Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    91
    Bottom line: If you are or have ever been a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog during the series' two-decade history, then this is your game.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sonic Generations delivers what fans have been looking for with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay, both of them polished and highly replayable, making this latest Sonic game the path to follow for future releases.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    It's a far better game than any of the modern day Sonic titles I've played so far, and the classic Sonic stuff is enough to sell me on the game, even if the modern Sonic side isn't always my cup of tea.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    As positively nostalgic as all of this is, it's not surprising to find that Sonic Generations' emulation of past greats extends to its duration. Despite the fact that there are nine main stages per Sonic, seven bosses and ten side-missions per Zone, it will take an experienced fan just a few hours to blast through to the main ending.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    A combination of the best of Sonic, Sonic Generations reinvents, while staying true to the myth, and serves the fan well, whatever its generation is. It's an anthology of the musics, the pictures, the bosses, characters and levels we loved the most during those past 20 years of Sonic games, and one that, while not perfect (some gameplay imprecisions do subsist), remains a must-have for the Sonic lovers.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 98
  2. Negative: 7 out of 98
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    I thought this game was truly outstanding, by far the best platformer of this generation (though mario galaxy was great too). I was always a sega boy in my youth, so i'll admit i am biased towards sonic over other platformers, but i cannot praise this game highly enough, This had 2d as good as since sonic 2, and easily the best 3d sonic i've ever played, only took them 10 years to get it right... Sonic 4 is terrible by comparison but by goin back to their roots in 3d, and getting rid of the terrible lock on system that destroed the series i once loved, still do really, still play the mega drive games now, they managed to make a game that required some level of ability towards the old style. The game is pretty short, but i've gone back to get all the red rings and beat the bosses on hard, if anythin to unlock the songs, which is another great feature, i just wish there were more. I'd love a sequal to this, there are still many levels yet to cover, even from this generation that i don't really know, like the 2008 game, witch probably supplied the best levels. Sonic team should focus on more like this, than more sonic 4 epsiodes, If you love platforming, this is the game for you, it goes away from the styles from other good 3d platformers, such as mario galaxy, and even the ps1's great crash 3, and makes it's own style. It's got to be up there for me for my favorite games of this generation. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back at the top of his game. This game is just all around great, great graphics, great gameplay, great story and great music. The best game I've played this year by far. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    It's seriously a great comeback for Sonic. He's in better form than ever with exciting levels from the past, racing through them is a blast, everything fits perfectly. The graphics are phenomenal, the voice acting is better, the stages are well developed and vibrant, it's all almost perfect. The only thing I have a beef with is the missions: the annoyance they serve varies from not at all to nails on a chalkboard. Regardless, it's definitely worth a buy. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    This is pretty much the first good Sonic game since this franchise went 3D, most of the levels, especially the classic ones were stunning in HD. Classic Sonic doesn't play 100% like it was in the Genesis, but it's really enjoyable, the level design is almost equal, if not better than what the Genesis games had, especially for levels like City Escape, Seaside Hill and Crisis City, they're the best classic levels in the whole game. As for Modern Sonic, it finally worked in 3D with precise controls and some things fixed from that awful Unleashed formula, like the Homing Attack being in the jump button and there is no unresponsive commands anymore. Although the boost still seems infinite, the game doesn't force you to use it with some terrible straight-line level design like Unleashed did, Modern Sonic's levels are wide open with lots of exploration and platforming at it's best.
    However they could have done something much better, there are some unnecessary levels in this game like Spagonia and Planet Wisp, i mean seriously, we've already seen these levels just some years ago, especially Planet Wisp, it was LAST YEAR, they just could have been replaced by other levels that would have been more interesting. And the storyline isn't that good at all, despite some jokes referring to past games, the story itself is way too childish. I'm not saying Sonic should become dark, serious business and anything like this, but there is no need to become the supersonic version of Teletubbies for God's sake.

    Overall, Sonic Generations may have it's share of flaws, but it's surely a good game with some great deal of nostalgia, Sega is going in the right direction and i hope they stick to it this time.
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Having 2 Sonics may feel like a gimmick, but the combination between the 2 makes this the best Sonic game of all time. The levels are not rip-offs of previous levels, they are old levels that are changed to feel new. Seeing Crisis City in this game was a shocker because it was in Sonic 06, a game that had bad reception previously. Another example: Planet Wisp is another level in the game, and it was recently seen in Sonic Colors. Sonic Generations updates the level by revealing more of the entire area, and also makes better use of the wisps compared to Sonic Colors. When it comes to boss battles, Sonic Generations has everything you could want in a boss battle, and it has tons of them. Sonic Generations has everything you could want in an action game. It is among the best games of 2011. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    1
    This game is one of the most glitch invested games ever made. Just like sonic 06. Do not buy this piece of garbage. Sega hasn't made anything decent since the 90s. Expand

See all 98 User Reviews