User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2246 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hitsWith GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  2. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  3. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  4. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Just like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to theJust like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to the other, exciting. Much of the gameplay consists of what feels more like chores than fun. Activities like hunting for rabbits, plucking flowers, training horses, and herding cattle. None of it is challenging. It's all just designed to waste your time. And after a few hours you'll realize that it's just exactly that: A waste of time. Expand
  5. SeanW
    May 20, 2010
    3
    Really...10/10? What are you critics smoking? The game is simply GTAIV with an overhaul of the game assets to a Western theme. The gameplay is almost identical to anything you've seen in the GTA franchise, the voice acting is terrible and some of the elements of gameplay are tedious and long winded. This is about the most unoriginal thing I've played all year and I cannot Really...10/10? What are you critics smoking? The game is simply GTAIV with an overhaul of the game assets to a Western theme. The gameplay is almost identical to anything you've seen in the GTA franchise, the voice acting is terrible and some of the elements of gameplay are tedious and long winded. This is about the most unoriginal thing I've played all year and I cannot understand how people can rate this anything over a 6 or 7 at best. Collapse
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  8. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off itThis game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time.Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  10. RyanJ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    An utterly beautiful game. The comparisons to Grand Theft Auto are fair only in the vein that the open-world genre has never looked more beautiful or contained more things to do. Other than that, I think reviewers are just comparing their level of awe to when they first played GTA IV. Yes, it's that good.
  11. GiovanniC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the similarities that you see between this and GTA. How pathetic are you that you have to come to review site and spend an hour not listing anything constructive. Please go to another website and hurt somebody else's eyes with your terrible grammer. On to other things, this game is great. For anybody who is a fan old spaghetti westerns and sandbox shooters, this is a must play. The story shows the struggle of changing times better than any other game I've ever played. It perfectly reflects the old times of the wild west: the barren wasteland, the gentlemen and vagabonds, the fighting. The gunplay added with the new physics engine, makes for some of the best shooting in gaming. No lie, I'd play this game a million times! Expand
  12. BomB.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are especially good, but the character animations generally dont support the voice acting. I suggest this game to anyone who liked GTA 4 or/ and Clint Eastwood. Expand
  13. SysR
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about the game repetitive except when someone blows up my getaway vehicle in Cops N Crooks. Now I'm wondering, what kinda game or what game in particular would you give a 10/10? Because Rockstar's GTA: IV and RDR are A-list games that deliver the goods on so many levels I could go on for hours and hours about how Rockstar has changed video games and brought something (almost) real to video gaming. I'd rather not go on for hours about how wrong you are. What the hell is wrong though, seriously? Expand
  14. ToJesseJ.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and some still thinks that HL1 is better allthough HL2 is a magnificent game and compering Devil May Cry to Bayonetta, because they are in the same genre and are directed by the same people. And Jesse J., stop bullshiting around lock on shooting, a mehanic that you can TURN OFF in both GTA4 and RDR. Red Dead Redemption is a magnificent game, with a great art style, many different mehanics, great story (for a game) and characters, and a most believing world that I've seen in a videogame. Expand
  15. stephens
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love it. The people playing online (from the genuine laughs and screams) are having a great time with this game and so you should as well! If you had a slight fancy for GTAIV's decent multiplayer your gonna LOVE RDR's craziness! Expand
  16. AaronS.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Jesse, I just wanted to tell you that you're an idiot. You haven't played the game, I can tell by your review. You just want to bitch and moan about anything that's popular to try to be cool. People like you are ruining the internet, shut the fuck up. anyway, the game strikes the tones of all great westerns. It's not perfect, but it's close enough for me to give it a 10.
  17. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  18. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  19. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for characterGuess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  20. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a numberGrand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  21. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  22. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of anWow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  23. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  24. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best cowboy game I have ever played with a good story, good aiming and good horse riding. I would like to congratulate rock star on making this game because it is a master piece.
  25. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  26. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  27. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  28. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of justThis game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  29. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the bestThere is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  30. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. AI LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.