User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 111
  2. Negative: 3 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    This game is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been. Its funny, creative, and entertaining. It is also very rude and very graphic, so this game is not for the easily offended or the faint of heart. The one main draw of this game is its linearity, however, it is not enough to hurt the overall experience. Good game: A-
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    8
    Love this game so far, it reminds me of Constantine the movie If Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino had directed it. So in all it's Constantine meets Ghost Rider meets Machete meets The Evil Dead= Shadows Of The Damned
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    Wow, great job Grasshopper. I was skeptical when first hearing about this development. Although my 8 year old son should not play this, due to the crude language, he will just have to stay in his room haha. Excellent game play and such a diverse game that I have never seen before...and I have played many games. The bowling alley scene is genius, props to whoever came up with that. These level designers must be highly experienced to say the least. Although It would of been nice to drive that car. I mean c'mon lol. Whomever is the designer or team who creatively summed that bowling scene should teach other companies how to add a little spin and the unexpected to video games. Great job Grasshopper, great job. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    This game is like a super stylized mixture of Silent Hill, Resident Evil 4, and The Evil Dead movies (even a level is titled 'As Evil As Dead' in tribute to Sam Raimi's trilogy). Like Ash from The Evil Dead (particularly in The Army of Darkness), Garcia (the protagonist of this game) is extremely full of himself and throws out one liners - most of which are original. In a way his pride can be compared to Duke Nukem's, except he is ten times more badass than Duke Nukem, and all of his one liners don't come directly out of movies (Nukem's one liners are borrowed straight from roles of Bruce Campbell, and most are even from The Evil Dead trilogy - "Hail to the king, baby") So really, this is a more original, more well-thought out, much funner and funnier version of Duke Nukem - though I wouldn't compare it to it other than the main character's pride. Garcia is much more lovable than Nukem, and this game is much better too. So much of this game feels so fresh, and though there are certainly some flaws (you have to shoot boxes and waste ammo instead of being able to bash them with your torch, and once you beat the game there's not much else to do with the game) it feels great. This game has so many moments of unexpectedness, some are little scares, like how at the beginning there's an army of severed heads that just comes rolling down this hill, or how three levels of the game are these 2D paper cutout levels with this sort of brilliant vintage music playing. Akira Yamaoka is definitely one of the most brilliant composers, and this game has a large variety of his capabilities - horror music, atmospheric music, rock, and that cool vintage (sort of Scooby Doo sounding) music. The game is dark, but funny and action packed. It really is worth getting and feels like a classic game that they just don't make anymore. Shadows of the Damned is, by far, one of the most worthy games of anyone's purchase for the 360 (and PS3) out now. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome! I just completed it, and i enjoyed every single bit of it. The game is triggered to a niche crowd, but if you follow Grasshopper and Suda51 you will enjoy this game. It reminds me of a lot of things. It has the resident evil, vampire hunter d, and grindhouse influence. If you want a awesome, crazy, gory and funny game and want to get away from all the military shooters out there, this game will definitely do the job :) Props to Suda51, Shinji Mikami, and Grasshopper Studios for bringing us an excellent experience. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    Im sorry but did I miss something? 7 hours to complete, very easy and some of the dullest level design Ive endured. Rinse and repeat game mechanics that skip through what the game does well and rest on shallow gaming and uncomfortable OTT sexual references. The voice acting is poor and the only thing that stood out was some fun gunplay - I think this seriously missed the mark with what should have been a top title from two renown names Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2011
    6
    I played this game from start to finish on normal difficulty and it clocked it at 7 hours and change. Too damn short for 60 dollars! Inexcusable, considering there is no 'new game plus' mode or any replay value at all. This should not be a full price game. There is no excuse!! The combat was fun but like everything else it felt ancient. Garcia was a cool character tho.
  8. Feb 24, 2012
    7
    Conceptually this game is great. The characters, story and humour are perfectly intertwined to create a unique experience that left a big smile on my face on more than one occasion. The preposterous over the top action reminded me very much of the madness of Bayonetta (albeit with far more swearing) and the fact that it never tries to take itself seriously is quite refreshing. The choice of guns is great and as you progress the weaponry becomes more and more insane. The setting is fantastic and completely surreal which adds so much to its apparent niche appeal. However, Shadows of the Damned is let down by many gameplay issues. Firstly, this game is far too short, clocking in at around 10 hours for a play-through on hard. And there are no new game plus options/multiplayer/challenge maps, so as soon as you're done with the single player there's nothing else. Also, this game is very easy and incredibly unchallenging - even on the hardest difficulty! You can literally roll through any enemy attack so rolling isn't a case of moving out of the way of danger, but more just making sure you are rolling when the attack connects. This cheapens the experience and makes combat quite easy. Also, the camera has a hard time in many places (usually when the game wants you stand in a tiny passageway full of enemies) which can lead to some annoying deaths in a game that is otherwise so easy to play. The gunplay is decent, but suffers from many inconsistencies in regards to aiming, with some shots seemingly passing through enemies at times which is very frustrating. Also, sometimes enemy attacks connect where previously they had not in exact same circumstances leading me to think that the hit-boxes of enemy attacks are also inconsistent. Graphically the game is fine, but does suffer from very noticeable texture pop-in which gives the game an overall rough and unfinished look. The colours are also very washed-out (reminiscent of Dragon Age origins in some respect) in some cases, which don't appear to be by design. Other irritations include not being able to skip cutscenes which is just torturous at times and also some odd achievement implementation. I don't really care about XBL achievements, but I know that many do, so why Grasshopper decided that completing the game on hard should not unlock easy and medium difficulty achievements is just beyond me. Did they really expect people to play through the game three times? Why would anyone want to revert back to easy or medium difficulty when they've already realised how non-challenging the game is on hard? A rather strange design choice there which I imagine infuriated achievement hunters. It's a shame because Shadow of the Damned is loaded with personality and charm that you see very little of these days, but so many small things chip away at the layer of polish that this game really deserved. I did enjoy my brief time with Shadows of the Damned but it ultimately left me unsatisfied. Here's hoping Grasshopper can refine the experience for a more polished sequel. Expand
  9. May 28, 2012
    6
    I liked the music and cheesy banter but that's it.
  10. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    I had low expectations of the game when I bought it.I was very surprised. It's turning out to be one of my favourite games of 2011. This game is so underrated!
    Graphical designs of the environments is outstanding.Not forgetting the nice catchy tunes & bone chilling audio. It's adult-themed jokes may put some people off, but it was totally unique & funny to me. Definitely should've gained
    more recognition! Expand
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    Remember Killer 7? GameCube? What overall score did that get? -70%
    Professional reviewer's were all out saying it was just OK, NOW they say it was Great!!
    Killer 7 is now thought of as an inspired game of the last gen.
    Same with Shadows of the Damned, it's definitely a keeper and a piece of gaming history.
  12. May 31, 2012
    7
    A great concept that's held back by lackluster, repetitive gameplay, The story is about Garcia Hotspur going to hell to rescue his girlfriend from the clutches of the demon lord, it's actually a sweet story and instead of following what others would have done and made it a dark tale with a brooding hero they made it comedic and having a characters that are laughing as they spew out a never ending stream of dick jokes. It's hilarious and reminds me of Bulletstorm, so if you found that game funny you will find this game just as funny, and the humor and story are what actually kept me playing this game to it's completion. The game has one of the best soundtracks I've ever heard, it's not what your going to expect at all (I swear they took the loading screen music from the original Scooby Doo TV show) it's weird and funny. The game, for the most part, looks great but Garcia's character model and a few other areas of the game look noticeably dated. The real problem with the game is the actual gameplay, don't get me wrong it's not broken or anything, it's just not all that great, I found the shooting to be a tad bit clumsy do to a lack of a reticle, and for most of the game it's repetitive, but does manage to bring some gameplay variations every now and then. Don't get me wrong it's a fun game that never really takes off, and sticks to the same tricks. It's also only 7 to 8 hours long, and has no real replay value unless you just must have all the achievements, which also makes it disappointing that there's no new game+ option. It's not a bad game it's just a game that could have been done better, the story and sense of humor a great and it does provide some mindless fun, but with no replay value, repetitiveness, and the short length of it hamper the experience and make it a game I can only recommend renting as it's not worth a real purchase. Good, or rather, decent but not great. Expand
  13. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Both funny, creative and straight-up great fun - Shadows of the Damned is a game that any gamer should play. The constant evolution of your arsenal and the continuous introduction of more challenging demons keeps this game fresh and prevents its linear game play from getting too tedious.
  14. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Shadows Of The Damned shows true gamers that the more mainstream the industry gets, the more it loses it's roots. This is classic 16-bit fun in an Unreal 3 Engine skin. Pure fantasy creativity that never apologizes for how silly or entertaining it is. Only one negative trate of modern gaming remains, it's difficulty, I played this game on the hardest setting and cruised through it. Aside from the sleepy level of challenge, this game is unmissable for anyone looking for a break from the real world of military shooters and racing sims that crowd the market. Expand
  15. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    This is one great game. Its a nice break from all the serious shooters out there now. Be warned: this game is loaded with jokes and vulgarity. Its still a good game. The only flaw is that some parts are very difficult. other than that, great game. This is how shooters should be made. (PS if you like this game, try No More Heroes)
  16. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    I've been playing games simce 1985 so I'm getting kinda bored with all the military shooters and same old same old going on with games right now. If your new to games in the past decade and think whatever your playing is origional chances are it's been done dozens of times in the past. It takes something really special to stand out in the mainstream industry these days and trust me when I say that this was it. I rented this because I had no idea what it was going to be about as it hasn't recieved much buzz in the past few months. I just finished the game and I'm buying it tomorrow as it's worth every cent . I was absolutely floored till the credits rolled. Best origional Japanese developed game in years! I'm not gonna go into details except to say it's like RE4 on crack and any hardcore gamer needs to check this out as it is certainly the first sleeper hit of the summer. Expand
  17. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Clamoroso... Gioco da prendere. ASSOLUTAMENTE. Expand
  18. Jun 28, 2011
    7
    The brainchild of No More Heroes's and Resident Evil's creators, Suda51 and Shinji Mikami, respectively. It shows with its titillating and immature humor and punk attitude, and its over-the-shoulder and "survival horror" gameplay. This is the good kind of survival horror that doesn't strive to be taken seriously, and despite that, it's a good game. It doesn't do much to be groundbreaking, but the humor and familiar but entertaining gameplay will keep you going. The game is a lot of fun if you don't expect the holy grail of gaming. Controls are fluid (compared to Resident Evil), gameplay is fair, and the unique turns that the game does pull allow it to step away from mediocrity. Nowhere near a game I'd pay 60 dollars for, but you might have fun with it. I did. Expand
  19. Jul 4, 2011
    8
    Not a bad little game. Nothing that will blow your mind, but you'll have fun playing it. I bought it because there's basically nothing new on the market. The only drawbacks that I saw was that it was too short and there really is no reason to play it a second time. Funny as hell though.
  20. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    Shadows of the Damned is like a whipped cream chocolate smoothie, you mix all those awesome ingredients and get that fresh, cold and tasty blend of sheer satisfactory and freshness, it's surely that one game that stands alone despite the fact that it comes from the horror driven third person shooter genre, which recently dropped from the top of the industry.
  21. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    This game seems like a mix of Dante's Inferno's save your girlfriend from hell scenario, with Resident Evil 4's targeting mode, Duke Nukem's humor, and with exploration with the style of Fable.
  22. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    This game is fun, albeit flawed. The graphics are very 2005, and although there are REALLY funny parts, there are also times where the dialogue seems like it was written by a 12 year old boy with a phallic obsession. But it's a generally good, amusing, entertaining game, and worth the $30 I paid for it. The controls are easy to get used to, and I'm a fan of the stories in the game. It's good for what it is, and it obviously doesn't take itself seriously. :D Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2011
    8
    Shadows of the Damned may not get everything right and tight, but it still provides a mostly fun romp through demon country from start to finish. The banter between Garcia and Johnson has a great buddy comedy feel, upgrading weapons to dole out faster demon dispatching keeps things on the fresh side and the bosses themselves are some of the strangest characters in recent memory. The controls could have been more in favor of accuracy and the mature humor might turn off some players. The light and dark mechanic does bring a unique feel to the game in a way that gives this zany version of Hell a very distinct personality. It may not feel like the best road trip in gaming, but it was a pleasure to have gone along for the ride. Expand
  24. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    While Shadows of the Damned is not without its problems â
  25. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    What a crazy, awesome piece of entertainment! I was not able to put this game down for 3 days straight, because I had such a blast playing it. Imagine Alan Wake's gameplay and a setting a la From Dusk Till Dawn. The back-and-forth dialog between the protagonist and his demon skull/ weapon/ torch / motorcycle is so fantastically written - I laughed out loud several times. Definitely among my Top 5 of 2011! Expand
  26. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    This game was a true treat to play. To me,this game filled out the criteria for what a game that wants to be out there should be like. Here is a game that plays a lot like RE4, with the music of Silent Hill thanks to Akira Yamaoka. Also Suda 51 brings his weird ideas to the stage for us to enjoy. I never experienced texture pop-ins or any other graphical issues that reviewers did. The story was entertaining and so were the characters. The ONE and only reason this isn't a 10, is because there is no chapter select or new game plus. However if you want a truly unique experience then look no further. Collapse
  27. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    EA's one in a blue moon's published games where it is AWESOME! (Other than BF3 and Syndicate and the Dead Space Games and Crysis 2.) This game is horror and humor all mixed together! Suda's charm and Shinji Mikami's awesome horror elements combine here to be a fantastic game! In my opinion, this game should be Resident Evil 5 and 6 combined because this FEELS LIKE A Resident Evil game!
  28. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Simply just perfect game with awesome world and really funny moments. Main character and his companion have so funny conversations, its really great. I can forgive some glitches and stuffs because of that, im really enjoying it! You should try it and soundtrack is god damn awesome!
  29. May 17, 2012
    8
    This is a really fun game. I rented it and had a great time. I did not get a chance to finish it all the way but I will some time. The gameplay is fun, the story is funny, the characters are all sweet and the levels are all interesting. If you enjoy shooters or games with a lot of personality such as Duke Nukem you will like this.
  30. May 31, 2012
    5
    I can see what this game is trying to be but it just doesn't get there. The humor is there and the story isn't bad but the gameplay really lets it down. The aiming is off, the cutscenes are infuriating and the combat is repetitive. The graphics aren't fantastic either. I finished it on hard in just over 7 hours. Too short for a full priced title.
  31. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Damn this game was fun! Resident Evil crossed with some insane nightmare! Do i recommend this game YES! should you go out and buy it! YES! The ending was amazing. Get it now!
  32. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    Shadows of the Damned is Resident Evil 4's mad cousin. From the mind of Suda51 is a crazy, unhinged descent into Hell with Garcia Hotspur and his demon buddy called Johnson. The two of them have to rescue Garcia's girlfriend Paula from Fleming, Lord of Demons. The story in this game is as ridiculous as the rest of the game. If you like gratuitous violence, nudity and obscene jokes you'll love this game's sense of humour but be warned, this is not for the easily offended.

    The gameplay is essentially copied and pasted from RE4 but with the ability to move while shooting and 10x more gore.

    Final Thoughts: This game would probably only be enjoyed by a few people but that's not because it's bad. I'm also surprised that EA published this.
    Expand
  33. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    This game was a true treat to play. To me,this game filled out the criteria for what a game that wants to be out there should be like. Here is a game that plays a lot like RE4, with the music of Silent Hill thanks to Akira Yamaoka. Also Suda 51 brings his weird ideas to the stage for us to enjoy. I never experienced texture pop-ins or any other graphical issues that reviewers did. The story was entertaining and so were the characters. The ONE and only reason this isn't a 10, is because there is no chapter select or new game plus. However if you want a truly unique experience then look no further. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    50
    Short of the opening music, which is awesome and sounds like a demonic mariachi band, I can't think of many redeeming qualities in Shadows of the Damned. It's not in the same craptastic league as Thor, which suffered from horrible gameplay and production values; it's just a waste of time.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    75
    This weird exploitation version of Alan Wake is filled with dirty jokes and interesting scenery. Unfortunately the dull controls make the game situated in hell feel like it's from hell. If you can get past the clunky controls and cramped level design, the game is quite good substitute while the next Resident Evil is in the making. [Aug 2011]
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    60
    The weapons feel great, it's fun to navigate the levels, and some of the boss fights are pretty fun. Shadows of the Damned has a comfortable base level, it just lacks the peaks to make it great.