Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic'sSet across three defining eras from 20 years of Sonic the Hedgehog video game history, the instantly recognisable environments of Sonic Generations have been re-built in stunning HD and are now playable in both classic side scrolling 2D from 1991, as well as modern 3D style found in Sonic's most recent adventures. Each incarnation of Sonic in Sonic Generations comes complete with his trademark special move, Spin Dash and Spin Attack for Classic Sonic, and Homing Attack and Sonic Boost for Modern Sonic. An innovative new interactive menu system allows for complete immersion in Sonic's universe with favourite characters and hidden treasures gradually being revealed throughout the game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    91
    Bottom line: If you are or have ever been a fan of Sonic the Hedgehog during the series' two-decade history, then this is your game.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    Sonic Generations delivers what fans have been looking for with a successful combination of classic and modern gameplay, both of them polished and highly replayable, making this latest Sonic game the path to follow for future releases.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    It's a far better game than any of the modern day Sonic titles I've played so far, and the classic Sonic stuff is enough to sell me on the game, even if the modern Sonic side isn't always my cup of tea.
  4. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    As positively nostalgic as all of this is, it's not surprising to find that Sonic Generations' emulation of past greats extends to its duration. Despite the fact that there are nine main stages per Sonic, seven bosses and ten side-missions per Zone, it will take an experienced fan just a few hours to blast through to the main ending.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    A combination of the best of Sonic, Sonic Generations reinvents, while staying true to the myth, and serves the fan well, whatever its generation is. It's an anthology of the musics, the pictures, the bosses, characters and levels we loved the most during those past 20 years of Sonic games, and one that, while not perfect (some gameplay imprecisions do subsist), remains a must-have for the Sonic lovers.
  6. Dec 4, 2011
    70
    Sonic Generations is five hours of fun. The gameplay has more excitement than most other games I've played this year, and it sets a template that future Sonic games will hopefully pay attention to-it's just a shame that Sonic Generations, like Sonic himself, goes by very, very fast.
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    60
    Compared to Colors, Sonic Generations is a weaker, above average effort. Even taken as fan-service, the game's wavering quality, apparent lack of creativity and meandering filler feels like it's stalling until next year's birthday, and next year's game.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 103
  2. Negative: 8 out of 103
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Sonic finally returned with what is possibly the best sonic game since the old genesis titles. You get to play as modern sonic in 3D, withSonic finally returned with what is possibly the best sonic game since the old genesis titles. You get to play as modern sonic in 3D, with his special boost ability returning from sonic unleashed and colors, and you also get to play as classic sonic in the old 2D side-scrolling mechanic, perfect for the fans who grew up with the classics. This game has a short and bland story, but the game-play MORE than makes up for it, The game has 9 different stages each from older sonic games, separated into 3 era's that represent the older games. You have the classic era (green hill, chemical plant and sky sanctuary), the dreamcast era (speed highway, city escape and seaside hill) and the modern era (crisis city, rooftop run and planet wisp). Along with a huge set of missions, rival battles and boss fights from the older games, revamped for the new game-play mechanics. Every stage has their older music remixed and remastered, and it does not disappoint, filled with godly level design with branching paths, they also have red-star rings scattered throughout the stage that give you special bonus features, like music and artwork. Modern Sonic's 2.5D/3D game-play is a perfect mix of platforming and speed, while classic sonic's game-play is the same as the classics. This game is perfect if you're just getting into the series, it's also great for older fans. Overall, this game is perfect, if you don't have it, then what are you waiting for? Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    60FPS, BETTER GRAPHICS, BETTER SHADOWS, BETTER REFLECTIONS, MODS, AND A LOT MORE, IF YOU LIKE SONIC GENERATIONS YOU HAVE TO BUY THE PC VERSION60FPS, BETTER GRAPHICS, BETTER SHADOWS, BETTER REFLECTIONS, MODS, AND A LOT MORE, IF YOU LIKE SONIC GENERATIONS YOU HAVE TO BUY THE PC VERSION OF THIS GAME, ITÃ Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Sonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember theSonic is back better than ever. It's not perfect, but is the best Sonic game for over a decade. The nostalgia of Classic Sonic remember the old 2D side-scrolling that everyone love and enjoy. The 3D and 2.5D game play of Modern Sonic is the perfect balanced of Sonic Unleashed speed and Sonic Colors platforming plus great 3D plataforming that I waited for years. My only problem of this game that is too short. I just beat in 5-6 hours, olny 7 bosses of the entire game and Classic Sonic only have 2 bosses, I'm waiting the future DLC with more stages and bosses. Sonic Generations is the best Sonic game in years, maybe the best I ever played. After beat the game, the game has 90 challenges to complete, Red Rings to found, replay the stages to get rank S, it's a must-buy for the fans, but if you never played Sonic before, rent it, you can pass the weekend having fun, Sonic is good again better than never. Welcome back Sonic. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    This game is an amazing way to celebrate sonics 20th anniversary! It includes famous stages from each sonic game, picked by the fans, andThis game is an amazing way to celebrate sonics 20th anniversary! It includes famous stages from each sonic game, picked by the fans, and completely redesigned and worked into stunning HD. you play as modern sonic, which has a mixture of 3d and 2d levels, and as classic sonic, which is all 2d levels similair to the genesis days. with modern sonic, they really got the formulan down right, in sonic colors there wasnt alot of 3d platforming, but as modern sonic in this game, there are alot of great 3d platforming sections, and they are all very well designed. Not only that, but the levels are all designed very well, and reward you for thinking outside the box, like in chemical plant zone when you can run on the other lanes that just look like their in the backround, but they lead to new pathways. and each level has alot, and by alot i mean around 4 different ways to the goal, and finding each of the pasts, and mastering the design to speed through them is alot of fun as well. You can also unlock many, many songs from other sonic games, and play them on whatever stage you want, which makes for some pretty cool atmosphere in the levels (open your heart in crisis city), and makes some completely akward (green hill zone theme in crisis city). There are 9 stages in this game, but you play through each as 2 different sonics, so that makes it 18, and after playing through the stage, you can play through 5 different mission type levels, with completely different level designs and goals, and thats 5 for each sonic, so that makes for over 100 levels! (technically :P) There are also 5 red star coins hidden within each zone for each sonic to collect, and with each new red ring you collect, you get more concept art and songs added to the museum in the game, and the music to play through levels with as well. There are plenty of boss battles, which arent that great, especially the end boss, which is a horrible boss, and is a bit dissapointing. there are some minor things that annoy me, but they would come off more as nitpicks than anything else. This is one of my favorite sonic games of all time, and i had alot of fun with this title. i highly reccommend this to any sonic fan, or any platforming fan who is looking for an awesome game. Sega has really redeemed themselves with this one. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    Easily one of the best 3D Sonics ever made. The story was good ole Sonic Fun. And it also had a lot of good nostalgia with the levels. My onlyEasily one of the best 3D Sonics ever made. The story was good ole Sonic Fun. And it also had a lot of good nostalgia with the levels. My only complaint is that it all felt too short. Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    Having 2 Sonics may feel like a gimmick, but the combination between the 2 makes this the best Sonic game of all time. The levels are notHaving 2 Sonics may feel like a gimmick, but the combination between the 2 makes this the best Sonic game of all time. The levels are not rip-offs of previous levels, they are old levels that are changed to feel new. Seeing Crisis City in this game was a shocker because it was in Sonic 06, a game that had bad reception previously. Another example: Planet Wisp is another level in the game, and it was recently seen in Sonic Colors. Sonic Generations updates the level by revealing more of the entire area, and also makes better use of the wisps compared to Sonic Colors. When it comes to boss battles, Sonic Generations has everything you could want in a boss battle, and it has tons of them. Sonic Generations has everything you could want in an action game. It is among the best games of 2011. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2014
    0
    It's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day IIt's completely rubbish don't get it it's to hard they should of made a help option, the first day I got it I enjoyed it but the next day I got bored of it I got this awful game for no reason so don't get it because it sucks. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews