Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    Compared to this year’s edition, the first Rocksmith was only a soundcheck. This version has all the quirks and bugs sorted out and brings a perfectly balanced tool for anyone who’s too shy to take guitar or bass lessons. [Issue#237]
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    The new Rocksmith is the nearest thing to an interactive guitar course, with the added fun of a video game. The guitar lessons and the new Session mode are great additions: definitely recommended to every guitarist wannabe or even expert musicians.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re looking to learn guitar, brush up on your existing skills or looking for something to practising your current skills with, Rocksmith 2014 scratches all of the guitar-based itches you could possibly hope for.
  4. 90
    Less a party game than clever learning software, Rocksmith 2014 is a highly personalised, customisable and responsive guitar tutoring tool that improves upon the original in almost every regard.
  5. 89
    The original game was a fantastic teaching tool with a little bit of fun added in, and while Rocksmith 2014 Edition is once again a great guitar teaching tool, it has a whole lot more fun included this time around. This fun factor blurs the lines somewhat as it is way more enjoyable this time around, or at least it feels that way and you may not consider it a guitar-teaching tool at all, which in itself is a testament to the development crew.
  6. 85
    2012's edition of Rocksmith suffered from some slight latency problems, making it hard to hit notes accurately. This year's release fixes that. [Jan 2014, p.67]
  7. 70
    If you are into rock music you will love the track list. And as a bonus Rocksmith 2014 truly teaches you to play the guitar or bass. Just don’t expect to be held in the hand if you are a total beginner or challenged if you are an experienced musician.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    The Original Rocksmith got me started. Rocksmith 2014 is leaps and bounds ahead! Seems to be Re-Written from ground up. On Xbox360 and PC versions I've had ZERO Lag. Very fast to get where I want to go.

    Songs that I played in Rocksmith 1 were brought over to the 2014 and there's even more to some of these songs, now that the new engine can recognized flourishes, chackas and other things that the original couldn't. Almost have to unlearn some of what I've learned prior to play even better.

    What blew me out of the park was playing "Carry On My Wayward Son". Having mastered it in RS1, the 2014 version was more indepth and the nuances I was missing from RS1 has arrived! PLUS it went from Distortion to Clean and back to Distortion RIGHT when it needed to without me having to do anything.

    OMG!! LOVE THIS GAME and GENRE!! MORE MORE MORE!

    Also, I can finally say I want Rythym, Solo or sometimes even a mix, instead of trying to cover all in different areas, which is what sorta irritated me with RS1
    Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    It's true, this is the fastest way to learn guitar. I had the original Rocksmith and the new 2014 version improves in ALL the areas the original had flaws in. Before playing this game, I did not know how to play electric guitar. After playing this game, I can now feel confident with tabs I find online and jam with my friends in real life. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I'll keep it short and sweet:
    Pros/Changes:
    1. Session mode is an awesome addition, there is a plethora of instruments to choose from and
    the band reacts accordingly to what you are playing, TONS OF FUN.
    2. Mini-games are actually fun this time.
    3. Interface is A MILLION times better than the original, clunky and unintuitive design.
    Cons:
    1. This is not a substitute for guitar lessons, no matter what the ads tell you. You will at least need a couple of irl lessons to teach you proper picking, positioning etc... .
    2. The session mode is a bit simplistic, in a sense that there will be ONE preset ABCDEFG chords that the band will play at a time.

    I personally haven't found anything that would top this in terms of being fun and simultaneously be educational.
    Collapse
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    The only reasons I take a point off the game is because the game still crashes more than I am comfortable with, and the note recognition, mostly in minigames, is still not quite perfect. Other that that, this game makes the origional rocksmith obsolete. Loading times are almost entirely gone. The guitarcade minigames are more complex, and have mini objectives to complete to level up and get higher score, making the game much more fun than the origional. Some of them are actually really fun to play. They even added a score attack game mode that has you playing songs like in a traditional music game. It has the songs broken down into difficulty levels and you are scored based on hitting the notes in succession and with good timing, like a guitar hero/dance dance revolution hybrid. Now also to keep you busy, the game provides you mission objectives. The game well give you missions that help you explore every aspect the game has to offer AS WELL as tutor you by pointing you tin the direction of things that can help you improve. All these things added to the game really make this product feel FUN, much as a game should be. The game constantly encourages you to keep busy, and more often then not, an active guitar player is a better guitar player. And for those who care nothing about these game/score aspects, the game has given extremely convenient and thorough access to the riff repeater, and allows you to easily set the mastery levels of songs. You don't have to gring anything that you don't want to, or waste time in loading screens. Lastly, session mode allows you to play with all your effects that you've created in a free jam with an assortment of other instruments of your choosing. There's a lot going on here, and unfortunately, I have a difficult time making any band setups sound the way I want them to. Perhaps someone with more musicality and knowledge of its parameters would have more success with it though. Overall, this game is everything and more that you could ever ask of a music game. BUY IT!!!!! Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    I played last night for 2 hours. (its release day). I bought it for my kids, but I was pretty sure I would use it too. It was so good I kept playing until my fingers were very sore. This 2014 version seemed more responsive than the first. When I hit the wrong note it seemed more obvious and when I hit the correct note it seemed amazing. I thought the product was so good I was prompted to write my first review. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    My perspective: Older guy, took a semester of acoustic guitar lessons years ago (and remember only a few open chords). This game is the real deal. I'm getting better, it's fun, there's tons of variety...the game is delivering on all cylinders. The session mode is pure fun--even if you're a beginner. The video lessons are short and to the point, but informative. Getting better at guitar takes practice (duh!), but RS2014 can make that practice more fun _and_ more efficient.

    One nitpick: The Kinect voice commands are pretty sensitive. You have to be careful what you (and any spectators) say in the room, or you'll accidentally have something paused or skipped because someone said something that sounded like "accept" or "back" at the wrong time. If you're by yourself, not a biggie. And it's not like you lose any progress or anything--just a momentary hitch in your rockin-ness.
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    3
    First off, I love this game. You would think it odd that given this review. Let me explain. The first major hurdle you run into when playing this game are the frequent game freezes (or lock ups) that occur. At first, it was every other day, now I can't get through 3 songs without having the game lock up. This requires a mandatory reboot of the entire game. This can take 5 10 minutes to get all the way back online, logged in, and back to a song you want to play. I played for an hour yesterday, had 4 freezes that cost me about 15 minutes of my life. I talked with ubisoft tech support, each time they took 48 hours to get back to me. I have had other companies respond in hours. Their first response was unload all rocksmith files and installs from the xbox harddrive and re-install. This is turn your computer off and then on again support. An hour later not very surprised that their advice didn't work, but I suppose that may fix some issues. Then they ask to unplug all usb accessories. I do and no surprise it locks up again.

    I feel that this is as bad as it can get and just try to play through the pain because the game really did help me learn guitar and it is FUN. In non-stop play I hit "skip song" and get a message that, my file is corrupted, losing 122 hours of game play/ranking up in the songs. So as great a teacher and fun as it is the frustration level is through the roof! If you can deal with the constant freezes and an occasional complete loss of all achievements, and have to deal with a clueless and uncaring customer service department this is the game for you.

    BTW, they have been talking about a 'patch' for a few weeks now. Game has been out 3 weeks, no patch. No offer from company for free song dlc, partial refund or anything else. No, I did not ask for anything, but come on man.

    Here is tech support response today. Note no mention of a patch coming anytime soon: “I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for reporting this issue. I will be forwarding this issue up to the development team for further review. That is all I can do at this time, as we have no further information. If any additional information becomes available, it will be detailed on the game's official forum at http://forums.ubi.com and our Support Website (http://support.ubi.com).” So, basically stop emailing us.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews