User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    This is what you call a true sleeper hit.There is unlimited replay value and a game that surprised me in just about every way.I didn't think it was possible for a video game to be so fun.The company that's direction was going for simulation in music gaming comes back and slaps us in the face with arcade genius.Whenever I wanted to play the arcade versions of music I would pop in one of my Guitar Hero games and just have good ol' fashion fun.When I wanted to play a little on the real side of the music genre I would play my Rock Band collection,not saying that I will quit playing GH games but this is a big reason in my mind to play this work of art before I play my next GH game,just BRILLIANT! Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Blending elements from their earlier games, Frequency/Amplitude with Rock Band on PSP, throwing in power-ups and a highly competitive scoring mechanism has lead to one of the most addicting titles I have played in years. Lookins at videos, it is easy to get weary about this game. With only 2 notes to play per track, I didn't see how it could stand up to Frequency/Amplitude. Luckily, the way it is set up, you are thankful there isn't 3 notes per lane. You use the joysticks to 'flick' each note, at first it is daunting, but eventually you learn finesse and everything clicks.

    Rock Band Blitz manages to be quite a fun arcade game, I really hope they continue to make new ways to play my music since all my Rock Band DLC works perfectly fine in this game, effectively making replay a near infinite thing...especially when you think about replaying songs over and over to improve your tactics and strategy. I sat down and played for 6 hours straight last night and only left because I needed sleep for work, the game is addictive and hard to put down. Now I am at work and can't stop thinking about this game. That is how you know they made something special.

    I have not been let down by Harmonix yet. They managed to improve upon the formula of their first games, while giving me extra value out of the hundreds of DLC tracks I have bought for Rock Band over the years...that is just an unbeatable deal. If you are someone who still plays Rock Band or has stopped but still has a mountain of DLC, there should be nothing stopping you from picking up this game.
    Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    Rock Band Blitz is very similar in heart to Rock Band Unplugged or Amplitude, the idea is to hit buttons in rhythm instead of using peripherals to pseudo-mimic the actions of a real instrument to play the game. Blitz essentially feels like Rock Band lite, but the gameplay is stellar. If you are in way a fan of Rhythm games, Rock Band Blitz is the game for you. The value of the game is increased by the fact that you can export all the tracks to your HDD and play them with all your peripherals in Rock Band 3. Furthermore, the replay value is increased by being instantly compatible with EVERY single downloaded Rock Band track you own on your HDD. So, if you are a person like me with somewhere in the area of 10GB of Rock Band tracks, then you will get so much replay value off this game. One of the greatest things about Blitz in my opinion is that this game can be as casual or as hardcore as you want it to be, the hardcore reach the top of the leaderboards, but the casual gamer still gets hours of entertainment off this game, and since you cannot fail, it is very accessible. The only downside to Blitz is that you always have to be connected to Harmonix's Rock Central servers to record your highscores and gain new powerups and coins to use said powerups (yes, you have to earn the right to use powerups on each song, so spend wisely). In all, you owe it to yourself to at least try the demo of this game if you love Rhythm games, and I encourage everyone to check this one out, it is a nice addition to the Rock Band franchise. Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    Very addicting, hypnotic, but all Blitz is is a more modern version of Amplitude. That being said, that game stole many hours of my life. The mechanics are a little easier than Amplitude however, instead of hitting specific buttons, you press the thumb sticks in the direction of the "note." But the best aspect about this, in my opinion, is that it uses all of your Rockband 3 data. A great game to play when just needing to kill some time and chill out. Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2012
    5
    the game is quite annoying, but the fact that the songs import freely is the best thing of this game, it's just disappointing, but I'd say if you're into this type of games go for it, spend some 1200MSP (NOTE: this isn't really a Rhythm Videogame like previous ones). As for the setlist, "One Week", "Spoonman" and "Give It Away" are the best of this offer
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    For long-time fans of Frequency and Amplitude prior to the Guitar Hero and Rock Band era, Rock Band Blitz is a more accessible and no less engaging experience. If you immersed yourself in those games as much as my friends and I did (ultimately, Amplitude is what brought my wife and I together), Rock Band Blitz is a big 'ol love letter straight from Harmonix... just make sure you change up the controller to a less alien mapping. Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    This game is a lot of fun. It is a wonderful step in the right direction for a genre that seemed to be losing its muster. The fact that all previous downloaded content works with this game is incredible and the price is too cheap to not purchase this game if you enjoy playing Rock Band. The coin system, which ultimately makes you play through songs without going for a high score, is the only negative about the game. My thumbs hurt from playing so much. Expand
  8. Jul 11, 2014
    9
    If you had a hard and rough day and if you just want to lay back and chill to a simple and thrilling game, this game is right for you! It is mostly just a simplified version of Rock Band, as you also got to use your skill and reflexes to score the most multipliers in the part of the song while trying to score massive points as you do it.

    Nonetheless, Rock Band Blitz is a simple game
    that you could sit back and play for a decent amount of time, with its song list and DLC if you want to buy any of those. It is great, and I recommend this game for the recreational gamers out there. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    Bloody brilliant. [Issue#90, p.90]
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    80
    Designed specifically for Rock Band fans that have held onto their DLC. If that's you, this is great fun. [Nov 2012, p.67]
  3. Sep 24, 2012
    70
    Rock Band Blitz is an above-average music game and a worthy addition to the libraries of genre fans and dabblers alike.