Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Sep 17, 2012
    93
    In closing, I can't help but think a local co-op option would have been a great addition that would have attracted a wider audience. If you couple this with the fact that Rock Band 3 songs are still unable to be imported, there are a couple of things that stop this from being a 100% scoring game, but nonetheless, it is still a fantastic entry into the rhythm game genre.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    93
    In the end I came to the conclusion that made the most sense – Rock Band Blitz is another accessory for my Rock Band experience. When you stop thinking about it as a separate product, picking up this downloadable title just makes sense.
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    Bloody brilliant. [Issue#90, p.90]
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    90
    Blitz is a game that gives as much as you put into it. Keep an extensive music library and group of leaderboard rivals and its longevity is potentially massive. The packaged 25 songs definitely won't be enough to sate your fill, and once you get the hang of its complex systems you'll be chasing down those high scores in a fervour that you haven't experienced since the rhythm game heyday.
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    Rock Band Blitz works as not only an extension of the Harmonix brand, but also as a stand-alone action game full of cool power-ups and competitive leaderboards. Plus, it's a set of mostly great songs that can be played in Rock Band 3. It doesn't matter if you shred with a fake plastic guitar, retired from the road long ago or are playing for the first time; Rock Band Blitz has a little something for everybody!
  6. Sep 4, 2012
    90
    After a rocky couple of years for rhythm-action, in which Guitar Hero came to an end and Rock Band 3 failed to repeat the retail success of its predecessors, it's fantastic to see Harmonix back on top with a game that reinvigorates the genre in new and interesting ways. But, more than that, it's just great to have an extremely playable reason to return to some old favourite songs.
  7. Sep 3, 2012
    90
    For $15, I had an incredible time with Blitz, and I'm definitely going to be playing more of it as time goes on given the steady stream of DLC that Harmonix throws out every week.
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    90
    Rock Band Blitz defines a new era of addiction for the franchise, presenting a worthwhile effort to Xbox Live Arcade that will draw you in for months at a time.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This is what you call a true sleeper hit.There is unlimited replay value and a game that surprised me in just about every way.I didn't think it was possible for a video game to be so fun.The company that's direction was going for simulation in music gaming comes back and slaps us in the face with arcade genius.Whenever I wanted to play the arcade versions of music I would pop in one of my Guitar Hero games and just have good ol' fashion fun.When I wanted to play a little on the real side of the music genre I would play my Rock Band collection,not saying that I will quit playing GH games but this is a big reason in my mind to play this work of art before I play my next GH game,just BRILLIANT! Full Review »
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Blending elements from their earlier games, Frequency/Amplitude with Rock Band on PSP, throwing in power-ups and a highly competitive scoring mechanism has lead to one of the most addicting titles I have played in years. Lookins at videos, it is easy to get weary about this game. With only 2 notes to play per track, I didn't see how it could stand up to Frequency/Amplitude. Luckily, the way it is set up, you are thankful there isn't 3 notes per lane. You use the joysticks to 'flick' each note, at first it is daunting, but eventually you learn finesse and everything clicks.

    Rock Band Blitz manages to be quite a fun arcade game, I really hope they continue to make new ways to play my music since all my Rock Band DLC works perfectly fine in this game, effectively making replay a near infinite thing...especially when you think about replaying songs over and over to improve your tactics and strategy. I sat down and played for 6 hours straight last night and only left because I needed sleep for work, the game is addictive and hard to put down. Now I am at work and can't stop thinking about this game. That is how you know they made something special.

    I have not been let down by Harmonix yet. They managed to improve upon the formula of their first games, while giving me extra value out of the hundreds of DLC tracks I have bought for Rock Band over the years...that is just an unbeatable deal. If you are someone who still plays Rock Band or has stopped but still has a mountain of DLC, there should be nothing stopping you from picking up this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    the game is quite annoying, but the fact that the songs import freely is the best thing of this game, it's just disappointing, but I'd say if you're into this type of games go for it, spend some 1200MSP (NOTE: this isn't really a Rhythm Videogame like previous ones). As for the setlist, "One Week", "Spoonman" and "Give It Away" are the best of this offer Full Review »