if you're looking at this review, so don't be surprised that it's a third person shooter with emphasis on the western aesthetic. You'll feel like a cowboy in this, and not the good 'ol
    Summary: This game is one of Rockstar's best.

    --------

    This is a video game. It is incredible.

    It's gameplay is smooth and intrinsically engaging. You should probably already know what you're in for if you're looking at this review, so don't be surprised that it's a third person shooter with emphasis on the western aesthetic. You'll feel like a cowboy in this, and not the good 'ol western kind, either. It's like The Unforgiven meets... well, actually, its mostly like The Unforgiven. You're going to shoot your way through tons of mooks, and probably feel pretty bad ass whilst doing it.

    However, I mention The Unforgiven because this game has an amazing storyline. I would even go into saying that the story, atmosphere, and characters of the game make it better than the gameplay itself. You can get bored of the gameplay after the solid 40+ hours you'll be asked to play it, but the story will be stuck with you long after the game isn't there. Go into the game because you want to play a game, but for the love of God, beat the game. You'll come away from it with a story.

    I only dock a single point because it has, in the past at least, suffered from the rare glitch or bug. I might even excuse that, because I don't remember actually seeing anything bad during my playthrough.
    Expand
  98. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a masterpiece. It depicts a former outlaw trying to round up his old gang and handing them over to the authorities in order to get his family back. The game takes place at the end of the "Cowboy era" and Rockstar have done magnificently to show this. The graphics and the scenery in the game are nothing short of breath-taking, the storyline is deeply engaging and has you hooked right from the beginning and the characters have been masterfully created and scripted. The AI is also amazing as is the open world gameplay. The main protagonist, John Marston will go down in history as one of the greatest video-game characters ever, and the ending will go down as one of the saddest ever. The multiplayer in the game is also fantastic with many things to do, from horse races to gang hideouts. In short, this is possibly the greatest game ever made (except perhaps GTA IV). Rockstar, you've done it again! Expand
  99. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Beautifull,emotional and mindblowing.One of the best games ever made!!! Rockstar nailed it again(surpise?hahaha,just the expected).Turn off your pc and go buy RDR!!!
  100. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Best gunslinging game Rockstar Games....ever made. Clearly beats out its superhit Grand Theft Auto IV. The gameplay's great. The cutscenes are better than GTA IV in all aspects. The graphics of the game is amazing. The storyline's great. Great game.!!! It worthed every penny i bought. I wasted my money on a great game. So, no worries..
  101. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    This game is a trip back in time, when horses and stagecoaches were the most popular means of transport and when wild buffalo roamed the prairies of Th Wild West. This game looks simply stunning and the storyline is well-balanced. This game takes you from the Mexican Desert to the the slops of the Rocky Mountains and constantly throws new environments and side quest at you. You will neverThis game is a trip back in time, when horses and stagecoaches were the most popular means of transport and when wild buffalo roamed the prairies of Th Wild West. This game looks simply stunning and the storyline is well-balanced. This game takes you from the Mexican Desert to the the slops of the Rocky Mountains and constantly throws new environments and side quest at you. You will never get bored here. With the familiar grand theft auto controls and fluent movement Rock Star keeps up with it's impressive list of productions over the years. A world full of nasty characters and here and there someone to help you, but it's clear that in The Wild West.. The only one you can trust, is yourself.. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.