Section 8: Prejudice Xbox 360


Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    Doesn't feel like a true upgrade to the original, and there's plenty of room for improvement. But with a lengthier single player campaign, action-packed multiplayer battles, and the promise of more game modes in the near future, all for the bargain price of fifteen dollars (and no need to waste gas to pick it up), there's certainly enough incentive to add it to your repertoire.
  2. Edge Magazine
    May 8, 2011
    As a follow-up to Section 8, it delivers much the same experience as its predecessor, albeit repackaged in a more wallet-friendly, downloadable form. [June 2011, p.94]
  3. May 5, 2011
    If you simply can't get enough first person Halo inspired shooters though, you will find some redeemable elements in Section 8: Prejudice.
  4. 60
    Sure, Section 8: Prejudice can be entertaining i small doses, but it just lacks the depth to last in the long run.
  5. Games Master UK
    Jun 4, 2011
    Halo's a great game to homage, but not to this lawyer-baiting extent. The clone bores. [July 2011, p.95]
  6. games(TM)
    May 22, 2011
    As a download release, it has exactly the same flaws. [Issue#109, p.118]
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    Prejudice certainly does a lot – it just doesn't do very much well.
  8. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jun 25, 2011
    Enjoyably frenetic war zone action. [July 2011, p.100]
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    It's only too bad this series can't get out of its own way at times, because there are moments when it's pure fun and others that feel at odds with the rest of the package.
  10. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 20, 2011
    Way better than the original game, this offers some more than solid online FPS action. [Issue#72, p.85]
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    Do not buy. This is a team game that does not have party matchmaking or joining. You cannot team up with your friends. Joining a serverDo not buy. This is a team game that does not have party matchmaking or joining. You cannot team up with your friends. Joining a server results in a random chance of you on the same team with your friend, against them, or if you start on the same team then all ranked servers have autobalance which can separate you from your friends later on. For a team game, this feature is a deal breaker and I warn all prospective buyers that for the cheap price this arcade title is, it is cheap because it has poor multiplayer features. Do not buy. Better team games to spend your hard earned money on no matter how little. The devs promised they would fix this feature from the previous game despite all the complaints on their forums now and years ago. They still haven't fixed it and lied again. Do not support these devs and their empty promises. Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    Due to the aesthetic similarities, many might mistake this game (like I did with its predecessor) for a rather undisguised Halo-clone.Due to the aesthetic similarities, many might mistake this game (like I did with its predecessor) for a rather undisguised Halo-clone. Underneath the surface though, lurks a very different beast. If comparisons are to be made to other franchises, then Battlefield and Tribes might be the most appropriate. Section 8 Prejudice delivers large-scale vehiclular + infantry warfare on huge maps, where the primary points of contention are hackable bases that contribute 'control points' to whichever team happens to hold them at the time. Like Tribes, there are jet-packs and base-defences, but the unique twist in Section 8 Prejudice are the 'DCM's (Dynamic Combat Missions), which can be triggered during the course of any given battle, and offer up a range of different objective based gameplay types, such as escorting a convoy or VIP, hunting down select individuals on the enemy team, defending a forward base, etc. etc. Successful completion of DCMs results in a massive control point boost to your team, but also usually some sort of tangible benefit, e.g: that heavily armed and armored VIP you kept alive during the mission, will now handily defend one of your bases. All of these elements combined, make Section 8 Prejudice a far more innovative and deep game than it appears.

    Strategic thinking and team-work are heavily emphasized, thanks to a flexible class system, in-game currency that can be used to purchase the aforementioned vehicles and base-defences. A 'lone wolf' can be successful in completing certain DCMs, and putting the hurt on enemy bases and players (depending on how they are equipped), but a squad of players with complimentary weapon + gadget load-outs, or vehicles, that works together in a coordinated fashion will steam-roll a more fragmented opposition. For players who enjoy first-person action with a healthy dose of team-work and tactics, I cannot recommend this title highly enough -- especially during a time when it seems every mainstream release is trying desperately to emulate Call of Duty. I have only scratched the surface of what this game offers, and at 1200msp, it's an absolute steal for anyone who even *thinks* that they might enjoy something like this.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    For $15, this game has good value. However, quality is another matter entirely. The game is billed as a single and multiplayer experience forFor $15, this game has good value. However, quality is another matter entirely. The game is billed as a single and multiplayer experience for $15. The campaign is not coop, even if there is a coop multiplayer mode. The campaign tries to be epic with all the cutscenes, but the experience is short lived and tells a utterly, completely forgettable story. Modern Warfare 2's disjointed story experience is more entertaining than this.

    The conquest mode in multiplayer is a mix. Loners and cowboys don't do well, as this is a team-team-TEAM game. I enjoyed the burning in, the purchase system, the customization of armor modules and weapon stats. I didn't like the fact that I could get the drop on 2 players and even with 4 armor, 4 shield, 2 stealth, I couldn't kill 1 guy with surprise mortar hit and gunfire on my side, and died quickly when they both returned fire. I bet they used the lock on at the same time. Maybe he had some explosive resistant armor, but there is no way to tell. This game does a poor job of telling you or hinting what types of enemies you face. Still, this game does not reward solo work, which makes for a fun team game, but a piss poor loner game. It's squad up or die, which is a both good and bad thing. Unless your team and squad are good, you won't be able to do much on your own. Why do I mention this? There is no way to play with a friend unless you get lucky and are put on the same team, on the same server, together. You gotta play the swarm mode against bots to be able to successfully play with a friend. Not a cool feature to have, or rather not have, for a team oriented multiplayer game. Major problem here. I don't care if this game has dedicated servers. If I can't play with a friend who I can rely on, this game ain't enjoyable.

    I have to make a special complaint about the sound design in this game. Where Bulletstorm had high quality constant trash talk, this game has absolute filth for voice actors and writers. "You are DEAD." "Slowed em down," after using a mech to pick up a guy from his bike and hit a homerun. Terrible sound design for voices. And the guns... well, they sound underpowered. The machinegun sounds like some sort of washermachine running without water, the assault rifle rail rounds is like a scifi bb gun, and I'm being generous with that description. Graphics are ok, won't be fair to compare this to a full price game. It would have been nice to have better sound design to make up for outdated graphics. This game delivers a lot of value for $15, but the single player, the lack of easily playing with a friend, the awful voices and gunfire, make this a decent purchase at best for a shooter.
    Full Review »