Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    I can't say playing through Wei Shin's story in Sleeping Dogs is a pleasant experience. It's gritty, dirty, filled with curse words and exquisite torture, but also utterly enjoyable if you're a fan of those kinds of stories and don't mind a romantic interlude or two.
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs punches you in the stomach, throws you over the railing to end it by jumping feet first on your face. Painful, intense and exaggerated? Yes, but at the same time a furious and insane rollercoaster ride that you won't soon forget. Look closely though, and you'll notice that it doesn't deliver a completely perfect experience.
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Successful because it dares to be different, and actually thinks about how to make narrative, gameplay and setting play off each other. Which, for a game that no one expected much from when it was taken out back and shot, is quite something.
  4. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Despite several setbacks with authenticity and character depth, Sleeping Dogs delivers an entertaining and realistic enough interpretation of Hong Kong to warrant a sequel.
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    But Sleeping Dogs has to rank as one the pleasant surprises of this year. While the campaign is relatively short, there is loads to do and the missions, story and presentation come together to make a pretty solid package. And you always have the option to jump in a car, flick on the radio and cruise around Hong Kong looking for trouble, before it finds you.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs may not offer anything particularly new and certainly nothing groundbreaking, but what it does do is deliver sharp, thrilling and just downright enjoyable action to savour. Other open-worlders have tried to veer from Rockstar's path, some have even tried to lampoon it, but Sleeping Dogs has shown, confidently and emphatically, that you don't always need to change the rules. You just have to know how to play.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    Varied missions, hard-hitting melee combat, and a captivating setting make Sleeping Dogs an enjoyable escapade.
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    78
    From an artistic and technical standpoint, Sleeping Dogs is not a marvel, but it is perhaps my favorite summertime game. It's a game that fuses some of the best parts of other open-world titles and fuses them with Hong Kong Triads. In many ways, that's all I wanted.
  9. Aug 12, 2012
    78
    Sleeping Dogs has enough entertainment value to justify Square Enix's decision to save it from cancellation, but it also displays a lack of polish that makes its troubled development evident. [Sept 2012, p.90]
  10. Aug 27, 2012
    77
    Sleeping Dogs is a tough adventure into the dark side of life.
  11. Aug 28, 2012
    75
    While it may not have the epic sweep and polish of a Rockstar title, Sleeping Dogs is refreshingly streamlined, serious, and contained, even as it pays homage to its sometimes less-than-grounded source material.
  12. Aug 14, 2012
    75
    Overall, I feel like Sleeping Dogs is the start to something that has the potential to get even better down the road. I really love the setting, characters, and hand to hand combat of the game, but the remainder feels a little recycled in comparison to other open-world games we've played so far this generation.
  13. 75
    Even with some less-than-thrilling scenarios and its failure to reward player choice, Sleeping Dogs ultimately delivers a very good open-world action experience. It hits enough high notes to warrant the trip to Hong Kong, even if the route there feels a little too familiar. [Oct 2012, p.64]
  14. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    The end result still doesn't have the personality or verve of Grand Theft Auto or Red Dead Redemption, the novelty of Assassin's Creed, or the crazy acrobatics of Just Cause but it's a better action game than any of them. Clearly that's not necessarily a priority for open world games but it's nice to see it can be done all the same.
  15. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Sleeping Dogs certainly doesn't deserve to take all the blame for this situation, and Rockstar has some serious game-raising of its own to do with GTA5. But when a game is so clearly intent on being a follower of trends rather than setting them, it's hard to feel much passion for Sleeping Dogs' vanilla retread of established ideas. When compared to his open-world peers, Wei Shen's stoic promise to do "what I always do" ultimately feels more like an apology for low ambition than a rallying cry.
  16. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Their plotlines may not be great, but at least they're all really believable in the moment...Moments that work in a story that almost does - that's Sleeping Dogs. It has all the open world elements - tons of collectibles and outfits to buy, a vibrant city that looks fantastic - but a convoluted layout makes navigating it irritating.
  17. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    A middling open-world game can get by if it's well paced. The Saboteur and Prototype 2, for instance, weren't necessarily good, but they moved. Really moved. They pulled you forward, thanks in large part to great progression systems. There is no such sense of progression in Sleeping Dogs. You have a few tracks that gradually unlock moves you may never use.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 409 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 108
  2. Negative: 7 out of 108
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Definitely worth a buy, but I'd wait for the first price cut if you are the type of gamer that doesn't explore open world games ad nauseam. The story is done very well, with some awesome voice acting. The only bad voice acting is street vendors screaming at you, often in tandem with the same voice and same line. It was funny the first time, the next few times not so much. There are some expected glitches since the game is brand new, but nothing game breaking that I've run into.

    The only true problem with this game is a $60 price point with the ONLY multiplayer experience being comparing scores of random "achievements" with those on your friends list. Since I am the only person on my friends list with this game, I compete with myself. A bit lame honestly.

    It's GTA with a proper story and combat. Well, for an oversimplification that is how I would describe it. I personally cannot stand Rockstar games, but I very much like Sleeping Dogs. It's a solid buy for anyone that will play open world games for more than their story. If you are looking at this for the campaign only, then I'd wait for the first price cut.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    I was really looking forward to this game, and I am not disappointed. The story (so far) is believable and well written. The city is living and breathing and very enjoyable to inhabit. The attention to detail is remarkable: you can see bugs crawling on the ground! The voice acting is superb. As for the gameplay, the driving is great, a great mix between realistic and arcadish. The free running sections are very fun, it's great to run around jumping and sliding to evade the cops. The combat is perfect and challenging. Some may find it a little too challenging... it takes some time getting used to, but free flow with counters and environmental takedowns is just awesome (it's like Batman meets the Bourne Conspiracy). Gunplay is satisfying and focused on moving forward, since you can combine some free running and melee with it, giving a good pace to it. You can stay in cover if you want to, but it's a lot more enjoyable not to. Had this game been published by Rockstar, the reviews probably would have been better. I mean, GTA4 was good, but not as enjoyable as this game was for me... and the reviews were so biased it's not even funny. If you're looking for a solid open-world game with great gameplay and a compelling storyline, I recommend this game hands down. Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. Superb city that is huge and has a lot to offer. The graphics are outstanding and all of the gameplay elements work really well. Sleeper hit of 2012, no doubt in my mind. Full Review »