Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 283 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Saints have ankled from the crackhouse to the White House—but the Earth has been invaded and it’s your responsibility to free the world from Overlord Zinyak and his alien force. With homies new and old by your side, and an arsenal of superpowers and exotic weapons, you must save the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 94
    A game that is rich and deep with personality and unmatched ridiculousness. Saints Row IV is exactly what I needed this summer. It takes everything that I love about sandbox style gaming and makes it better.
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    90
    Volition did something it seems few developers are brave enough to do at this point: They were willing to reinvent the Saints Row series instead of just reiterating on it. The result is a game that I had an absolute blast with from beginning to end, but also one that—due to the escalation it exhibits—left me dumbfounded on what they’ll offer as a follow-up.
  3. 90
    It's possible someone who doesn't buy into the Saints Row universe with such enthusiasm will find Saints Row IV exhausting and boring. Might we suggest those people attend a local museum, where the paintings of flowers might be more to their taste. If violent psychopathy is the price we have to pay for a world of awesome harmony, sign us up.
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    80
    Sure, I wasn't always comfortable playing Saints Row IV these past few days with guests in my home. But work is work, and even though I'd talk to them about Journey and the like to explain my work as a video games critic, a serious part of me was secretly enjoying every last bit of silliness and bad taste Saints Row IV had to offer. And there's a massive amount of that in the game, which is as fun as it is completely and utterly stupid.
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    80
    Once hits its stride, Saints Row IV is a pleasure to try and keep up with. Its relentless insanity will occasionally tire, but its in these moments you can appreciate the smarter elements. Despite everything, this is a more mature game than its predecessors.
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    78
    Even with the screen tearing and sporadic glitches, unimpressive graphics, generic and forgettable antagonist and over-powered abilities, I have to admit, I couldn’t get enough of Saints Row IV, once it hit stride.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    70
    Unsophisticated and sloppily made but there’s a heart of gold beneath the game’s erratic exterior, as it successfully skewers some of gaming’s more pompous franchises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 66
  2. Negative: 11 out of 66
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    This game is just pure fun. I had only one problem with Saints Row: The Third: I felt like it was too slow. With the inclusion of super powers in Saints Row IV, the pace has drastically increased and I find myself giddy while playing it, because it is literally everything I had hoped for from this game. I would heavily suggest this game if you enjoyed Prototype or Crackdown, because I feel it is more fun than both of them combined!

    Also, while I think that this game probably deserves a 8, I am giving it a 10, because no game deserves a rating of 0.
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    "Saints Row IV" is a great game. It has the Dubstep Gun and super powers and that should be enough. I highly recommend playing it. The parody of gaming is spot-on and welcome. The tough question is whether it is better or worse than "Saints Row the Third". Everyone knows "Saints Row IV" started as extra content for "Saints Row the Third" and then was spun into into owns game instead. Much of "Saints Row the Third" is recycled, such as much of the game world, vehicles, characters, and weapons. However, what little that has changed is just so fantastic, revisiting Steel City is fantastic fun.

    The story mode of the game is rather shallow. You can definitely see how this game is more of an add-on than full game. On the other hand, some of the missions are inventive for this genre. One has you in a 2-D style "Double Dragon" beat'm up. Another has your character commenting on shooting the lights in spy missions when he could just shoot the guard instead. Other revisit Saints Row history which is probably great for people who played the first two games. *shrug* Anyone who has seen the the 1980s "Transformers: The Movie" will enjoy some late game repartee between the "hero" and villain. The real special sauce is the additon of super powers, which eventually include creating a nuclear blast with a flying drop kick off a sky scraper.

    All in all, "Saints Row IV" is short for a sandbox game and burns out quickly. When you can run up buildings at 200mph, the Steel Port becomes a small city and vehicle and weapon customization become useless. Super powers are often removed main story missions, as are much of the customization. Yet, for anyone with better things to do, a short game is not a detriment. Look at the stats for GTAIV. Hardly anyone finished the game, and that's because finishing the game was a real chore. Finishing "Saints Row IV" was a joy, and though it might have low replayability, the initial run will be epic, promise!
    Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Picked up a copy a couple days early and have clocked 16 hours so far. Thoroughly enjoying this game and the improvements go far beyond what looks like simply an expansion. I was concerned since the engine and game-play (with the except of superpowers) this game would simply be a glorified expansion with more features. However they have really excelled in crafting a brand new experience, mainly due to the superpowers which are really fun. Not quite on the same level a Crackdown 2, however the other experiences in SR4 easily make up for that. The storyline is silly as ever, but as the developers pushed and promised, the character development is more apparent and works really well. A fun, daft game like the third, but that's why we now love it! Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Saints have taken the office, with you, the player, becoming President. Now aliens have taken over Earth and it's your job to save the world from Zinyak, an evil alien with a love for literature.Surprisingly, the game has a lot to offer. Having superpowers is one of the highlights of the game. The downside, you are basically invincible on casual with superpowers. The weapons are unique. I love how you can change the style of most of your guns, to either be a realistic weapon, or a space themed weapon varying from "star wars" style weapons and many more. Weapons can still be used in combination with your powers. A big problem is the vehicles. Vehicles are for the most part useless. Why spend 10 minutes driving a vehicle to one point instead of flying to said point in less than a minute. Sucks for the people who spent time on making the vehicle customization. Quests are still boring as can be, side quests at least. These are disguised as "quests" that are just for completing the activities around Steel port. There is an abundant amount of collectibles, including Audio Logs, Zinyak Statues, and clusters. With over 1000 clusters, you will be spending time after-game collecting these. Clusters are used to upgrade your superpowers. The writing is very good and is as funny as could be. For a game that was originally meant to be dlc for Saints Row 3, its a fun game that you will spend 10-15+ hours on. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    Saints Row IV is amazing! It's honestly a ton of fun. Don't be wavered by the fact that they recycled the city, there is a LOT more content in this game then there is in The Third. The character and car creator have been beefed up significantly and the super powers are awesome! Playing online with a friend is about as close to Justice League as it gets! Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2014
    6
    While the game is pretty cool and yoy can customize weapons I noticed a whole lot of glitches.....ones that sgould he fixed in this game...................... Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Biggest letdown in the history of games. Saint's Row used to be a great series that you could have fun playing over and over again. This 'game' is noting more than something that should have been included on a dlc. No safe houses. Very few new anything as far as clothes or cars. Even took away the quick action melee combat. This so called game is not worth $10 brand new. Much less the ridiculous retail cost. Do not buy this. Period. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews