Sleeping Dogs Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 472 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 472
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    After a protracted development, which at one point saw the game planned as the next instalment in the True Crime series, United Front Games eventually found a publisher for their open world action-adventure title in Square Enix. Sleeping Dogs difficult development is certainly evident in the games rough edges that occasionally see vehicles or enemies appear from nowhere or the playerAfter a protracted development, which at one point saw the game planned as the next instalment in the True Crime series, United Front Games eventually found a publisher for their open world action-adventure title in Square Enix. Sleeping Dogs difficult development is certainly evident in the games rough edges that occasionally see vehicles or enemies appear from nowhere or the player character finding their body ghosting through objects in the game world for example. Despite this slight lack of polish it is hard to imagine many gamers not finding the game thoroughly entertaining. The obvious point of comparison is of course the Grand Theft Auto series and while it doesn’t quite match up to Rockstars epics it does improve upon them in some ways. Firstly the Hong Kong setting makes a welcome change from the usual US based cities. Not only is it aesthetically pleasing but the more sparing availability of guns allows for an increased focus on hand to hand combat. Clearly influenced by the recent Batman games this combat goes a long way to making the game as enjoyable as it is. All in all, regardless of its rough edges, Sleeping Dogs is certainly worth playing. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    Sleeping dogs is very good and a pretty fun GTA wannabe that gets melee combat right. Some breathtaking visuals if you get the HD texture pack for the PC version, but the game itself is far from being a classic. I found it way too easy. Only took me one long weekend to fully playthrough and have 100% completion. Driving mechanic is pretty good and GTA could take a few notes from itsSleeping dogs is very good and a pretty fun GTA wannabe that gets melee combat right. Some breathtaking visuals if you get the HD texture pack for the PC version, but the game itself is far from being a classic. I found it way too easy. Only took me one long weekend to fully playthrough and have 100% completion. Driving mechanic is pretty good and GTA could take a few notes from its driving combat mechanic. Races are dull and far too easy to complete. I came in first almost every time on my first try. The story is pretty decent and some great believable characters with excellent voice acting. You can see allot of love went into this game, just a shame that they didn't take a few more risks and up the difficulty. While this game doesn't lack for quality, it does lack in substance, likely because Square had a large lineup of DLC planned. Hopefully the next title in the True Crime series learns and expands on what they have done here. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    8
    Não chega a ser um jogo ruim até que bem divertido porem o que mais irrita a mecânica de direção dos automóveis que não muito boa dando uma experiência de direção horrível e que me faz muitas vezs optar em usar as motocicletas.
  4. May 13, 2016
    7
    Very Normal Game . Nearly 8/10 as Watch Dogs . Watch Dogs better than Sleeping Dogs , but Sleeping Dogs is awesome too and can not be compared because Watch Dogs is Stelth Game and Sleeping Dogs Bit Am Up . In Sleeping Dogs and Watch Dogs all is good , but graphics is not cool because 7/10 . Storyline is good in Sleeping Dogs and in Watch Dogs too , but Graphics not cool .
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    While this game doesn't break any new barriers, it does most of the things it sets out to do and it does them well enough to make a good game. First the good: The GTA style elements of this game are top notch. There are plenty of things to do in the sandbox and they can range from racing to doing random events for more xp to even participating in martial arts tournaments. There's a ton ofWhile this game doesn't break any new barriers, it does most of the things it sets out to do and it does them well enough to make a good game. First the good: The GTA style elements of this game are top notch. There are plenty of things to do in the sandbox and they can range from racing to doing random events for more xp to even participating in martial arts tournaments. There's a ton of stuff to do and it will keep you entertained for a long time. The story is good, even if it kinda tails off at the end. Still, it was fairly entertaining and not a chore to get through like most GTA clone stories are now-a-days. The hand-to-hand combat was really well done and very exciting. This will probably be the most fun you'll have with the game. It's sorta like the Assassin's Creed fighting style except alot less forgiving. Now the bad: The graphics are beyond horrible. This game probably could have been passed off as a great looking PS2 game. There's really no excuse for graphics that are so bad like this anymore. The guns are not very fun to use and the aiming is very difficult to deal with sometimes. Plus the driving is very hit or miss. Some cars seem to work fine while others just don't do what they're supposed to half the time. Overall it's a good, fun, and time consuming game. I wouldn't pay full price for it, probably closer to 40-50. But, if you see it on sale, don't hesitate to pick it. While this one won't win any awards at the end of the day, it's still a great game that needs to be played. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    To be honest, I am not a big fan of open world games. But Sleeping Dog hooked me, with an engaging narrative and some pretty good game mechanics. The counter system is a little bit too sensitive for my liking, but the melee feels pretty good. Kudos for the typical third person shooting segments. What makes it even greater is the great atmosphere: you feel that you are living in anTo be honest, I am not a big fan of open world games. But Sleeping Dog hooked me, with an engaging narrative and some pretty good game mechanics. The counter system is a little bit too sensitive for my liking, but the melee feels pretty good. Kudos for the typical third person shooting segments. What makes it even greater is the great atmosphere: you feel that you are living in an actual Hong Kong action movie. The casts were also very good, and while the production values aren't up there with other triple A titles such as Max Payne or GTA, they are still pretty great. Another highlight is its plot; which reminds you of the best in HK cinemas of the 90's. One of the best game of 2012. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Pretty much a GTA IV on drugs, in hong kong. Freaking awesome, great graphics, awesome story, and a buy for any sandbox lover like me.
  8. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Sleeping Dogs is a game that almost never saw the light of day, which is shocking considering how good this game turned out. The core gameplay in Sleeping Dogs offers a lot of variety. The driving is fun and arcade-like, so the handling is simple and intuitive, but it offers depth, like ramming your enemies off of the road or jumping from your car to another car and jacking it. TheSleeping Dogs is a game that almost never saw the light of day, which is shocking considering how good this game turned out. The core gameplay in Sleeping Dogs offers a lot of variety. The driving is fun and arcade-like, so the handling is simple and intuitive, but it offers depth, like ramming your enemies off of the road or jumping from your car to another car and jacking it. The shooting is basic, so it doesn't offer much depth, but there is a bullet-time feature, a la Max Payne, which makes gun combat really fun, though it must be noted that gun combat is not the focus of the game. Now onto melee, which is the focus of the game, is similar to the combat in Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, meaning it's a ton of fun and pretty stylish. In addition, you can use context-sensitive environmental attacks, allowing you to shove an enemy's head in a fan, throw him in a dumpster, impale him on swordfish, etc. It's all handled pretty gracefully and flows together nicely. Now onto the parkour, which is a real blast. Your character can climb, jump, leap, etc., so your character has real agility and makes you feel like you can get away from any bad situation or chase after those who are trying to escape you. Sleeping Dogs has a lot of talent, all lending to the story, voice acting, and the cast of characters. In many pre-release trailers and previews, they pointed out Hollywood talent like Emma Stone, but just about everyone here contributes their voice talents to make the story and characters interesting and fully realized. While the story isn't original, it's done so well that originality isn't necessary. This is a game that knows what it wants to be and completely succeeds at it. This is a top notch production from beginning to end. Without a doubt, Sleeping Dogs is my favorite looking game of this kind. To compare, you have Grand Theft Auto IV and the Saints Row games, and I believe Sleeping Dogs is the most impressive looking of the bunch. While the map is smaller and surely allows for more details, it's those details that make the world feel like it's living and breathing, which adds to the overall atmosphere of this beautiful world that is yours to explore and discover all of the little secrets it has packed within it. Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2012
    5
    The definitive "made for rental only" type of game, which is fun in short bursts but lacks the innovation and focus to be a title that will keep you coming back for more. As an aside, it also shows that the sandbox genre is running out of ideas - if you have GTA or Saints Row, then you don't need this game.
  10. May 22, 2015
    7
    Think GTA set in Hong Kong with karate fights. It's got a pretty sizeable open world with a decent number of side activities. The story is neither bad or good, in my opinion. Some of the objectives and side activites (such as kareoke) are just paian unenjoyable. Also, there are some frustrating bits in the main story. I like the gun fights and the melee combat, though. You can stichThink GTA set in Hong Kong with karate fights. It's got a pretty sizeable open world with a decent number of side activities. The story is neither bad or good, in my opinion. Some of the objectives and side activites (such as kareoke) are just paian unenjoyable. Also, there are some frustrating bits in the main story. I like the gun fights and the melee combat, though. You can stich enemy's heads in fans or impale them by pushing them onto sword fish. Ultimately there are some great action moments but don't expect the game to be on par with, say, GTA V. Expand
  11. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    the gameplay is solid and smooth. although there is nothing new and creative in this game, i somehow enjoyed it a lot. for sure it is better than SR:the third. plus, i am from China, i can say they put hard work into the city and environment design to make the city a real HONGKONG. the background voice acting and sound are just amazing. i like gta mostly for the free roaming in cars, samethe gameplay is solid and smooth. although there is nothing new and creative in this game, i somehow enjoyed it a lot. for sure it is better than SR:the third. plus, i am from China, i can say they put hard work into the city and environment design to make the city a real HONGKONG. the background voice acting and sound are just amazing. i like gta mostly for the free roaming in cars, same here, love driving cars around the city. the combat is ok, not as fun as in batman game, but better than in AC. For me, it is a 7 game, i give it one more point for the believable hongkong feelings. Expand
  12. May 30, 2013
    8
    Grand Theft Auto plus Batman Arkham City like combat equals a fun game. I enjoyed this game a lot and loved how it was harder to come across guns that in Grand Theft Auto. This is a fun game that I do not regret buying.
  13. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Good action game with a good story but not so good as an open-world game title. It feels restrictive and limited and does not give you the "freedom" of choices like the GTA series, Also the graphics are a bit dated for the today standards
  14. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    Scratching and clawing for its existance, the open world prodigy formerly known as True Crime Hong Kong has now been given a new identity and a new publisher. For what seems like development turmoil has actually worked in Sleeping Dogs' favour as it's the freshest open world game in some time. Sleeping dogs has some of the best combat ever seen in the open world game genre and boastsScratching and clawing for its existance, the open world prodigy formerly known as True Crime Hong Kong has now been given a new identity and a new publisher. For what seems like development turmoil has actually worked in Sleeping Dogs' favour as it's the freshest open world game in some time. Sleeping dogs has some of the best combat ever seen in the open world game genre and boasts influences from GTA, Saints Row, Batman and Yakuza to great effect throughout. The only sticking points are the absense of a true sense of its own identity, often leaning towards inspired games rather than its own game. Also some missions are rather pointless and meandering like when you show a rapper about town, despite being a welcome change of pace. With the scant number of open world games to ponder this year, Sleeping Dogs is ripe for a good playthrough and it doesn't disappoint in the slightest. Expand
  15. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Very close to grand theft auto just more restricted.I enjoyed this game but it got boring after a while,there making a new sleeping dogs so lets see what they come up with.
  16. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Sleeping dogs feels like Fighting Force or Dynamite Cop or Arkham City meets Grand Theft Auto. You can interweave the environment in battles and chases, the game is very free flowing. Not a cheap clone, more a cumulation of sugar and spice and all things nice.
  17. Jan 24, 2014
    5
    Sleeping Dogs is an interesting spin on the open world game that attempts to place the various criminal activities present in other sandbox worlds in a more morally correct policing role. Combining a very slick run system with a GTA like backdrop sounds like a recipe for success, but this game never feels like it puts it all together. Below average graphics with a brutal soundtrack holdSleeping Dogs is an interesting spin on the open world game that attempts to place the various criminal activities present in other sandbox worlds in a more morally correct policing role. Combining a very slick run system with a GTA like backdrop sounds like a recipe for success, but this game never feels like it puts it all together. Below average graphics with a brutal soundtrack hold back some excellent story and nice on foot feel. The driving is quite poor as well, maybe being passable for a previous generation system, but not the 360. A solid attempt and worth a play, but nothing I'll miss or feel nostalgia for. Average in a genre with some incredible offerings.
    (Also, I hate any game requiring me to make constant use of a cell phone.)
    Expand
  18. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    If we make a consensus in comparison to other years, we had a lot of sandbox games in 2012. So, why Sleeping Dogs? Besides having Lucy Liu and Emma Stone in the voice acting, Sleeping Dogs promised since the beginning of the rumours an entire Hong Kong just for us. And that's awesome. Square Enix has developed not only an amazingly immense sandbox but mixed it with a turbulent storyIf we make a consensus in comparison to other years, we had a lot of sandbox games in 2012. So, why Sleeping Dogs? Besides having Lucy Liu and Emma Stone in the voice acting, Sleeping Dogs promised since the beginning of the rumours an entire Hong Kong just for us. And that's awesome. Square Enix has developed not only an amazingly immense sandbox but mixed it with a turbulent story involving a cop with a shadowy past, involved undercover in the chinese mafia. The story is good, but not as good as all the things you are allowed to do in the actual game. During the game, we will win (or lose) points depending on our actions, and these points can be Cop Points, Triad Points or Face Points. These points allow us to unlock perks which can make us steal weapons immediately from enemies, learn some incredible kung-fu moves or steal cars without anyone noticing (How cool is that?), and between the Cop missions and the Triad missions, we have also the secondary missions called Face missions (The one that unlocks Face Point, duh!). Also, the city has places were we can gamble, sing karaoke, dance, take a massage or...well...get a little bit of attention by the ladies. Also we have to find boxes and statues to unlock cool things, hack cameras, drive passangers as a bus drivers, and the list goes on. Sleeping Dogs is one of the most extense sandbox, where almost everything is possible. Unfortunately, there isn't online features, but still, there is a kind of leaderbord thing you can share with friends! (Oh my god! That's such a piece of sh**! No one cares about leaderbords!), but even alone, this sandbox is still fun, and the story also should please critics with its dramatic theme and outstanding voice acting. Also, the game looks awesome, the city is one of the best-designed cities I've ever seen in a video game and....and....I DON'T CARE! IT'S FREAKING AWESOME! So, fun? Check. Story? Check. Is it Superb? Well, no. It struggles to give a sort of wrong appeal. But well, it's good enough for a 9. Expand
  19. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    I've always been a fan of true crime games, coz they do something different. And Sleeping dogs is no exception.

    Pros: Solid, deep main story. With unsuspecting plot twists. Fast, fluid hand to hand combat. Good shooting mechanics both in vehicles and on foot, with Bullet time like slow mo, if you're fan of max Payne, you will feel right at home here. Driving mechanics are fun and
    I've always been a fan of true crime games, coz they do something different. And Sleeping dogs is no exception.

    Pros:
    Solid, deep main story. With unsuspecting plot twists.
    Fast, fluid hand to hand combat.
    Good shooting mechanics both in vehicles and on foot, with Bullet time like slow mo, if you're fan of max Payne, you will feel right at home here.
    Driving mechanics are fun and arcadey.
    Voice acting, is spot on.
    Nice visuals, and colour palette.
    Heaps to do, I got 100% done in this, and I don't usually but this was definitely worth while.
    FUN. And levelling up systems are good and useful.
    Great protagonist.

    Cons:
    Even though, this a combat based game, and I love and prefer that idea, but since the weapons and feel of them are so good. I wish you could keep them, instead of stealing them.

    A better more popular sound track for in game radio's, not they weren't bad but a few more recognisable songs.

    Facial animations could of been slightly better.
    Expand
  20. May 7, 2013
    10
    The game is incredibly good. And this is coming from a gamer who doesn't play any GTA or similar. The story is mature and good, Honk Kong is full of life, side-quests and collectibles and the gameplay is quite enjoyable in every way possible.
    And now is on 'Classics', so it's a must buy :D
  21. May 23, 2017
    9
    Este juego es una obra de arte, tiene un personaje carismático, una historia que engancha desde el primer minuto, un mapa de buen tamaño, buen apuntado, conducción buena también, cero problemas de bugs, gran cantidad de horas de juego y gran cantidad de vehículos.
    En fin, lo recomiendo al 100%.
  22. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    this is gonna be the most underrated game of the year, yes, I said it, the graphics are nice and the story is extremely amazing, the combat in this game is flawless and the driving feels just right. I won't say the game is perfect, since after you complete it, there is little to nothing interesting to be done.
  23. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the worldThis game deserves to be Game of The Year in my opinion. Everything that is put in this game is amazing. The story is absolutely amazing and how it is told is amazing. The combat is fluid and fun and never gets boring. When you are done with the campaign no worries you can do the very fun activities and favors that are in the world. You can also collect the hundreds of lock boxes the world has along with the Jade statues that unlock you new moves to use in combat. A very solid title and i hope to see some dlc for this game very soon and hopefully a Sleeping Dogs 2. 10/10 Expand
  24. May 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sleeping Dogs does some things better than even the cream of the crop, and its story will be what keeps you focused on playing. The fact that the game happens to play well is simply icing on the cake. Expand
  25. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    This is a great videogame. It really is. The gameplay is fantastic, the driving is excellent, the missions are alot of fun. It's just a very fun game, and a great addition to the sandbox genre. The campaign is a solid 10-12 hours and there's some bonus activities to complete as well. I had alot of fun with this one. My rating:8.5/10
  26. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    A very decent game considering Square Enix had to pick up the pieces that Activision left behind on the True Crime series. There are elements that need help that will come with the rebuild of this franchise such as: Clunky Physics, only moderately convincing vehicle physics and slightly disappointing weaponry and shooting. That said, the storyline is fairly well put together. The openA very decent game considering Square Enix had to pick up the pieces that Activision left behind on the True Crime series. There are elements that need help that will come with the rebuild of this franchise such as: Clunky Physics, only moderately convincing vehicle physics and slightly disappointing weaponry and shooting. That said, the storyline is fairly well put together. The open world is always a plus in any franchise and there is plenty to do to distract you from the main story line. I give this one a 7/10. I expect that Square Enix will be able to resurrect this franchise in the best way they possibly can. Expand
  27. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Sleeping Dogs doesn't do anything out of the box for the genre of open world crime games but it is very entertaining. Although Sleeping Dogs is the first open world crime game I have ever played where hand to hand is spot on. You can also grab enemies and push them into environmental hazards such as table saws, car doors, etc. The story is pretty good too, showing the conflict the mainSleeping Dogs doesn't do anything out of the box for the genre of open world crime games but it is very entertaining. Although Sleeping Dogs is the first open world crime game I have ever played where hand to hand is spot on. You can also grab enemies and push them into environmental hazards such as table saws, car doors, etc. The story is pretty good too, showing the conflict the main character Wei Shen has with being an undercover cop as well as a Triad. Driving, gun play, and hand to hand combat are all very spot on. This game is worth the buy! Don't expect it to be the "next Grand Theft Auto" because it will never live up to that expectation. But Sleeping Dogs is very much entertaining and a solid buy! Expand
  28. Sep 11, 2012
    7
    This was a hard game to review for me. At times it was freakin' awesome but at other times I felt underwhelmed or frustrated. Okay, let's start off with the good. Hong Kong looks AWESOME. It's good enough that they're using a setting other than a New York clone, but the city is so full of life and looks genuinely believable. In fact, the game in general looks great and the framerate isThis was a hard game to review for me. At times it was freakin' awesome but at other times I felt underwhelmed or frustrated. Okay, let's start off with the good. Hong Kong looks AWESOME. It's good enough that they're using a setting other than a New York clone, but the city is so full of life and looks genuinely believable. In fact, the game in general looks great and the framerate is very solid. Texture pop-in is near non-existent (It's there, but I only saw it once throughout my entire playthrough) and texture quality is generally very good (Some characters and costumes are a little dodgey up close). The combat is really fun. It's no Arkham City but to be fair the Arkham franchise almost perfected the freeflow system, and the combat generally flows quite well. Environmental kills are a fantastic addition that helps speed up the combat and provide a moment of respite against the unfair odds (You'll be swarmed by opponents, but environmental kills can thin out the numbers),but it can feel a little OP and forced at times. Gunplay is your standard affair apart from the Bullet-time mechanic that activates whenever you vault over cover or make a disarm. Because the slowdown requires you to take a risk, it never feels OP and is a nice addition, but gun combat itself is actually pretty easy in reality. The only time I died was when I just screwed around and vaulted over everything. Driving is pretty standard, nothing original but works well, and why fix what isn't broken right? The characters in the story are pretty interesting, my favourite being Jackie and Wei Shen (The main protagonist), both of whom are interesting and likeable in their own ways. Now for the bad. The story is pretty predictable and you can spot things from a mile off. DogEyes works for Big Smile Lee? Guess he'll be the final boss then? Winston's having a wedding? Guess there'll be a shootout there then! Uncle Po is in the hospital? Guess he'll die and there'll be some sort of power struggle between the Triads then. The last officer was tortured and buried alive? Guess I'm gonna get caught and tortured at some point then. You get my point. There is way too much foreshadowing and it gives the ENTIRE story away. It's a real shame as some of these plot twists could have come as a surprise had some of them not been cliches or constantly brought up. It's not like I knew what was going to happen and just not know how (Eg. In Bayonetta I knew I would eventually throw down with Jubileus, I just didn't know how it would happen or know about other details of the story). I pretty much knew how everything would go down. Another point of contention is that the game doesn't have much else to do after the story is finished. You have some favors, some street races and collectibles. You have events, but these are very repetitive and short. Street races are very easy, and favors are very short and easy too. It's a bit sad because this game clearly has the gameplay, but lacks the content to back it up. Two minor issues are the police and the free-running. The free-running is awesome! So why is it only utilized in chase scenes and a couple of missions where you need to get up a building to sneak into a room? The free-running is only really used in the story and feels like a wasted opportunity. You think even in missions where you have to sneak into places we'd have multiple ways to do it, but nope! Totally linear! The police are just a hassle, not fun to escape from like in GTA IV. when you get high heat levels (How hard the police are trying to catch you) random police cars will spawn in front of you as you escape. That's a cheap as hell move by the AI and cheats you out of a well-earned escape. Police cars also become very damage resistant as you raise heat levels meaning you can hardly force any off the road, forcing you to run. It's just a hassle, especially when you can't fire back at the police. Guns are very scarce in this game. I give this game a 7/10. Solid and fun to play, but not amazing or great. Expand
  29. Aug 25, 2013
    9
    A breath of fresh air in the open world genre. A game that allows for exploration through a non traditional open world environment (Hong Kong) and also a great list of characters that are superbly voice acted. The game takes a huge focus on hand to hand combat and does it so well with a number of brutal combos that include counters, heavy attacks, light attacks and special moves as well asA breath of fresh air in the open world genre. A game that allows for exploration through a non traditional open world environment (Hong Kong) and also a great list of characters that are superbly voice acted. The game takes a huge focus on hand to hand combat and does it so well with a number of brutal combos that include counters, heavy attacks, light attacks and special moves as well as the brutal environmental take downs. the driving is a lot of fun and feels very arcade style. there is lots to do including races, customizing cars, buying clothes, exploring the city, going out on dates and of course side missions for the triad and police groups. easily one of my favorite games of 2012. Expand
  30. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of the better open-world games not named Batman: Arkham City, GTA or Saints Row. The action in of itself is combination of both Batman and Saints Row with a tad more realism of GTA. The portrayal of Hong Kong is surprisingly accurate although abbreviated. The acting is amazing. The story has elements of Infernal Affairs and pays homages to other Hong Kong/martial artsThis is one of the better open-world games not named Batman: Arkham City, GTA or Saints Row. The action in of itself is combination of both Batman and Saints Row with a tad more realism of GTA. The portrayal of Hong Kong is surprisingly accurate although abbreviated. The acting is amazing. The story has elements of Infernal Affairs and pays homages to other Hong Kong/martial arts films. The cons include the traveling between the islands of Hong Kong which should be improved (hopefully) by the next installment, and the constant use of items. The RPG-hybrid portion of the game is done very well. Overall, it's a must-buy although it still begs for some improvements. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    Sleeping Dogs had been in development as the next installment of Activision's "True Crime" franchise but the publisher ceased funding and cancelled it. Square Enix turned up to salvage the project and Sleeping Dogs was the result. The fact it turned out as good as it did -- that it's executed so well, performs as well as it does, sets the bar for open world combat and driving -- made Sleeping Dogs, story stumbles aside, the most surprising game of 2012.
  2. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    As much as it may lack polish and finesse, Sleeping Dogs makes up for its minor shortcomings with pure entertainment. [Issue#89,p.78]
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Sep 18, 2012
    80
    Sleeping Dogs is an addictive diamond in the rough with a compelling story and insane combat only slightly let down by poor driving and racing mechanics. [Oct 2012, p.54]