User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 61
  2. Negative: 9 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Okay, when I wrote my first review for this game, I had only played it a little bit, but now I've gotten to play through a huge portion of the game. This game is by far one of, if not, THE most beautifully done game made by SEGA & is an amazing pickup no matter if you are a SEGA or Sonic fan or not. This game is a mix of the first Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing game, as well as Mario Kart 7 & Need For Speed. It features all the great fun of a kart racing game, but features beautiful graphics & a more realistic racing game engine that resembles Need For Speed or Forza Motorsport. The controls are very realistic to how how think each vehicle transformation should play. The car sections play just as anyone would expect, the boat sections are great with waves & currents to make the sections funner & more challenging, and the flight sections play like a flight simulator (inverted up & down, etc). For SEGA fans, this game is sure to please you with an incredible roster of beloved Sonic & SEGA characters, as well as tracks that are based off of great levels that they've made into fun tracks to race on. The soundtrack for the game is made of mainly of remixes, but is still perfectly fitting & very catchy. This game is also like how video games used to be, packed with a bunch of amazing unlockable content you don't have to pay for but you really have to work hard to get, it's a very lengthy, but nonetheless, amazing game. No matter if you've been a SEGA fan for ages, or if you just picked up the game to have some fun, you'll love this game for sure, it is for sure one of the best racing games out there. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A big change from the last one , and now ever better. It's not really just another cart game though it has some elements of one feels more like a really good racing game. Even if you have never played a Sega game in your life it's still a lot of fun ,and a love letter to Sega fans if you have . Pick this one up
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Better than any Mario Kart without a doubt! The student surpassed the master! A new mark for Nintendo to surpass for Mario Kart Wii U!

    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed delivery what we missed since Mario Kart DS: A top-notch Kart racing. Fun granted!
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. It's fast, the graphics re gorgeous, the controls are good, it's original, and each racer is different in their own respect. Also, plenty of game modes and difficulties add replay value to an already extremely fun game. The only downside is that the controls for the boats and planes can be a little off at times. Plus, there is potential for more DLC, Alex Kidd and maybe more!
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    Is this the best kart racer this gen? Yep. More importantly is this is a collection of all things Sega. Sega has always been a step behind Nintendo and it is good to see Sega come out with a greatest hits type game along the lines of Fighters Megamix.
    As for the game itself...no story, just racing. Everyone knows how the system works. You race other racers on tracks littered with weapons
    and speed pads. Sega through in a few time trials for good measure. However.....your car can turn into a boat to run on water of a plane / copter to fly when you run out of land. The boats are a bit floaty by design and the air vehicles feel natural with a bit of touchiness when you go up and down. The weapons are sadly a little on the boring side and actually hitting the target takes a bit of skill. The difficulty is well balanced however some of the later tracks are a tad easier than some of the earlier ones.
    Speaking of the tracks they are the best looking tracks in any kart racer. Period. There is no argument to be made. It looks fantastic. It looks so good in fact that some tracks like the "Nights" course or the "Samba" track are so cluttered it gets a tad confusing. Also the track design seems to be either a tad to simple or a tad to complicated. Some are trail and error. Not a deal breaker but it needs to be mentioned. But they look great. Sega blue is everywhere and seeing games like Jet Set Radio, Shinobi, and Monkey Ball gets the nostalgia going.
    Sadly on the Wii U I have not had a chance to dig into multiplayer because I can't get connected to anyone else. Plus the game is full of slowdown and glitches. I actually rented it from Redbox on the 360 and that version does not have the problems. So if you have the choice get the 360 version. Hopefully the Wii U gets a patch but thanks to Nintendo's ignorance I am already out of hard drive space. But I can't hate the game over Nintendo's mistakes. But the Wii U version gets the lower grade for coming out with problems.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Sonic Racing Transformed does a perfect job of delivering a fun, exciting racer for kids of all ages. If you are looking for a hardcore racing game, their are others out there for you. (Forza, etc.) I am a dad with an 8 year old son and 4 year old daughter and this game is perfect. Graphics are clean and colorful, racing action is accurate and exciting and the sound is great. The tracks are amazing renditions of Sega games from the past, and I can tell you I wish these old games looked this good! Aircraft carriers, space ships, lots of variety in the levels. Lots of unlockables which are great at keeping you motivated to keep playing. 4-player splitscreen looks very good. My Favorite feature here is the fact that you can play the World Tour or Grand Prix single player modes in multiplayer. So, no need to play by yourself, you can play with the family and still progress through the "campaign." Also, unlockables and DLC from one profile are also available with all family profiles, this is not so on many games. I have not tried online multiplayer, but this game is a 10 in my book at doing what it does extremely well! Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    A refreshing addition to racing games for the Xbox 360. It has a more playful tone, not unlike Mario Kart and such games, and you get to play as fun characters such as Sonic,Tails, Knuckles, or even Wreck-It Ralph! It even has some mild RPG elements, allowing you to gain XP when playing as different characters, and unlocking different mods for each racer that improves character abilities. My only complaint is I really wish that the different mods would alter the appearance of the character vehicles. Expand
  8. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    All-Stars Racing Transformed may borrow a few notes from Mario Kart, but its identity and love for Sega's history shines through in a colourful and lovable arcade racer. The circuits are rife with fun to use yet familiar pickups, and transformations from land to sea and air are wondrous. There are also plenty of career challenges and grand prix modes to keep you busy. A simply outstanding arcade racer, which soars in a year where few of them have risen above mainstream appeal. Expand
  9. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    This racing game is quite enjoyable until you play too much or just get everything. I like everything about the game like: track design, graphics, the characters, world tour mode and all the modes. I might talk about the bad first, well there are the odd glitches here and there one includes the transform ring failing to spawn on the track rouge's landing or that when you do a trick at the top of the tunnel at the end of the flight section, you can Clip through the transform ring and get stuck but they are the two I found that are bad. The good things are that the gameplay is good, some of the best controls in all Xbox 360 racing games, good characters and less cheesy than Mario kart. Overall get this game if you find it but try and get the bonus edition because you can get metal sonic, outrun bay and an exclusive pack of stickers for your license with a few mods Expand
  10. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is fantastic. Rights the wrongs of the original in every way. With great characters from Sega's past including characters from the likes of Jet Set Radio, Golden Axe and Space Channel 5, this game is a love letter to the biggest Sega fans. All tracks feel a treat to drive through, with the tracks Transforming after each lap to take you into a different driving experience. With your kart transforming into a boat and plane, the transformation is seamless. Minor complaint is with the flying and boat racing. At times, with all that's going on in the game, it is not always clear where you are supposed to be flying and with driving in a boat, it generally feels as though you have limited to no control of the boat at times, with the waters movement proving to be erratic at times. Other than the aforementioned niggles, the general experience with Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a great one. A must have for any kart racing fans and Sega fans. Yes, it's not Mario Kart, but this is the best Kart racer that isn't a Mario Kart game and, I must be honest, I enjoyed Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed much more than I did Mario Kart 7. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    Devilishly hard, but also very rewarding. Sharp controls, sugary colours, plentiful fan service and for the most part highly successful track designs combine to make one excellent arcade racer. [Jan 2013]
  2. Jan 19, 2013
    70
    Blue skies, great control and a real challenge - Transformed has all the hallmarks of one of the classic Sega games it brilliantly celebrates. Still, the less devoted may find it too playful for a hardcore racer, or too hardcore for a playful one. [Issue#93, p.81]
  3. Jan 6, 2013
    80
    Out of three recently released karting games – other two being F1 Racing Stars and LittleBigPlanet Karting – this is the best one, especially if you look at them through the eyes of a real gamer. [1/2013, p.70]