Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    80
    Yes, ultimately the content in the game is already on the disc and you have to pay money to unlock it, which sounds like BS. But even without the extras, Skylanders is a pretty substantial action game for kids (with a small cast). It's fun, it's challenging, the story is cute, and there is co-op.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    75
    Skylanders reinvents Spyro for a new generation with its innovative tie-in toys, but it needs more content to offer true value.
  3. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    It may be simple in presentation, but the execution is near flawless, and all the extra content shows a great level of dedication on the part of the developers. Skylanders is certainly a full and unique gaming experience.
  4. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    Armed with a nice roster of characters, Skylanders is an engrossing experience. Outside of an odd difficulty spike at the end and a few less-than-polished moments, the game hits its target. If I were a kid, I have no doubt I'd be saving my pennies to buy more Skylanders. However, as an adult, it's hard not to feel manipulated.
  5. Dec 1, 2011
    70
    A game using this toy technology with the depth and breadth of Pokemon, or the variety and replayability of the Lego games, would be absolutely amazing. For now, "pretty good" will have to do.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is so specifically targeted to children and the unique way they approach games, often vacillating back and forth between tightly focused and wildly erratic in under half an hour, it's difficult for an adult to fully and fairly evaluate this game's entertainment potential.
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    67
    It has some flaws, but the overall idea is well implemented, and pretty unique. It certainly tugs on the heart strings of the collector in me, and I'll probably soon lose the ability to resist buying a few of the additional figures for myself.
  8. Dec 16, 2011
    81
    Wildly inventive and utterly captivating. [Jan 2012, p.87]
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    85
    Ultimately, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is a joy to play and a surprising treat that is destined to be the most talked-about game of the holiday season.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    While the game is fun in its own right, the figures and portal make it into more than just the average adventure game. The price may be a little steep, with the game constantly encouraging players to buy more characters, but the figures are well made and make great collectables.
  11. Oct 13, 2011
    83
    While the game has a few flaws and I have some concerns with lost or broken toys and portals, I believe the game (with the help of an aggressive marketing campaign) will make this one of the hottest game/toy combinations this Holiday Season.
  12. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    It's not the most complex game on the market, but the innovative gadgetry and authentic thoughtfulness on the part of the developer stands out in a market so used to churning out the same old crap.
  13. Nov 2, 2011
    82
    The figures are an innovative concept and allow expanding the experience to taste. Budget permitting, you can add as any characters and treasures to the game as you like.
  14. Dec 9, 2011
    82
    I admit it, I enjoyed the time I spent hacking and slashing my way through the hordes of funny foes Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure threw in my way. I just wish it didn't cost as much as it does to unlock content that's already on the game disc. [Dec 2011]
  15. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    This one is a must buy for kids, it's the ultimate RPG for our younger gamers. Furthermore the game has a whole new element: the portal of power. For the first time one can put little characters on the portal and play with them inmediately in the game.
  16. Oct 18, 2011
    70
    A genuinely entertaining and imaginative child-friendly dungeon crawler, that's at least as good as the recent Lego games and not nearly as cynical as you might think.
  17. Oct 21, 2011
    73
    Given that the elements designed around its collectability are the game's biggest hook, though, it's hard to recommend to those who'd play on the cheap. If you aren't willing to shell out for the plastic, then you should reconsider clearing some shelf space for this one.
  18. Oct 31, 2011
    88
    Regardless of your particular alignment on the question as to the value proposition, Skylanders is a very well executed and fun game. It's appropriate for the entire family and delivers a compelling new hook that isn't just the same stuff re-skinned for a new generation.
  19. Jul 27, 2012
    80
    Without a doubt, Skylander's Spyro's Adventure is the best family-friendly, everybody-pleasing title I've seen in quite some time, and has handily eclipsed that other collect'-em-all franchise as the go-to at our house.
  20. 50
    Decent game hindered by hidden costs. [Jan 2012, p.98]
  21. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    The 8 to 12 years old kids can easily add 10 points to our review score, which reflects the less transgenerational qualities of Skylanders when compared to Pokémon. But the concept alone, with its little monster toys, works perfectly well, and even on a 34 years old like me... I'm going to keep playing with my kids. Their eyes simply spark when I put a toy on the portal and it materializes in the game!
  22. Oct 14, 2011
    88
    Overall, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is one of the more innovative gaming experiences I have played on the Xbox 360 to date. Its cross-platforming abilities, slick looking toy figures, and enjoyable gameplay all make for a game which should not only please long time Spyro fans, but will surely satisfy the games younger target audience.
  23. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Activision nailed the market between toys and gaming, and Spyro is the perfect mascot to bring this into the 20th century. If you have, or are purchasing Skylanders for the holiday, you will be a hero.
  24. Nov 3, 2011
    86
    Skylanders is a good game made wholly better by a great gaming experience that is provided by the Portal of Power and the figures. Enjoyable for all ages, you would be hard pressed to find a more engaging, better-produced family friendly game this holiday.
  25. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    A video game played with real toys? Skylanders Spyros Adventure fuses real life toys with digital games and it actually works. Combine that with charming character design, great music and well implemented RPG elements and this game is a real treat for younger gamers.
  26. Dec 7, 2011
    80
    The cool part is the tech side of Skylanders, which merges its Gauntlet-like gameplay with physical objects that unlock new characters, levels, and bonus items. It all comes together to form a sort-of-insidious-but-surprisingly-fun mesh of collectible and video game.
  27. Dec 22, 2011
    90
    One of the most original concepts to hit the industry in the past two or three years, Skylanders is also just fun to play.
  28. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    Skylanders is really well thought out (especially business-wise, as it was built around collectible figures that you need to uncover all the secrets within the game) and the design was executed very well. [December 2011, p.93]
  29. Oct 18, 2011
    83
    The design is quite inspired for a product designed for younger players, and the presentation is surprisingly high in value.
  30. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    If it's survival-of-the-fittest thrills you want, Skylanders can do that.
  31. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    If you have kids between the ages of 4 to 10-ish, and you desire to play video games with them, run out and buy it ($69). Recommend it to others. Our industry needs more family games like this.
  32. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    A great toys idea and, quite surprisingly, a solid and entertaining game, with very nice characters and level design. A good gift for kids.
  33. Oct 20, 2011
    80
    Outside the novelty factor of its genuinely innovative tech, there's nothing especially memorable about Skylanders, but it undoubtedly fired the imagination of my little one, and I found it a perfectly pleasant time-killer.
  34. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    It's a cross between a toy, card game and arcade game which makes Skylander: Spyro's Adventure such a compelling game from start to finish and then several more revisits. The
  35. Oct 20, 2011
    85
    Overall, Skylanders Spyro's Adventure is a really fun title. The game is aimed at a younger demographic and kids should have a lot of fun with this adventure. If you are a Spyro fan you should still play this game no matter how old you are. If the game is properly marketed by Activision I can see this becoming a hot item for kids this holiday season.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 10 out of 28
  1. Oct 22, 2011
    2
    Even for a series that has never exactly been stellar, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure sets the bar particularly low. The story is exceptionally trite, the script asks very little of the voice-actors, and the gameplay is bare-bones simple (even as it holds your hand through the most rudimentary mental exercises).

    There are no platforming elements to speak of (you can't even jump in the console versions!) and practically any platforming-esque mechanic is either performed automatically (conveniently placed bounce-pads replace the aforementioned jumping) or is explained a half dozen times by in-your-face visual cues, constant narrative hints, and pop-up text explanations. The enemies in this game are laughable and should never pose the slightest threat to your life total. Graphically, the Spyro series was never really a powerhouse, and it is obvious that the same amount of effort went into this title. This could have been a PS1 title. It is marketed towards the elementary-school set, though, so it gets a pass.

    The toy mechanic itself is cute and sure to be a hit with kids from ages 9 to 90, but when taken as a whole with the design decisions in the game proper, it comes across as exceptionally aggressive marketing. Different characters basically play exactly the same as any other, even Spyro himself (which explains the loss of jumping and gliding: lazy design), with one financially relevant caveat.

    The element attached to each character serves as a key to access locked areas (ie: only a fire element skylander can unlock a fire element area) and a damage modifier is applied for certain elements in some areas as well. What this effectively does is force you to pay for additional figures in order to unlock the full content of your already expensive purchase. And why wouldn't you, after finding the character-specific advertisements sprinkled about each level that unlock abilities and short intro videos for figures that didn't come with the core package! There are already expansion packs available as well.

    When distilled to its purest form, Sklanders: Spyro's Adventure is essentially a poorly made toy tie-in game that thinks you or your children aren't intelligent enough to figure out how to solve basic challenges without being told exactly what to do in at least three separate ways. To unlock the full breadth of this franchise-turned-shovelware experience you must needs spend something to the tune of a hundred dollars, though you do get some cute toys in the process.

    And hey, at least there are hats.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I have a 3 year old girl and an 8 year old boy. Screw them! I bought this game for me. They're just my excuse. The game itself is a very good platformer, and the toy combo is perfect. Nostalgia has taken a lot of Spyro Fans too much that they forget that the original games were equally as childish- they were just younger back then. I would hate on Activision if I could, trust me. They're my #2 worst publisher. But they hit it out of the park. The figures are actually quality, and the game is fun. Be careful, though, because the 3DS version is NOT multiplayer. Which was, in my opinion, Activision's biggest mistake. Other than that, I can say so far it's a major hit with each person controlling their characters and we switched out as necessary. For people who have kids, this game is a GODSEND. An $8 character will completely renew interest. So fanboys took one for the team. It's still a great game. Full Review »
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Very fun and innovative game in terms of the portal and figures. I'm 28 years old, I've played the Insomniac Spyro games, loved them, and I'm just fine with what they've done with him in this game. Just think of it as Spyro in an alternate universe before you fan boys start peeing your pants in rage. This is a quality, well-made game that is a joy to play. I recommend you give it a shot before you knock it. Full Review »