Shadowrun Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 156
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. grantg
    Sep 21, 2009
    6
    The multiplayer is great, and there are so many ways to set up your character in the matches, and all the sets are fairly equal, so no one becomes incredibly dominant in multiplayer. the unique abilities and tech items give this game so much potential, but the developers completely fail to do anything with this game outside of the inventive abilities and the few maps. there are a very few The multiplayer is great, and there are so many ways to set up your character in the matches, and all the sets are fairly equal, so no one becomes incredibly dominant in multiplayer. the unique abilities and tech items give this game so much potential, but the developers completely fail to do anything with this game outside of the inventive abilities and the few maps. there are a very few maps, many of which are just smaller versions of larger maps. and since there is no story mode to this game there should be more maps. shame on you microsoft and FASA for taking a game that could have easily been one of the most acclaimed games of the year and selling the idea short. Expand
  2. Davetheh
    Jun 5, 2007
    6
    First off it is really obvious that either the developers or beta testers have been told to vote highly on this medicore game on metacritic. Read the comments it's a though they are from a script, thats just poor. ok so it aint a bad game, but i was caught out by the hype. Firstly trying to get into an online game takes its time, i was waiting 7 mins to start one game alone. The First off it is really obvious that either the developers or beta testers have been told to vote highly on this medicore game on metacritic. Read the comments it's a though they are from a script, thats just poor. ok so it aint a bad game, but i was caught out by the hype. Firstly trying to get into an online game takes its time, i was waiting 7 mins to start one game alone. The gameplay is just sooo unbalanced aswell. Flying around is a decent distraction though. And personally i like the graphical style, even though others say its muddy. The levels are ok, but there are way too few, and some are too enclosed. The caracters themselves range from cool i.e. the troll to the boring i.e. human. Overall its a medicore game, that should have had more time in development to balance it out and iron out it's floors. Expand
  3. SnakeZ.Z.
    Jun 1, 2007
    6
    I'm giving this game a 6 because it has bastardized the Shadowrun legacy, as a video game, pen and paper game, and the universe in general. Shadowrun on Sega was my favorite game on that entire system. It was the first "GTA" in my books. If they would have made a sandbox game within the Shadowrun universe with a mysterious storyline, it would have had huge potential. With that said, I'm giving this game a 6 because it has bastardized the Shadowrun legacy, as a video game, pen and paper game, and the universe in general. Shadowrun on Sega was my favorite game on that entire system. It was the first "GTA" in my books. If they would have made a sandbox game within the Shadowrun universe with a mysterious storyline, it would have had huge potential. With that said, this is a very fun game. I am a bit peeved at the $60 price tag since it is multi only. I don't know that this game would have taken that much to develop. I haven't yet grasped the true strategy and feel more like I'm just grabbing the funnest abilities and using them. Like Gears of War, you wil need to learn the strategies necessary to be any good at this game. You can't just learn the maps and run around with good aim and kill stuff like a Halo/Resistance/COD/etc. type game. So yeah, screw you MS for totally misusing the Shadowrun name. You should have just called this game something else. That way, it would have gotten better reviews and not pissed people off. Maybe you can make a true Shadowrun game...Please!! Expand
  4. Tank
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    I think the game as it is deserves a fair 8. Lack of "Leaderboards" is a big minus in my opinion. They could have at least let the individual gamer see his own stats. Being a 3D Artist myself working in this business I think the graphics are OK but not on par with other game titles. What really brings the game down is the fact that you can only do so much. I would love to see more I think the game as it is deserves a fair 8. Lack of "Leaderboards" is a big minus in my opinion. They could have at least let the individual gamer see his own stats. Being a 3D Artist myself working in this business I think the graphics are OK but not on par with other game titles. What really brings the game down is the fact that you can only do so much. I would love to see more "Shadowrun" specific game modes like: "Protect person A from beeing killed" or "Plant explosives and blow the thing up" or "Protect two important areas on the map and eliminate all intruders" or the likes... Expand
  5. Boman
    Jun 15, 2007
    7
    It's heartbreaking to think of how good this game could have been if they had put in just a little more effort. Shadowrun is like a fantastic guitarist who can play just about any song you could ask if he knew them, but he doesn't know them. Still, great guitarist. But when it comes time to perform in front of an audience, he doesn't have anything to play. This is a rare It's heartbreaking to think of how good this game could have been if they had put in just a little more effort. Shadowrun is like a fantastic guitarist who can play just about any song you could ask if he knew them, but he doesn't know them. Still, great guitarist. But when it comes time to perform in front of an audience, he doesn't have anything to play. This is a rare example of excellent exectution with approximately nothing taking advantage of it. Expand
  6. Edidid
    Jun 18, 2007
    5
    Good concept but sub par product. While Shadowrun offers quite a few gimmicks which make actual game play enjoyable it suffers from many techincal issues and lack of content. The client suffers from almost continuous syncing errors and the match making client will often hang unable to find a game for upwards of 10 minutes. This game does have a first which it earned however. This is the Good concept but sub par product. While Shadowrun offers quite a few gimmicks which make actual game play enjoyable it suffers from many techincal issues and lack of content. The client suffers from almost continuous syncing errors and the match making client will often hang unable to find a game for upwards of 10 minutes. This game does have a first which it earned however. This is the only game I have ever played which "lost connection to server" while playing an offline bot match after a training level. This should not be considered a badge of honor however. Expand
  7. FPSMaster
    Jun 2, 2007
    7
    This was a really good and fun game...at first. It has pretty good, shiny, colorful graphics and the sound works. The controls are easy to use, as is all the weapons and magic. The shooting feels sorta like Far Cry, so there's a big reticule and a ton of auto-aim. The bullet holes and blood-spray stay the entire match for however many rounds you play, so seeing where all the chaos This was a really good and fun game...at first. It has pretty good, shiny, colorful graphics and the sound works. The controls are easy to use, as is all the weapons and magic. The shooting feels sorta like Far Cry, so there's a big reticule and a ton of auto-aim. The bullet holes and blood-spray stay the entire match for however many rounds you play, so seeing where all the chaos took place is nice compared to other games like Gears where everything disappears within seconds.The bots are ok, but not the smartest out there. There's only 3 game modes and 10 maps which is where the trouble starts. It's great for a couple of days, then it sets in that you've seen everything by then and this is how it will be until you decide to play something else. That was my only problem with it, I saw everything within a couple of days and was just completely done with it. Never gotten tired of a good game this fast and have played lesser games longer. Maybe it's because there was no single player or maybe it's because other than the magic skills, I've seen this a million times before. And that's all there was to it for me. The new magic stuff was really fun at first, but once you get used to that it's the same game we've been playing online since Live first started doing CTF games in 2002 with Unreal Champ. Rent, then buy later if there's still anyone playing by the end of June when many better games are coming out, nevermind what's gonna happen come August and September with killers apps killing off everything else before them. Expand
  8. IanC.
    Jun 3, 2007
    6
    Wow - what a surprise in so many ways. Really, REALLY innovative approach to first person shooters online, but it looks like a game from the Xbox - how on earth can they get away with that?? That aside, when it runs well it's awesome fun, a major plus. But then I get to a major minus straight away again, and that's that it takes FOREVER to connect to a game, (sometimes I just Wow - what a surprise in so many ways. Really, REALLY innovative approach to first person shooters online, but it looks like a game from the Xbox - how on earth can they get away with that?? That aside, when it runs well it's awesome fun, a major plus. But then I get to a major minus straight away again, and that's that it takes FOREVER to connect to a game, (sometimes I just give up and go do something else) and when you're there you can bet the server will die halfway through a game, and then - yes - you're back to the looong wait for a connection again. So, overall good game, but we could have had this two years ago, the production and online delivery is way way way out of date, and at the end of the day I think this lack of quality is going to affect longevity. One final thing - why on earth bother making a cross platform game? Who really cares? Expand
  9. AJL.
    Jul 1, 2007
    7
    The game has seroius down time issues. It takes forever to find a public macth. The load times are awful, and the server is constantly dropping games. But here is the biggest problem, I cant stop playing the game. Gameplay is insanly addictive and fun. Shadowrun has potential to be a 9 or a 10 game but has so many issues holding it back... and wheres the story or single player mode??
  10. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    6
    This game is definitely something online but I can't shake off the feeling that I actually spent $60 for it. It doesn't have a story mode (unless if you count the half hour of training missions) and there are only nine maps to play. If you don't have Xbox live, you wont be able to play with your friends unless you have a system link. There isn't any rank you can obtain This game is definitely something online but I can't shake off the feeling that I actually spent $60 for it. It doesn't have a story mode (unless if you count the half hour of training missions) and there are only nine maps to play. If you don't have Xbox live, you wont be able to play with your friends unless you have a system link. There isn't any rank you can obtain or anything to unlock so there really isn't any point in playing it. However, the achievents are fun to get. This game is definitely worth a rent from a Blockbuster store but not worth $60. Expand
  11. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    This feels like a low budget production but it does bring some very interesting twists to the shooter genre. Teleporting, gliders, growing trees that heal you and your allies, resurrections, and katanas. The graphics are dated but the game is surprisingly fun.
  12. Aug 4, 2012
    7
    It is a good game and all but without leaderboards it just feels incomplete. I wish Microsoft would just make it free to play. It is the perfect game to do it with.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 57
  2. Negative: 3 out of 57
  1. This is a great game. If you’re willing to abandon your preconceived notions as to what a Shadowrun game should be and simply accept it for what it is, you’ll find a deep and complex first-person shooter that is tons of fun and packed with variety.
  2. The biggest disappointment in this otherwise fairly enjoyable shooter is the lack of content once you've finally grasped the formula. There are only nine similar-looking maps to choose from, with more expected down the line via downloadable content.
  3. Shadowrun is a magnificent multiplayer adventure that is sure to keep you entertained for as long as you wish to play.