User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. johnb
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    This is by far the worst xbox game i have played 0 out of ten is generous controls rubbish graphics rubbish gameplay is a joke. It makes me want to vommit everytime i think about it let a lone play it. Comparing it to smash bros quality wise is like comparing gta to jumper the game highly insulting to smash bros those that like it dont know what your playing but it not this.DONT BUY
  2. ErichS.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Would be better if there was more content to unlock, but overall an addicting game with a cool ranges of fighters.
  3. MikeQ.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    A surprisingly fun and addictive game with a fun range of characters and maps to choose from.
  4. JamesA.
    Apr 1, 2007
    2
    Game had no depth and there was nothing addicitive about it, the ps1 could have run everything except the graphics, not a game I would spend my time with.
  5. EmanuelF.
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    addictive gameplay and decent replay value,Great Visuals, Good Pysics, Great Animations, Pritty kool sfx and music oh and how can i forget the great array of weapons..if only i had enough cash id get it, just have to wait tell pay day! until then its the trial version for now, but from what ive played a good first impression of a solid 8
  6. Scorpion
    Nov 28, 2006
    10
    This is the best xbox arcade game out there. It is just like super smash bros! Its controls are the only thing that is bad about the game. If you like samsh bros get this game!
  7. Andyman
    Nov 25, 2006
    6
    More like Small Value. Maybe if the control was tighter, the gameplay more varied, and the levels more creative, it might be worth the 800 points. It's far closer to a 400-point game as it is now.
  8. KyleM.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Exactly what was expected, by far the best XBLA exclusive release. It's a total rip-off of Smash Bros for the Nintendo consoles, but that's not a bad thing at all. Great weapon variety and is continuing to hold my interest!
  9. DavidP.
    Nov 23, 2006
    3
    Seriously, what type of fighting game does not have a block button. Infact I dont think this game has any defensive moves. Just a mindless button mash. This game is utter crap. Its nothing more than a piss poor smash brothers ripoff sans any of the elements that made smash bros fun. The characters are stupid. The weapons are extremely unbalanced, which in turn makes the characters Seriously, what type of fighting game does not have a block button. Infact I dont think this game has any defensive moves. Just a mindless button mash. This game is utter crap. Its nothing more than a piss poor smash brothers ripoff sans any of the elements that made smash bros fun. The characters are stupid. The weapons are extremely unbalanced, which in turn makes the characters unbalanced since each one starts with its own unique gun, and much too difficult to pick up. The controls feel sluggish or just completely unresponsive (you will suicide so often it will make you want actually kill yourself). The camera is terrible, get used to not being able to see your character onscreen. The levels are bland. The AI in singleplayer is ridiculously cheap. This is just an all around bad game. Expand
  10. NateJ.
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Really fun, but I think there could be a little more content.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 70
    The product is better than most other offerings in the Arcade areas, and most of you won’t regret spending money on this. However, with it being a fully focused multiplayer game, the single player feels rushed and unloved, offering you nothing to go back to.
  2. With its focus on weapon grabbing over weapon firing, Small Arms' shallow gameplay falls flat.
  3. 82
    The action is hectic, the online play is a blast, and the visuals are good enough that you won't forget you're playing on a powerful console.