Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Xbox 360

Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The small purple dragon returns, bringing with him new friends in this peripheral-based adventure.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    90
    One of the most original concepts to hit the industry in the past two or three years, Skylanders is also just fun to play.
  2. Oct 14, 2011
    88
    Overall, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is one of the more innovative gaming experiences I have played on the Xbox 360 to date. Its cross-platforming abilities, slick looking toy figures, and enjoyable gameplay all make for a game which should not only please long time Spyro fans, but will surely satisfy the games younger target audience.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    85
    Ultimately, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is a joy to play and a surprising treat that is destined to be the most talked-about game of the holiday season.
  4. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    Armed with a nice roster of characters, Skylanders is an engrossing experience. Outside of an odd difficulty spike at the end and a few less-than-polished moments, the game hits its target. If I were a kid, I have no doubt I'd be saving my pennies to buy more Skylanders. However, as an adult, it's hard not to feel manipulated.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    80
    While the game is fun in its own right, the figures and portal make it into more than just the average adventure game. The price may be a little steep, with the game constantly encouraging players to buy more characters, but the figures are well made and make great collectables.
  6. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    This one is a must buy for kids, it's the ultimate RPG for our younger gamers. Furthermore the game has a whole new element: the portal of power. For the first time one can put little characters on the portal and play with them inmediately in the game.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2012
    50
    Decent game hindered by hidden costs. [Jan 2012, p.98]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29
  1. CL1
    Nov 10, 2011
    10
    For kids that are 6 to 10 years old this game can't be beat. My nephew and niece love that you take a real toy put it on the portal and itFor kids that are 6 to 10 years old this game can't be beat. My nephew and niece love that you take a real toy put it on the portal and it comes to life in the game. Each character has different attacks which make them fun to change. The story and game play are fun, easy to follow and safe for kids. This is a game everyone in the family can sit around a play together. I highly recommend it; I'm off to buy a three pack of new characters, enjoy! Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    My son is 7 and he absolutely loves this game. I am not ashamed to say... I also enjoy playing alongside him. I see quite a few peopleMy son is 7 and he absolutely loves this game. I am not ashamed to say... I also enjoy playing alongside him. I see quite a few people complaining about the cost of all the characters. But honestly I'm not sure why. Unless you have the desire to buy all the characters at once. Personally, I like the idea of waiting a while and then getting a few more characters. It's certainly cheaper than buying a whole new game. Skylanders is the game I've been waiting for. Pure and simple fun. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I have a 3 year old girl and an 8 year old boy. Screw them! I bought this game for me. They're just my excuse. The game itself is a veryI have a 3 year old girl and an 8 year old boy. Screw them! I bought this game for me. They're just my excuse. The game itself is a very good platformer, and the toy combo is perfect. Nostalgia has taken a lot of Spyro Fans too much that they forget that the original games were equally as childish- they were just younger back then. I would hate on Activision if I could, trust me. They're my #2 worst publisher. But they hit it out of the park. The figures are actually quality, and the game is fun. Be careful, though, because the 3DS version is NOT multiplayer. Which was, in my opinion, Activision's biggest mistake. Other than that, I can say so far it's a major hit with each person controlling their characters and we switched out as necessary. For people who have kids, this game is a GODSEND. An $8 character will completely renew interest. So fanboys took one for the team. It's still a great game. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    My kids and I love playing this game. My son went nuts for the characters and loves the mechanic of swapping out his characters on the fly.My kids and I love playing this game. My son went nuts for the characters and loves the mechanic of swapping out his characters on the fly. We enjoy battling baddies together too.
    This is a great game for playing with your kids. Buying all the characters is a bit expensive, but my son earns them by doing chores and he's never been so happy to do extra work around the house so he can earn his next character!
    Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    6
    Okay, let's try to be as unbiased as possible in this review. Spyro was my **** childhood, spyro was freakin awesome, he had fire and ice andOkay, let's try to be as unbiased as possible in this review. Spyro was my **** childhood, spyro was freakin awesome, he had fire and ice and lightning and wind, and he was a sarcastic smart aleck, so you could imagine a 7 year old boy looking up to him. That being said, skylanders does not feel like a spyro game. Even though his name is in the title, you honestly don't even need him to complete the game. I mean, he's not a bad character in this game or anything, he just... Ehh. The whole selling point for skylanders is the fact that you can switch in characters whenever you want, right? Well, as cool as this is, it kind of takes a way from the overall epicness of the game's story. Some of the heroic struggle is lost when you can just rejuvenate all of your health by switching characters mid battle or take him off the portal so you can take a dump or something. The cutscenes are funny, TBH. Spyros character isn't much different either, he's still a smart aleck, brave, tough, all that good stuff. It just seems like they threw spyros name in there for no reason except to attract spyro fans.
    Overall, it's not a bad game by any means, it just isn't the epic spyro game I thought I would be.
    Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    This game looked cheesy to me from the go. Obviously catering to kids with little to no thinking skills, which could keep them occupied forThis game looked cheesy to me from the go. Obviously catering to kids with little to no thinking skills, which could keep them occupied for weeks. I beat the game in 6 hours. It felt like an easy 800 points for my achievements. Not much replay value for someone over the age of 15. I easily leveled 11 characters to 10 and unlocked all their skills. I did that by farming xp on spiders that appearently never stop spawning. The idea of the little figures on the portal was cute. But the game play vs buying all the toys not worth it. I could see if it was marketed and programmed correctly, you could have online play, with 2-8 or 16 players in different modes. Though the easy game mechanics need to be adjusted. The battle mode is simple and cheesy... 1 vs 1? Ick. I remember playing games like gauntlet dark legacy, which I found more playble. I think the game has so much potential. Does not deserve a 10. The game is really short for the money you would drop on the toys. The challenges for each toy is kinda hard... Kinda. I didn't hate it, but I didn't feel rewarded enough for leveling all my guys to 10 and beating the game to consider buying 20 more little toys for 10 bucks a pop.

    With that note, I thought micro-transactions were ethically wrong. You can buy a pirate boat to unlock missions that are built in the game but you gotta buy that boat.

    Game cost what? 60 bucks? The pad is another 10 to 15... Then 30 skylanders are 30-40...120 150 bucks for 5-10 hours of game play. Give another 15 to 20 hours to level all those 30 skylanders to 10... Not worth it. A game should offer at least 30 hours plus for 60bucks. That's 12 movies from the 5 dollar bin which gives me 24 to 30 hours.
    Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    This game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyroThis game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyro alone and started a new IP. But no, they yet again gotta ruin the spyro name. Why dont they learn and go back to the original spyro that always got good reviews. (not enter the dragonfly tho). Expand

See all 29 User Reviews