User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1982 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  2. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Just like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to theJust like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to the other, exciting. Much of the gameplay consists of what feels more like chores than fun. Activities like hunting for rabbits, plucking flowers, training horses, and herding cattle. None of it is challenging. It's all just designed to waste your time. And after a few hours you'll realize that it's just exactly that: A waste of time. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hitsWith GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    One thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are oftenOne thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are often portrayed as creepy, desperate leeches or (for the female characters) vulnerable, delicate love interests. Aside from having samey characters the biggest frustration is that the story is thrust upon you. You are often forced to ride long distances listening to dreary, unfunny, chatter whilst doing nothing more difficult than holding the A button (to ride your horse alongside your companion). When you get to a mission the gameplay is dull, simple and repetitive - you will more or less complete the game and die only a handful of times.
    The game looks stunning, helped by excellent lighting and animations and the sound design helps build atmosphere (especially the rain effects!) but Red Dead Redemption is more of a tech. demo than a challenging game. If Rockstar allowed you to tell your own story within their games rather than being fixated on replicating movies then they would make something truly timeless, unfortunately this game is a miss in my book.
    Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse,It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse, in a desert, with nothing around except for around 10 small villages. The scenery is nice, but that's pretty much all you experience. If you see the the intro video you've pretty much seen it all, cause there's nothing really extra to explore. And this is coming from someone who has 100.0% completion. Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  8. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funnyI originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  9. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    Incredible story line but sub par controls...even using the V.A.T.S...oops, I mean Dead Eye controls to help overcome the clumsiness of it all. The GTA style combat was just not fun. If you switched the control settings to casual it actually makes it much harder to use the Dead Eye. In the end itâ
  10. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  11. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described asOut of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    I cannot get what everyone loves about this game. The gameplay is repetitive, the mini-games lack any kind of fun. The game is set in the west at a time of modernization, yet it's still a long way from the city, with a few farms, a ranch, a couple of small villages - so why am I, in the middle of the night, encountering about ten people out hunting, traveling or plundering in just a coupleI cannot get what everyone loves about this game. The gameplay is repetitive, the mini-games lack any kind of fun. The game is set in the west at a time of modernization, yet it's still a long way from the city, with a few farms, a ranch, a couple of small villages - so why am I, in the middle of the night, encountering about ten people out hunting, traveling or plundering in just a couple of minutes' ride? When I kill a bounty, why does his henchmen spawn non-stop to kill me, again and again, until I go back to town, and then forget all about me? Why does 50 people who wants a NPC dead wait through weeks of him alone in the wilderness, until I join him, before they try to kill him - and why do they suddenly stop when I reach another point in the wilderness (no, not a fort or a city or anything, just a curve in the road in the middle of nothing)

    Why, when on a barge in the middle of the river, being pulled along a rope, does the rope bend AGAINST the current? Why, upon saving the life of a person, will this person refuse to talk to you at all afterwards? Why, when I found a horse, sat on top, and was told hey, that's mine,, then climbed back off the horse does the owner still run to the law to say I stole his horse? Why does the game then tell me the law is coming to arrest me - only to have me, standing completely still, no weapon drawn, gunned down from behind? If you can overlook the complete failure to make the setting feel like a desolate western, the throngs of people without any kind of personality at all and the lack of coherence in structuring a society, the scenery does offer some beauty,
    Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is possibly one of the best games out there. If Bethesda Softworks made a Western game, it would look like this, except with no multiplayer. Basically what I'm saying is that Red Dead Redemption is a GREAT game. The storyline and characters are amazing. I thought this game would suck because I hate Western games, but this game changed my entire view on Western games. I got so involved in the game and loved the main character, that I CRIED when he died. I know it sounds lame, but that's how much I loved it. The multiplayer was better than I expected. I thought that with such a great singleplayer, it would degrade the multiplayer expierence. But I was wrong! The multiplayer is awesome and probably the best multiplayer there is. I love Call of Duty, but I just love Free Roam multiplayer. Overall, a great game made by a great studio, Rockstar Games, I applaud you. Expand
  15. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    I bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, andI bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, and I was halfway through the story. I just didn't bother then because it stopped being fun. So I sold it and got $30. Maybe its just me, but I really didn't think this game was good. Expand
  16. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group ofI quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group of outlaws attempting to hang someone, I tried (and failed) to shoot the noose and by the time I re-loaded it was too late. I killed all the bandits and was left with a sobbing husband kneeling below his wife. I shot the noose (I actually missed again as I'm a bit special) to get her down and felt guilt, I could of changed the outcome. From that moment I was sucked into a dynamic living breathing world, intent on wiping out all the scum and the main plot has finally got me interested after an initial misfire. Expand
  17. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones),This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones), with some well done dialogue (But nowhere near as good as mass effect, nothing will be). The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is because of a few glitches and bugs, especially the 100% glitch (Still got Redeemed though), but rockstar has announced they're addressing the issue. Expand
  18. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off itThis game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time.Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  20. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  21. Sep 2, 2010
    3
    This is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast thenThis is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast then slow, etc. The story was slow. Repeditive shoot outs, riding your horse for five minutes at a time (thats a long time just to get to a store), and a really uninteresting story. Don't buy this game. Also, video game magazines rate every over hyped game at least a 90. Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  23. Oct 12, 2010
    2
    the game is boring like assassins creed 1 & 2 all you do is run around and shoot/punch people and there isn't a good story to it. Thats what makes it boring
  24. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    the single most over hyped crap of a game in the history of games.

    ride around picking flowers. oh how fun. there is no challenge to this game, you want beautiful scenery?, rent a DVD of the grand canyon. F off with this game.
  25. May 28, 2011
    3
    With limited time and at least 12 unopened games yet to be played I just can't bring myself to waste any more time on this game. The dialouge is only ok the combat is easy the quests are repetitive and I just cant shake the feeling that im playing gta:wild west. The minigames are probably the only marginal bit of fun to be found in this game. This just goes to show that they always sneak aWith limited time and at least 12 unopened games yet to be played I just can't bring myself to waste any more time on this game. The dialouge is only ok the combat is easy the quests are repetitive and I just cant shake the feeling that im playing gta:wild west. The minigames are probably the only marginal bit of fun to be found in this game. This just goes to show that they always sneak a few overhyped games in that just flat out dont deserve it. The boredom and sheer disappointment of this game is almost as obvious as 9/11 being a inside job or that flouride in your water and toothpaste is poision. Please dont buy this but maybe rent it if there is nothing else you would rather play.The graphics are good and thats the only reason I gave this game a 3. The lowest scored game ive rated so far. Expand
  26. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for characterGuess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  27. May 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! It is virtually a living world where you can do anything. Great story, great characters. This game is limited only by your imagination!
  28. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a numberGrand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  29. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  30. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    Not being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damnNot being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damn horse on the initial intro to the game. Sorry Rockstar, fix your stuff before you put games out. Glitches should be a thing of the past. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.