User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 191

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A 3D game played on a 2D plane Shadow Complex takes a few minutes to get the hang of but its addictive gameplay will quickly suck in most gamers that give it a go. Truth be told much of what the game does has been seen before in other, more famous, titles. The games structure for example is taken straight from the Metroid series with more and more areas been opened up as you acquire newA 3D game played on a 2D plane Shadow Complex takes a few minutes to get the hang of but its addictive gameplay will quickly suck in most gamers that give it a go. Truth be told much of what the game does has been seen before in other, more famous, titles. The games structure for example is taken straight from the Metroid series with more and more areas been opened up as you acquire new weapons.

    Despite this I had an enormous amount of fun during the six or so hours to it took me complete it. The game is fast paced and, after a little practice, the controls quickly become second nature. On the normal difficulty setting it provides a decent challenge without ever become frustratingly hard and, unlike a few other titles I could name, it’s relatively short running time means it never outstays its welcome.

    It won’t be a contender for greatest game ever but at 1200 (about £10) this is an absolute steal.
    Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Awesome Metroidvania type of game. One of the most fun games I've played. Game design is excellent. I loved the mix of 2d with 3d. Sometimes the controls can be frustrating though...the character doesn't do what you want him to do.
  3. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    Shadow Complex captures the essence of Metroidvania games and has some very great upgrades to boot. Excellent sense of progression, interesting plot great exploration and a good combat system. This game is probably the best XBLA game you can get.
  4. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = Tons of replay value, and overall a very fun game. I still prefer the metroid's and castlevania's of the world though. Horrifyingly bad story.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    While it doesn't have tons of replay value, Shadow Complex is an entertaining diversion if you're looking for something to play. It doesn't particularly innovate in any way, but it's a fun Metroid-style game with modern gadgets and guns.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    This is my most favorite game of all time. This game blew my brains out... it took me back to old school roots and had a new school flavor to it. I can't stress enough how badly this game needs a sequel and for it to be on Steam. The fun factor of this game is A+. The controls are fantastic it just feels right. I love this game so much that after beating it, I beat it again... and thenThis is my most favorite game of all time. This game blew my brains out... it took me back to old school roots and had a new school flavor to it. I can't stress enough how badly this game needs a sequel and for it to be on Steam. The fun factor of this game is A+. The controls are fantastic it just feels right. I love this game so much that after beating it, I beat it again... and then after that I simply took a previous save point before the final boss so I could explore every detail of the game. The fire of this game was put out by it's own company, Chair, because of their desire to enter the iPhone market with a $hitty game called Infinity Blade... then made part 2. I wish there was a petition to get this game going again, Shadow Complex makes all games look like Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Taking the classic Metroidvania formula into 2.5d, Shadow Complex's high points shine through, but so do it's faults. The game allows to player to move in only 2 dimensions, but provides 3 dimensional interaction. Enemies will assault players from both the foreground and the background, and players can let the game aim for them, or use the right stick to aim themselves. The shootingTaking the classic Metroidvania formula into 2.5d, Shadow Complex's high points shine through, but so do it's faults. The game allows to player to move in only 2 dimensions, but provides 3 dimensional interaction. Enemies will assault players from both the foreground and the background, and players can let the game aim for them, or use the right stick to aim themselves. The shooting controls are not without fault, and can seem clumsy and imprecise to new players. Where the game shines however, is it's level design and progression. The game makes very good use of space, allowing several paths to be taken through most encounters. There are also more than a few pickups that require exceptional skill and forethought to obtain. The progression through the game is absolutely sublime, players go from a poor schmuck way in over his head to a veritable super soldier, the early gameplay does well to compliment this as well, with plenty of light stealth until a better weapon is found. Players are armed with a flashlight from the beginning, which, like the X-ray visor of it's predecessor inspirations, allow you to see the weaknesses of objects. Unfortunately the music is a forgettable score of chord swells and harmonies, and the story resembles putting Nathan Drake of Uncharted fame into a project heavily inspired by Kojima's Metal Gear series. Bland characters fall to the far background and a forgettable antagonist that tries to be sinister lives in the shadow of his impressive and massive complex. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    For the first half-hour of this game I got that sinking feeling - that feeling unique to DLC and downloaded games that comes because you know that you can't re-sell it or get a refund. Perhaps because of that very reason I decided to plough on, if only to get my money's worth. I've never been more grateful for my miser tendencies.

    Shadow Complex is a very good game. It's a perfect blend
    For the first half-hour of this game I got that sinking feeling - that feeling unique to DLC and downloaded games that comes because you know that you can't re-sell it or get a refund. Perhaps because of that very reason I decided to plough on, if only to get my money's worth. I've never been more grateful for my miser tendencies.

    Shadow Complex is a very good game. It's a perfect blend of platforming and puzzle-solving; just challenging enough to test you, and interesting enough to make you come back for me. Each chapter rewards you with an upgrade that entices you to carry on with anticipation of what powers and abilities the next upgrade might offer. Every challenge in the game, from the puzzles to the boss fights, tests your use of these upgrades and are designed to acquaint you with your new powers. People have said it rips-off Metroid. I see it in the same way I view Dead Space - a game that takes the best components of its genre and merges them together into a whole that is greater than the sum of all its parts. I hesitate to give it a 9/10 because it is a little on the short-side, although, perhaps if it was any longer it might have become tedious, so maybe that's unfair of me. A longer, slightly more difficult final boss would certainly have raised it from an 8/10, as it felt a tad anti-climatic. Nevertheless, it's easily my favourite game on XBL.
    Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    If you grew up like me, loving classic's like; Super Metroid, Castlevania and Bionic Commando then you will love this game!. I purchased during XBLA weekend sale for 4.50! Best 4.50 spent in my life! Highly, highly recommended, no matter the price!
  10. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    An amazing 2.5D shooter that combines Golden Eye with Super Metroid for a fun, yet disappointingly short, experience. The voice cast was good and the enemies were a good challenge, but next time give the game some depth. Seriously, if I hadn't got stuck on a few parts I could have finished this in 4 hours tops. Let's hope a good sequel will solve all the petty little problems that keptAn amazing 2.5D shooter that combines Golden Eye with Super Metroid for a fun, yet disappointingly short, experience. The voice cast was good and the enemies were a good challenge, but next time give the game some depth. Seriously, if I hadn't got stuck on a few parts I could have finished this in 4 hours tops. Let's hope a good sequel will solve all the petty little problems that kept this gem from being a diamond. Expand
  11. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    An amazing game. No doubt about it this is the best arcade game ever and I got it when it was half-price!
    I had it for only a month though and I got 100% completion so now the campaigns pointless as I have unlimited everything and i'm pretty much unkillable. BUT, there is also awesome challenges to keep you occupied and these and the campaign all look gorgeous. So get this game no matter
    An amazing game. No doubt about it this is the best arcade game ever and I got it when it was half-price!
    I had it for only a month though and I got 100% completion so now the campaigns pointless as I have unlimited everything and i'm pretty much unkillable. BUT, there is also awesome challenges to keep you occupied and these and the campaign all look gorgeous. So get this game no matter what the cost, i'm just lucky I got it half price. :D
    Expand
  12. May 15, 2011
    9
    Great game. My only complaint is aiming at the enemies in the background is very difficult. But once you get the rocket launcher that becomes a lot easier. Also, the story, while good, isn't ver in depth. Other than that, it is one of the more enjoyable games I've played with some of the best gameplay.
  13. JoshuaL
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Excellent game for anyone with an XBox 360, and 1200 microsoft points to burn. Reminds me of Castlevania and Metroid without copying them. Incredibly level design, combined with fun story, and great voice acting. It feels like a whole game, not an iphone game or an episodic game. I would have gladly paid for this in stores too. Chair has proven they are the best game developers onboard Excellent game for anyone with an XBox 360, and 1200 microsoft points to burn. Reminds me of Castlevania and Metroid without copying them. Incredibly level design, combined with fun story, and great voice acting. It feels like a whole game, not an iphone game or an episodic game. I would have gladly paid for this in stores too. Chair has proven they are the best game developers onboard with Xbox Live. Can't wait to see their next project down the line. Last thing I'm gonna say: "Foam Gun Rules!" Expand
  14. PrimusM
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best I've played all year. You may be able to argue that parts of it are ripped straight out of other games, but these mechanics still have to be executed, and they are executed very nicely. This is proof that old school game play is not dead.
  15. HagenM
    Aug 19, 2009
    6
    Why is this game getting so much praise when it has so many problems that hold it so far back and nearly break it all together? Too many off-screen enemies are around to kill you in 2 seconds if you're not clairvoyant enough to tell they're in an area. The entire 2.5D perspective if broken, aiming at the enemies in the background is a game of chance. The levels are bland and Why is this game getting so much praise when it has so many problems that hold it so far back and nearly break it all together? Too many off-screen enemies are around to kill you in 2 seconds if you're not clairvoyant enough to tell they're in an area. The entire 2.5D perspective if broken, aiming at the enemies in the background is a game of chance. The levels are bland and poorly designed and do nothing to make me want to explore them. The only true redeeming quality of this game is the story. This game is definitely not worth 1200 msp. Which hurts for me to say as I was very hyped for this game. Such a disappointment. This game is border-line mediocre. Expand
  16. MichaelA
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    I only own a handful of games for my 360, all of which I have enjoyed, but SC makes the top of the list. This game is pure fun. Wonderful attention to detail has been made, especially for an independent game. The sounds effects are crisp and really pull you into the game. I've only uncovered 26% of the entire map of the game, and I can say with confidence this is one of the best I only own a handful of games for my 360, all of which I have enjoyed, but SC makes the top of the list. This game is pure fun. Wonderful attention to detail has been made, especially for an independent game. The sounds effects are crisp and really pull you into the game. I've only uncovered 26% of the entire map of the game, and I can say with confidence this is one of the best games on the 360, period. Very hard to put down, get it as soon as possible and see why! Expand
  17. ChrisS
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    Outstanding release. The best Xbox Live Arcade 360 game to release thus far in the consoles history. Following in the footsteps of Geometry Wars(and it's sequel), Braid and Castle Crashers, this is a must own in anyones gaming library. Excellent throw back gameplay, replayability, outstanding graphics and presentation. This game is the real deal and full package. What could easily be Outstanding release. The best Xbox Live Arcade 360 game to release thus far in the consoles history. Following in the footsteps of Geometry Wars(and it's sequel), Braid and Castle Crashers, this is a must own in anyones gaming library. Excellent throw back gameplay, replayability, outstanding graphics and presentation. This game is the real deal and full package. What could easily be a full priced retail release, Shadow Complex changes the way we look at downloadable games and the combination of retro/new age gaming. Expand
  18. DesO
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    I'm beginning to lose count of the number of times the bar has been raised for XBLA games and this one is no exception. Lengthy and content filled, with beautiful graphics and well thought out gameplay, Shadow complex is one of the finest modern sidescrollers I've ever played and a perfect end to the Summer.
  19. tobiasl
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best XBLA titles I've ever played. Fantastic graphics, sound and overall presentation. Good puzzles, forgiving gameplay (ie. there are a few tricky places on the maps, but the savepoints are frequent.). The story is a bit ownky, but it is quite well told. Really bloody good. Go buy it.
  20. AidanS
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    I would give this game an 8 if it was full retail price, or anything over $40. However, for $15, I can't think of any brand new game I've enjoyed more for less money since gaming on my NES. The game is fun, challenging, wonderfully designed, and rarely frustrating. I couldn't put it down the day I got it, and I still find myself going back for more. If you own a 360, Buy I would give this game an 8 if it was full retail price, or anything over $40. However, for $15, I can't think of any brand new game I've enjoyed more for less money since gaming on my NES. The game is fun, challenging, wonderfully designed, and rarely frustrating. I couldn't put it down the day I got it, and I still find myself going back for more. If you own a 360, Buy this game!!!! It blows away half the full retail games that come out for the price of a movie ticket. Expand
  21. JamesA
    Aug 20, 2009
    7
    This game is a lot of fun, anyone who loved Super Metroid will definitely love this one. Yes, it is essentially the same game, but I'm not saying that as a bad thing; there's nothing wrong with emulating success. The gameplay is fun, the level design is brilliant, all around a solid experience. Except-- I gave it a 7 because SC is just too buggy to get better than that. I This game is a lot of fun, anyone who loved Super Metroid will definitely love this one. Yes, it is essentially the same game, but I'm not saying that as a bad thing; there's nothing wrong with emulating success. The gameplay is fun, the level design is brilliant, all around a solid experience. Except-- I gave it a 7 because SC is just too buggy to get better than that. I can't believe the reviewers are ignoring this stuff. The AIs sometimes don't react when you walk right in front of them or start shooting, so you can just pick off or melee everyone in a room. The animations pop like crazy. You're constantly clipping through geometry. The ragdolls jitter and dance on the ground. The worst part is that the game chugs. A LOT. Especially during cutscenes. A game like this should run at 60 fps with no framerate issues, this one chugs and its running at 30. That's unacceptable. All that said though, I can get over the flaws and enjoy a fun experience. There are just too many flaws to warrant a very high rating. Expand
  22. Ryan
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    I'm shocked, in a good way. The game was way better than expected; playing it on "casual" was a quick run and on "normal" was more my style. The writing's good; the voice acting funny at times. Don't listen to folks pissing about how it's like this game or that game -- it's a great "upgrade" to side-scrollers. The quick cut scenes (i.e. an above-head shot of a I'm shocked, in a good way. The game was way better than expected; playing it on "casual" was a quick run and on "normal" was more my style. The writing's good; the voice acting funny at times. Don't listen to folks pissing about how it's like this game or that game -- it's a great "upgrade" to side-scrollers. The quick cut scenes (i.e. an above-head shot of a descending elevator when you take an elevator) add to the atmosphere of the game. Worth it. The plot's somewhat easy to figure out, and I suspect they left it wide open for a sequel...that I will most likely purchase. Expand
  23. PeteN
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    The best xbox live investment ever. it scratches the itch you had for a old school side scrolling shooter that should have came out for the wii years ago. level progression is excellent and enemies ragdoll perfectly when you kill them. on the same day i got wolfenstein for ps3 but opted for the cheaper game in shadow complex. for 3 days i went to work deprived of sleep.i hope this game The best xbox live investment ever. it scratches the itch you had for a old school side scrolling shooter that should have came out for the wii years ago. level progression is excellent and enemies ragdoll perfectly when you kill them. on the same day i got wolfenstein for ps3 but opted for the cheaper game in shadow complex. for 3 days i went to work deprived of sleep.i hope this game can be the flagship for future games. WE NEED MORE SIDE SCROLLERS. very satisfying experience indeed. Expand
  24. JayMcAvee
    Aug 29, 2009
    10
    Probably the best XBLA game there is. Bionic Commando and then Castle Crashers held that claim for some time, but it has been retaken. Shadow Complex goes head to head against classics like Super Metroid and still manages to not only hold its own, but also advance the genre.
  25. MalharD
    Sep 4, 2009
    5
    Shadow Complex is an amazing game that I played on my Xbox. The graphics of this game is quite stunning and exciting as well but in simple terms and slightly in 2d version in comparison. According to this review, http://forums.techarena.in/reviews/1237906.htm , can this game be played on xbox live.
  26. BenC
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Absolutely excellent game. Chair have gone with the 'dont fix whats not broken' method and applied it to an older more forgotten genre that gave birth to one of the greatest games of all time: Super Metroid With replayability bonuses, a lengthy campaign, leaderboards, challenge rooms, achievements and more this has to be one among the best value available per point spent on Xbox live.
  27. ShaunM
    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    Shadow Complex is a nice attempt to bring the 'metroidvania' genre to the current generation but it lacks the depth that most of those games had. Maybe if Shadow Complex was larger, more complicated and challenging then it might have stood up as a spiritual successor to Super Metroid. Get it if you liked those games but don't get your hopes up too high.
  28. RyanZ.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This game brings out the best in old school gaming, making your SNES dreams reappear in modern times as this wonderfully put together package. It takes games like Castlevania and Metroid and slaps a new face on it giving it the modern appeal with a new setting and Metal Gear style premise. A must have for any sidescroll lovers.
  29. RickE.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    It's an incredible mix of shooting, puzzles and platform. The level design keeps you on the edge of the seat, searching every dark corner for some hidden passage or secret. It's no doubt a must have and no Live user should pass this one!
  30. AUC
    Aug 20, 2009
    1
    This game is a total ripoff of Metroid and Castlevania, both of which have better gameplay and story. Typical M$ ripping off good games and calling it innovation. Too bad people are too occupied with their red rings of death to try and play this bilge. If this was on the PS3, then it would get a better review, but at least 6 points should be taken off for it being on the crapbox This game is a total ripoff of Metroid and Castlevania, both of which have better gameplay and story. Typical M$ ripping off good games and calling it innovation. Too bad people are too occupied with their red rings of death to try and play this bilge. If this was on the PS3, then it would get a better review, but at least 6 points should be taken off for it being on the crapbox please-fix-me. Waste of a game. Expand
  31. shane
    Aug 26, 2009
    2
    I am confused. Both Castlevania and Metroid are more engaging, interesting and more fun to play that this title. They have character, atmosphere and a fantastic setting. Here we have a generic man on a boring lets save America story which is completelly banal. Go play the games mentioned aboe right after shadow complex and you will see this is nothingI am confused. Both Castlevania and Metroid are more engaging, interesting and more fun to play that this title. They have character, atmosphere and a fantastic setting. Here we have a generic man on a boring lets save America story which is completelly banal. Go play the games mentioned aboe right after shadow complex and you will see this is nothing mohttp://clk.atdmt.com/goiframe/46210100.40947462/zdntsdva00100005642d1/direct;wi.300;hi.250/01re than a lazy, boring game made by men too pumped up on testosterone to create a game with a story that does not involve all their well worn out tropes. Expand
  32. SAKY
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    A Visual update to Super Metroid. If you are a fan of genre SC will not disappoint. Sure, many things could have been done better such as enemy and environment variety, AI, and engine performance but this is XBLA. Considering the medium all the above are done well enough for $15. Sure, it's depth is nowhere near that of recent Castlevania games, and really it's no more A Visual update to Super Metroid. If you are a fan of genre SC will not disappoint. Sure, many things could have been done better such as enemy and environment variety, AI, and engine performance but this is XBLA. Considering the medium all the above are done well enough for $15. Sure, it's depth is nowhere near that of recent Castlevania games, and really it's no more innovative than Super Metroid, but it's great to see the genre cross over to the realm of 3D graphics. Hell it's good to see any new software in the form of a side scrolling adventure let alone a new IP with a good story. BTW, Epic, Claire's face, terrible @AU C: C'mon don't be like that, 6 more points if it's on PS3? Also, M$ didn't make this, Epic did. Expand
  33. mobius
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Looks like there are a couple of PS3 voters here and they seem a little annoyed that shadow complex aint on their system boo hoo. anyway regardless if this is a metroid ripoff or not because ive never played a metroid game. for me this game brings back memorys of old classics like Flashback, Abe's oddysee and Another World. . its a big game and a real beauty to look at. now im off to Looks like there are a couple of PS3 voters here and they seem a little annoyed that shadow complex aint on their system boo hoo. anyway regardless if this is a metroid ripoff or not because ive never played a metroid game. for me this game brings back memorys of old classics like Flashback, Abe's oddysee and Another World. . its a big game and a real beauty to look at. now im off to give random PS3 games negative reviews because their not available on the XBOX boo hoo. Expand
  34. IanC
    Aug 27, 2009
    2
    Am I missing something? I was bored to tears within minutes, all I can think is that this is favoured by gamers who came into gaming long after side scrollers fell by the wayside and are discovering them for the first time. I see nothing new, nothing interesting, can't disagree more with this being the best XBLA title ever.
  35. AnonymousMC
    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    Its an 'okay' game, nothing more nothing less. The story is so stupid I found myself skipping most of the cut-scenes in the game - it, instead of immersing you in the action, felt so poorly executed it was almost embarrassing to compliment the gameplay. Talking of gameplay it isnt revolutionary; its a 2d side scrolling action game in 3d... if that makes sense. Personally IIts an 'okay' game, nothing more nothing less. The story is so stupid I found myself skipping most of the cut-scenes in the game - it, instead of immersing you in the action, felt so poorly executed it was almost embarrassing to compliment the gameplay. Talking of gameplay it isnt revolutionary; its a 2d side scrolling action game in 3d... if that makes sense. Personally I thought it was a waste of money, others will disagree but thats my honest opinion... the hype train revolves around Epic Games, and coming from them Shadow Complex is in my mind the company's first and hopefully last abomination. Do your self a favour and buy a XBLA game like Braid instead. Expand
  36. SamF
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A near perfect game that involves puzzle solving, hidden items and a great side scroller with a 3d perspective. I played through this game twice and both times were amazing. If your a gamer you should at least download the demo and give this a try. If there is one negative I can say its the Respawning of enemies after you clear a room and return, but thats the only one I can think of. A A near perfect game that involves puzzle solving, hidden items and a great side scroller with a 3d perspective. I played through this game twice and both times were amazing. If your a gamer you should at least download the demo and give this a try. If there is one negative I can say its the Respawning of enemies after you clear a room and return, but thats the only one I can think of. A great storyline with a pretty exciting ending IMO But everyones tastes are different. With leaderboards to follow with various topics and the endless hours looking for that 100% achievement this game has alot of replay value and will surely win Arcade game of the year. Expand
  37. JeffG.
    Aug 19, 2009
    9
    Talk about bang for your buck?? This game is incredible. Not wholly original, but who cares. Solid stuff.
  38. TristanL
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Wow this game is just pure epic. It is better than most RETAIL games, let alone downloadable. I hope that maybe with enough production value, there can be a sequel. Really great stuff.
  39. MichaelA.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Shadow Complex feels like the next generation version of Super Metroid and Castlevania. If you've played either of those, you know what you're getting into here. It's light on the puzzles, but excels in exploration and combat. My only complaints are the straightforward boss fights and the lame story. Most boss fights consist of spamming the grenade button. As for the story, Shadow Complex feels like the next generation version of Super Metroid and Castlevania. If you've played either of those, you know what you're getting into here. It's light on the puzzles, but excels in exploration and combat. My only complaints are the straightforward boss fights and the lame story. Most boss fights consist of spamming the grenade button. As for the story, I'm surprised it was written by Peter David, I never felt motivated by it. Those two thing aside, the game is perfect. Expand
  40. ColinC
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    Okay, I'm more than halfway through this game. And it's amazing. I've never really got into the od metroid (side scrolling) games, but I'm loving this. Graphics, gameplay, story, it's all there. I'm glad the company that did Advent Rising (which I never played but still appreciated what they try to do) got a second chance. Please, bring on the sequel.
  41. GeoffG
    Aug 25, 2009
    9
    I was a bit skeptical when I overheard Epic Games was managing this project (Gears of War was crap) anyways, I was pleasantly surprised when I played this game. Totally unoriginal, but it does rip off from the best (ie, Metroid). For an XBLA game I had a lot of fun. I would highly recommend this. You won't be disappointed.
  42. Johnf
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Excellent game that follows strongly in the vein of Super Metroid. The only thing that could be better is if this game was in fact a new Metroid. One thing that I wished was better were the boss fights. They just aren't memorable,, but I can't really take away a point for that. All in all, this game is worth more than $15 so it is absolutely a must buy.
  43. RobB
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    Anyone who ever loved a metroid game (back before it made its 3d debut) will love this game. The mechanics whilst having it's own flavour is very similar. The graphics are top notch thanks to the Unreal Engine 3 and the gameplay is addictive as all hell. It's one of the few games in recent memory i've wanted to re-play through after completion. Even if you don't want Anyone who ever loved a metroid game (back before it made its 3d debut) will love this game. The mechanics whilst having it's own flavour is very similar. The graphics are top notch thanks to the Unreal Engine 3 and the gameplay is addictive as all hell. It's one of the few games in recent memory i've wanted to re-play through after completion. Even if you don't want to do the story again there's a section for you to go through a number of challenges and compete against your friends, and the world, for the highest scores.The fact that it's a 15 dollar arcade title should make this a must buy for anyone who owns a 360. Get it! Expand
  44. SanzeeBoy
    Sep 13, 2009
    10
    I'm happy to tell you that this game absolutely delivers. Chair Entertainment, the developers for this game, are about 3 blocks away from my house here in Provo, UT. They've been developing this game for the last 2 years. I was able to meet the Studio Manager for the game, and even got to play it before it released on Xbox Live. I've since played through the whole thing and I'm happy to tell you that this game absolutely delivers. Chair Entertainment, the developers for this game, are about 3 blocks away from my house here in Provo, UT. They've been developing this game for the last 2 years. I was able to meet the Studio Manager for the game, and even got to play it before it released on Xbox Live. I've since played through the whole thing and I must say it's quite addicting. It delivers on every possible level. Please buy it now. Expand
  45. SethW
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    A great game from start to finish however aiming into the background is ridiculous. The items are well spaced and the game is an amazing deal however during certain moments can be boring. Going through the entire complex for a wrist band can seem a bit frustrating at times but nonetheless more then enough of bang for your buck.
  46. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The game is a 2.5 D side scroller, which means that your character moves only in 2 dimensions but the world is rendered in 3D. One weird aspect of this is that you can shoot in 3D, but the controls do not allow for aiming in 3D leading to thumb crunching guess work in such situations. At one point, instead of lobbing my precious grenades and rockets at the massive 60 foot monster machine,The game is a 2.5 D side scroller, which means that your character moves only in 2 dimensions but the world is rendered in 3D. One weird aspect of this is that you can shoot in 3D, but the controls do not allow for aiming in 3D leading to thumb crunching guess work in such situations. At one point, instead of lobbing my precious grenades and rockets at the massive 60 foot monster machine, i ended up blowing away foot soldiers because of the auto-aim in 3D. But mostly, it works well, and adds depth in the massacre when working with the unlimited ammo gun. Yep the gun is unlimited ammo. I'm kind of ambivalent about this one one hand, it enables a very satisfying romp through the scenes with the trigger pressed down, but on the other it takes away from the challenge.

    Speaking of which, I set the difficulty to my usual (Max 1), which proved to be far too easy once the upgrades started kicking in. So if that's your usual setting, crank it up to max difficulty. You'll soon get used to it.

    The game has 2 options for play "Campaign" and "Proving Grounds". DO NOT start the tutorial. Read that again DO NOT start the tutorial. Jump straight into the campaign mode. The campaign mode has an excellent staged, contextual learning system built in. Going through the tutorials reveals all the upgrades and takes away from the satisfaction of mastering the abilities on the fly. You can come back to the "Proving Grounds" to complete the challenges and try to beat your own score.

    The campaign mode follows the story of Jason Fleming, and his girlfriend who go hiking and discover the well.. "Shadow Complex". The plot line is acceptable if a little cliched, but the acting and cut scenes are hilariously overacted and scripted. They would have been "camp" funny if the characters didn't take themselves so seriously. There's an inexplicable Jason's Dad angle which i don't quite get. Maybe it's a setup for the sequel. Simply put find bad guy, which is everyone except yourself, and kill them. Some classics don't need to be improved upon.

    I've come around to the firm belief that everything is more fun with a projectable grappling hook. It worked for Just Cause, and it worked wickedly well for Earthworm Jim. Shadow Complex is no exception. It's particularly satisfying to pull away the shield from an enemy using the hook.

    The game manages to balance the main story line and the scavenging aspect fairly well. I cannot be usually bothered to scrounge around for every little bob-end for an infinitesimal upgrade to my already formidable powers. Shadow complex excels at this by a) Making the discovery of upgrades particularly satisfying as they are hidden away well, and its not a matter of a marathon trek across deserted scapes. You actually have to think a little bit. It all becomes easier with the hook. and b) Making the upgrades worthwhile. It's not another doohickey to make my gun shine with a ruby attachment. Most of the upgrades simply but usefully increase the amount of ammo i can carry, hence increase the number of people i can kill without re-loading. That's EXACTLY what i want from an upgrade.

    Something that completely baffles me, though, is why in the world did they not stick to the usual control mechanism for shooters left joystick for aim, right trigger for shooting. It's know to work. Why muck around. Now we end up with my already overloaded right hand to do aim shoot with RT and shoot deadlier stuff with the RB. All while I'm standing still and my left hand hanging limp on that side, while the right hand is in advanced stages of carpal tunnel syndrome.

    My absolute favourite part is the gameplay. It's incredible how many big name titles get this wrong. It's even in the name G A M E P L A Y. All the visual imagery and pimple detail in high res is useless if the game isn't playable. Shadow complex is a great example of gameplay done right. The movement is quick, without any loading screens. Most situations have multiple solutions each of them equally satisfying. At one point I even managed to beat the game bypassing a crucial step simply through ingenuity. This isn't about my massively reticulated brain, but the fact that the game allows you to do stuff that even the designers had not anticipated. Its speaks volumes of the game engine more than anything else.

    To wrap it up great game play, stock plot line, hacky dialogue, fantastic upgrade system and some innovative weapons (The creative possibilities of the foam gun are practically limitless), and no loading screens! I finished the main story line in a couple of evenings amounting to about 14 hours of serious gameplay. This included about 60% of item discovery. About five minutes into the game I had forgotten that this is a 800 Meg download.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. A perfect working mix between fights and exploration: high rhythm, never boring. You're going to feel pure fun as if you're back again playing coin-up, being stuck with your pad, achievement after achievement, enjoying it for hours. Nothing more to ask from a game such this.
  2. A stunningly-executed, modern-day Super Metroid.
  3. It's a game that will delight gamers old enough to recognise the classics it celebrates, while captivating those oblivious to its inspirations.