User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 60
  2. Negative: 44 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 19, 2010
    0
    All i can say is wow. just wow at how bad this game is. Boring story, terrible gameplay, and repetitive mission structure. If you see this in a store and think about getting it, think long and hard and look at some reviews because some games can be so bad that they can get a 0/10
  2. Oct 8, 2010
    2
    terrible, i actually enjoyed it a little bit for some of the stealth kills, should really have been third person with the option to go first person for shooting. bit like hitman blood money. its like a ps2 shooter has been ported to the X360.
  3. Jeffery
    Dec 21, 2009
    6
    This game, with some of its faults is not that bad! People say it's a disgrace and it's crap, but there are actually worst games out there. The graphics, while not Modern Warfare 2 standards, are better than others I have seen( GI Joe,Shellshock 2,etc). Yes the A.I. did have some trouble at points, but even Uncharted 2, one of the most polished games to date , there were time This game, with some of its faults is not that bad! People say it's a disgrace and it's crap, but there are actually worst games out there. The graphics, while not Modern Warfare 2 standards, are better than others I have seen( GI Joe,Shellshock 2,etc). Yes the A.I. did have some trouble at points, but even Uncharted 2, one of the most polished games to date , there were time that the A.I. in that game didn't see me when I was right in front of them! They just went about there day. Several times this happened.All I'm saying is that I had fun playing. Yes, it could be better, but putting your knife through the head of someone is just F**king cool! Uncharted though, because it looked so good people just pretend the problems aren't there, but they are. I am a programmer and it does have problems! Just admit it to yourself! Anyone who played the game had to see them. But anyway, I give this game a 6 because it did have flaws, but I still have a blast playing it! Expand
  4. PierreF
    Jan 19, 2010
    4
    Not a stinker but pretty close from it. You can't really try to inflitrate so you have to walk you way through shooting here ans there and the shooting itself is ridiculously inapt. I'm not impress...
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The fury against this game is exaggerated. Violent and often funny, Rogue Warrior is a game acceptable, is not so low as everyone says. It has major flaws, but overall it can be very rewarding. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    0
    Let me start by saying this is proof that Bethesda is far from perfect, as they snatched the Rogue Warrior project from Zombie Studios and handed it over to Rebellion Developments. While there's few early screenshots of gameplay before Bethesda took over, it's apparent that this game was much better in its original phase. Rogue Warrior isn't a stealth game that's built with an actionLet me start by saying this is proof that Bethesda is far from perfect, as they snatched the Rogue Warrior project from Zombie Studios and handed it over to Rebellion Developments. While there's few early screenshots of gameplay before Bethesda took over, it's apparent that this game was much better in its original phase. Rogue Warrior isn't a stealth game that's built with an action engine, but nor is it an action game built with a stealth game. It fails to be both. Sure, you might admire some of the stealth kills but other than that, it's a poorly designed mess with few creative kills or original plot points. Every ounce of this game is forgettable, and there's no real reason to return to it at all. This game gets controversy on the bad language alone, so you can guess how overrated the rest of this garbage will be.

    If I can't get it into your skull that this is trash, allow me to put it another way: Bethesda said "yes, this WILL be marketable and it WILL be a huge seller!", for that is the role of the publisher. This deserves the flak it gets not because of innexperience but out of laziness. Not recommended in the slightes.
    Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2013
    1
    I've played a lot of first-person shooters. I've played some good FPS games and some bad FPS games. But this game... this one may take the cake for the worst FPS game ever. I'm pretty sure if the real Richard Marcinko (the protagonist of this game) saw this, he would hang his head in shame and disbelief. The story is boring, the graphics are horrid, the controls are awkward for an FPS, andI've played a lot of first-person shooters. I've played some good FPS games and some bad FPS games. But this game... this one may take the cake for the worst FPS game ever. I'm pretty sure if the real Richard Marcinko (the protagonist of this game) saw this, he would hang his head in shame and disbelief. The story is boring, the graphics are horrid, the controls are awkward for an FPS, and the A.I. is among the worst I've seen. And if that's not enough, the game goes way too overboard with the foul language. Did Marcinko swear this much in real life? Even the startup screen has the nerve to call you a for playing on easy. The only things this game have going for it is Mickey Rourke providing the voice of Marcinko and a few cool stealth kills. Other than that, this game is among the worst FPS games I've ever played. Even Soldier of Fortune: Payback was better than this... and that's not a good game, either. Expand
  8. Apr 27, 2013
    1
    This game is HORRIBLE! This is by far the worst piece of crap game I have ever played in my life. Enemy AI is dumb, aiming with a gun is so inaccurate I miss when I aim with the sight for the head for 10 times in 1 level, and worst of all the main character swears like a retard the whole way that I want to vomit from hearing it. It's so bad that I traded the game immediately after IThis game is HORRIBLE! This is by far the worst piece of crap game I have ever played in my life. Enemy AI is dumb, aiming with a gun is so inaccurate I miss when I aim with the sight for the head for 10 times in 1 level, and worst of all the main character swears like a retard the whole way that I want to vomit from hearing it. It's so bad that I traded the game immediately after I finish the first stage. I bought this piece of for $60 and it's the biggest rip off ever. Good thing I can trade it. STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THIS ABOMINATION. Expand
  9. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    Lets start by saying this is a good game, yeah ok movements are bit slow but its not exactly a new game. I thought the stealth kills were excellent and the levels were good. Yeah there are better games but this game is in my collection and it is staying.
  10. DaveM
    Dec 5, 2009
    1
    I REALLY wanted this game to be what it was hyped to be. I think certain elements were great, like the voice overs with all the profanity, and the special kill moves, although overly simple. Development basically stopped there. Medal of Honor, Allied Assault, a game from 7 years ago, had better gameplay and design than this. I couldnt even play through the second level I was so disgusted. I REALLY wanted this game to be what it was hyped to be. I think certain elements were great, like the voice overs with all the profanity, and the special kill moves, although overly simple. Development basically stopped there. Medal of Honor, Allied Assault, a game from 7 years ago, had better gameplay and design than this. I couldnt even play through the second level I was so disgusted. Gamestop only gave me 20 bucks for it... Bethesda let me down hard!!! Expand
  11. DanielS
    Jan 22, 2010
    2
    Rogue Warrior is of course a terrible game, but the worse part of it all is that Bethesda actually agreed to publish this piece of crap. I have lost so much respect for them as a Game Publisher.
  12. DalamarE
    Dec 13, 2009
    2
    What an abysmal failure! The aiming was terrible, the enemies ai was dumber then a nail, graphics/sound were pre-gen garbage. I'm a fan of Dick Marcinko and I'm really surprised he did'nt kick the crap out of Bethesda for making one of the worst games out there. Bethesda by the way made Fallout 3, Morrowind - what were they thinking when they made this game? Avoid this game What an abysmal failure! The aiming was terrible, the enemies ai was dumber then a nail, graphics/sound were pre-gen garbage. I'm a fan of Dick Marcinko and I'm really surprised he did'nt kick the crap out of Bethesda for making one of the worst games out there. Bethesda by the way made Fallout 3, Morrowind - what were they thinking when they made this game? Avoid this game at all costs. Expand
  13. AS
    Dec 18, 2009
    2
    First off when you review a game remember to understand the difference between a developer and a publisher. Was the game bad? Yes. Did Bethesda make it? No. They were just publishing it trying to help another company with it's idea. Bethesda is too busy crapping out AAA titles to screen what they publish it seems though.
  14. kevins
    Dec 23, 2009
    1
    This game is bad, and bethesda didnt make it, they published it, im sad that you guys would feel valid enough to give a fair review when you don't even understand the difference, its rather moronic, my point is, if your going to try to review something, you need to know what your talking about, and not just think you know.
  15. Oct 8, 2010
    1
    I cannot stress how bad this game actually is.Its too easy and the graphics are shocking for a game that has been released so late that only presents graphics you would expect on the orginal xbox. the stealth elements of the game are completely warped as you are able to stand right in front of an enemy without them seeing you. How is that possible? there isn't enough variaty and one r oddI cannot stress how bad this game actually is.Its too easy and the graphics are shocking for a game that has been released so late that only presents graphics you would expect on the orginal xbox. the stealth elements of the game are completely warped as you are able to stand right in front of an enemy without them seeing you. How is that possible? there isn't enough variaty and one r odd point that you wouldn,t normally point out is the character is constantly swearing in every sentance which actually gets rather annoying and pointless. If anythings good about this game is the fact that i only rented rather than wasted any of my hard earned cash on it. Very poor indeed! Expand
  16. Jan 15, 2012
    4
    This game is bad, broken in many parts, and is at the same time amazing. If you like terrible games then you'll love this. The melee kills are often times remarkable for their brutality, and the amount of vulgar language is impressive. The shooting however is not good. Enemies have that early 2000s syndrome where you can shoot them in a leg, they'll react to it for a few seconds, and thenThis game is bad, broken in many parts, and is at the same time amazing. If you like terrible games then you'll love this. The melee kills are often times remarkable for their brutality, and the amount of vulgar language is impressive. The shooting however is not good. Enemies have that early 2000s syndrome where you can shoot them in a leg, they'll react to it for a few seconds, and then they are perfectly fine and running at you again. The single player itself is only like 3 hours long, so it's easy to beat in a day. The game runs at something like 20 frames per second, and has graphics like a game from 2005, so it's not easy to look at. Given the game's development history, i can easily see how it was such a terrible mess. If you want something so-bad-it's-good, then rent this for a few hours worth of pseudo-retro fun. Plus the ending credits theme music is AMAZING! Expand
  17. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    A descent game with hilarious witty dialogue. The gameplay is not as broken as people seem to say and offers a wide source of weaponry and brutal take downs to approach your enemy. The graphics are also not too bad except for the faces. But overall if you LOVE fast paced action games that remind you of the film expendables, get this game.
  18. Nov 25, 2014
    0
    This is the best game of all time It has progressive storytelling, great graphics, however it is a Call of Duty ripoff. So therefore I will give it a 0/10. - IGN
  19. Jul 22, 2013
    3
    While I didn't hate this game as much as some of the reviewers did (I think IGN's 1.5 may be a little harsh), it is definitely far from a good game. The main complaint I have with this game is the length. It is possible to beat this game in less than 2 hours (an average play session for some). I played on the hardest difficulty and beat it in 3-4 hours. Some of the gameplay mechanicsWhile I didn't hate this game as much as some of the reviewers did (I think IGN's 1.5 may be a little harsh), it is definitely far from a good game. The main complaint I have with this game is the length. It is possible to beat this game in less than 2 hours (an average play session for some). I played on the hardest difficulty and beat it in 3-4 hours. Some of the gameplay mechanics really detract from the experience as well. The stealth kills can be completely exploited, because you are invincible when performing them. This makes it easy for players to run from enemy to enemy and just use the knife to take them out. The cover system is also very spotty. Sometimes it works decently, and other times you get killed anyway. This can lead to some really frustrating experiences as it is never really clear how you are getting killed. The AI is downright laughable. It is so bad it nearly breaks the game on its own. You can engage in a huge gun battle in one room, walk in to the next room, and see that they apparently did not hear the explosions or gunfire. Footsteps have no effect on enemies either, so you can run right up to an enemy's back and "stealth kill" them. Multiplayer isn't worth mentioning, because there is absolutely nobody playing this game online. The bottom line is that this game doesn't provide a lot of content for your money. With no online multiplayer and a campaign that is 4 hours when it is pushed to the max, there isn't reason to play it at all. Steer clear and save your money. Expand
  20. Sep 25, 2014
    1
    thinking back to this game, it makes me want to cry....and the weird thing is i didnt play this game seriously, i was telling my mate about rubbish games ive heard of but not played, i mentioned this he said he had it buried away somewhere, he brought it round for a laugh and it lasted about 10 minutes, i didnt realise just how bad it was, im giving it a 1 purely because it loads up. itthinking back to this game, it makes me want to cry....and the weird thing is i didnt play this game seriously, i was telling my mate about rubbish games ive heard of but not played, i mentioned this he said he had it buried away somewhere, he brought it round for a laugh and it lasted about 10 minutes, i didnt realise just how bad it was, im giving it a 1 purely because it loads up. it deserves no other praise. Expand
Metascore
28

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 33
  2. Negative: 30 out of 33
  1. It's not a bad game: it has its moments, it has several gameplay mechanics, and it has its own personality. But, overall, it's just an average game, with nothing we hadn't seen before, and it's extremely short. Not even the multiplayer makes it worthy.
  2. There's a reason why Bethesda have kept quiet with this game and quite frankly it's because it's under par.
  3. When the difficulty settings are covered with references to b..ches and motherf...ers you know something isn’t right. When, in the opening cutscene, Dick tells us that his two colleagues on this trip have saved his life more times than he can count, we should have known things would turn out bad when they both die from a grenade after having a lingering final look into each other’s eyes. But as soon as Dick opened his mouth, we knew.