User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaredS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    I just got my copy and hey, it's way better than part 4. Silent Hill Homecoming brings back the feel of the first 2 games but with great next gen graphics and great fighting. The series is finally back and much more true to it's roots than the recent Resident Evil entries (although 4 was great and 5 is looking even better!).
  2. MikeR.
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    From the minute I turned on my XBOX360, this game FELT like a Silent Hill game. I spent over 4 hours last night playing this before I realized I should probably go to bed. Running around the town I actually 'felt' like I was truly alone. Hearing the enemies before seeing them, the many 'puzzles' I encountered and the oddities (like missing pictures, ME missing from From the minute I turned on my XBOX360, this game FELT like a Silent Hill game. I spent over 4 hours last night playing this before I realized I should probably go to bed. Running around the town I actually 'felt' like I was truly alone. Hearing the enemies before seeing them, the many 'puzzles' I encountered and the oddities (like missing pictures, ME missing from pictures, etc) added to the strange and haunting feel. It felt as this could have been, and maybe should have been, the sequel to Silent Hill 2. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    So far I'm absolutely loving this game. It got below par reviews and I have no idea why. It's the closest to the original so far - in the way that it feels less 'linear' as you run around town looking for clues etc. The graphics are excellent and the story is pretty decent too. The only thing that niggles me slightly is the fact that now and again the music becomes noticably 'un-scary.'
  4. AlexanderH.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    It is silent hill! I know we are in the next gen but still i do not understand why people are upset that it feels "dated". It is a well developed game that should not be among the ranks of Alone in the Dark
  5. Catraven
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    Finally, a Silent Hill game for Xbox 360! I am pleased to say that this game is a winner-it stays true to the the formula which makes Silent Hill a success! Very remeniescent of Silent Hill 2- a definite purchase for any fan of the series.
  6. ArtV.
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    After playing through this game many times (I have just gotten all 1000 achievement points) I must say that this game is a great effort by Double Helix and deserves at least an 8 out of 10. I am not new to this franchise at all (I still have every single SIlent Hill game!) and this game is a great addition to the series. It does not have the best story or endings out of the games (Silent After playing through this game many times (I have just gotten all 1000 achievement points) I must say that this game is a great effort by Double Helix and deserves at least an 8 out of 10. I am not new to this franchise at all (I still have every single SIlent Hill game!) and this game is a great addition to the series. It does not have the best story or endings out of the games (Silent Hill 2 does for sure) but it is still a awesome story with some good twists. Several reviews state that the combat is too easy and that is not the case. I died about 4 times through the game on normal difficulty and I never died in any of the other games. The combat can be quite challenging. The puzzles are well done also. Most people think that the puzzles are just there, but if you look around there are clues for every single one. Overall this is my third favorite in the series. Buy this game if you are a Silent Hill fan!!!! Best to Worst: Silent Hill 2 Silent Hill Silent Hill: Homecoming Silent Hill 3 Silent Hill: Origins Silent Hill 4: The Room Expand
  7. JoshS
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    This is the first Silent Hill I actually enjoyed playing rather than watching! The camera is an improvment and I only seen it mess up once. The health drinks and save points are far away but can you really complain about that? Challenge is what the Silent Hill games need. 2,3, & 4 were WAY too easy.
  8. DeepakM.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    This game has a really spooky soundtrack{the best} and the game is really well polished.though there are a few let down like a predictable story.SO,its a nine for this one.
  9. PatrickR
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    First let me just say that i love me some silent hill. the atmosphere, the creature design, the sound effects and scares that dont simply rely on "pop-out" scenes. Double Helix should be proud of themselves for capturing all of this, but most of all for capturing the real star (for me) of the silent hill games: the story. Silent hill is all about the troubled past of the protagonists First let me just say that i love me some silent hill. the atmosphere, the creature design, the sound effects and scares that dont simply rely on "pop-out" scenes. Double Helix should be proud of themselves for capturing all of this, but most of all for capturing the real star (for me) of the silent hill games: the story. Silent hill is all about the troubled past of the protagonists either through personal pennance for forgotten sins or simply finding out what dark connection they share with silent hill. The story and endings are just what a silent hill fan would want. It's right up there with silent hill 2 (the best plot twist in a video game ever in my opinion). Just like in the sixth sense playing this game a second time through you'll notice the nice hints towards the ending you thought you may have peiced together. If you love silent hill games, dont fret, because this is certainly a silent hill game, more so than "the room". Expand
  10. nic
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    A great addition to the silent hill franchise...creepy, eerie, and remember to bring your banky if you're playing in the dark alone!
  11. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand why that game has such score. that is one of my favorite games, which made me almost cry when i finish it. that game is for a bit clever people guys and if you are dumb, don't say that the game is "awful" Expand
  12. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    Silent Hill - Homecoming gives the player a new protagonist to the silent hill franchise, Alex Shepard, an amnesiac who wakes up in a hospital apparently after a war. Upon starting into the world of silent hill, you come to a dead end after chasing your brother, face to face with the real silent hill, attacked by nurses (its unknown why they are here, Alex has no sign of lust) andSilent Hill - Homecoming gives the player a new protagonist to the silent hill franchise, Alex Shepard, an amnesiac who wakes up in a hospital apparently after a war. Upon starting into the world of silent hill, you come to a dead end after chasing your brother, face to face with the real silent hill, attacked by nurses (its unknown why they are here, Alex has no sign of lust) and eventually makes it towards the elevator out of Alkimila hospital. Only to be attacked again. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. From its leaden, cheap-shots-aplenty combat to its wild-goose chase through gray, same-y hallways filled with useless, placebo doorways to a story that takes much too long to get off the ground, its entire first half feels like a death march through a clunky hot mess. [Nov 2008, p.73]
  2. 60
    If survival horror is your bread and butter, then Homecoming is right up your alley; otherwise, you might be better served waiting for Resident Evil 5.
  3. 75
    Double Helix has stayed true to the series' foundation while also taking steps in a brave new direction; they've crafted a tale that stands well within franchise lore, and they've produced horrifically beautiful environments, occasional framerate drops aside. If Double Helix learns from their mistakes here -- combat balance being the most glaring issue -- their future work could rival the series' best.