Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    93
    Suda's crazy story actually works, and the jokes are downright funny at times.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    93
    Its freshness shows just how stale a lot of the industry is and it's what's needed in an era of grey, modern shooters.
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    93
    Shadows of the Damned is unapologetically adolescent, but instead of trying to be cutely ironic and wink at players, the humor comes off as genuine, playful, and fun. Even if you don't find the idea of a sniper rifle called "the Big Boner" funny, you should still enjoy the solidly designed shooting and bit of thought required to play the game. Grasshopper has finally come into its own, and I hope it carries this momentum (and Mikami) forward to whatever project is next.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    91
    In a world where darkness reigns and the street are engulfed with blood it needs a tough guy like Garcia Hotspur to survive and rescue his loved one. Shadows of the damned is an amazing survival-horror-game with an unique atmosphere and an amazing gameplay. Though the levels are a bit linear the strange and dark scenery make the game a must have, not just for horror fans. Not to forget about Johnson, your loyal companion, who guides you through the underworld, always having a good joke on his lips, ensuring a lot of funny moments.
  5. Jun 26, 2011
    91
    Suda 51's warped, pop-culture-obsessed vision and Mikami's sure-fire action make a heck of a match.
  6. Aug 8, 2011
    90
    The pairing of Suda 51's unhinged creativity with Shinji Mikami's sense for distinguished mechanics is enough to make Shadows of the Damned a compelling release in its own right.
  7. Jul 11, 2011
    90
    Like the grindhouse films it draws inspiration from, Shadows of the Damned might not be for everyone. It's mature sexual content (and immature sexual humor) that's woven together with gore-splattered gameplay set to a unique and refreshing sense of style. Nonetheless, it's an enjoyable experience that never flags.
  8. Jul 8, 2011
    90
    Buy this and wonder why more horror-themed games aren't this smart, different and funny. [Aug 2011, p.78]
  9. Jul 7, 2011
    90
    Shadows of the Damned is one of the best games of the year, and I never expected to say that. The only fault I can think of is that it's probably a bit too easy.
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    In an industry where many complain about lack of innovation, Shadows of the Damned is a breath of fresh air. It is an amazing mixture of sensations and provides unimaginable fun.
  11. Jun 25, 2011
    90
    Combining childish humor with bloody demon murder, Shadows of the Damned pays off on the promise of the creative team of developers involved. It may momentarily waver, but SotD has some of the finest grindhouse fun of the summer.
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    90
    I guarantee you won't know what's going to happen until it has, and more often than not the results are hilarious. If you want to experience a game that's different from everything that's come before it, Shadows of the Damned is for you. It's a tasty concoction of horror, humor, gore, and naughty bits that's guaranteed to make you laugh, scream, and beg for more.
  13. Jul 5, 2011
    88
    Frustrating at times, but totally original and completely hilarious throughout, Shadows of the Damned is one of the cleverest, naughtiest, most brilliantly constructed games I've played this year.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    This game is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been. Its funny, creative, and entertaining. It is also very rude and very graphic, so thisThis game is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been. Its funny, creative, and entertaining. It is also very rude and very graphic, so this game is not for the easily offended or the faint of heart. The one main draw of this game is its linearity, however, it is not enough to hurt the overall experience. Good game: A- Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Wow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due toWow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due to the crude language, he will just have to stay in his room haha. Excellent game play and such a diverse game that I have never seen before...and I have played many games. The bowling alley scene is genius, props to whoever came up with that. These level designers must be highly experienced to say the least. Although It would of been nice to drive that car. I mean c'mon lol. Whomever is the designer or team who creatively summed that bowling scene should teach other companies how to add a little spin and the unexpected to video games. Great job Grasshopper, great job. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Love this game so far, it reminds me of Constantine the movie If Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino had directed it. So in all it'sLove this game so far, it reminds me of Constantine the movie If Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino had directed it. So in all it's Constantine meets Ghost Rider meets Machete meets The Evil Dead= Shadows Of The Damned Full Review »