Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 6 out of 7
  1. Jul 27, 2013
    45
    As a game it's just ok, but there are some quite frustrating issues –as the cover system– that end up weakening the final experience.
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Unlike the dedicated officers of the R.I.P.D., do yourself a favor and just let this one go. I don’t think this needs anymore words to get that point across.
  3. 40
    Do yourself a favor: leave R.I.P.D. in its grave.
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    34
    I have reviewed some bad games, but this is even bad even for movie tie-in games. This is bad on the level of Aquaman bad.
  5. 30
    Ready, Deadie, Gone. And don't come back. [Sept 2013, p.93]
  6. Jul 18, 2013
    30
    R.I.P.D.: The Game is really nothing more than a crappy movie tie-in game in the longstanding tradition of crappy movie tie-in games. There’s not much substance here, and what you do get is so unpolished and unrewarding that it’s not worth your time.
User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 3 out of 3
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    Blatant re-skin of the developers last game "GODMODE" a game that was truly terrible. the only thing better about this game is how bad it is.
    Shovel ware is shovel ware 8/10 effort on ripping people off.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    1
    While i only played through the demo i can tell you this much. If you waste any money on this you are the biggest sucker in the history of mankind. You see it is not every day you see a game that slaps in you in the face for using such weapons as the shotgun or the pistol. No nor do you see it impossible to get a head shot with any weapon except the shotgun. But it gets worse my friends you see all this game is was a multi-player co-op mode with so far no story with a bet system that made little to no sense and worst of all it is relatively unplayable no joke you move so stiff it is like your character model is a robot with rusted joint and to add insult to injury the models are so ugly it is not even funny. the textures on the guns look like they are just models and there animations help them seem like toys. Also it looks like it came from the year 2000 with all the texture problems. But of all things it all things it came out before the movie. So if you had 9.99 on steam or Xbox or even ps3 i would buy anything other than this game. But at least the decided not to charge us 60 dollars like games like iron man 2 an all that. But that was the only good thing about the game. Full Review »
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    0
    When I initially jumped into this tie-in game, my expectations were rather low; R.I.P.D. is a downloadable video game based off a floundering Summer movie based off a relatively obscure comic book. It didn't have a lot going for it. With that said, it appears the developers didn't even attempt to create anything of worth. The gameplay is your run-of-the-mill third-person shoot-fest, where the sole objective is to mow down all of the baddies on screen to progress to the next wave. Physics in the game feel archaic, as though they were ripped straight from some B-tier Gamecube game. Additionally, the graphics are rather poor, especially in comparison to the year-old downloadable title, Alan Wake's American Nightmare. In short, this game, much like the "Deados" the Department is trying to capture, should just rest in peace. Full Review »