User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    4
    You want to know what this is? It's basically a generic, boring third-person shooter with the Resident Evil name and characters. It's like a terrible fan-fiction. The game plays fine, but it's riddled with bugs, terrible glitches and the pacing of a full grown man with an IQ of 30. If you want to play an average third-person shooter go ahead! But it's a waste of $60. I already traded it in and Gamestop only gave me $27.50. WOW. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    4
    I was excited about ORC until I saw gameplay. That left me disheartened, but I still had hope that it would keep some of the Resident Evil feel. Instead, what we get is a game that supposedly takes place in the same time as RE2, and plays like Gears of War. I bought a game with Resident Evil on it... that plays like GoW. It doesn't just play like GoW though, it plays like a s***ty version of it. The controls are decent at best, hit detection is questionable, AI is awful; this game is a mess. This is probably one of the worst games I've played in the last ten years that made it to retail. DNF was better than this. Yes, I said it, but that's my opinion, and I honestly had MUCH more fun with Duke Nukem Forever than I did with Op. Raccoon City. Sure this features zombies, but they take way too many bullets to kill (more than they did in the first three games). The one possible saving grace would have been the story, and that is s*** too. That isnt all though, the game has NO split screen! That means no local co op in a forced co op game.... that is unacceptable. You shouldn't need four 360's in order to do four player Co Op in house! I dunno if Capcom got the memo, but people can go over to other peoples houses, and when someone brings a game like this over, its expected that it has f***ing split screen! That may blow someones mind, but its true. Not to mention that to get a game going online could take a while; launch day I tried to go online and I could find no one to play with. Not kidding. Either there is a problem with the online, or no one bought this game, but I doubt the latter. I give this mess a four out of ten, only because the game actually runs, there and the mechanics work most (note that word "MOST") of the time. The rest is dookie. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: ORC is an awful game.
    the story is.. nonexistent. the combat is awful and shooting mechanic is extremely frustrating and bad.
    in some parts of the game the sound is actually good like foot steps and some music, but at the most it is straight up bad - the guns sound like toys and the zombies, soldiers and the voice acting is awful.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    Very disappointing instalment in the resident evil franchise.This game could have worked but in the end it just feels broken. Clumsy A.I , predictable gameplay and dull combat makes this a below average game. This could have been a fantastic game but it just falls flat . For starters: It would have been cool to shoot a enemy that's running towards you in full speed in the leg and watch them fall over and crawl to still try and attack you. The bullet hit detection is horrible... It almost feels as if your shooting a wall most of time because bodyparts hardly react when a bullet hits them and unless you get a headshot most enemies require almost a whole clip to kill which is sad because this is 2012 .. this game feels like it was made for the original xbox. This by all mean does not mean that i think this is a bad game... just a broken one. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    4
    This game is horrible. It's not fun and the animations and graphics suck. It is nothing like a Resident evil game at all instead they tried to make it some sort of cover based shooter. They failed. If your a RE fan your going to be much more than dissapointed and even if your a newcomer good luck having fun.
  7. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City bad games. I love Resident Evil series, but I don't love spin-off for Resident Evil. This game copy Left 4 Dead for multiplayer and bad story with bags and crazy gameplay. Shooter gameplay kill horror on Resident Evil. Why play and buy this game, if i have Left 4 Dead 1,2 and Resident 1-5 and I saw great spin-off Resident Evil: Revelations? Thanks, I don't have this game. Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    Nope, simply no. Third person shooters are good, but mixing the Resident Evil gameplay with Third Person Shooter simply... doesn't work.
    Probably the most disappointing game of the year. Really hope Resident Evil 6 has a 100% different gameplay, this simply doesn't feel right, sell the game and buy yourself something else, or save for a better game, this game is simply bad
  9. May 4, 2012
    4
    After waiting months for what seemed like a team shooter drawing on all the best of the RE series and improving on its flaws, this was disappointing in more ways than one. Poorly executed battle mechanics and cumbersome movement interface coupled with bullet-sponge enemies and set piece sequences turned what could have been something great into what could be the gaming let-down of the year.
  10. May 23, 2012
    4
    Without the Resident Evil-name on it this would be nothing. It is really funny and interesting to see the story on the umbrella security-service and coop is fun for some hours, but that is it in the end. The graphics are very bad for present standards and the gameplay (controls) lacks precision and just is not smooth enough. Sure it is an shortly enjoyable campaign and the multiplayer modes can be funny too, but the awful AI, the real bad graphics and the controls destroy all the good points in this game. There are a lot of DLCs out right now and I think this is an awful rip-off too. Expand
  11. May 30, 2013
    4
    Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City was disappointing on so many levels that I can't do it justice on this sight. To give it a little grace, the multiplayer was alright and I enjoyed the campaign, but this is definitely not Resident Evil anymore. This is 3rd person shooter, with cover system and zombies. It was kinda fun, but at the same time I grew bored because I forgot this was a Resident Evil game. Can't recommend it, but there are worse games out there. Expand
  12. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    I played only singleplayer, but the AI is terrible, bad story and sounds. Uncontrollable on PC. Short and repetitive campaign, only 3-4 hours long. No waste your money!
  13. dz9
    Mar 24, 2012
    3
    I don't "hate" on this game because of my unwillingness to adapt to the new look. I honestly thought this was a welcome refreshing new look for resident evil (a non main series one however), but where do I begin? This game had so much promise, a good premise, an innovative concept, and for it to fail knowing that... is just inexcusable. The main problem with the game is the shooting and the AI for both your allies and your enemies. The crosshair often times gets mixed up with the red dot sight in the middle and you come to realize you have no idea where your shooting, it feels as if one developer wanted auto-aim but his partner wanted to implement free shooting, but instead of compromising they both just made it their own way and now were playing the confusing aiming they made. On top of that, the camera work is clunky, and the no buttons cover system is unreliable, sometimes you go for an item on the floor and you get sucked into the wall or you want to cover but theirs an unresponsive lag and you get killed before the game lets you suction to it ... and to add insult to injury, enemies are repetitive and dull, and it seems that some of your bullets are made out of styrofoam because sometimes, enemies just absorb them with absolutely no justification for it. Probably the worse thing about this is the AI, which rivals the AI that we have seen in N64 era. There is NO excuse for this, when your playing with AI bot team mates, they constantly walk into your path, which sometimes cause you to run in place and get stuck, they constantly run into traps like mad men, and they are precisely no help. Sometimes, your medic or what have you will assist you or heal you, but its very inconsistent and unreliable, and due to this, your better off just accepting that you are by yourself as alone and just forgetting you have teammates. The enemies are a little bit better however, the zombies are perfectly stupid as they should be, but the soldiers you fight seem to run out in the opening randomly and sometimes repeat the same actions repeatedly. Small problems to add to the pile is the fact that most of the environments are bland and forgettable with just a few exceptions, and the story that the series demands is completely absent. This game isn't a complete lost although, when you are fighting zombies with no USS soldiers, the game has the genuine resident evil feel mixed with action that the game promised, and the addition of the infected system adds tension in an otherwise bland game. The bleeding system is a good afterthought, and if the shooting was actually good, this would be an amazing addition. The online is a little better, the cooperation aspects of the game is pretty enjoyable but however, you never can avoid the clunky camera, the horrible shooting mechanics, and the lack of story motivation to even pick up the game. The Good: Infected system, zombie fighting is fun and lifting, nostalgia of seeing old RE characters. The Bad: Cover system, no story, awful shooting, glitchy presentation, and clunky overall camera and controls. In the End: Even as a hardcore RE fan, I couldn't even pretend to enjoy this game. There is no clever look upon the original story in any way, simply... just pass on this title completely! Expand
  14. Mar 21, 2012
    3
    It's **** I won't lie the friendly AI sucks, the level design is lazy, story is near non-existent, it takes a full magazine to take down 3 zombies and for whatever reason they never put in head shot detection on zombies. This is the kind of game you should buy with a couple buddies when it's $20 just for a laugh. You can have fun in it but only with a few good friends otherwise it'll be a lonely boring turd. Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2012
    3
    Slant Six doesnt understand why their game is getting bad ratings.. Well I will try my best to clarify that with a simple review.. The game is subpar at best.. Bad AI. Dumb Teammate A.I , Broken, predictable gameplay.. Decent storyline.. Tons of glitches and bugs.. Boring characters.. NOT worth the 60 dollars. Not even worth 30 dollars Used. NOT worth to rent at the Redbox or Gamefly.. The only reason why people bought the game was because it had Resident Evil as the title.. Capcom, you are really messing up.. If youre going to do a part 2, dont let Slant Six work on it.. Expand
  16. Apr 2, 2012
    3
    This is not a Resident Evil game at all at first I was a little happy I could finally move and shoot but the whole tactics idea came into play and that just doesn't seem like it fits for a RE game. Squads is not a big part in the series and they went out on a limb with it. Also it feels like maybe the creators where being rushed because there is not a very large storyline other then oh no zombies kill them cover up. Graphics were nice though. I'm hoping that six is much better than this. Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    Expected much more from this game. Story can be completed in 2-3 hours. Many problems concerning the gameplay as well. Save your money and buy the Silent Hill HD collection.
  18. Mar 21, 2012
    3
    Guys... I can't be any more disappointed in this game. I'm a huge Resident Evil fan, and I was a HUGE Socom fan, so I was pumped. This is not only the worst Resident Evil game, but one of the worst games ever created. I can't believe this was even allowed to be $60. I played it for 10 minutes and I was done. It makes me sad to say this, but if they may have single handedly ruin my intrest in any Resident Evil series after today. Great looking character. Poor story. Choppy gameplay. Worst A. I. In any game ever. Sound is horrific. Expand
  19. Apr 4, 2012
    3
    I wish i had know prior to pre-ordering that this wasn't a typical resident evil game. The game feels weak. Poor graphics and AI. Feels like darkness is used more to hide the graphical deficiencies rather than to set mood
  20. Apr 12, 2012
    3
    This game was a huge disappointment to me, I expected so much more from it. Terrible friendly Ai, clunky controls, repetitive gameplay, just plain annoying boss fights, such a short game, and a terrible storyline. The only thing I liked about this was the new combat system, but even that has flaws. The enemy Ai are on a whole different level from the ally Ai, seriously I'd have teammates shooting a wall for 5 minutes or just not moving at all. And my idea of a good boss fight isn't sniping some merc in the head for 10 minutes as he lobs grenades at you till command calls you off saying he isn't a priority. Or how about fighting a B.O.W. with a gattling gun who either shreds you to pieces or is to dumb to aim a bit higher to actually hit you. Versus is basically the only good point about this game. Expand
  21. May 16, 2012
    3
    This is the worst Resident Evil game since outbreak! The shooting mechanics of this game is criminal.
    But what really ticks me off is when the computer controlled characters run up to gun wielding enemies with a knife! Talk about don't bring a knife to gun fight sheeesh.
  22. Nov 5, 2014
    3
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City takes you back to the RE: 2 story and setting during the initial outbreak in Raccoon City but you take the controls of Umbrella Spec Ops tasked to clean up this mess and cover up the incident. Sounds great right? That's what i thought too. This was the last game I purchased that I was unsure about and went into it blind. It also turned me off paid games for awhile, going back to free to play games.

    Pros of the game? What pros? The idea in and of its self i thought was amazing. Its a true spinoff of the series. Resident Evil as of late has totally abandoned its survival roots and went PURE action. This has been very disappointing in the series, and the idea of an action spinoff series like this I believe is a great idea. It would of given fans a different take on the game series following a part of the story a lot of the fans find the best part of the whole series. Unfortunately though the idea was great, at least in my eyes, they executed it completely wrong.

    Cons? Everything. The movement and combat feels awful. It reminds me a lot of 3rd person shooters from the PS2 era. Nothing seems polished or finalized, it honestly feels like an alpha of a future game. Some of the voice acting is alright, but most of the time it is a comedy show running and you cant help but to laugh. Dialog is awful and the story is just a joke. You eventually come into contact with a T1 Tyrant, which you cannot kill. You basically just run from it. Most classes are worthless, and people will be fighting trying to play Lupo, Vector and Spectre. And the end of the game you get the choice to save or kill Clair and Leon, the most generic choice ever and nothing is explained before or after.

    The game is bundled with a DLC that I never even bothered to download, which i believe covers the government ops that are shown in the triple threat trailer, basically giving you 2 bad games for the price of one.

    Overall the idea i think is great to have this type of a spinoff, but it needs to be done properly. The combat needs a huge overhaul to fix, a proper story with good voice actors. Fix these HUGE issues and they could have had a good spin off series. If rereleased by a different developer, i would try it again. All i can say from this game and the new DMC game is Capcom, keep your babies IN HOUSE.

    3/10
    Expand
  23. Aug 18, 2014
    2
    I really, really, REALLY wanted to like this. It was my first full Resident Evil experience too, but after playing the single-player, I am ashamed that it.

    The controls were confusing, the layouts of maps were terrible, the AI was horrendous, there weren't enough checkpoints (IMO) and the campaign was short too. Combat was a bit dull as well.

    If you're going to unlock all the
    achievements in this game, I STRONGLY advise playing in co-op. This game is completely broken and Slant Six should be ashamed that they rushed this out of the door. Expand
  24. Mar 29, 2012
    2
    This game was really necessary? It has nothing to do with Resident Evil at all. I don't know if Capcom is really getting any benefit from these crappy spin offs and bad use of a popular franchise name. Please Capcom stop giving your franchise to cheap studios and take more care about them.
  25. Jul 23, 2012
    2
    Quite simply an abomination to the series. Not even going to go into it. Seriously why would anyone want to relive the garbage they just waded through. The game experience was that bad I just want to forget this piece of crap ever existed.
  26. May 2, 2012
    2
    Was Capcom under the influence when making this? The idea behind this "game" was amazing, but once you pop it in, you'll realize that this game was just filler until RE6 and that Capcom only made this game in order to expand the budget for RE6. The companion AI might aswell be non-exisistent, and the fact that I only made it through the first level and realized that is a big red flag. The shooting is made to be weak and just downright stupid, and enemy AI might as well be actual braindead zombies themselves. Just wait for RE 6 to release, nothing to see here Expand
  27. Mar 22, 2012
    2
    Ok so I was duped...Duped into buying this game, why? Because I had a brief viewing of this game at E3 and as I watched someone else play the game on a big screen it did look sexy. But my time watching it at E3 was, well...too brief. I've seen you say, well its another resident evil game what did you expect? 1st off I've never played any resident evil games, just seen the movies, secondly this game was supposed to be going in an entirely different direction than the rest of the RE games - anticipation and expectations were high. Well...the **** game is a dud.

    Lets start off with a few observations after livestreaming it the other night. #1 - the AI is on an moronic level I just can't seem to get past, your companions run in front of you like a fat kid in COD always running in front of you to steal your kill, but in this game the **** occasionally shoot back at the zombie. #2 - sloppy camera controls and no controller sensitivity! Yes there is a sensitivity toggle in the options menu, and after screwing around with it I learned it did absolutely **** all - so your stuck with a low sensitivity, need to turn around quick because 80 zombies are crawling up your ass, guess what, your just gonna have to deal with them crawling in your ass. The in game music is so light I feel like I'm playing **** mario cart or some ****ed up Wii game which makes me want to rush out into a ditch to get the last shred of self respect back I once had...And the in-game sounds such as weapon sounds feels like I'm shooting BB's at the **** zombies. And zombie sounds, I just don't feel trapped in a city with a horde of undead growling, gurggling, or making those well known squishy sounds I've grown to love from the zombie genre. And the voice acting is - well its on par with your saturday morning cartoons which this game basically feels like during any cut scene #3 - As far as glitchy graphics, blood spatters appear and re-appear in the game which is all I could really tell because the camera controls are so awkward and clunky and makes the hair on the back of my ass stand up in protest! And who ever was the **** genius who said, "lets make it where all you have to do is walk up to an object or structure and the character will automatically take cover." OMG...this is probably one of the most frustrating aspects of the game for me because like in gears you have to actually click a button to stick to a surface and cover. This game your character is literally mister **** velcro, get close to a wall and you'll stick to it, get close to a locked door, stick to it, boxes, stick to it. ****!

    And omg the first boss, or should I say some bad ass dude with an eyeball growing out of his shoulder that looks like **** MO from the 3-stooges. No semblence of horror at all, this thing literally looks like a pissed off MO slamming a big stick on the ground, with an eyeball on his shoulder. And you don't even get to kill it, you have to run away from it. And you cant even run around him, or behind him, the game literally forces you to go a certain way! I mean they were going for this 3rd person squad based zombie horror survival game they could have taken some **** hints from Gears of War. I am so unimpressed, unimused and wished I had **** redboxed this craptastic game. Capcom, hey zombies sell well, horror survival sells well, it doesn't matter if the game stinks, it'll make our rent for the 2 years. With all of the competition out there for console games you'd think they would have at least put some **** time into making this game, it could have been so awesome but instead is a $60 paper weight. Ok so I'll fall on this grenade and buy the game, so I can basically tell you NOT TO! Oh well at least Aliens colonial Marines is on the horizon. But in the meantime, Resident Evil Operation Raccoon **** is NOT BRU APPROVED, and if you bought it on launch, wipe your ass with the disc and take back to tell them the **** stains on the disc killed your xbox, and tell em' brumac sent ya.
    Expand
  28. Mar 31, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Operation Raccoon City one dissapointment after the another. I knew it wouldn't be a "Proper" Resi game, we haven't had one of those for some time, but I at least expected it to be worth it's salt and FUN. It is neither of these things. Some terrible design choices, gunplay, AI, and overall polish leave the game in a horrible position. This is where the only way you can even get a minute bit of enjoyment out of it is to go on Co-op and laugh at how bad the game is with your friends. The game starts out as it means to go on, with making you run down a corridor, or con-straining you in a very small area and having you fight Soldiers, Zombies, B.O.W's, or all three. With the wealth of material surrounding the Raccoon story, the story is poorly linked with the story of Resident Evil 2, offers no additional content and is just plain boring. Most of the time the game is purely frustrating, with little to no fun at all. It is an endless slog-fest of holding down the right trigger and sobbing at the lack of fun and ingenuity. I will offer an example, actually, I will offer many. The game will often put you in a room and put monster boxes everywhere, until you complete an objective. At one point, you are "Fighting" Ada Wong, who you see ONCE in the entire game. She is at the end of a tiny corridor. The Corridor is mined, and has explosive barrels everywhere. The cover system (Clunky as all hell and just..plain bad.) becomes your worst enemy as you try to move quickly. Her pistol does 3 times the damage any other normal pistol fire does, and she throws Incendiary grenades at you. When you finally reach her at the end of the corridor, she turns and leisurely jogs out of the room, and your team-mates announce, "She escaped". This is OP Raccoon in a nutshell. Now for the most amazing thing ever, and sealed the deal for me. You know how they touted you being able to "Kill Leon Kennedy" ? Oh yeah, it happens. You seem him for the first time in mission five out of seven. Then, at the very end of the game, you catch up to him and you get a decision. You either press the left trigger to "Execute" him, or press the right trigger to "Defend" him. The game then suddenly decides with no explanation, no cutscene or anything to suddenly transport Leon into a building. If you chose Execute (This is the only ending I've played, but I assume it's the same for Defend too, just flipped around.) you are suddenly against two of your AI team-mates and Leon Kennedy. ?????

    Yup, suddenly, and with no explanation, two of your team defect to the other side and try to stop you from killing him. Yyyyyyyyuuuuuuuuuuuuup. So you have to kill them, then kill Kennedy, where you get a crappy little cutscene and then credits roll. Not impressed.

    I also want to comment on how badly this game is balanced. The evade mechanic is so clunky, you have to press in the left stick and a direction, then press the A button to evade. Why couldn't it just be A and a direction? Too hard? This gets particularly fun when there are enemies that melee you to death rushing at you. Not. Also, every single soldier takes a ridiculous amount of bullets, and don't die instantly if you shoot them in the head. All in all, OP Raccoon City is a terrible game, avoid it. Go play Gears of War and imagine the Locust are Zombies. Much better.
    Expand
  29. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    The franchise parody known as Operation Raccoon City... What a dissapointment this game was. This is run and gun trash out its worst. There were 6 out most builds for zombies, so if there are 20 zombies on the screen the majority of them will be wearing the same thing--it was the Super Mario 2 of Resident Evil games. I couldn't have been more upset with this title. We all just need to wait for SIX to come out near the end of the year... This should have been a XBLA game for 1200 points, not a retail waste of shelf space. http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  30. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    I love Resident Evil. I'm a 27 year old man-child who dresses up as a zombie for Halloween. I loves me EVERYTHING associated with this franchise.

    This game is absolute **** It's not "it doesn't keep with the spirit of the game, it's not keeping with the cannon blah blah blah". The game is just half assed and broken. It's a horrible shooter. I reralize I'm comparing it to Mass Effect 3 and
    Crysis 2, but if mythical space aliens can only take 3-4 rounds to the head, random Umbrella guys should be following suit. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2012
    40
    The characters, the story, the controls, the difficulty, and even the central premise... all of it seems to be on the right track, but none of it hits the mark. I still think there's a lot of potential here, but like any other game, the basics have to be nailed before it can start reaching for greatness.
  2. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    An insult to Resident Evil fans, a failure at the most basic level for shooter fans, and a possible friendship-ender for those looking for a cooperative experience, Raccoon City is a disaster zone better left abandoned.